Moab, UT 
Base Camp Adventure Lodge DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #5 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 217ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    4/5/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: thenewguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great scenery awesome layout! Just an all around great place to be and play
You beat new discs in really fast!
Cons: Rough on discs. Very tiring.
Rolled up our tent to find scorpions sleeping under us
Other Thoughts: If you get the chance to play base camp take it! If you dont, you will spend your whole life regretting that horrible decision.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Incredible Course

1    5/26/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 57  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an incredible course located in outskirts of Moab, one of the best places on earth for us outdoor lovers.

Every hole has clearly marked tee pad with distances and directions to where the basket is if it's a blind shot. You are given a map which is extremely helpful in navigating the course as well.

Tom, the owner, took the time to walk us through what to expect and lent us a walkie talkie in case there were any problems.

You have a great variety of throws here, though most of them are long. The best though is that you get throws here that I've never seen on another course, like throwing next to or over a cliff!
Cons: This course is extremely hard on discs. You are throwing onto sandstone rocks on many holes which can eat your disc alive, so be sure to bring ones you are ok with dinging up a bit.

Some of the baskets are about a foot off the ground due to flooding and such. It's not a huge con, obviously, but it is a little odd.
Other Thoughts: I wondered why this course was rated so high, and now I see. It is absolutely beautiful and tough as hell! A great course for sure!

This course is in the desert! It is hot and dry and very secluded. Tom does his best to make sure everyone has access to fresh water and knows the risks of the course though. It's rocky and covers a lot of ground, so good shoes/boots will go a long way.

We didn't have 4-wheel drive going out there and kinda got stuck once. It took us a few min to get our 2WD explorer out of the sand, but after that it was pretty good. 4WD is certainly preferable but not absolutely needed.

Bring some lettuce or cucumbers to feed the giant turtle at the lodge!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing adventure

2-4    10/7/2011   8/29/2012
Review By: madiganshouse
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Amazing holes, views, terrain. An adventure just getting there! No crowds, I have played this course twice over two end of summer trips and havent seen another group there yet.
Cons: No civilization nearby, its not really a con. It just is. So be prepared with all your gear. One step teepads arent really a con either, but just maybe work on your one step drives before you head out there.
Other Thoughts: Take plenty of pictures, it is the most amazing Wile E. Coyote terrain. Wear gators and good hiking boots. Ask where the road meets the course out by hole 9 and drive back and drop off extra drinks to refuel before starting your round.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme Course

2-4    10/19/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: Drewmon71
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2011
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Amazing views throughout the entire course.
Good mix of drives and use of natural features
well designed course in an amazing setting
Cons: some teeboxes are sandy
Other Thoughts: the drive to the lodge is a bit challenging, but take it slow and you will be fine

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Base Camp - Ahhhh

1    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Holes 5,6,13,14 are on my "dream 18" disc golf holes of all time. Really cool shots combined with unbelievable views and backdrops.
-The area around the course is pure unspoiled nature at it's most raw and beautiful. Overall conditions will vary WIDELY depending on when you play.
-This course is an 'overall experience' that is just amazing. If you ever find yourself fortunate enough to be playing this course, consider yourself very lucky. The experience is getting there, hanging out at the lodge, watching the huge tortoise and staying the night if you have the time. And if you are at this course then you should make the time. We stayed in a hogan for $5 a night. It's a freaking mud hut! And it was very cool.
-I enjoyed the hiking/bouldering around very much and I consider it a pro to the course.
Cons: -Teepads - the rock and grass were fine with me, but the sand was difficult to throw from.
-I thought there were a few too many long par 3s and would have liked to see some of the holes lengthened or shortened for either a bigger challenge or a more fun ace run.
-The first four holes that play around the lodge are wide open and not very memorable.
Other Thoughts: -Westin from Provo: PM me on here if you read this, thanks for waking up early, it was a fun round.
-Tom the owner is a really cool dude. Please respect his private property if you ever get out to play this course. Make sure you are prepared to be totally self sufficient.
-The Diamond-X course by itself IS more extreme.

A few thoughts on the drive to Base Camp:
Oh. My. God. So we had a rental Nissan Xterra and it was OK navigating the mountain road up to Hurrah Pass. Do not try this without a 4x4 vehicle. This is a road that was originally put in by the uranium miners back in the 50s. Now it is used by jeepers and mountain bikers seeking thrills with exposed rock ledges. Take the river shuttle from Moab if you don't have a capable car!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Golfin in the middle of no where

2-4    4/18/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: one of the most awsome cources in the world there isnt one hole i couldnt hate at all some of the most insane holes u will never see in your life again.
Cons: some of the mesurments are messed up, some teepads are just sand,
Other Thoughts: have a whole weekend to camp out at the basecamp bring your mini basket and make a mini course around the basecamp

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Most amazing course i've ever played

1    10/19/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: KansasBoy
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2009
24 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you wandered around arches national park and thought it would make a good disc golf course, then this is the course for you.
The course winds over, through, and along red sandstone canyons. It's absolutely beautiful. The holes are well organized, and even though there aren't signs, the map is easy to follow. When the holes are hidden, they all have large poles sticking out of the top. When the holes are totally blind, there are directional poles mounted on rocks.

I've thought about this course a lot in the past few weeks, and i've played a few courses since then too. I can not say enough about the absolute beauty and fun of this course. I would say that this is the one true "legendry", "must play", "destination" course that i've played. I would recommend playing this course at all costs. Make a trip out of it if you need to. Go play this course. It'll make almost everything else you play seem a little tame and normal.
Cons: Pads are astroturf, dirt, sand, and rock. The rock is just like a concrete pad and the astroturf isn't bad, but the sand was a little annoying.
No signs. Not particularly necessary, but would have been a nice touch.
This course would be tough to play alone. There were some blind holes and blind approaches. It was very helpful to have a spotter especially since much of the terrain is bushes and shrubs, and without a spotter and an ability to remember bushes, we probably would have lost some discs. Spotting wasn't too hard though. Aside from bushes and despite some ridiculously amazing vantage points, it would've been very difficult to lose discs.

Don't let these minor complaints dissuade you though. Usually i'd knock off more than half a point for natural pads and no signs at the tees, but this course is so amazing it deserves to be played.
Other Thoughts: Access to the course:
GET ON THE LODGE WEBSITE AND FOLLOW THEIR DIRECTIONS. The map on this site puts the first tee north of the river which it is not.

Access to the site is possible in a two wheel drive car with moderate clearance, but the car needed a push coming in and going out, and much like the course itself we needed some help spotting a safe path over the rocks. We still scrapped bottom a few times, but nothing too damaging. So it is possible to do it if you have someone else in the car, but i don't think i'd do it again. Something with more clearance than a VW passat would be highly recommended, and 4 wheel drive would be very nice.

There are other ways to the course. The lodge website gives directions for boat access, and this is how we probably should have gone.

The scenery on the way was absolutely wonderful though, and even though the last 5 miles of the drive took 30 minutes it was absolutely amazing scenery.

24 of 26 people found this review helpful.

  Canyon discing heaven

1    10/19/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: sidearmHYZER
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2010
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Phenominal scenery, every hole offers a new view
-Amazing diversity of shots. No two holes take the same path
-The hike. It offers a unique experience of the canyons. Imagine a disc golf course through arches national park, and that is this course.
-Complimentary couse map and scorecard near hole 1
-The friendly owner and his African tourtoise Kobae. He saw my group walking up to the lodge from a mile or so away, and immediately after, we hear a call on a walkie talkie sitting on a water cooler, "Can I help you?" he said we could take the walkie talkie with us if we didn't know the course.
-The simple feeling of satisfaction in knowing that this course is everything I could have dreamed of in a canyon/desert disc golf course. It's ideal
Cons: -Dirt, felt, slickrock, and often sand pads. It's easy to slip amidst the torque of a drive, I fell a few times.
-poor signs many were simply arrows on a pole.
-the HIKE. It's awesome, but challanging and exhausting to navigate this course.
-the drive. An hour on a damn near 4x4 road. a front wheel drive car with some decent clearance can do it, but it's difficult and abusive to the vehicle
Other Thoughts: The only thing keeping me from giving this course a 5 is the lack of adequate pads/signs. It is everything you could hope for in a desert course. Bring lots and lots of water, pack a lunch. And remember, don't go left on 1 or right on 5 unless you can swim. And don't go right on 14 unless you can fly.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.