Mesquite, TX 
Porter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #6 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Porter Parked

1    7/29/2015   7/30/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 106  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Easy and fun little 9 hole.
Good baskets.
Good Teepads.
Great for new and lower level players.
Good for practice of putter and midrange game.
Has a good mixture of shots.
Nice well maintained park overlooking nearby lake.
Great for a quick round of golf.
Cons: Just not long enough.
No Bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Would like to see a full 18 put in around the lake.

Nice little 9 holer by a school

1    5/24/2015   6/13/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 338  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good beginner's course that has a good variety of shots.
There are low ceiling shots, open holes, and even dog leg L/R holes.
The park is well kept and there are other amenities nearby, there is a park, basketball court, etc.
Flow is logical and rounds should play quickly here.
A couple of holes have Ace Run potential and there are some decent lines here.
Tees are super wide and plenty long.
Cons: Probably not available(or tough to play) during school hours.
Signage is missing(just like at Debusk) due to apparent vandalism.
Wind might be a factor on the open holes.
No trash cans or benches-however you most likely won't need benches on this short of a course.
Hard pack around baskets can get slick after a solid rain.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty fun little 9 hole course that has just enough obstacles and shot variety to keep you interested. It doesn't have the length of other area courses but it is a fun play non the less.
If we had a course like this on our school property you can bet our PE classes would be utilizing it every chance we got.
When you group this course with the other 2 courses in Mesquite I think the city has covered all levels of players IMO.
I would start out here then progress to Debusk and then go play Paschall if I was just starting to learn the game.
Worth the play if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

5+    3/25/2015   3/31/2015
Review By: Badstainless
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was one of the very first disc golf courses I have ever played. Compared to other courses in the area.
1. This is a really easy to navigate course.
2. Tees are concrete and course is well maintained.
3. Decent variation of holes, Mildy wooded, some open, up hill, downhill etc.
4. Short holes great for beginners.
5. No risk of losing any discs.

Cons: 1. The course is only 9 short holes.
2. Some of the holes can become very muddy after rainfall.
Other Thoughts: This is truly a great beginner course for those newbies such as me. There is enough variation to learn your discs and learn different elements of the game. Overall good easy course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed Playing This Course

1    2/15/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 33  Reviewed: 18
Pros: A few creative holes. Easy to navigate. Easy to find parking lot if you're going there for the first time. Good mix of shot types and some elevation changes and water.
Cons: Pretty average course. Will be easy for 900+ rated player.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing if you're already in the area. Not a destination course in and of itself.

 

1    7/2/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 49  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.2 Years
Pros: Nice concrete teepads. Well kept course and park. Grass is well maintained. Possible ace run on every hole. Would be difficult to shoot over on this course.
Cons: The only con I would have to say is no real signage for the holes. You can see the basket from every teepad, so no real need for signs.
Other Thoughts: Will definitely play the course again if in the area.

 Good Practice course

1    7/22/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: dbx820
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Well Maintained, Easy flow from hole to hole. Multiple elevation changes. Good place to practice.
Cons: Relatively Short, Straight Holes. Chains are a little rusty. Not a lot of challenge, but again, good for practice.

  great little course

5+    5/29/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: matt.j
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
Pros: well kept course. not too difficult. easy to find the tee pads and baskets.
Cons: course backs up to a school, so during school hours you might not want to play it.
Other Thoughts: no water or heavy brush on this course so you're not going to lose any discs. never seen this place crowded. a lot of fun if you're still working on your game.

 Hahaha

1    5/7/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: btroberts011
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Fun course for any player at any skill level.
Lots of unique holes that you wont see at other courses.
Like the concrete pads
Well kept course for the most part.
Cons: Too short, Too easy.
Kind of hard to find the course
Course is very hard to navigate from hole to hole. I even played hole 7 out of order on accident.
Bad indicators pointing from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: Had a good time but the course just needs more. I would say play it because it is very unique compared to most other courses, but if you really want to play a good course go to one of the others in the area.

 School?

5+    2/15/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 5/25/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: GREAT elevation changes
No way to lose discs at all
Never muddy, great drainage.
Well kept
Good basket locations
Cons: Course is nearly on school grounds
Super short
No bathroom
Other Thoughts: Very short and simple course the main thing making is any good is its elevation changes. I would not go out of my way to play it but if you are in the area I would give it a shot. Below is a short description of the holes

1 Straight open shot, basket is behind to tree you have to shoot through or around to get to.

2 Is my favorite hole here, you shoot down a large hill towards a basket behind some tree. You can go 1 of 2 ways shoot shot the hill or through straight over the trees.

3 Another straight forward hole saved by elevation changes. You shoot up a hill while avoiding a couple of trees.

4 To the left and right of the thee are tree you must shoot through into a open field shot for a the basket.

5 Straight shot with basket on the side of a small hill.

6 Down hill shot with some tree to the right.

7 Hardest hole on the course tons of tree to throw through.

8 Down hill around a few trees

9 Straight shot big open hole.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive Beginner Course

1    1/16/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: jenb
Played: 83  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having never played here, I expected much worse based on the comments of pros I know who are unwilling to play here because it is a beginner course that is too easy for them.

Much to my surprise, this course offers some of the best elevation changes in DFW.

Additionally, while the holes are not long, the foliage and elevation combine to yield lines that, with wind, should provide a fun challenge for almost anyone who can't simply circumvent all obstacles and park every hole with a 250 foot overhead shot.

When nearby Paschall was a sea of mud, Porter proved nice and dry. That's not to say it doesn't need a day or two to dry out after a lot fo rain, but it doesn't keep mud as long as Paschall. But the day after a rain, BB Owen is the only park in the area that will be free of mud, and that's only if the pins all get moved short as they tend to do there after rain.

Teepads, signs, and baskets are good to go.

Not too busy. Clean, safe, and fun.

No water to lose discs in.
Cons: No water to lose discs in :P

Only 9 pins is OK, but lack of dual tees? Dual tees would really add value to this course, especially if they provide different, and not just longer, looks at the baskets.

No parking lot or bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Porter DGC is probably the best beginner course I've ever encountered, and a fun time for all but the most advanced players. If it had dual tees, I'd definitely give it the 3.5 that I want to give it. I plan to play here whenever the other courses in the area are muddy, and maybe play a little safari golf or add my own tee positions to provide what I'm looking for in terms of variety and replay value.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.