Disc Golf Center
Denver, CO 
Globeville Landing Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 260ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Stink. Stank. Stunk.

1    6/11/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: monkeytaco
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.8 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mature trees, close to downtown.
Cons: Everything else. The course hasn't been maintained, the old chain posts are all falling apart, hard to find the tee 'areas' without a map, even with the map it wasn't easy to follow. The water is nasty and smells bad. Seedy part of town with lots of ghetto thugs chillin in their tricked out ford escorts.
Other Thoughts: While it has a lot of potential, the stench from the water and the noise from the highway, train yard and factories make it a big failure. I'm all for urban courses, but this one is neglected. I'm sure if it was maintained it would get torn apart again by the local crowd.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Map is definitely needed

1    4/25/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: fgallegos13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Close to the city good for a quick game. Once you find the holes than it is easy to follow
Cons: Water run off is terrible, awful smell. Make sure to have a map. A lot of shady people near by possible people doing or selling drugs like today or bums
Other Thoughts: Map is definitely needed and a possible retriever if you go into the water you dont really want to step in that water.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Do you smell that?

5+    3/20/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: thinknic
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very close to the city, good for a quick after work round. Designed very well with limited space. This course will keep you humble with your short game, thanks tube tone! Some of the shots can be very technical, if short. Not a whole lot of people know about this course, so there are rarely other players out there. You can play 18 (9 twice) in under an hour.
Cons: The Pepsi factory runoff, which you throw over on #1 and #9, is disgusting. You don't want to be upwind of it, let alone fishing for a disc. The tees are only occasionally marked, good luck. This course is not in the nicest neighborhood, so occasionally you will run into bums laying in the fields or people training pit bulls and german shepherds to attack (100% true).
Other Thoughts: Don't expect much when first playing this course and you won't be disappointed. Definitely download the map or have a buddy show you the layout. This course is good for beginners or when you only have a little bit of time.
It's dirty, short and technical, you gotta love it...or hate it... or love to hate it.
First Time? YOU WILL NEED THIS!!
http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../4716bf86.jpg

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Upgrading

2-4    6/3/2008   3/3/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a surprisingly nice park in an industrial area just north of downtown Denver. The park is quiet and is rarely crowded. The course is located along the Platte River Trail, so biking to this course is very possible. The holes are short and play around both established and newly planted trees. There are a few technical shots.
Cons: Unfortunately, this is not one of the nicest of courses. The targets are tube tone, of which I have never been a big fan. There are no tee pads and the tee markers are sometimes painted or consist of little grass-like pin markers that sometimes get eaten by the mowers. Definitely bring the map. The park is located in an industrial neighborhood and within walking distance of the city's two largest homeless shelters. I personally don't mind interacting with people experiencing homelessness, but its does feel a bit wrong throwing over the top of them as they sleep in the sun of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Globeville Landing has become the only convenient course for those working and living near downtown now that Lakewood Dry Gulch has been closed due to light rail construction. Unfortunately Globeville Landing is no where near the quality of Lakewood Dry Gulch. Overall the course really needs some basic upgrades. The good news is that the Platte River Trail and the surrounding area are being redeveloped soon. The city is currently reviewing residential construction proposals and trail/park improvements similar to those upriver near Confluence Park. In addition, there are two proposed light rail stations within a few blocks of the park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Where is the tee?

1    10/30/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: Usher
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a decent 9 hole course using the park that is in pretty good shape. It is located right off of the highway and most of the holes are pretty short and offer a good variety of shots.
Cons: The holes are tube tone, not actual baskets. The tee boxes consists of spray paint in the grass and a small orange marker, the next tee for every hole is hard to find. Also it is hard to know where you are throwing to due to lack of signs.
Other Thoughts: I went with someone the 1st time I played this course, and I needed them to help guide me to the next hole, for every hole. I would play again if in the area or if I was short on time.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Need a Map

1    10/24/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is close to work and with the waning daylight hours it was a nice play afterwork. I think the course uses the land very well. The park was well maintained and clean. It was quiet when I came. The shots are short so most players can make in 2-3 strokes.
Cons: The tube tone baskets did not allow my disc to hit the chains and give it the lovely sound we all strive for. The lack of tee pads and signage made it hard to navigate. I had to ask a couple other players to help me out. Once you know the design it can be played rather quickly. There was a homeless man in my way to shoot 4, but I shot around him. The park needs a little better signage or at least an indication for where #1 begins.
Other Thoughts: Bring the course map or someone who has played the course along with you. Some shots require going around trees and along a busy train track. The view on one side of the park is nice with the Platte River although it does not come into play unless you hit a shot hard left on #2. The view on the other side is the Denver Coliseum and the Pepsi bottling plant. It is in industrial Denver, but surprisingly a nice park. I would recommend this course if you work close and wanna throw a few after work.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Close to town

1    8/19/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: nicfit
Played: 46  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's nice this course is so close to town and I can make it from my work in under 10 minutes. Nice park and decent layout.
Cons: No tee markers the day I played, and since many of the fairways overlap you're not quite sure which pin to shoot for... that is until you get up close and see the number on the pin is the wrong one.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing again, but only if you're in a pinch or have a short amount of time.. like I did on my lunch hour.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.