Moab, UT 
Base Camp Adventure Lodge DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 196ft.   3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Best Course In Utah

2-4    12/21/2011   2/13/2012
Review By: Hole In Four
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain
Extremely well-designed course
Large variety of shots
Never busy
Retreated from noise and civilization
Cons: Takes a long time to get to the course (and a slightly capable vehicle aka 4wd)
Beginners may lose discs
$5 course fee
Other Thoughts: Amazing course. I think it's the best in Utah. My brother and I make it a trip we do every year. The owners of Base Adventure Camp are the nicest you'll meet, and the course itself is one of the most fun I've played. I can't really say anything negative about it. Just make sure you have food and water, because it can get hot and the course can take a while. It is a must play for any disc golf enthusiast!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course So Far

1    4/29/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: russdeffner
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challenge and Aesthetics are the top pros of many.

This is a must/bucket list course for any serious disc player. The challenge starts by getting there, I wouldn't suggest any 2WD vehicle. In Moab you can rent a jeep, atv, bicycle or as we witnessed a group a folks doing - park your vehicle on the east side of Hurrah Pass and hike YA over. Just get there.
Cons: No real reason to complain about the course.
Other Thoughts: Must

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A very special place in the desert.

1    4/29/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 12/3/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is everything you would expect a desert course to be like. Hills, rocks, cacti, and sand fill the landscape of what may be one of the coolest courses I will ever play. I love how secluded the course is from the city. You even have a few overnight staying options. The course plays openly around the lodge for the first four holes with great views of the Colorado River, then you begin the journey over rocks, canyons, desert hills, and washed out drainages. The beautiful red sandstone plays on many holes. The tees are a mix of astroturf, slickrock, and dirt, which aren't all perfect, but they are sufficient enough for a good blast. Most holes have both amateur and pro pads. Each hole is unique with a name and has vertical and horizontal distances on a sheet provided by the owner. The property owner is very friendly and will help you with any questions you may have. You even get a walkie talkie to carry for the round.
Cons: This course, being very secluded, requires a decent vehicle to get to it. I've heard 2WD cars with good ground clearance can make it, but I wouldn't risk it. Bikes and atvs would make a fun journey to the course as well. Bring water and food because it is the desert, and far from any stores! The lodge has water to fill you up before you start playing away from it. We played before the summer heat arrived and it was perfect! I can imagine how strenuous it would be to play in 100+ weather.

Watch where your drive lands, you may have to search under rocks and in cracks between rocks. I know from experience. The rocks are also very rough on discs, if you don't want to tear up your nice plastic.

Watch for cactus. I got a splinter on my hand that delayed the round.
Other Thoughts: Me and a friend traveled from Colorado to play this course and now I dream of going back. It is a one of a kind course that all disc golfers should experience.

Favorite holes: #9, #12, #13, #16

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 BEST COURSE IN THE WORLD

5+    4/20/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: nosyrb1065
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: If you ever wanted to play dg on the moon... this is it! Awesome vistas. Awesome host. Man camp was born at this course.
Cons: Despite what they say... you need 4 wheel drive with good clearance.
Other Thoughts: Go to the wind caves! They are close and will change your life.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Solitaire

1    3/28/2008   2/2/2009
Review By: Djza
Played: 61  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2009
16 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The natural beauty and views at this course on the Colorado River are unmatched in my disc throwing experience. Some holes have an otherworldly feel to them due to the extreme features of the landscape.

That being said, you can expect radical elevation drops that allow the discs to soar 400+ without too much muscle. Some of the canyons you throw over may look pretty far but they are definitely reachable. All of this makes for some possible ace runs of great distance.

I also really like that all the holes have names on the scorecard/map. Much of the back nine references the writing of southwest naturalist/writer/eco-warrior Ed Abbey. One of my favorite holes, the "Catcher's Mitt" is about a 400 ft. down hill shot with a natural mitt of giant rocks behind the basket kinda like a natural backstop if your coming in left to right.

Cons: Definite strenuous hike, not for the faint of heart.
Very rough on discs as the red rock is beautiful, but definitely abrasive. Not much plant life, other than scrubby desert stuff that may be out to get you, but then again it is the desert.
Beware, there are some cracks in the rocks that could swallow your discs.
As I was there in the spring, the weather was exceptional, but I could imagine some pretty scorching dry heat in the summer.
No store nearby, so bring ALL food and supplies from town.
Other Thoughts: By far one of the most fantastic golfing experiences going! Everyone I met associated with this operation was top notch "good people". Bill the manager is a great guy to chew the fat with or throw some discs, and the owner, I hear has a giant land tortoise for a pet, that he actually goes on hikes with.
If you are inclined to rent a room, pitch a tent or camp out in the hogan, I would recommend it. It's a great place to wake up to, and should be on everyone's dream list, if you haven't been out here.

16 of 25 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.