Englewood, OH 
Englewood MetroPark DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Dayton's Best Park-Style Course!

5+    3/27/2014   3/28/2014
Review By: mrclc
Played: 252  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2016
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf course at Englewood MetroPark is a park course with a high fun factor that will delight players of all skill levels. Since Englewood isn't terribly difficult but still requires strategic thought, it's the perfect course to introduce new players to the game while still being able to enjoy your round as well.

This is one of the best uses of limited space I've ever seen, and the course fully utilizes the available elevation changes. As a bonus, nearly all of the holes that feature elevation begin with a downhill tee shot, incorporating one of ball golf's most treasured design elements into the world of disc. Although the course is mostly open, a majority of the baskets are protected by or placed near mature trees, requiring the player to make exciting and thoughtful upshots.

In addition to the design, Englewood is blessed with a number of beautiful views of the woods and neighboring reservoir that are sure to make your round a pleasant one. The aesthetics are superior for the area, and make 18 holes an enjoyable walk as well as (hopefully!) an enjoyable round.

Multi-chain Innova baskets and above-average, detailed tee signs cover the basics nicely.

On-course restrooms are located near the #10 pin.
Cons: "The rubber tee pads can be a big pain, especially when wet or muddy. Not all of them are level, but when dry most of them probably won't give you too much trouble. Concrete tee pads would easily make this a 4.0 disc course." UPDATE 05/24/16 -- Through the generous financial backing and hard work of the Dayton Disc Golf Association (DDGA) Englewood now has concrete pads! As promised, I've moved my review up to 4 discs.

There can be some routing confusion and tedious walks here, most notably as it relates to holes #11 & 12 and the walks between #12 and 13 and #18 back to the parking lot. Neither the routing nor the walks are significant detractors, but are definitely worth mentioning.

Englewood may be fun, but it lacks the championship-level challenge that many players crave, which can be a con for higher skill levels.

Due to the course's open nature and limited space, an errant tee shot has the potential to land in an opposite fairway. Luckily, visibility is high and no shots are blind, so you likely won't be surprised by an incoming disc.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend playing Englewood in tandem with nearby Westbrook Park. They are the peanut butter and chocolate of north Dayton courses, with Englewood providing the more open experience and Westbrook relying on technical placement. Englewood is the better course if you can only play one, but taken together they are greater than the sum of their parts.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Englewood Metropark

5+    6/22/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: AnimeJ
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A newer course in the area, Englewood is set back in a mostly dedicated area of the park to disc golf, although you will occasionally encounter other park patrons walking, running, or making use of the trail system that runs throughout the park.

The course itself provides an excellent introductory course for newer and intermediate players, requiring smart play and line shaping on several holes to make par. There are also a few holes which will offer the opportunity to test your arm and air out a disc in the range of 350-400ft. Additionally, there are several hole which offer the possibility of an ace run.

While there's a minimum of elevation change through out the park, the course designers took every opportunity to take advantage of what was there, with several holes playing down hill at varying distances, others playing uphill, and a tunnel shot that plays uphill and left before finishing downhill to the right blind.

Overall, the course is well designed and thought out, with a variety of shots required and ensuring that some thought is required for disc selection on each hole.
Cons: While the course is excellent, it is not exceptionally challenging for more advance players, particularly those with well developed drives in the 400' range. For these players, most if not all holes will be playable with a midrange, and even the longer holes won't pose much challenge at all.

Additionally, a nuance of the way the grounds are set up requires you to walk back nearly the full length of hole 11 to throw hole 12.
Other Thoughts: While there aren't trash cans located on each hole, they are evenly spaced through the park, with some being near the start and practice basket, Additionally, there are restrooms located near the pin for hole 10, which you'll pass by on the way to the first tee as well, making them very easily accessible. Additionally, attentive park staff ensures that they're kept fairly clean and stocked.

Last, even though this course is new, a good deal of effort goes into keeping the course maintained, with the fairways and rough being mowed regularly during the summer months. As such, even though this course is on the lower end of the difficulty spectrum, it should still be considered one of the better courses in the Dayton area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Feeling Lucky

5+    9/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 283  Reviewed: 268  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2016
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Edit 5/30/16: Brand new, large, level concrete tees have just been installed, and they make all the difference. Raised my rating a half point right there. Fun course, GREAT upgrade!

The Englewood DGC is a beautiful parks course lying in the floodplain of a huge park just north of interstate 70, northwest of Dayton, Ohio. It has 11 holes which range from 220 to 300 feet in length, five up to 350', and two right at 400'. There wasn't a great deal of opportunity to use elevation, but the design incorporates some of the rolling terrain, while including a fairly even distribution of shots that run left, straight and right. A handful of the holes run through decently forgiving tree lanes, but foliage could not be considered thick here. There is plenty of opportunity to choose creative lines around the mature trees on the more open holes. So overall, it's a course well designed for the intermediate to recreational disc golfer.

Signature holes include the raised basket on #12 and the ravine side tee on #15. Long bombers might consider #13 a signature hole as well, because the basket is just a few yards short of the reservoir (water filled in season, I hear), where their ace run risk is greater than the birdie wishes of us weaker arms.

Once you've perused the very nice course map, navigation is relatively intuitive (exception below), and loops back to the primary parking area after holes 7 and 16.

There's a practice basket in the parking circle turnaround, quality tee signs showing distance and obstacles, as well as directions to the next tee, benches every few holes, and restrooms near the 10th basket.
Cons: There are some long walks from basket to the next tee after holes 6 & 12, and back to the start after 18. Holes 6 & 7 appear to share a part of the hiking trail, so you need to keep an eye out for pedestrians.

One strange feature of the design comes after hole 10: you need to walk forward toward the entrance driveway for the #11 tee, shoot back into the park, then walk back to the drive again for the #12 tee. Seems like it would flow better with the 11th hole reversed.

The driveway in and through the park is one way only, and sends you on a fairly long meander before you can get back around to the road you came in (turn right twice, and you'll be headed back toward Englewood proper).
Other Thoughts: I'd heard Englewood was a fine course whenever I would meet a Dayton area player and ask which courses I should come up and play. It did not disappoint. After a summer visit for a casual round here (where I just missed an unintentional skip ace on #11 by about 6 inches), I returned for the Lucky 13 tournament on Labor Day weekend, and hit my first tournament ace! So I'm feeling pretty good about Englewood right now.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/3/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: well maintained, medium to real tough course, 18 easy to find holes.
Cons: can be a bit of a walk for some, but a great experience, with great signs.
Other Thoughts: a basket sits near the bridge, you can see it on your way out.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 B-E-A-UTIFUL!

1    7/14/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets: DisCatcher, Excellent Condition.
Tee Signs/Maps/Markers: Excellent signs at each hole. Signs are very easy to read with accurate details including distance, par, and direction to next tee. Detailed map online and at the parking lot.
General Course Design: Course flows well from hole to hole. Easily identifiable paths leading to the next tee. Course starts and ends fairly close to the parking lot. Some paths to the next tee could interfere with other players. Fairways are well maintained and easily identifiable on each hole.
Foliage Maintenance: Areas around the baskets are very clear. Wooded areas contain underbrush, but it is manageable for the most part. Trees are nicely trimmed and grass is cut regularly.
Benches & Trash bins: Very nice benches at most tee boxes. Trash cans available throughout and I did not notice any trash on the course.
Elevation: Great use of mature trees and elevation changes.
Signature Holes: Several potential signature holes. Very picturesque setting.
Restrooms available near basket 10. Excellent condition and well maintained.
Variety of hole distances requiring many different shot selections. A good mix of tight, technical shots and opportunities for open bombs.
Cons: Tee Pads: Rubber mat, great condition, mostly level. Slipped a few times due to dust and dirt on the rubber mats. Could be very slippery when wet/muddy.
If the tee pads were concrete, this course would be phenomenal!
Other Thoughts: Course is challenging, but not so tough that beginners will be discouraged. As a beginner myself, this course was motivating and makes me want to improve my game so I can take advantage of what this course has to offer.
I saw more players at this course than I have at any other course, yet we never got held up or ran into one another while on the course. The potential for wait times definitely exists on a busy day.
There is plenty of parking available with a short walk to the practice basket and first tee.
Very beautiful and scenic park. Several shelter houses and playgrounds. The park even has horseback riding available. Great place for disc golf and a family picnic!
By far the nicest course I have played to date. I will definitely make this a regular course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Winter Review

2-4    2/11/2011   2/12/2011
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great tee signs with graphics showing not only where the basket is, but also where the next tee is from the basket.
- Each hole is unique that require a great mix of different shots.
- A nice practice basket
- Mature trees and a good use of the elevation changes throughout the park.
- A few benches located throughout and permanent restrooms available.
Cons: - Because there was a layer of snow/ice the tee pads were not very helpful.
- Between a few holes there were some dangerous walks (11 basket to 12 tee) where you might get in the way of the group behind you.
- Only other complaint was that 18 did not end where you parked. So it was a little bit of a walk back to the car.
Other Thoughts: This course was a great find. I enjoyed the unique challenge of each hole and how easy it was to navigate playing it for the first time.
I look forward to playing it when it gets warmer out.
I would recommend this course to beginners through more advanced players as it has something for everyone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 only wish they would have built it 20 years ago

1    5/25/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 87  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 24.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: fun track in a beautiful location
a real escape
couple of ace runs....I think every course should have a 250 foot hole that can be had
its always a bonus and actually a challenge for the better players who will lament not cashing a duece
Cons: none really
Other Thoughts: I am biased because I grew up in Engleweed
wish it would have been put in years ago
kudos to the dayton area for making the sport grow

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    9/30/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: OldTaz
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Scenic course
- Continued improvements being made
- Good mix of shots
- Excellent course for beginners
- New tee markers are a plus
Cons: - Sometimes rough makes it difficult to find discs making it rough on a lone golfer
Other Thoughts: - Good course to play when in a hurry
- Receives a good deal of play

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Loved it

1    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: pugsrul2001
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice short course. You do not have to be a long thrower to do well hear. Loved the rubber tee boxes. throw a 62 first time out. I average 69
Cons: The course is 40 minutes from my house.
Other Thoughts: I wish they would install another 18 that is longer. the park is big enough

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Englewood Metroparks Course

1    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Layout. Not too hard but still challenging. Great Views of the "lake". Elevated Basket on the back 9 was really cool. Really liked the Rubber Mat Tee pads.
Cons: None really. Maybe some signs would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. Set up well. Not too hard to walk and very challenging. Its a bit of a drive for me but well worth it. I recommend you playing it if you're in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.