Hiawatha, IA 
Fay Clark Park Share
Uploaded By: lazy42 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2010)
-- / 400ft.   -- / --   -- / 500ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
This time I mean it. "Wide Open"

1    10/6/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 60  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Right next to a very nice sports complex.
- Walking trail, bathrooms, water, and playground.
- Very well groomed and maintained.
- Nice carved signs
- Dual pin placements (although most don't add any variety, just a little distance.)
- Nice, long concrete tee pads.
- #6 plays into a little grove of trees, on an elevated pin position.
- #16 is a longish hole, alongside a drainage creek, and across. Very cool.
Cons: - Wide open, not much variety. Most of the variety comes from distance, and whether the hole is uphill, downhill, or flat.
- Can get very windy out there.
- Plays alongside and across walking path much of the time, which isn't busy, but just something to be careful with.
Other Thoughts: - I hereby apologize to any other disc golf course that I have described as "wide open." Because this one truly is.
- I'm glad this park is here though, good for the sports complex and definitely the place to take your kids or straight up beginners. Probably never busy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open

1    8/17/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Wide open. Good for the beginning players that went with me. Plenty of holes where you can just let it rip with plenty of distance.
Cons: So open it's a bit boring. Some baskets the walk to the next T box is lots longer than it needs to be with the space available to layout it.
Other Thoughts: Nice park

 Let er rip.

1    3/8/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Shelter, Bathroom, Parking, Playground. Next door to a sports complex.

Primarily Disc Golf. You may have to wait for an occasional walker on the path, but shouldn't have to really worry about other users.

Tees. One set of concrete tee pads are level and in good shape.

Ace/Birdie opportunities. If you can throw 300 feet accurately (and can you putt?) you should be able to score well, none of the holes are overly short so a birdie is relatively rewarding.

Navigation. Simple to follow, pay attention to what hole you're on though, I accidentally skipped a few holes and had to go back and play them.

Map/Scorecards. A map is provided at the start at the information kiosk if you're worried about getting lost. A box was provided for scorecards, but it was empty.

Baskets. All were in good condition and most had multiple positions.

Elevation/water. The little elevation and water that exists keep things at least slightly interesting.

Access. Just off the freeway for a quick 18 holes.

Clean. Very well manicured park was clean and kept in good condition.

9 hole loops. If you only have time for 9 holes, the course flows back to the vehicle after 9 holes.

Beginner friendly. Relatively impossible to lose a disc and wide open shots make this an ok place to practice drives, upshots, and putts without having to worry about hitting a specific line. Though I think If I had learned at this course I would have thought this game was kind of dumb.
Cons: Variety. My biggest gripe is that this course is boring, I could accomplish almost the same thing with a practice basket in an open field throwing at it 18 times from 200-400 feet. Holes 5 and 6 are a little more interesting, with 6 being on top of a hill guarded by trees, this course needs more holes like that.

Scenery. You get a view of the highway and a wide open manicured park, not very scenic.

(with only two cons you might ask why such a low rating? The rating is based mostly on variety and enjoyment/replayability factor, I probably will not return to this course)
Other Thoughts: If open unobstructed courses is your thing you'll love this course, if you prefer more of a technical challenge I'd head to one of the many other local courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open

1    8/15/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New park, almost felt unused, maintained incredibly well. Multiuse park, walking path in and around, playground equipment for the little ones, shelter available. Nice looking tee signs. Concrete tee pads. Great place to bring newbie's. Very few chances to lose a disc. Fun park if you prefer to do nothing but throw medium to long drives, then putt. Multiple pin locations available. Really nice bridge structure on 16.
Cons: Very open park. Even though there wasn't much wind in the area, park was so open that it was very gusty; no tree's to slow down the gusts. Lack of available shade on most of the course, unless you walk off to the side and hide under a tree next to edge of park.

Have to say, game play was boring due to the lack of obstacles. I do like an occasional open hole, but this became very repetitive. Holes 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14 are basically the same hole. A little back tracking after you hole out on 3, you sort of walk back up near the fairway of 3 to get to the tee box of 4. Tee signs were confusing, I think the areas representing bush rows were not correct, and the tee pads pointed differently than noted, just made it difficult to figure out which pin location you were trying to throw at.
Other Thoughts: Well, this will never be a wooded course, but that's not how the designers wanted it, and that is totally fine. There is nothing wrong with an open course, but this one did become a bit repetitive. Mostly flat, however there are some slight elevation changes (more like simple inclines). There is a small stream running through the center of the park, which is the lowest elevation. If you're throwing towards it, you'd be throwing slightly downhill, away from it, just the opposite.

By far, hole 6 was the best. Though a short hole, you throw from an open area, into a protected pin. The area protecting the pin is a "U" shaped group of trees around a small hill or at one time pile of dirt. 16 and 17 were fun also, that was mostly due to that being by the stream and there was vegetation and trees around, so a break from the openness of the rest of the park. Hole # 9 was more difficult than it looked. 500ft up a slight incline, making it play quite a bit longer. I think that once the saplings grow a little, and maybe the planting of more trees would make this park much more enjoyable. With that said, it was fun to see how close I could get to each basket on my drives. Lots of chances for 2's.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.