Moab, UT 
Base Camp Adventure Lodge DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #12 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    4/5/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: thenewguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great scenery awesome layout! Just an all around great place to be and play
You beat new discs in really fast!
Cons: Rough on discs. Very tiring.
Rolled up our tent to find scorpions sleeping under us
Other Thoughts: If you get the chance to play base camp take it! If you dont, you will spend your whole life regretting that horrible decision.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unique Course

2-4    8/15/2013   3/21/2014
Review By: luckypeak
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Once in a lifetime course
-Fun drive to course
-Watching drives fly over the red rock
Cons: -Sandy
-Hot
Other Thoughts: Its a fun course very unique. Not the type of course that made me fall in love with disc golf. But worth playing once.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Incredible Course

1    5/26/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 57  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an incredible course located in outskirts of Moab, one of the best places on earth for us outdoor lovers.

Every hole has clearly marked tee pad with distances and directions to where the basket is if it's a blind shot. You are given a map which is extremely helpful in navigating the course as well.

Tom, the owner, took the time to walk us through what to expect and lent us a walkie talkie in case there were any problems.

You have a great variety of throws here, though most of them are long. The best though is that you get throws here that I've never seen on another course, like throwing next to or over a cliff!
Cons: This course is extremely hard on discs. You are throwing onto sandstone rocks on many holes which can eat your disc alive, so be sure to bring ones you are ok with dinging up a bit.

Some of the baskets are about a foot off the ground due to flooding and such. It's not a huge con, obviously, but it is a little odd.
Other Thoughts: I wondered why this course was rated so high, and now I see. It is absolutely beautiful and tough as hell! A great course for sure!

This course is in the desert! It is hot and dry and very secluded. Tom does his best to make sure everyone has access to fresh water and knows the risks of the course though. It's rocky and covers a lot of ground, so good shoes/boots will go a long way.

We didn't have 4-wheel drive going out there and kinda got stuck once. It took us a few min to get our 2WD explorer out of the sand, but after that it was pretty good. 4WD is certainly preferable but not absolutely needed.

Bring some lettuce or cucumbers to feed the giant turtle at the lodge!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing adventure

2-4    10/7/2011   8/29/2012
Review By: madiganshouse
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing holes, views, terrain. An adventure just getting there! No crowds, I have played this course twice over two end of summer trips and havent seen another group there yet.
Cons: No civilization nearby, its not really a con. It just is. So be prepared with all your gear. One step teepads arent really a con either, but just maybe work on your one step drives before you head out there.
Other Thoughts: Take plenty of pictures, it is the most amazing Wile E. Coyote terrain. Wear gators and good hiking boots. Ask where the road meets the course out by hole 9 and drive back and drop off extra drinks to refuel before starting your round.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course In Utah

2-4    12/21/2011   2/13/2012
Review By: Hole In Four
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain
Extremely well-designed course
Large variety of shots
Never busy
Retreated from noise and civilization
Cons: Takes a long time to get to the course (and a slightly capable vehicle aka 4wd)
Beginners may lose discs
$5 course fee
Other Thoughts: Amazing course. I think it's the best in Utah. My brother and I make it a trip we do every year. The owners of Base Adventure Camp are the nicest you'll meet, and the course itself is one of the most fun I've played. I can't really say anything negative about it. Just make sure you have food and water, because it can get hot and the course can take a while. It is a must play for any disc golf enthusiast!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme Course

2-4    10/19/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: Drewmon71
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2011
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Amazing views throughout the entire course.
Good mix of drives and use of natural features
well designed course in an amazing setting
Cons: some teeboxes are sandy
Other Thoughts: the drive to the lodge is a bit challenging, but take it slow and you will be fine

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Base Camp - Ahhhh

1    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Holes 5,6,13,14 are on my "dream 18" disc golf holes of all time. Really cool shots combined with unbelievable views and backdrops.
-The area around the course is pure unspoiled nature at it's most raw and beautiful. Overall conditions will vary WIDELY depending on when you play.
-This course is an 'overall experience' that is just amazing. If you ever find yourself fortunate enough to be playing this course, consider yourself very lucky. The experience is getting there, hanging out at the lodge, watching the huge tortoise and staying the night if you have the time. And if you are at this course then you should make the time. We stayed in a hogan for $5 a night. It's a freaking mud hut! And it was very cool.
-I enjoyed the hiking/bouldering around very much and I consider it a pro to the course.
Cons: -Teepads - the rock and grass were fine with me, but the sand was difficult to throw from.
-I thought there were a few too many long par 3s and would have liked to see some of the holes lengthened or shortened for either a bigger challenge or a more fun ace run.
-The first four holes that play around the lodge are wide open and not very memorable.
Other Thoughts: -Westin from Provo: PM me on here if you read this, thanks for waking up early, it was a fun round.
-Tom the owner is a really cool dude. Please respect his private property if you ever get out to play this course. Make sure you are prepared to be totally self sufficient.
-The Diamond-X course by itself IS more extreme.

A few thoughts on the drive to Base Camp:
Oh. My. God. So we had a rental Nissan Xterra and it was OK navigating the mountain road up to Hurrah Pass. Do not try this without a 4x4 vehicle. This is a road that was originally put in by the uranium miners back in the 50s. Now it is used by jeepers and mountain bikers seeking thrills with exposed rock ledges. Take the river shuttle from Moab if you don't have a capable car!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course So Far

1    4/29/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: russdeffner
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challenge and Aesthetics are the top pros of many.

This is a must/bucket list course for any serious disc player. The challenge starts by getting there, I wouldn't suggest any 2WD vehicle. In Moab you can rent a jeep, atv, bicycle or as we witnessed a group a folks doing - park your vehicle on the east side of Hurrah Pass and hike YA over. Just get there.
Cons: No real reason to complain about the course.
Other Thoughts: Must

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A very special place in the desert.

1    4/29/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 12/3/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is everything you would expect a desert course to be like. Hills, rocks, cacti, and sand fill the landscape of what may be one of the coolest courses I will ever play. I love how secluded the course is from the city. You even have a few overnight staying options. The course plays openly around the lodge for the first four holes with great views of the Colorado River, then you begin the journey over rocks, canyons, desert hills, and washed out drainages. The beautiful red sandstone plays on many holes. The tees are a mix of astroturf, slickrock, and dirt, which aren't all perfect, but they are sufficient enough for a good blast. Most holes have both amateur and pro pads. Each hole is unique with a name and has vertical and horizontal distances on a sheet provided by the owner. The property owner is very friendly and will help you with any questions you may have. You even get a walkie talkie to carry for the round.
Cons: This course, being very secluded, requires a decent vehicle to get to it. I've heard 2WD cars with good ground clearance can make it, but I wouldn't risk it. Bikes and atvs would make a fun journey to the course as well. Bring water and food because it is the desert, and far from any stores! The lodge has water to fill you up before you start playing away from it. We played before the summer heat arrived and it was perfect! I can imagine how strenuous it would be to play in 100+ weather.

Watch where your drive lands, you may have to search under rocks and in cracks between rocks. I know from experience. The rocks are also very rough on discs, if you don't want to tear up your nice plastic.

Watch for cactus. I got a splinter on my hand that delayed the round.
Other Thoughts: Me and a friend traveled from Colorado to play this course and now I dream of going back. It is a one of a kind course that all disc golfers should experience.

Favorite holes: #9, #12, #13, #16

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 BEST COURSE IN THE WORLD

5+    4/20/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: nosyrb1065
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: If you ever wanted to play dg on the moon... this is it! Awesome vistas. Awesome host. Man camp was born at this course.
Cons: Despite what they say... you need 4 wheel drive with good clearance.
Other Thoughts: Go to the wind caves! They are close and will change your life.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.