Hiawatha, IA 
Fay Clark Park Share
Uploaded By: lazy42 Hole #5 (Taken 8/2010)
-- / 231ft.   -- / 329ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Our "home" course

5+    3/22/2015   3/22/2015
Review By: Pastortroy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly open, very well kept, good signs. Moderately busy.
Cons: Windy at times
Other Thoughts: Awesome course, well laid out & severall opportunities to putt for 2. Has restrooms, water and a picnic area. Has ample parking. This is a great course and very good for practice as welll as the less "pro" of us. If you like a lot of trees this course is not for you.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The St. Andrews of Cedar Rapids

5+    9/20/2014   1/20/2015
Review By: chanowan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
Pros: Ease of access
Open fairways and clearly visible baskets from tees make this very beginner friendly, as well as providing more skilled players a chance to practice shots not normally taken
Considered the least favorite of many CR players, and as such, is almost never busy
You will occasionally see attractive joggers
Cons: Lack of consistent challenge from natural obstacles
Many holes feel repetitive
Wind can transform what many consider an under par course into an exercise in futility
Other Thoughts: I play and practice here a great deal due to it's proximity to home. I feel like it gets a lot of disdain from other CR players who say that it's too easy, and for those who can bomb, it probably is. For most amateurs like me, an under par score is something to shoot for, and attainable if you play consistently.

This time I mean it. "Wide Open"

1    10/6/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Right next to a very nice sports complex.
- Walking trail, bathrooms, water, and playground.
- Very well groomed and maintained.
- Nice carved signs
- Dual pin placements (although most don't add any variety, just a little distance.)
- Nice, long concrete tee pads.
- #6 plays into a little grove of trees, on an elevated pin position.
- #16 is a longish hole, alongside a drainage creek, and across. Very cool.
Cons: - Wide open, not much variety. Most of the variety comes from distance, and whether the hole is uphill, downhill, or flat.
- Can get very windy out there.
- Plays alongside and across walking path much of the time, which isn't busy, but just something to be careful with.
Other Thoughts: - I hereby apologize to any other disc golf course that I have described as "wide open." Because this one truly is.
- I'm glad this park is here though, good for the sports complex and definitely the place to take your kids or straight up beginners. Probably never busy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/23/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: jacobsladder
Played: 135  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 19 Years
Pros: Clean, well groomed course
Nice tee pads and baskets
Cons: Not a lot of trees or challenges. When I played, it was windy and I had to worry about hitting joggers because most of the course is designed within the confines of a jobbing/walking path
Other Thoughts: This would be a good course for beginners or anyone who wants to work on their driving and putting. Not recommended for those who enjoy a lot of tree cover and challenges.

 Future Potential

5+    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 158  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: Good for trying out all of your drivers in a wide open area.
Baskets, tee signs, and tee pads are in pristine condition.
Most holes (if not all) have variable pin placements. They all seem to have the typical "long placement" and "short placement" (i.e. they do not create entirely different shots).
No serious problems with hazards or poisonous plants.
Cons: Holes #3 and #4 intersect each other and make game play a bit confusing.
A lot of flat, long, barren holes make for a tedious and redundant round of disc golf.
Its usually windier here than any other course in the area because it is flat and barren.
A concrete walking path runs throughout the course... one can imagine the trouble that this might create.

 Wide open

1    8/17/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.8 Years
Pros: Wide open. Good for the beginning players that went with me. Plenty of holes where you can just let it rip with plenty of distance.
Cons: So open it's a bit boring. Some baskets the walk to the next T box is lots longer than it needs to be with the space available to layout it.
Other Thoughts: Nice park

  Clark Park

5+    7/30/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: jph7
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Total distance, layout, pin location variance, elevation differences make many holes play a lot farther than their actual distance. Tall corn fields border the park, which is the perfect back drop for a course in Iowa. The course definitely has a lot of potential but is still very new (opened June 6 2008)
Cons: Very new so 95% of the course is very open/minimal small young trees which makes it pretty easy overall. Mother nature is not really an obstacle except along a creek that makes a natural northern boundary for the whole park. Both sides of the creek have very dense grass and bushes during the summer. The only real challenge on this course is the overall distance to pin, with the longest being 500 ft uphill on hole 9 at the farthest pin location.
Other Thoughts: (I live nearby and have played at least 50 maybe 75 rounds this season at this course as of July 30 2011) One other hazard at this course is a skinny stretch of DENSE tall grasses and shrubs/bushes that runs through the middle of the course. During the summer this area should definitely be avoided as it is pretty difficult to see discs and the area is kind of marsh-like or "swampy" in some spots. Overall I think this course is pretty cool and needs to be played a few times to be appreciated. Fast forward 15 or 20 years and this course will be somewhat comparable to Jones Park in Cedar Rapids, IA (minus the pond).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners, Horrible for Experienced

5+    6/2/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: GabeEtzel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open space, long holes (one is 500 ft), hard to lose discs
Cons: Extremely boring holes (tee off, go 300 ft forward x 18), sometimes confusing where to go
Other Thoughts: Good to take new people and try news discs, but not much more than that

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2011   4/2/2011
Review By: cri5891
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open so dont worry about hitting any trees or not having an open shot. Well maintained course. A little creek runs through the course and thats kind of nice since theres no real mature trees yet.
Cons: Very flat so if theres any wind its a little harder. Everything runs nice but at the end of hole 8 you have to walk around the creek to get to 9 and 10 then you walk back around to 11. We got lost there cuz the tee for 11 is right next to hole 8. So dont go with the flow of the course at that time or youll mess a couple holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Let er rip.

1    3/8/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1163  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Shelter, Bathroom, Parking, Playground. Next door to a sports complex.

Primarily Disc Golf. You may have to wait for an occasional walker on the path, but shouldn't have to really worry about other users.

Tees. One set of concrete tee pads are level and in good shape.

Ace/Birdie opportunities. If you can throw 300 feet accurately (and can you putt?) you should be able to score well, none of the holes are overly short so a birdie is relatively rewarding.

Navigation. Simple to follow, pay attention to what hole you're on though, I accidentally skipped a few holes and had to go back and play them.

Map/Scorecards. A map is provided at the start at the information kiosk if you're worried about getting lost. A box was provided for scorecards, but it was empty.

Baskets. All were in good condition and most had multiple positions.

Elevation/water. The little elevation and water that exists keep things at least slightly interesting.

Access. Just off the freeway for a quick 18 holes.

Clean. Very well manicured park was clean and kept in good condition.

9 hole loops. If you only have time for 9 holes, the course flows back to the vehicle after 9 holes.

Beginner friendly. Relatively impossible to lose a disc and wide open shots make this an ok place to practice drives, upshots, and putts without having to worry about hitting a specific line. Though I think If I had learned at this course I would have thought this game was kind of dumb.
Cons: Variety. My biggest gripe is that this course is boring, I could accomplish almost the same thing with a practice basket in an open field throwing at it 18 times from 200-400 feet. Holes 5 and 6 are a little more interesting, with 6 being on top of a hill guarded by trees, this course needs more holes like that.

Scenery. You get a view of the highway and a wide open manicured park, not very scenic.

(with only two cons you might ask why such a low rating? The rating is based mostly on variety and enjoyment/replayability factor, I probably will not return to this course)
Other Thoughts: If open unobstructed courses is your thing you'll love this course, if you prefer more of a technical challenge I'd head to one of the many other local courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.