Denver, CO
Globeville Landing Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 320ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Tubers

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The land is decent and the park is kept mowed.
-There are some hills in the park.
-Some decent sized trees.
-Central location.
-Varied distances.
Cons: -Tube tones instead of baskets. I'm addicted to chains.
-No tees and hardly any tee markers. I didn't spend much time looking because I didn't want to waste time while course bagging but you really shouldn't have to look in a park style course.
-Navigation was poor without marked tees or signage.
-Crammed into a pretty small park. May be other park users.
-Not the best area of town, smelled funny. If I couldn't see my car most of the time, I might have been more concerned for the safety of my stuff.
-Noisy. Industrial and highway noises abound.
-Doesn't really use the river at all. Could make a tricky green over there.
-Homeless people hang out here often.
Other Thoughts: -Only stop here if you live very close by or are a course bagger.
-I need baskets to get my disc golf fix.
-They did do a surprisingly decent job with the layout for what they had to work with but lack of upkeep will hold this course down forever.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't go out of your way

1    3/21/2014   3/21/2014
Review By: beats4dayz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It was close to where I was staying while visiting Denver so I didn't have to travel very far in order to waste my time.
Cons: Ummmm no baskets?!? No tees. Map provided here is basically worthless. Shady area of town. Sewage smell prominent.
Other Thoughts: I happened to see some people throwing off a big hill while driving the Interstate so I made it a point to check it out. This course is really just for locals. Don't go out of your way to play here. If u go, hopefully there are some locals to play with or follow because otherwise u will spend most of your time tryin to figure out where to throw from and to.
No baskets. Only random unmarked sign posts with yellow tubing wrapped around. Occasional tubing will have arrow written in sharpie pointing to random tee which isn't marked. No tees. I think I saw a couple orange "markers" on the ground. A couple of locals made some hole descriptions on black marble chunks for a couple of holes. The map provided here seems to be out of date and basically useless.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Meh

1    8/28/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean park
Quick highway access for quick escapes
Open to safari-ing
Cons: Short
In a sketchy/smelly part of town
No tee pads
Stinky pit draining into the putrid South Platte river.
Other Thoughts: This is the best thing you could do with this patch of land. You would NEVER come here if not for DG.

Your mental set coming here will make the difference between fun and frustration. There are many things missing here, but if you don't overcome the lacks, then the real lack is in your imagination. Quick, flexible, and, yes, smelly. Make something out of it!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Stinky Town

1    8/24/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: Rampant
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: Well maintained park in the middle of dense industry. The views are surprisingly nice considering where this course is located.
Cons: This course stinks! Not because it's so bad, although it is a lousy course considering there are no baskets to throw into and very badly marked tees, but because it's located directly adjacent and downwind of the Purina plant. If you've ever driven on 1-70 next to the stock show complex and noticed the weird smell of dog food being cooked, imagine playing a round of frolf and smelling that the whole time. Not a good experience.
Other Thoughts: The tees are so badly marked that you would probably have more fun playing safari through the park, and to be honest you probably won't finish your round anyways because of the smell and the fact that there's no baskets. If you're in the area play Paco Sanchez instead, take my work for it.

Not.as bad as everyone says!

1    5/3/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 35  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 22.9 Years
Pros: ---Fun layout
---Tone poles which add to the challenge! ( this may be a con to those who are unfamiliar with object golf)
---Aside from the toxic sludge pond the park is immaculate
---The locals are all awesome and super chill
---Plenty of parking
---Great use of a small patch of land. Some open shots, but a fair amount of obstacles in the way as well.
Cons: ---Tees are marked with little markers in the ground, and are thus hard to find
---No signage. At all. I almost missed the park entirely.
---Tone poles aren't marked with numbers, and in a cramped spot like this it becomes an issue
---Too easy for average players, too hard for begginers
Other Thoughts: I don't know why anyone would hats on this course. Its fun! If you show up expecting anything other than a short, tone pole course then yeah, it will be a letdown. But bring the positive vibes and you'll have fun.

This course is not crowded (unlike every other Denver area course) but there are still locals who will show you around. We might up with two guys and they made the experience a treat.

Its in a weird spot (right off the highway and next to the Pepsi Plant and the Denver Coliseum) but its actually quite peaceful. If you're in the area (the Coliseum has tons of events...park and catch a round!) Hit this course up for a nice change of pace. They even have a league on Thursdays, the Globeville Goons. Far from a destination course, but fun when you're there.

 Not for me

1    3/20/2013   3/21/2013
Review By: holydiva
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent location, hidden but it had parking.
Cons: Confusing layout, green and yellow poles for pins that blended in with the surrounding environment. Almost impossible to find tees.
Other Thoughts: A lot of potential for a good, small course but it needs easy to spot tees and the pins need to be painted a third color as well to make them more apparent.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not A Fan Of Tube Tones!

1    7/12/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I understand the Denver Park's Department saved a bunch of coin by installing yellow Tube Tone targets instead of baskets. I also believe this small section of park land in an sketchy part of town probably didn't merit baskets anyway. So maybe the Tube Tone targets were the way to go. Obviously, this course doesn't get much play. There are no teepads or worn teepads or even hints of teepads. So even with the on-line map, I ended up just playing a quick round of safari and getting out of Dodge. The park has very green and lush grass. Some parts were swampy in the middle of July (over-zealous sprinkling system?). The Platte River is next to the park but doesn't come into play. The area seems to be a homeless magnet.
Cons: I'm just not into the Tube Tones. Yeah, these made a pleasent enough sound when your disc hit them but they can't replace baskets. A course without any kind of teepads or signage is always going to get a poor review from me. There are just too many other choices in the Denver area.
Other Thoughts: If I worked in the Pepsi Factory across the street, I still wouldn't drink any of those crappy Pepsi products nor would I play this crappy course before or after work. I'd drive the 5-10 miles to one of Denver's many other fine courses.
This course, the Pepsi Factory, the Homeless population, the train tracks, the old civic arena and the nasty smelling water all deserve each other.

Signed,

A Diet Coke drinker for life

And

A Basket Loving Disc Golfer

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Little Better Than Awful

1    6/15/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I first arrived at this course and looked around, I thought I was in for a terrible round. After playing however, my view is much the opposite. They did a good job of using a beautiful narrow strip of land in the middle of the city to create this course. It is a great course to get the idea of the sport out there.
The park where the course is located is beautiful and very well maintained. All of the grass and trees are always green in the warm seasons. While I am never a fan of objects as targets in disc golf, this course has the nicest post-targets I have seen. The targets are a pole that is the height of a disc golf basket. The top 3-3.5 feet are painted yellow, and this is the area you must hit. Each pole also has 4 chains dangling, so while you do not get the true chain sound… you do get a minor sense of the "sound-of-chains" sensation. They are super-nice TubeTones.

While the course and most shots are not creative, there are 2 or 3 holes which leave you the option to use precision on longer throws. Like I said… this is a great course considering the park area they had to work with… it is not a great course.
Hole 1 starts out going to a semi-blind hole over a water feature and ending with a slight hyzer behind a stand of trees. Hole 2 is completely blind, long, and is tucked in behind a wall of larger trees, allowing for skill, strength, and precision to all come into play. Hole 3 is a 50-or-so foot wide fairway between a line of trees and an active railway yard with a fence. Hole 9 is another semi-blind hole that goes back near tee one, requiring a large hyzer over the water feature. The other 5 holes are relatively open. 2 pins are located very close to out of bounds which adds a little extra difficulty, and a few of the holes have nice lines through gaps within the trees which you can choose to hit, or go around.
Cons: YOU MUST BRING A MAP!!! This course is IMPOSSIBLE to navigate without a map. Posts are everywhere in the course, and wandering around will not get you much luck. This park is also not played very often, so advice from locals is few and far between. Even with a map this hole can be hard to navigate due to the lack of tee boxes. Instead of tee boxes, each tee is marked with a large rubber cap in the ground. I would have never found this out without the help of a local… and even then they are hard to see! Each cap is a faded pink color and is about 7 inches in diameter and at ground level. Use the map and then look around the general area for the rubber cap in the ground!

The water here is disgusting. It is pretty much waste from the Pepsi factory which is right next door, so losing a disc in here is tragic. I had locals tell me it's better to just let the disc go, unless it's a special disc. The course is also object-golf. I never like this, but some people do. I always consider it a con, because it adds less excitement to the game. That being said, it is certainly harder to hit these poles than get a disc in the basket… so practice here would yield great results elsewhere.

This course is very susceptible to homeless people. I have only played here once, but at 1:00 in the afternoon there were 4 groups of homeless people sleeping on the course, oblivious to the idea of disc golf. Both annoying and hazardous.

They did do a quality job with what they had… but that does not mean that this is a great disc course. It is an average quality park course, with a few holes that are a bit more fun than average. There is certainly some crossover of holes, many similarities, and a general lack of creativity.
Other Thoughts: I understand why somebody who did not tour the course with a local would consider it awful/terrible. However, once you understand the true layout of the course, it is certainly above awful. It may not be amazing, but it is certainly more fun than annoying/boring. That being said, the lack of baskets and the funny tee boxes is certainly a large con.

This course is possibly worth checking out if you're in the area… I wouldn't travel far at all. But if you hate object-disc-golf, stay away! The poles are the nicest I have ever seen, and they did a quality job of utilizing space in the park… but the overall feel of the course is simple, easy, quick, and not too creative. As somebody who is very anti-object-disc-golf, I had a fun time playing here.

I feel in defending this course from others comments I may have made it sound better than it is. My rating of a 1.5/Passable is truly how I feel about, but EASILY understand how a first-timer would call this 0/awful... and without local help you probably will too.

If there were baskets and tee pads this place could be a 2-2.5

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Time lost

1    7/26/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 75  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Cons: This course was awful. It is wedged behind the denver coliseum, and the park is next to a nice stream, but a holding spot of water smelled awful. There are no baskets, just poles in the ground. There are no tee boxes. The park is hardly scenic, considering it is surrounded by industrial buildings. The path there is through a fairly confusing interchane to add to it. I will not return, and will encourage anyone to avoid it.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ching Is Much More Satisfying than Tunk!

1    7/8/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hmm… Well, the park itself was on a nice piece of undulating land that was well maintained and had a good amount of trees. The whole course plays along the South Platte as your backdrop, but unfortunately it doesn't come into play. Other than that - even I am at a loss to say more positives about this place.

BEST HOLE/S: #1
Cons: Location: This may be the closest park to downtown, but I'll take the burbs any day if that means I don't have to play in Robberyville Landing. For those of you familiar with the Denver Coliseum, the park is on the edge of its parking lot area, and sandwiched between the Interstate, railroad tracks, and the Pepsi factory. Basically, this is the homeless haven backdrop I imagine about when a reporter is on the scene reporting about rampant drug use or an escaped serial rapist.

The Interstate and tracks are what you expecting - loud and carbon monoxide filled, a stark contrast too many courses in Colorado. The parking lot is bleak, and the Pepsi factory - well… there is something unnatural coming out of that place and it runs down a containment drain across hole #1 and #9 into the river. Don't bother trying to get your disc - it's melted in the radioactive looking stink sludge. I'm now a Coke man.

Baskets: I hope Tubetone baskets saved the city a lot of money when building this place because they are just that - a thick metal pole with four chains welded to it. I mean - why not just save more money and put up big post that says hit me? This was my first experience with these "baskets" and is something I would expect to find on a private course in the middle of nowhere. Hell, if Antarctica can get nine real baskets -I think Denver parks and rec should be able to do the same. Note - the rusty pole without chains anymore is #3 sitting on the edge of the park next to tracks.

Tee boxes: Sorry there are none, so not much to report. I printed a map, as you should, and played in the areas indicated - but you'd be just as good teeing off from the previous basket.

WORST HOLE/S: #8
Other Thoughts: Here's the thing about Globeville Landing - it's the kind of place that a first glance has a lot of potential with its open areas for good distances and varied terrain in a good central Denver Metro location. You might think with some quality baskets, a little signage to actually denote a tee box area, and you'd be in business. Then, as you walk over the homeless man on hole #5 you think, oh wait - this is health crazed Denver, Colorado and they have hundreds of parks like this around that could serve the same purpose.

My suggestion, find a park like Commons or Cheesman park nearer downtown - pick out some trees as targets and go enjoy yourself. The tunk off the tree can't be any different an experience than what you would get here. Even better, take an extra fifteen minutes and go west to Johnny Roberts DGC or Camenisch DGC - The Badlands or east to Exposition Park and play a real disc golf course.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.