Mesquite, TX 
DeBusk Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #4 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great little 9 hole course

1    8/2/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: Withinoz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.8 Years
Pros: Nice use of the land available in a well maintained city park. Hole 1 gives an awesome 130ft Ace opportunity/ almost guaranteed birdie to boost your confidence before the complete change up on number 2's 400+ ft pin location!

Good tees and baskets all throughout. Great use of what terrain is available in the park.
Cons: Vandals have stolen all the tee signs. So it was a little confusing trying to find 3.

There is a great jungle gym, and wooden castle play area that will undoubtedly attract a lot of small children. One of the baskets, I believe it was 5, sits near the bathroom and I found myself a little worried about hitting kids as they kept running in and out of my field if view around the basket.

There is not a ton of challenge here. I finished -3 first time here. Although, there are plenty of courses nearby to make this a destination location.
Other Thoughts: Since Paschall Park is about 4 minutes away, you might as well play this course when you head into town to throw out at Paschall. I enjoyed it, as an additional destination on my Paschall trip.

There are another 3 courses within 15 minutes as well. So you shouldn't have any trouble getting your DG fill.

DeBusk

1    8/16/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Len Averyt
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1 Years
Pros: Nice mix of open, woods and hills. Access is good and easy to get around on.
Cons: Tees are not marked well. 1&2 can get mixed up. 6 looks like 3 cause 3 is kind of hidden.
Other Thoughts: Porter, Pascal and debusk made a great day of disc golfing all in a short distance.


1    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: Nice concrete teepads. Nice maintained course and park. Grass kept cut during summer. Nice baskets. Restrooms on site. Course flows pretty well.
Cons: The only cons I really have about the course is little to no hole signage and the water hazard didn't really have much water.
Other Thoughts: Nice kept course would play again if in the area.

 Good and Bad

5+    3/5/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 8/7/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole course
Park is kept clean
Bathrooms
Concrete Tees
Water Fountains

Cons: Course can get crowded with park goers making it unplayable and have actually seen people try to use baskets as BBQ's.

Open holes not much to avoid, straight forward.

Giant deep creek that runs through it eats new players lol.
Other Thoughts: This is a good fast 9 holes course that is kept nice and clean, on the weekends don't even think about playing it though park goers make a game impossible.

Hole 1 - Very short ace-able hole requiring a slight anhyzer to avoid a tree to the right of the tee.

Hole 2 - Huge open shot next to the creek that runs through the course and over a ditch, by far best hole of the course.

Hole 3 - Nice open shot with a drop off to the creek to the left and a big cluster of trees to the right near the basket. On a side note beware of picnickers, seems like a popular spot.

Hole 4 - More or less a open straight shot with one big tree to the right that will block most hyzers.

Hole 5 - Just a big open field throw, careful of kids playing in the park though, they tend to play around this basket a lot.

Hole 6 - This is a cool hole, the tee is at the top of a hill that give you tons of free glide for a good ace run at the basket.

Hole 7 - Big open straight shot with creek on the right of you.

Hole 8 - Big open straight shot with the basket a little bit to the left on a hill, creek runs along the right side.

Hole 9 - Same as 8, big straight open shot.

Cool course, if you are in the area stop by and play around its worth the time! And when you are done here Paschall is right down the road.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a try

2-4    12/20/2011   2/7/2012
Review By: texassidearm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained park/course. Offers decent variety of hole distance with hardly any trees. Seems to play more favorable for right-handed backhanders.
Cons: The course mostly meanders along a giant canyon of a creek in the middle of the park which was busy with players retreiving their discs both times I played. Not real challenging in terms of hole creativity as it lacks the occasional enjoyed obstacle that trees sometimes create.
Other Thoughts: Located within a few miles of 3 or 4 other nice courses, so if you want to make a day of playing DG at different places... definitely include this one!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I wish all courses were this nice

1    10/20/2011   10/20/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is extremely nice, and although only 9 holes, the layout makes use of the available space well. Holes are short but fun, which makes for quick, enjoyable play. Bathrooms at both ends of the park and plenty of pavilion space and playground if you wanted to bring the whole family. It's also right off the freeway so it's a convenient stop.
Cons: There were no signs. The layout is simple enough to learn after one play through, but mistaking 7 for 3 would be pretty easy to do for first timers. At least a course map online would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Additional footbridges after 7 and 9 would be nice, but the sidewalk along the roads are easily accessible.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice easy play.

2-4    7/12/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: pfluegel
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee pads are great, grounds are great, nice markers, beautiful park,
Cons: Hole one. Pretty much the whole thing. The pad is 90% covered in dirt and is an easy birdie. I had a couple of rollers that got me in trouble. I was able to recover all disc but it did slow us way down.
Other Thoughts: Great park near by so bring the family! We usually just play this twice to make our 18, hole 3 is a perfect example of what a hole should be.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All around good.

1    2/15/2011   2/15/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: overall a nice 9 hole course... see my complete review in the other thoughts box. Easy layout to follow. Nice tee pads. clean park.
Cons: Tee and hole optons might be nice.
Other Thoughts: This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth ˝ disc for a total of 10, ˝ disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat… even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

DeBusk park, Mesquite, TX

1. Yes. Good tee pads.
2. Yes. Good signage on posts. No main map. Next tee indicators on baskets. Easy to navigate course. Transition from 2 to 3 was easy to mess up… went to pad for 6, but was corrected fast
3. No. Park amenities are good, but course specific amenities are absent.
4. Yes. Overall nice clean park. Benches, BBQ grills, playground equipment, bathrooms, water fountain.
5. Yes. Quite well done here. Nice use of the creek and tree areas. All water plays on the right ('cept 3 but water is quite far left) which is ideal for classic RHBH throwers. I get the water willies easy and this course's water was not intimidating.
6. Yes. Existing elevation and terrain is incorporated well into course layout.
7. Yes. Some longer, some shorter. No real "big arm" stuff here, but a good mix is offered.
8. No. No tee or basket choices are offered.
9. Yes. I would designate #2 as a signature hole here… it has it all. Water, elevation, lay-up options, overall view of the park. Just a nicely done DG hole.
10. Yes. I had fun. This was my first course of the day and was a nice way to kick off a 3 course day
11.
Rating = 8 yes, 2 no = 4 disc rating

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun, Fast and Clean

1    5/4/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: Innova Bob
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great short course. Clean, open and neat layout. Hole two is a good one to try your distance arm on. All holes are marked clearly and you can't miss where the next hole is. Good course for beginners or just to kill some time.
Cons: Hole one is the shorts hole and has a patch of trees on either side. Few water hazzards, tall grass near the creek makes it easy to lose a disc if you aren't carefull.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice quick round

1    3/19/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean park. Beginner friendly. Big yellow posts with red top make it where you don't need next Tee signs. Nice disc catchers. Enough parking. Hole 1 is the most technical hole as it has more trees than most of the others. Great place to bring your practice basket and make up your own shots, mainly because there are some hills from which to launch that were not used in the design. Some were, just not all. Big mean drainage ditch/creek. Discs are retrievable but it is pretty steep in a couple of spots. Wind can add challenge as it is a pretty wide open course except for a few pockets of trees. Hole 2 used the creek nicely. It is about 300 ft. to the pin with the creek about 240. Which leaves us noodle arms with a question of strategery. Pros would consider it another ace run and just park it. Great practice course or place to play your 1st round because of the lack of trees and deep water hazards.
Cons: People everywhere, 1st day of spring may have played a role. The design could have been better IMO, the hills would have been fun to launch off of. Just nitpicking. For what this park is, there isn't too many cons. Just few design tweaks would suit me. Of course there is the safety issue and that is because they put a disc golf course in a busy park, so no big surprise. We are used to sharing these city park type courses with civilians anyways so just watch out for the little ones.
Other Thoughts: This is a quick round and good practice for whatever shot you need to work on, because it's so open and forgiving of poor 1st shots. If you are close then by all means bag it and porter park is only about 4 miles away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.