Chattanooga, TN
Carver Recreation Center DGC Share
Uploaded By: chrishank Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 265ft.   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Basket located behind the big tree



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Rough around the edges...

1    4/20/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: bulletproof88
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quick nine on your lunchbreak type course.
-Located in an area that could introduce new people to disc golf.
-Beginner friendly course.
-Two tee pads.
-Park setting for the little ones who burn out following dad around the course.
Cons: -The environment is not the most pleasant. Being friendly helps. Also weekdays before noon are probably safest.
-Terrible drainage on some holes. Probably the worst part for me. Soaked...
-High grass when I went. Also an issue because it hid the fact that the ground was so wet.
-Most tee signs are damaged now.
-Weird flow after three, maybe the tall grass had me lost.
Other Thoughts: This course could be much nicer than it is with a little work and love. It's a roughish area, where most people don't know what disc golf is. That's good and bad. Maybe an occasional tournament/expo type thing could bring more to the course and the CFDC. Could we start a movement on this one? Could be a gem for folks downtown.....
If I took the wetness when I went into account, my rating would be worse. Don't go soon after rain.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Do Not Take Your Own Vehicle

2-4    8/29/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: rltballer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Fairly clean. Never crowded. Good for beginers.
Cons: Ghetto trash in the area. Not all people, but the few bad apples killed it for me. My friends car was broken into. Smashed front window. Little kids wanting to play gangsta hangin around. Some of the tee pad signage have been damaged. A couple of the pins have been pushed until tilted.
Other Thoughts: I would go back to play, but if i do, i will park up in front of the building. I may never take my car there again tho. It is a nice course, if it werent for the breaking into the car, i would have given a 3.5 due to it actually is a nice fun course. Pretty wide open. Short throws for the front 9, Longer for the back 9.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 needs lots of work but an okay course

5+    7/11/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: chrishank
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: concrete teepads on each hole as well as 2 teepads for each hole. located at a rec center so public bathrooms are available as well as a park and swimming pool. convietly located downtown. easy course so perfect for a beginer.
Cons: 2 large trees sit in the fairway of hole 3 from the recent storms. hole 4 and 5 is a water trap. damage to the signs at the teepads. about half have been damaged and you can not find out distance. it should really be better taking care of.
Other Thoughts: i work at utc which is less than 10 blocks from this course so i play it often. i have never had a problem from anyone there. true it is not in the best location but it is safe as long as you dont judge the people there. i have only went once and not seen other people using the park for reasons other than disk golf, like the walking track pool playground etc. but none of these people were mean or rude. they were all friendly and few even ask about the game. i would give 3 or 3.5 for this course if it was better taking care of.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Course

5+    6/30/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: RICKY BOBBY
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open fairways and few trees make every hole an ace opportunity especially as the longest hole is just over 300'.
Lots of parking.
Never crowded. Actually, I've never seen another group of players out there.
You could probably score a lid if that's your style.
Cons: Very few trees means very little shade. It gets HOT out there.
Some kids use the park to play in and you may have to play through/around them.
Other Thoughts: It's really not a horrible neighborhood. This is located behind a children's rec center that has a pool, so the first and last hole are kind of noisy at times. I've never felt unsafe or worried about the locals to the area. If you're nice to them, they're nice to you and I've not met a single person there that scares me. So that's that.

It's a good place for a beginner.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Are you kidding me?

2-4    6/28/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: disccrazy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's a disc golf course
Cons: Standing water 8 inches deep 2 weeks after a rain. Used condom wrappers and broken bottles litter the fairways. Gunshots heard close by, etc etc
Other Thoughts: To the "tough guy" who tells everyone to "suck it up" , maybe the needles, used condom wrappers and broken bottles don't scare you since you're such a tough guy but the 4 gunshots from close by did scare me. Not a family friendly place, this is the forgotten disc golf course of Chattanooga. None of the Sinks snobs would even consider playing there because they think that unless you atre throwing through a thicket of trees on every throw, then you aren't really playing disc golf.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A decent intro course

2-4    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 38  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a nice wide open course and I would say is a great place to bring a beginner to learn the basics.

It is mostly wide open around a walking track so trees only come into play for 2 or 3 holes. Because this is so beginner friendly, lost discs are a non-issue at this course, even if thrown badly.

Dual concrete tee pads make it good if you are taking a few newbies out for the first time.

There is adequate parking space and pretty easy to get to from downtown.
Cons: The only cons I could think of are far and few between.

1. This is a beginners course so you will probably get bored if you are a little better.

2. Short holes. I think the longest one was a bit over 300'

3. Kids/families in the park make for even more obstacles and could be quite dangerous when the park is crowded.
Other Thoughts: Consider that ball golf was once an elite sport, reserved for only rich people. Disc golf should not have the same stigma and by placing a course in a section of town that isn't the best of places is only going to encourage more people to play this lovely sport.

For those of you who are weary of going to neighborhoods that are below your standards, just go with a friend and have fun. I find that if someone is looking at me, if I am the first to initiate a hello/head nod, 99% will return the gesture. Remember, a lot of these people are just watching you to just figure out what the hell you're doing. Be nice and courteous and you will get the same treatment.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The ghetto

1    2/26/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a basic example of a disc golf course. While there is nothing particularly special or outstanding, it does have a few things going for it in the "pros" department. I guess what people will enjoy most are the abundant ace opportunities. Truly they are on every hole.

Amenity wise this course isn't necessarily terrible. To start, it has two very nice concrete tee pads per hole. The baskets are as good as new and it's worth noting that they have the little "next tee" arrow stickers too. Lastly, it also has nice tee signs with distances (even though they have arrows that don't point towards the basket for some unknown reason)

It's a good beginner course and/or a confidence builder. It's also convenient to other Chattanooga courses.
Cons: This is a very open course with not much distance so there is not much difficulty. Additionally there are not many obstacles to speak of so the course can get a little repetitive. Hole five's wide open shot adds some variety with its basket sitting two feet from the shore of a swamp but the water is practically stagnant. If you happen to throw in the water and have to retrieve your disc, I wouldn't be surprised if you wind up with a mild case of Giardia.

While I'm talking about water, it's worth mentioning that with just a moderate amount of rain the ground was extraordinarily saturated on most of the course. Hole four in particular was all but unplayable with three to four inches of water that stretched from the short tee pad to the basket.

I mentioned that there is not much difficulty. Actually there is an element of difficulty that is not found on many courses, namely fear. Because this course is situated in such an economically challenged community there are a couple of things you will be afraid of. First, you'll be afraid of not being able to see you vehicle from all of the holes. It's hard to concentrate on putting when, "I wonder if someone is breaking into my car" is going through your mind. Additionally, some of the park users are a little shady. You'll probably assume they have mischief on their mind. This includes but is not limited to being afraid that they will steal your wallet or just simply "pop a cap" in your ass. I guess in some way this makes up for the lack of difficulty but it's quite distracting.
Other Thoughts: Quite honestly this course is not absolutely horrendous, just close to it. I actually had a little bit of fun. Just be aware of what it is before you go. As mentioned by other reviewers don't play alone, keep your eyes peeled and know what to expect before playing here. To sum it up, this is a recreational course in a bad neighborhood with a significant drainage problem. After all it's still a disc golf course. A park with baskets is always better than a park with no baskets. Come out, go for some aces and most importantly, Enjoy!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Why?

1    3/26/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the only inner city course in the Chattanooga area. It's not too far away from UTC, but definitely not walking distance. The course plays around the recreation center that also has a playground and walking track.
The course has two concrete tee pads for every hole and signs indicating hole number, distance, and direction (although the direction arrows were often wrong). Not much selection as far as distance and elevation goes. Everything plays so short that elevation doesn't really come into play. Every hole is basically an ace run, even the long tees. I'll be nice and say that the atmosphere added something a little different to the course.
Cons: As far as structural flaws go, this course has a few too many. Most of the course is completely flooded with no drainage, so water remains in the fairways until the sun dries it up. A few of the holes were completely unplayable and resembled a swamp more than a park. The grass was also pretty high in these areas. The dual tees are pointless because they're essentially the same shot, plus ten feet.
Not the most welcoming environment for a disc golf course either. The course is located in a high crime area and you feel it from the second you leave your vehicle.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was probably the worst course I've ever played. I'm not saying this to bad mouth the designer because I can appreciate the effort it took to build it, but one has to wonder why? I was playing host to some guys from out of town, and I was completely embarrassed by this course. Despite the structural flaws, we also had to worry about the drug dealers around the corner that were constantly eying my car. I'm not sure what the CFDC was thinking, but these baskets need to get pulled and placed in a location where you can enjoy a round without the fear of being shanked.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Bums, and beggers, and swamp land oh my!

2-4    8/8/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy and short 9 hole course for beginners, multiple tees can be used to handicap mixed groups.
Cons: I'll be polite and list the location as "undesirable." Don't go alone, or near sundown, or for a week after it rains.
Other Thoughts: Drive about 10 minutes to Jack Mattox instead and you can actually relax while playing.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not much to offer

1    7/23/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Concrete Tee pads. Two pads, Pro and Am. Easy to follow course, very first time friendly. Many (if not all holes) Ace opportunities.
Cons: Not much to offer and challenge anyone beyond a beginner. Simple basket out in front of tee pad setup. Nothing in the form of woods or water. Plays like a practice course. And of course the dreaded...'Only nine holes'. Have to add that in.
Other Thoughts: Easy course for beginners or to be used to introduce new players to the game for the first time, but if you have any skill at all it just doesn't have anything to offer. Also take note, It is located in a rather....seedy part of town. We played in the early afternoon with the sun blazing and we still felt uncomfortable with the attention we were getting from some locals. I wouldn't say not to play here, but I have to mention the safety factor if couples or families are reading this and planning an outing.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.