Course Extinct
Lahaina, HI 
Kapalua Adventures DGC Share
Uploaded By: sk8architecture Hole #22
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #22 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Final Review

2-4    12/16/2011   12/17/2011
Review By: SensationProductions
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with lots of vegetation. The course has a cool 'ghost town' feel because a majority is built on an old golf course. The course was pretty empty and the few people we met were very friendly.
Cons: As mentioned in earlier reviews, the course is hard to follow and you can lose a disc pretty quickly. As of Jan 1st 2012, the course will be closed.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course and it is a bummer that it is closing. Great place to take in the scenery and enjoy a local brew. There was some signage about the course moving to KeKa's Open Space Disc Golf Course. It will only be open on Wednesdays and Saturdays from 9 till sunset for the winter season. contact info:808-877-1608. I posted a photo with the information about the course change. Hopefully the local club can keep up the great work and make a fun course at KeKa.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Spot

1    10/22/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 23 holes on and around a former ball golf course, and adjacent to a current course. Good variety and several hanging homemade baskets that catch very well. Magnificent views of the ocean and the island of Molokai. Monarch butterflies everywhere! Some good shady spots to sit and rest. Only one other group on the course on a Friday afternoon. Interesting plants throughout.
Cons: Extremely hard to follow because most of the hole numbers were not visible on the map that was provided by Kapalua Adventures. The sun is strong here and the course was scorching at mid day. Somewhat unmaintained and overgrown. Tees are poorly marked, and baskets are not numbered. A few baskets are portable. Good chance of losing a disc in thick rough.
Other Thoughts: Saw some dead scorpions on the course, but didn't see a live one. Be sure to bring extra water and maybe a big hat to keep the sun off. There is a donation box on one of the early holes, so be generous and maybe better maintenance will follow. Has potential to rate much higher with some improvements.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: KSLAWDAWG
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course had a nice combination of shots to use.. Its not a very long course but if you play from the pro tees then the difficulty definately increases.. Excellent view of golf course and the ocean!!
Cons: Very hard to follow the course.. No tee pads.. No hole numbers.. If it wasnt for us following some locals it would have been near impossible to know where we were supposed to be going..

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This s now a full 18 hole course

1    2/16/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: flyskyhi
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Free disc golf in HI, scenery. Good map available. Nicest people in the pro shop.
Cons: Not maintained by anything but disc golfers walking around. I lost 2 discs. One was in an impenetrable thicket off the fairway, and clearly my bad. However the second disc lost was in the middle of a fairway. Did not see it land but I know it was on the course. Three people looked for it for 20+ min. IN THE MIDDLE OF A FAIRWAY?!?!?!?
Other Thoughts: Really just submitting this review b/c I just played it and it is now a full 18 hole course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/29/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: maniak
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Like a previous reviewer mentioned, it's nice to throw on the island. The constant strong wind was something I'm not used to.
Cons: No real challenge, no trees, reused baskets. There are no tee pads and I actually found it semi-boring to play.
Other Thoughts: I feel bad for ripping this course apart and giving it a poor rating since it's still being built and isn't nearly finished. I'll be happy to adjust my rating when the course is complete.

It didn't seem like any of the baskets were permanently installed so I really hope they mix up the design to incorporate more trees to increase the challenge fun factor.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Get the right map

5+    12/20/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: discallday
Played: 112  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course probably will have more than 11 holes up for a while if not permanently.

Pros:
Good mix of elevation and distance (over 500 ft to under 200).
Good mix of dogleg rights and lefts.
Cool vegetation used for some creative hole layouts and green designs on a few holes.
Grass is not mowed everywhere (I see this as a plus, because mowing is often unneccessary in disc golf and waste of gasoline and labor better spent in other areas)

Update:
This course is quite a bit different from when I played it two years ago.
Still great variety in types elevation changes and hole lengths. I might even say there's too much variation up and down, and not enough variation right and left.
Has both right and left doglegs, but there are a lot more open and straight shots than there were before.
Vegetation use is not quite as creative as I remember it.
Cons: Teepads are dirt or spray-painted on asphalt (?)
Baskets are not all the same kind, and one of them is a red cloth basket.
Only one basket and pad per hole.
- if all of these were fixed (and some permanent holes were added) I might consider giving this course a perfect rating.

Update:
the holes on the ball golf manicured hole have been removed. I actually miss this variety, because there are now no opportunities for rollers, and the OB sand-trap options are no longer a factor.
There now are actually blue and white dirt tee pads for each hole (marked by ground flags), though sometimes these are shared.
I can imagine that some of the baskets might change location occasionally (not that this matters, since most people on this site are only going to be playing the course on vacation).
This course can be a little tough to follow - map is a must. AT #4, GO UPHILL, NOT DOWNHILL.
Other Thoughts: The front office only told me about the lower 11 hole course which is not as interesting, reuses baskets on four holes, and was a let down considering the reviews I had read. I would give this 11 hole course a 2 out of 5. The grass is mowed, the sandtraps/OBs look nice, but the whole course can basically be seen from the first hole, and this ruins it a little for me.

Make sure you ask for the bigger map at the front office and play the upper course (which does actually use some of the lower 11 holes). If you do that, it is definitely a worthwhile course.

Update:
I'm leaving all my old review as a record of how my opinion of this course has changed. You could probably disregard the old stuff if you want.

1) This course definitely appears to be a 23 hole course, so that should be updated on the homepage.
2) I had said that mowing was a waste of time and energy. I take that statement back. I like being able to see where my disc lands, and I've developed a roller over the past two years, so a little more course maintenance wouldn't be so bad. It's nice for a shot to require precision to avoid OB, but not risk losing a disc, and the lost disc risk is definitely now a factor. I would be willing to pay a little more if I knew this was going to happen.
I think there are too many elevation changes.
Manicuring could also make each hole more distinct from each other.
3) I kinda like the hanging/non-conventional baskets
4) I know making signs can be a bit of a project, but I'd really like to have distances listed on the course map.
Old rating: 3.5
New rating: 3
There are more holes, but I'd say less variety than there used to be. However, still a very worthwhile course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf In Hawaii

5+    11/10/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: whaithai
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Throwing on an Island, Great Layout, Friendly Locals, Tough Weather Conditions, Great Views, etc...
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: The first day I showed up at the course, I have to say I was a bit lost. With a little help from Adam at the Kapalua Adventure Center and Steve, the course Pro, I got the correct maps of each of the course layouts. The 18 hole course used for the Hawaii Championship, was a challenge. There weren't a whole lota birdie or Ace opportunities, especially when you add in the wind and occasional rain. I had to throw every disc in the bag, which is a good sign of a tough course. After playing this layout 4 times, the best I did was a -2. The back course on hole 2's ball golf greens was a little easier. Being used to playing on a Fly 18 course at home, the big difference is the scenery and the wind. All in all, great course and friendly locals. Thanks Adam for the hospitality and Thanks Steve for the showing me around and playing a few rounds with me!!!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning View

5+    6/21/2008   11/9/2008
Review By: waruss
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 38.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The views, the weather, the game!
Cons: None other than I played before tee locations were finalized and marked. Made me pull out my creativity.
Other Thoughts: This recreational course is played on the second hole of the old Villages Golf Course. Hole numbers and tees are still under development. The layout shown on the Google map (Search Google Maps for Kapalua Disc Golf) is my creation after playing many different versions of holes and tees during my vacation on Maui. Both the first tee and eleventh hole offer panoramic views of Honokahua Bay and the tip of Molokai. Thanks to all who helped me find it especially Karen Welck who found the time to correspond with me during her and Steve's tour in California and Paul and Shane who I met on the course my last day in Maui. As a local agreement, all sand traps and the green are OB as played on this course. If you find a white Innova Leopard in the elephant grass to the left of 4, it is mine. This course is the precursor of an 18 hole championship course to be installed at another location at the Villages later this year. Hope to see you next trip. Mahalo.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.