Moab, UT 
Base Camp Adventure Lodge DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita   (Taken 8/2010)

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
The most unique course I've played

1    8/14/2015   8/14/2016
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 68  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery and landscape. Extremely exclusive land for the course. Friendly owner. One-of-a-kind experience.
Cons: Confusing course layout and flow. No tee signs and a terrible map (but at least eyes a map!). Exceptionally difficult to get there. Old baskets. No tee pads.
Other Thoughts: The truth is that this course gets most of its score for the unique location alone. Playing among the alien Utah landscape feels like a disc golf course in one of the local and spectacular parks like Arches.

The course itself isn't anything special. The layout can be very confusing, the baskets are old and worn-out, and there are no tee signs or tee pads. The landscape allows for the placement of some epic holes, and there are quite a few of them on this course. However, that also makes it very easy to lose track of discs and there is some seriously nasty underbrush for some of the roughs. There are also some uninspired filler holes.

But the epic holes are so epic they overshadow a lot of the cons. And the sheer uniqueness of the course scores it higher. But there are a lot of cons that the overall experience and the landscape itself overcompensates for. A little care and attention could make this a truly spectacular course.

I do have to point out that we called to ask about bringing a Honda Element out to the course and were told it would be no problem. That was a dangerously misguided response from the course owner. The road to get there from Moab becomes extremely rough and a vehicle with clearance is definitely needed. I'm not sure a 2WD vehicle would be advisable, but it might be possible.

The downhill part of the road was even more gnarly than uphill to Hurrah's Pass. In fact, we drove up to the Pass in the Element and turned back around. We then rode bikes to the course the next day. The owner kindly drove us back to the Pass after our round. I'm not sure we would have made it on bike, especially after an exhausting round in 110+ heat. In hindsight, the suggestion here to go by bike probably meant motorbike!

You will definitely want a capable vehicle with clearance as well as the nerves to drive some rough mountain roads both up and down. If the owner tells you, as he did us, that a minivan could make it, do not listen to him. I felt it very irresponsible for him to suggest that. The desert is no joke and the route to the course could be dangerous for the unprepared.

Even the experienced owner in his pickup truck was struggling on some parts of the road and I wasn't even sure if his truck was going to make it. There's no way a sedan or anything with low clearance is going to make it up to Hurrah's Pass from the course, even if you somehow made it there to begin with.

At any rate, it's without a doubt the most unique and memorable course I've ever played. It wasn't the best course I've ever played, but it stands alone. 5/5 for the setting, experience and uniqueness. 3/5 for the course design, layout and flow.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Course

1    5/17/2015   5/21/2015
Review By: caitlinmcnany
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I give this course a 5/5. There are more "epic holes" on this one course than the total of all the other courses I've ever played. The scenery and all of the challenges that come along with it makes it completely unique and extreme. All baskets, tee pads, signs and markers are in excellent shape and are easily visible. The course map represents the course well and is full of helpful notes. Some gems include, "Two rattlesnakes live between holes 8 & 9. Do not kill. Call on the walkie and we will come catch them or leave them alone." and "Bighorn sheep like to hang around this basket. If male (horns) use caution." The course has great flow and loops back around to the lodge. Despite the wild landscape, the course is very well-maintained. Obviously not a busy course, which is part of it's rustic charm. Restrooms, water and shade at the lodge.
Cons: The condition of the road is certainly downplayed. The website provides excellent directions but the road, itself, is truly considered an off-roading experience. I took my small rear wheel drive SUV and put it through the most challenging conditions it has ever seen getting to this course. Not necessarily a con, per se, but your car is not going to make it. You will need a least a small SUV for the clearance, alone. It is also very technical driving- you will need to cautiously choose where you are putting your tires with sheer drops off the side. Kings Canyon road is NOTHING compared to Hurrah Pass and Hurrah Pass is NOTHING compared to Chicken Corners, so basically the road gets more challenging as you go along. Just be warned. I personally enjoyed the challenge but it would not be for everybody.
Other Thoughts: Kobae the security tortoise and Tom, the owner were awesome. Great vibes at this place. Also, plan enough time to play the course twice. It will be worth it and you will want to feel like the drive was worth it other than for the incredible views.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/5/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: thenewguy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great scenery awesome layout! Just an all around great place to be and play
You beat new discs in really fast!
Cons: Rough on discs. Very tiring.
Rolled up our tent to find scorpions sleeping under us
Other Thoughts: If you get the chance to play base camp take it! If you dont, you will spend your whole life regretting that horrible decision.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Course

2-4    8/15/2013   3/21/2014
Review By: luckypeak
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: -Once in a lifetime course
-Fun drive to course
-Watching drives fly over the red rock
Cons: -Sandy
Other Thoughts: Its a fun course very unique. Not the type of course that made me fall in love with disc golf. But worth playing once.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Incredible Course

1    5/26/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 73  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an incredible course located in outskirts of Moab, one of the best places on earth for us outdoor lovers.

Every hole has clearly marked tee pad with distances and directions to where the basket is if it's a blind shot. You are given a map which is extremely helpful in navigating the course as well.

Tom, the owner, took the time to walk us through what to expect and lent us a walkie talkie in case there were any problems.

You have a great variety of throws here, though most of them are long. The best though is that you get throws here that I've never seen on another course, like throwing next to or over a cliff!
Cons: This course is extremely hard on discs. You are throwing onto sandstone rocks on many holes which can eat your disc alive, so be sure to bring ones you are ok with dinging up a bit.

Some of the baskets are about a foot off the ground due to flooding and such. It's not a huge con, obviously, but it is a little odd.
Other Thoughts: I wondered why this course was rated so high, and now I see. It is absolutely beautiful and tough as hell! A great course for sure!

This course is in the desert! It is hot and dry and very secluded. Tom does his best to make sure everyone has access to fresh water and knows the risks of the course though. It's rocky and covers a lot of ground, so good shoes/boots will go a long way.

We didn't have 4-wheel drive going out there and kinda got stuck once. It took us a few min to get our 2WD explorer out of the sand, but after that it was pretty good. 4WD is certainly preferable but not absolutely needed.

Bring some lettuce or cucumbers to feed the giant turtle at the lodge!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing adventure

2-4    10/7/2011   8/29/2012
Review By: madiganshouse
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Amazing holes, views, terrain. An adventure just getting there! No crowds, I have played this course twice over two end of summer trips and havent seen another group there yet.
Cons: No civilization nearby, its not really a con. It just is. So be prepared with all your gear. One step teepads arent really a con either, but just maybe work on your one step drives before you head out there.
Other Thoughts: Take plenty of pictures, it is the most amazing Wile E. Coyote terrain. Wear gators and good hiking boots. Ask where the road meets the course out by hole 9 and drive back and drop off extra drinks to refuel before starting your round.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course In Utah

2-4    12/21/2011   2/13/2012
Review By: Hole In Four
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain
Extremely well-designed course
Large variety of shots
Never busy
Retreated from noise and civilization
Cons: Takes a long time to get to the course (and a slightly capable vehicle aka 4wd)
Beginners may lose discs
$5 course fee
Other Thoughts: Amazing course. I think it's the best in Utah. My brother and I make it a trip we do every year. The owners of Base Adventure Camp are the nicest you'll meet, and the course itself is one of the most fun I've played. I can't really say anything negative about it. Just make sure you have food and water, because it can get hot and the course can take a while. It is a must play for any disc golf enthusiast!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme Course

2-4    10/19/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: Drewmon71
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2011
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Amazing views throughout the entire course.
Good mix of drives and use of natural features
well designed course in an amazing setting
Cons: some teeboxes are sandy
Other Thoughts: the drive to the lodge is a bit challenging, but take it slow and you will be fine

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Base Camp - Ahhhh

1    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: esdubya
Played: 100  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 21.4 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Holes 5,6,13,14 are on my "dream 18" disc golf holes of all time. Really cool shots combined with unbelievable views and backdrops.
-The area around the course is pure unspoiled nature at it's most raw and beautiful. Overall conditions will vary WIDELY depending on when you play.
-This course is an 'overall experience' that is just amazing. If you ever find yourself fortunate enough to be playing this course, consider yourself very lucky. The experience is getting there, hanging out at the lodge, watching the huge tortoise and staying the night if you have the time. And if you are at this course then you should make the time. We stayed in a hogan for $5 a night. It's a freaking mud hut! And it was very cool.
-I enjoyed the hiking/bouldering around very much and I consider it a pro to the course.
Cons: -Teepads - the rock and grass were fine with me, but the sand was difficult to throw from.
-I thought there were a few too many long par 3s and would have liked to see some of the holes lengthened or shortened for either a bigger challenge or a more fun ace run.
-The first four holes that play around the lodge are wide open and not very memorable.
Other Thoughts: -Westin from Provo: PM me on here if you read this, thanks for waking up early, it was a fun round.
-Tom the owner is a really cool dude. Please respect his private property if you ever get out to play this course. Make sure you are prepared to be totally self sufficient.
-The Diamond-X course by itself IS more extreme.

A few thoughts on the drive to Base Camp:
Oh. My. God. So we had a rental Nissan Xterra and it was OK navigating the mountain road up to Hurrah Pass. Do not try this without a 4x4 vehicle. This is a road that was originally put in by the uranium miners back in the 50s. Now it is used by jeepers and mountain bikers seeking thrills with exposed rock ledges. Take the river shuttle from Moab if you don't have a capable car!

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course So Far

1    4/29/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: russdeffner
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challenge and Aesthetics are the top pros of many.

This is a must/bucket list course for any serious disc player. The challenge starts by getting there, I wouldn't suggest any 2WD vehicle. In Moab you can rent a jeep, atv, bicycle or as we witnessed a group a folks doing - park your vehicle on the east side of Hurrah Pass and hike YA over. Just get there.
Cons: No real reason to complain about the course.
Other Thoughts: Must

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.