Moab, UT 
Base Camp Adventure Lodge DGC Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #6 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 140ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Blue Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Golfin in the middle of no where

2-4    4/18/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: one of the most awsome cources in the world there isnt one hole i couldnt hate at all some of the most insane holes u will never see in your life again.
Cons: some of the mesurments are messed up, some teepads are just sand,
Other Thoughts: have a whole weekend to camp out at the basecamp bring your mini basket and make a mini course around the basecamp

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Most amazing course i've ever played

1    10/19/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: KansasBoy
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2009
24 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you wandered around arches national park and thought it would make a good disc golf course, then this is the course for you.
The course winds over, through, and along red sandstone canyons. It's absolutely beautiful. The holes are well organized, and even though there aren't signs, the map is easy to follow. When the holes are hidden, they all have large poles sticking out of the top. When the holes are totally blind, there are directional poles mounted on rocks.

I've thought about this course a lot in the past few weeks, and i've played a few courses since then too. I can not say enough about the absolute beauty and fun of this course. I would say that this is the one true "legendry", "must play", "destination" course that i've played. I would recommend playing this course at all costs. Make a trip out of it if you need to. Go play this course. It'll make almost everything else you play seem a little tame and normal.
Cons: Pads are astroturf, dirt, sand, and rock. The rock is just like a concrete pad and the astroturf isn't bad, but the sand was a little annoying.
No signs. Not particularly necessary, but would have been a nice touch.
This course would be tough to play alone. There were some blind holes and blind approaches. It was very helpful to have a spotter especially since much of the terrain is bushes and shrubs, and without a spotter and an ability to remember bushes, we probably would have lost some discs. Spotting wasn't too hard though. Aside from bushes and despite some ridiculously amazing vantage points, it would've been very difficult to lose discs.

Don't let these minor complaints dissuade you though. Usually i'd knock off more than half a point for natural pads and no signs at the tees, but this course is so amazing it deserves to be played.
Other Thoughts: Access to the course:
GET ON THE LODGE WEBSITE AND FOLLOW THEIR DIRECTIONS. The map on this site puts the first tee north of the river which it is not.

Access to the site is possible in a two wheel drive car with moderate clearance, but the car needed a push coming in and going out, and much like the course itself we needed some help spotting a safe path over the rocks. We still scrapped bottom a few times, but nothing too damaging. So it is possible to do it if you have someone else in the car, but i don't think i'd do it again. Something with more clearance than a VW passat would be highly recommended, and 4 wheel drive would be very nice.

There are other ways to the course. The lodge website gives directions for boat access, and this is how we probably should have gone.

The scenery on the way was absolutely wonderful though, and even though the last 5 miles of the drive took 30 minutes it was absolutely amazing scenery.

24 of 26 people found this review helpful.

  Canyon discing heaven

1    10/19/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: sidearmHYZER
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2010
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Phenominal scenery, every hole offers a new view
-Amazing diversity of shots. No two holes take the same path
-The hike. It offers a unique experience of the canyons. Imagine a disc golf course through arches national park, and that is this course.
-Complimentary couse map and scorecard near hole 1
-The friendly owner and his African tourtoise Kobae. He saw my group walking up to the lodge from a mile or so away, and immediately after, we hear a call on a walkie talkie sitting on a water cooler, "Can I help you?" he said we could take the walkie talkie with us if we didn't know the course.
-The simple feeling of satisfaction in knowing that this course is everything I could have dreamed of in a canyon/desert disc golf course. It's ideal
Cons: -Dirt, felt, slickrock, and often sand pads. It's easy to slip amidst the torque of a drive, I fell a few times.
-poor signs many were simply arrows on a pole.
-the HIKE. It's awesome, but challanging and exhausting to navigate this course.
-the drive. An hour on a damn near 4x4 road. a front wheel drive car with some decent clearance can do it, but it's difficult and abusive to the vehicle
Other Thoughts: The only thing keeping me from giving this course a 5 is the lack of adequate pads/signs. It is everything you could hope for in a desert course. Bring lots and lots of water, pack a lunch. And remember, don't go left on 1 or right on 5 unless you can swim. And don't go right on 14 unless you can fly.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

  Not for the faint of heart

1    5/18/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: forsakenZen
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The whole experience, Base camp is a great course and well worth the drive. You'll never play a course like this anywhere else in the world.
Cons: One or two holes are so hard, IIRC 10 and 15 that half of our group had to skip them.

DO NOT PLAY THIS COURSE WITHOUT TAKING PLENTY OF WATER FOR EVERYONE AND PACK A LUNCH AND HIT IT EARLY! TEMPS HERE GET WELL OVER 112 F DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS
Other Thoughts: Tell Bill Hi from Team DISCordia! (The boys from Ogden) He may have already left for Hawaii and the big surf but the ranch hand and his dog are the best!

We recommend getting a room or going budget and pitchin yer tent on site, you won't regret it.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Solitaire

1    3/28/2008   2/2/2009
Review By: Djza
Played: 61  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2009
16 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The natural beauty and views at this course on the Colorado River are unmatched in my disc throwing experience. Some holes have an otherworldly feel to them due to the extreme features of the landscape.

That being said, you can expect radical elevation drops that allow the discs to soar 400+ without too much muscle. Some of the canyons you throw over may look pretty far but they are definitely reachable. All of this makes for some possible ace runs of great distance.

I also really like that all the holes have names on the scorecard/map. Much of the back nine references the writing of southwest naturalist/writer/eco-warrior Ed Abbey. One of my favorite holes, the "Catcher's Mitt" is about a 400 ft. down hill shot with a natural mitt of giant rocks behind the basket kinda like a natural backstop if your coming in left to right.

Cons: Definite strenuous hike, not for the faint of heart.
Very rough on discs as the red rock is beautiful, but definitely abrasive. Not much plant life, other than scrubby desert stuff that may be out to get you, but then again it is the desert.
Beware, there are some cracks in the rocks that could swallow your discs.
As I was there in the spring, the weather was exceptional, but I could imagine some pretty scorching dry heat in the summer.
No store nearby, so bring ALL food and supplies from town.
Other Thoughts: By far one of the most fantastic golfing experiences going! Everyone I met associated with this operation was top notch "good people". Bill the manager is a great guy to chew the fat with or throw some discs, and the owner, I hear has a giant land tortoise for a pet, that he actually goes on hikes with.
If you are inclined to rent a room, pitch a tent or camp out in the hogan, I would recommend it. It's a great place to wake up to, and should be on everyone's dream list, if you haven't been out here.

16 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 

6/20/2008   7/15/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 243  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.3 Years
22 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As far as I know a totally unique course. Red rock features all around, and a bit of brush here and there to get stuck in. Huge, quick elevation changes with some devastating canyons to fall into. Pins that aren't visible from the tee are marked with large white poles sticking up. Beautiful, challenging course. Check out the pics.
Cons: While all the tees (2 per hole) are clearly marked, finding them is a bit tough at times. The map at the lodge is a must have. Beginners may find this course intimidating. Course is also extremely difficult to get to. The road in is also very intimidating.
Other Thoughts: While hard to get to, the course is well worth the trip. I strongly recommend calling the lodge, the guys there are very nice, very helpful and can give you a idea of what you're in for. Having traveled there by road, I suggest taking the Colorado river to get there. You can pick up the river in Moab (and a boat in town too) and follow it right to the lodge's/course's backyard. Staying at the course overnight is also a very nice option.

22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.