Englewood, OH 
Englewood MetroPark DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #12 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
A Must Play course in Dayton

1    7/19/2016   7/20/2016
Review By: UFM82
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course right next to the lake, mature trees and dense vegetation. It's a very peaceful location and makes for a relaxing round.
Nice concrete tee pads, good signage, a logical layout and ease of play make this a good course. Even though it's not a huge area, it doesn't feel small. Halfway through the round I realized this course doesn't ramble through the grounds like some courses. That kept the flow moving with no big gaps between holes. It plays quickly but doesn't feel like it.
Great layout in the woods with trees being in effect on most shots. Lots of opportunities to pick different lanes. Straight shots, annys and hyzers can all work here on the same hole. Aces are very possible on many holes. The fairways are mowed, the rough is not bad and won't eat a disc unless you are too lazy to look but don't get real far off or you'll wind up in the woods with the bounty of poison ivy and nettles. Overall a very nice place to throw.
Cons: If you live to bomb discs, this is not your course. All are par 3 and only two holes are just over 400'. The layout is fairly flat so if you like a lot of elevation changes (like Sycamore) you won't get that here. Can be damp- we went through a lot of moist areas that are very slick so watch your step or a wipe-out could occur. While it was not busy when I played I can see this course being a bit congested on a weekend and parking is limited.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned, this is a nice 18 hole course that shouldn't be missed but it won't wear you out so make it a two-round day and hit another area course afterwards. Do Englewood in the morning, go eat lunch and then hit O'fisher. I'd give this course 4 stars if they had a couple par 4s but once you see the place you'll see that the space simply won't allow. You'll not be disappointed though. Enjoy!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Absolute Gem!

5+    10/23/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: jscincy1
Played: 30  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Discatcher Baskets are showing rust on the chains but grab great
-The layout of the course is by far the best in Dayton Metro Area
-Great Scenery in park...
Cons: -Rubber mat tee pads are not ideal at all on a wet day
-Rough can be long during the summer months and full of weeds that will make you itch
-High Traffic (a disc golf course getting to much traffic? Weird huh?) On a nice day the course can be busy and a more lesiure round is to insue.
Other Thoughts: Honestly this is probably my second favorite course in the area. Great mixes of distance and shot type and elevation. Great intermediate course and probably my favorite course to play partner's best doubles. A lot of risk/rewards!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for the Dayton Area!

1    7/10/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage, tees, super defined fairways, and the park in general seems to be maintained very well
- Course is easy to find off I-70 and there are even signs within the park to show you were to play disc golf. Likewise, once you start playing, it's hard to get lost because of how intuitive the course design is.
- Decent mix of anyhyzer and hyzer shots with some nice placements of trees to make you think a little.
- Holes #13, 15 are the two best holes IMO. #13 requires a pitch to a basket that sits near a water hazard. Do you want to go for the relatively doable ace or are you going to let up? Great psychological mind games! And 15 is a tightly wooded tunnel shot that goes over a ravine to the basket.
- Back 5 holes provide more challenge (elevation, length and density of trees) than the front 13.
- Water hazards on 13 and 14.
- A great course to take a beginner to and not have him/her completely frustrated
Cons: - Holes seem to blend together after awhile. Seems like you keep hucking discs over grass and into wooded areas with little variation in the shot selection.
- Short holes. Most are under 350 feet. Would be nice to have a nice long bomb hole or two.
- Looks like the course can get crowded. It felt like I was playing a tourney because every tee seemed to have people waiting at it to throw.
Other Thoughts: - This metro park is huge! With that being said, I wish the course designed would have utilized the space and made longer holes, or at least added another set of tees with greater lengths. Either way, it seems like a great place to bring an inexperienced friend and both enjoy your rounds. While the course didn't have any absolutely must-play signature holes, I enjoyed myself thoroughly with its layout, moderate challenge, and nice park amenities.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Man is it Hot!

1    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent course map in parking area.
Excellent hole picture at each hole.
Tee mats at each hole.
Excellent baskets.
Practice basket near hole 1.
Nice parking area.
Water & restrooms on course.
Cons: Tee pads not consistently flat.
Course hole flow seems weird.
Other Thoughts: If tees were flat I would have rated it .5 higher. Long walk for 18 to the parking area. Not sure why they put 18 where it is. Overall very nice course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Quick Favorite

5+    12/11/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very well-kept. It is always in great condition. This course is simple to navigate. Easy to walk from the baskets to the next tee. This is a great course if you want a good challenge, and don't have alot of time to play. The new tee signs make it look fresh and updated.
Cons: The tee-pads would be better off concreted because the rubber is slick. It's hard to get a good footing when it's muddy.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    12/2/2010   12/7/2010
Review By: slojoe1559
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New tee signs and course map are wonderful additions.

Offset from the rest of reserve, so there is little chance of hitting cars/hikers/runners.

Brush is usually thin enough to find shots gone astray.

Overall, very nice job placing a good course in a relatively small area.
Cons: Rubber tees

Mostly wide open shots with little technical difficulty or distance (some might consider this a pro)

Stinging nettle in brush is a pain during warm months if you are not wearing long pants/shirt.

Hole 5 has a tendency to get very muddy when it rains, though it appears some work has been done to assist with the draining.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses to play in the Dayton area. Not too challenging but a fun round which can be finished in 40 minutes if you're in a hurry. Even with a horrible drive, most holes are easily '3'ed.

There is a large broken branch hanging over hole 9 that may fall down with ice/snow this winter. Just watch out if you hear a crack above you.

Within the last year, a bald eagle has been spotted flying over the reserve, though I have not heard a sighting in the last couple months.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Shade in the summer heat

2-4    8/13/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: cedarvillian
Played: 69  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The best course I've played so far in the Dayton area. A good variety of holes out in the open and in the woods. Even the open holes are often shaded by large trees on either side so it's a great place to play on a hot day. Very well maintained with mowed fairways, and no out-of-control "disc- eating" rough. Shorter holes make it a good course for beginners, but the varied basket placements make it enjoyable for experienced players as well.
Cons: No tee signs ... so print out a score sheet (see hole info. tab) before you go to know the distances.
Avoid if it has recently rained ... rubber tee pads are very slick when wet.
If you like long holes, this course only has two over 400'
Other Thoughts: I'd give this course 4 stars if it had concrete pads and tee signs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good; needs signs and concrete tees

1    7/12/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: TheBulch
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Cool layout. Dips in and out of the woods, turns back on itself and always ends up at the parking lot
- Lots of trees make for challenging but possible holes
- A small map in the parking lot will get you around the course, for the most part.
Cons: - No tee signs at all. It would be nice to know where to go, especially when there are 3 pads next to each other.
- Some people like the rubber pads. I almost broke my leg on them multiple times because it had rained the day before.
Other Thoughts: If they fixed the signs and pads I would play this course over Belmont any day. Still a must play if you are in the Dayton area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Thumbs up

1    10/12/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 152  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 14.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Park
Nice Shot Variety
Good Mix Of Wooded to Open Shots
Well Kept, Mowed and Clean
Challenging but not Frustrating
Cons: Somewhat hard to Navigate
Not a lot of Elevation Change
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course. It's located in a public park it never goes into the woods but it moves in and out of wooded areas,

They mix up their shots very well. You use just about every type of shot and Disc that you have

The main problem with this one is it can be a little confusing to find your way around. Fortunately we ran into a local, he seemed like a good guy and played the round with us. I probably would have found my way around without him, but it wouldn't have been easy.

Good course, it's a must play if you live in the area. If your looking for a road trip I would say it's worth going to if your gonna hit multiple parks, but I wouldn't drive more than an hour or 2 just for this one.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Relaxed, secluded, fun

1    9/4/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 138  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 18.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, relaxed park setting surrounded by an abundance of nature
First-rate design especially considering the limited land allocated
Well defined fairways and manageable rough
Rubber tee pads & baskets in next to new condition
Fun for multiple skill levels / nice course for introducing disc golf to new players
Clean; maintenance is top-notch
Park amenities close by
Easy to get to - right off I-70 and close to I-75
Cons: No tee signs (seriously, this takes .5 off my review)
Mostly short and not very challenging
Lack of 'pro' tees or baskets (to increase challenge)
Holes play similarly and can get repetitive (specifically the back 9)
Not much elevation change
Even though water is nearby, it does not come into play
Some holes play by roads and errant throw could hit cars/pedestrians
Other Thoughts: What a peaceful and serene course - especially when you're the only one there at 8:30 in the morning! The first set of holes got my hopes up - peaking with the retention dam hole (see pics). I was really expecting to play along side it hoping it would lead to more adventurous holes...

So it was somewhat of a let down when the map indicated I was going back instead of forward. The remainder of the course plays around the land adjacent to the road, parking lot and circle around the practice basket. So don't expect to cover a lot of ground. It's mostly back and forth in a somewhat confined area. There are a few wooded holes but for the most part, they're mostly comparable - well kept, distinct fairways with manageable rough on each side with some mature trees mixed in. I enjoyed the placement of the pins where a tree, elevation or turn either way can make one settle for par when a birdie was expected.

There's not a lot of variety or challenge here - words like 'epic' or 'pro-caliber' do NOT describe this course. However, it has a huge fun factor which tends to appeal to a range of skill levels. Hopefully the people in and around the area (and passing through) are giving this course a play as it is well deserving. Of the 3 Dayton area courses I've played, this is by far my favorite.

The lack of tee signs is an obvious omission which reduces my score by a half point. I had a map and there was no problem but for such a well done course, I was expecting the icing on the cake (I understand, there are most likely legitimate reasons for the lack of tee signs).

Side Note:

Getting back to my car from 18, I noticed an older couple with binoculars unloading a spotting scope from their trunk. Being a birder, I knew this was a tell tale sign. As they walked by, I struck up a conversation regarding the birds I'd seen in and around the nearby 'lake' (it really wasn't one when I was there - lack of rain had the water receding quite a bit. This produces 'mudflats' which attract shorebirds which invariably results in birders on hole 13). Accepting their gracious invitation, we spent the next 2+ hours birding around the park. So ironically, I unintentionally spent double the time birding as I did disc golfing!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.