Mesquite, TX 
DeBusk Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #3 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Another nice 9 hole course

2-4    12/29/2009   12/30/2009
Review By: six30two
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is really well maintained and has a winding, treeless creek that runs through the course. There is almost no chance that you will ever be in the trees on this course (slight chance on hole #2). Great tee pads and disc catchers.
Cons: Hole number 1 is very short.
Other Thoughts: The locals I met said that to make hole #1 more challenging and fun that they park by the Quizno's up on the other side of the creek and throw at the hole from behind the shopping center- there is a big utility box and about 25' of concrete and it does make this hole way more fun, just watch out if you are a righty and you throw a hyzer from way up there. Hole number 9 ends right there as well so when you're finished you can just go to your car without having to deal with the bridge again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another mesquite 9-holer

5+    12/14/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: Geraldo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fairly fun course set in a family environment.For a nine hole there is a good variety of hole length ranging from 132ft to 405ft with a little elevation on s couple holes.Holes 2.3.4.7.8&9 all boarder the creek in some way,which could also be a con for beginners.

There are restrooms and water fountains located near hole #1 and #5.Also trash cans throughout the park.
Cons: HOLES #8&#9 ARE THE SAME HOLE BACK TO BACK.
To get form 7 to 8 and 9 to 1 you must walk next to busy streets to cross the creek.

There is no shot variety at all, every hole is a strait shot down an open fairway.
Other Thoughts: There are two playgrounds on either side of the park, and walking trails throughout the park making this a great place to bring the family.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I was amazed

1    11/18/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I rated this one pretty high. I like a fun course, that still challenges me enough not to get bored. This course was the perfect blend. Some good length, they really used the creek bed well. Hole 2, wow, I just really loved this hole. This park was very nice, well groomed short grass. Every tee box is marked with a tall yellow pole, very easy to see, weather the sign is intact or not. Concrete tee boxes are here, which I'm more and more a fan of.
Cons: The walking trails criss-cross all over the course, we weren't there at a peak time, so not an issue, but on the weekend this could really suck. Hole one was really, really short. Several tee signs missing or in the process of breaking off.
Other Thoughts: So I can see why this course gets lower ratings. Several holes are defiantly easy. I rate courses on quality and fun. I played this the same day I played Lake Lewisville and Northlake Park, and really I had the most fun here. It was the cleanest park as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Cup Of Decaf

1    8/17/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fair-minded neighborhood 9-holer. It has a creek that runs along a couple of holes. The signs are excellent and the park seems to be well maintained. The cement tee pads are in great shape and the course is not that difficult to follow. There was a restroom and drinking fountain on site.
Cons: There does seem to be a good number of walkers, so the safety dance is in play here. Most every hole is a straightaway. Most of the holes and pin placements were out in the open with little creativity. There was lots of trash on the course and very few trashcans.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor here was just OK. Maybe the birdie hole #1 was about the only thrill I got playing here. Sadly, I doubt I will head back to play this one again. So, to reflect the title of this review, it is a plain layout without much kick to it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

1    8/22/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: 4cryNoutLOUD
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another good 9 hole course for beginners. Hole #2 is the best on this course. Holes have good elevation changes and have good concrete tee-boxes.
Cons: Some holes are missing signs and you'll have to walk a little far between some holes.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. It's a good one to play twice to make a 18 hole game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all

5+    8/9/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The city always does a great job for making courses and keeping them well kept.
Great for Right Handed Side Arm throwers and for Lefties!
I have never played it when it was crowded. This could be a great place to let the kids and wife hangout on the playground equipment while you squeeze 9 holes in under an hour. Even though it has little shot variety, it has a few holes that make it worth playing.
Top 3 holes.

#2 Is the best hole on the course. You have to either throw short of the creek or cross over a creek that cuts in the fairway. A stream also flows on the right of this hole and could eat some discs. Also play the concrete OB.

#3 This hole along with 2 or the top holes to play. Good shots are a must, but even a beginner can handle it. Very balanced.

#7 Longer in comparison to the others on the course. Roughly wide open but the creek will come into play. Big arms will have no problem making a 2 or a 3.

For only 9 holes it is a fun little course and worth playing.
Cons:
#8 & 9 seem like the same hole played twice.

#1 is very short…too short.

No bridge to cross over the #8 or back to #1. You have to walk right by the road, and if you have kids this can be scary.

Won't affect play but some of the tee signs are missing or vandalized.
Other Thoughts:
If you live in the area this would be a nice course to come to after work. Just lacking a few things but it does compare well to the others in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Neighborhood Park

1    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A nice neighborhood 9-hole course with quality concrete tees, Discatcher Pro baskets, and high visibility descriptive tee signs. This is an excellent model of how an introductory course should be equipped. The tee signs give directions to the next tee when necessary. There are restroom facilities and a water fountain by hole #1. Speaking of which... hole #1 sets a deceptive tone by starting you with an easy 132' birdie hole. Then it unleashes hole #2: a 405' hole with the creek looming on the right, and hole #3 a 362' downhill bomb with the creek on the left this time. Those are the best two holes on the course. The navigation is easy especially if you read the tip on the #2 tee sign for how to get to #3. There's some decent elevation changes in this little course too.
Cons:
The placard on the #3 tee sign is missing. There's a walking/jogging trail weaving through the park so you need to be aware of pedestrians and other park patrons possibly playing in fairways. The course finishes with a couple lackluster holes that are almost identical shots with the baskets parked on the side of a slight hill.
Other Thoughts:
There are water hazards but most are pretty easy to avoid with a conservative throw (#3 is the most risky for RHBH). There are some reviews mentioning the desire for foot bridges. There are already two street bridges that are only a minor bit out of the way to get from one hole to the next, or back to the parking lot. Adding foot bridges would be very costly and aren't really necessary. This is a good starter course and even up to a low intermediate course but advanced and pros are gonna be bored.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner

1    1/8/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course. Pretty wide open and not much OB for upper caliber player. Good baskets and concrete tee pads, along with good tee signs. You can play this course very fast and multiple times!! Not very busy so you can throw lots of drives and test new discs/shots out.
Cons: Too easy for Pro/Adv player. No bridges on backside. Other then that, there are no complaints.
Other Thoughts: Bring suntan lotion in the summer. Dont know how it would be after a big rain with the creekbed being there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Debusk DGC Review

1    1/24/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: masterk13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great signage at every hole.
- Great course to practice driving due to open terrain.
- Very attractive park. Part of the course follows a creek that comes slightly into play on a few holes.
- Course is well groomed and maintained.
Cons: - Almost too open.
- You don't have to think much on this course.
- Needs more trees and/or shrubs to create obstacles or hazards to get around or avoid.
- Should build 2 bridges. One to cross over the creek from 7 to 8 and one to cross over the creek after 9 to get back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This a fun little course and I will definitely play here again. If you have a consistent throw and can putt at all, Par should be in range for even beginners.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/17/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the funnest 9 hole courses I have ever played. I was suprised to see such good concrete tee pads and signs on a nine hole course. Most of the holes are pretty open but some trees and elevation do come into play.
Cons: The only thing I don't like about this course is that you have to go up on a sidewalk along a busy street and cross a bridge between hole #7 and #8. Then you have to do it again after hole #9 to get back to your car.

A few more well place trees would really take this course to the next level.
Other Thoughts: I would drive out of my way to play this course again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.