Chattanooga, TN 
Carver Recreation Center DGC Share
Uploaded By: chrishank Hole #2 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 286ft.   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rough around the edges...

1    4/20/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: bulletproof88
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quick nine on your lunchbreak type course.
-Located in an area that could introduce new people to disc golf.
-Beginner friendly course.
-Two tee pads.
-Park setting for the little ones who burn out following dad around the course.
Cons: -The environment is not the most pleasant. Being friendly helps. Also weekdays before noon are probably safest.
-Terrible drainage on some holes. Probably the worst part for me. Soaked...
-High grass when I went. Also an issue because it hid the fact that the ground was so wet.
-Most tee signs are damaged now.
-Weird flow after three, maybe the tall grass had me lost.
Other Thoughts: This course could be much nicer than it is with a little work and love. It's a roughish area, where most people don't know what disc golf is. That's good and bad. Maybe an occasional tournament/expo type thing could bring more to the course and the CFDC. Could we start a movement on this one? Could be a gem for folks downtown.....
If I took the wetness when I went into account, my rating would be worse. Don't go soon after rain.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Do Not Take Your Own Vehicle

2-4    8/29/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: rltballer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Fairly clean. Never crowded. Good for beginers.
Cons: Ghetto trash in the area. Not all people, but the few bad apples killed it for me. My friends car was broken into. Smashed front window. Little kids wanting to play gangsta hangin around. Some of the tee pad signage have been damaged. A couple of the pins have been pushed until tilted.
Other Thoughts: I would go back to play, but if i do, i will park up in front of the building. I may never take my car there again tho. It is a nice course, if it werent for the breaking into the car, i would have given a 3.5 due to it actually is a nice fun course. Pretty wide open. Short throws for the front 9, Longer for the back 9.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 needs lots of work but an okay course

5+    7/11/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: chrishank
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: concrete teepads on each hole as well as 2 teepads for each hole. located at a rec center so public bathrooms are available as well as a park and swimming pool. convietly located downtown. easy course so perfect for a beginer.
Cons: 2 large trees sit in the fairway of hole 3 from the recent storms. hole 4 and 5 is a water trap. damage to the signs at the teepads. about half have been damaged and you can not find out distance. it should really be better taking care of.
Other Thoughts: i work at utc which is less than 10 blocks from this course so i play it often. i have never had a problem from anyone there. true it is not in the best location but it is safe as long as you dont judge the people there. i have only went once and not seen other people using the park for reasons other than disk golf, like the walking track pool playground etc. but none of these people were mean or rude. they were all friendly and few even ask about the game. i would give 3 or 3.5 for this course if it was better taking care of.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A decent intro course

2-4    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a nice wide open course and I would say is a great place to bring a beginner to learn the basics.

It is mostly wide open around a walking track so trees only come into play for 2 or 3 holes. Because this is so beginner friendly, lost discs are a non-issue at this course, even if thrown badly.

Dual concrete tee pads make it good if you are taking a few newbies out for the first time.

There is adequate parking space and pretty easy to get to from downtown.
Cons: The only cons I could think of are far and few between.

1. This is a beginners course so you will probably get bored if you are a little better.

2. Short holes. I think the longest one was a bit over 300'

3. Kids/families in the park make for even more obstacles and could be quite dangerous when the park is crowded.
Other Thoughts: Consider that ball golf was once an elite sport, reserved for only rich people. Disc golf should not have the same stigma and by placing a course in a section of town that isn't the best of places is only going to encourage more people to play this lovely sport.

For those of you who are weary of going to neighborhoods that are below your standards, just go with a friend and have fun. I find that if someone is looking at me, if I am the first to initiate a hello/head nod, 99% will return the gesture. Remember, a lot of these people are just watching you to just figure out what the hell you're doing. Be nice and courteous and you will get the same treatment.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice lunch break course.

2-4    10/25/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a nice easy course with two sets of tees. It's in the open, and it's a great place to just get in a quick round. It's a nice course, well-designed considering the plot of land it's on. The land it's on is a rec center for inner-city youth, so it's in a safer place considering what part of town it's in, and there's water fountains (at least inside).
Cons: This part of town is rough. be careful when you go there. i think it's hole 3 or 4 where you come pretty close to some houses or a road or something. However, the part of town it's in is not enough reason to avoid the course altogether, but just be careful when you go.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners. most of the holes are from 230-300, so it'll stretch out a beginner's drive a little. fairly flat. good, quick stop when you are there. the holes are somewhat varied. The few obstacles that are there are used quite well. (a few trees, very slight elevation changes, a jungle gym). I liked playing the course, but it's not good enough to drive more than 30 minutes to play. There are better courses in the area, but any course is better than no course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/16/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly open 9 hole course. Two sets of tees means you could play it twice for 18 holes with a little variety on the 2nd 9. Pretty good variety in hole length. Many birdie and ace opportunities. Water on a couple of holes, but it should not come into play.
Cons: About half the holes were just a tee and basket in an open field, no obstacles.

2 sets of tees can be a good thing, but there is not a lot of distance separating the short and long tees on several of the holes.

There is a walking trail throughout park near the holes, but there was only one person using it when I played. During peak times this could be a factor.

The area of town may not be the best, but we saw few people and everyone was nice and/or kept to themselves.

Other Thoughts: This would be a good course for beginners/novices, etc.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 BYOG (gun)

2-4    9/27/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: insane4chains
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a disc golf course. It has baskets,
Cons: Broken glass, used condom wrappers and beer cans litter the fairways. Sideways glances from the other users of the park. At times it can be scary. Do not let the sun set on you at Carver!
Other Thoughts: If you like people aimlessly walking/wandering across the fairway just as you are getting ready to throw that driver, this is the course for you! If one of your discs lands near a kid, most likely he will pick it up with a "HEY LOOK WHAT I FOUND" look on his face. Make sure you don't say anything even slightly negative about this though...cause then you will most likely get a beat down by his posse or worse... his 6ft3 340lb mom! Gotta love that hole where just behind the basket is a menacing barking dog reminding you that if you miss... the disc is his. And if you miss badly enough and hit the pimp van, things could get ugly.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.