Mesquite, TX 
Porter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick   (Taken 7/2013)
Park Sign

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Surprisingly fun for a 9 hole course

5+    9/14/2015   9/17/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: -quick course to play if you are in a hurry
-great elevation changes
-nice teepads, baskets, and course flow
-lightly wooded course that demands many types of shots
-a lot of ace runs and birdieable holes
-just a well designed all around course that's fun
-great course to learn the nuisances of your favorite putter or midrange. Great for beginners, but fun for all skill levels.
-a lot of other things to do in the area if you are traveling. There is also a nearby park and jogging trail. Also, a LOT of good nearby courses VERY close
-it's a very beautiful course with a nice pond, ducks, and a creek
-it would be extremely difficult to lose a disc here
Cons: -there are no benches (aside from hole 1), trash cans, or restrooms, but you really don't need them since its such a short course
-9 holes are always less desirable than 18 hole courses, and this one could certainly put more holes in
-it's a shame that they didn't use the pond. It's beautiful, but they just didn't include it for some reason
-it is right by an elementary school. If you play during the day, they may be at recess or doing a field day (I came one time during a field day...and just forget about it...there were kids everywhere). This also means that if you want to enjoy a drink or *ahem* other aren't going to be able to...especially during school hours. It just wouldn't be worth the risk.
-the signage could be better (several have apparently been vandalized), but the flow is so really doesn't make a difference
Other Thoughts: This is the best 9 hole for 30 minutes in every direction (sorry debusk...). Its great for all skill levels to enjoy or those short on time.It's well worth it if you live within 20-25 minutes or if you are looking to play multiple courses in a day (due to it's proximity to several other courses).
Go check it out.

Porter Parked

1    7/29/2015   7/30/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: Easy and fun little 9 hole.
Good baskets.
Good Teepads.
Great for new and lower level players.
Good for practice of putter and midrange game.
Has a good mixture of shots.
Nice well maintained park overlooking nearby lake.
Great for a quick round of golf.
Cons: Just not long enough.
No Bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Would like to see a full 18 put in around the lake.

Nice little 9 holer by a school

1    5/24/2015   6/13/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 344  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good beginner's course that has a good variety of shots.
There are low ceiling shots, open holes, and even dog leg L/R holes.
The park is well kept and there are other amenities nearby, there is a park, basketball court, etc.
Flow is logical and rounds should play quickly here.
A couple of holes have Ace Run potential and there are some decent lines here.
Tees are super wide and plenty long.
Cons: Probably not available(or tough to play) during school hours.
Signage is missing(just like at Debusk) due to apparent vandalism.
Wind might be a factor on the open holes.
No trash cans or benches-however you most likely won't need benches on this short of a course.
Hard pack around baskets can get slick after a solid rain.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty fun little 9 hole course that has just enough obstacles and shot variety to keep you interested. It doesn't have the length of other area courses but it is a fun play non the less.
If we had a course like this on our school property you can bet our PE classes would be utilizing it every chance we got.
When you group this course with the other 2 courses in Mesquite I think the city has covered all levels of players IMO.
I would start out here then progress to Debusk and then go play Paschall if I was just starting to learn the game.
Worth the play if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners

5+    3/25/2015   3/31/2015
Review By: Badstainless
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was one of the very first disc golf courses I have ever played. Compared to other courses in the area.
1. This is a really easy to navigate course.
2. Tees are concrete and course is well maintained.
3. Decent variation of holes, Mildy wooded, some open, up hill, downhill etc.
4. Short holes great for beginners.
5. No risk of losing any discs.

Cons: 1. The course is only 9 short holes.
2. Some of the holes can become very muddy after rainfall.
Other Thoughts: This is truly a great beginner course for those newbies such as me. There is enough variation to learn your discs and learn different elements of the game. Overall good easy course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed Playing This Course

1    2/15/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 33  Reviewed: 18
Pros: A few creative holes. Easy to navigate. Easy to find parking lot if you're going there for the first time. Good mix of shot types and some elevation changes and water.
Cons: Pretty average course. Will be easy for 900+ rated player.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing if you're already in the area. Not a destination course in and of itself.

 Good Practice course

1    7/22/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: dbx820
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Well Maintained, Easy flow from hole to hole. Multiple elevation changes. Good place to practice.
Cons: Relatively Short, Straight Holes. Chains are a little rusty. Not a lot of challenge, but again, good for practice.

 Impressive Beginner Course

1    1/16/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: jenb
Played: 83  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having never played here, I expected much worse based on the comments of pros I know who are unwilling to play here because it is a beginner course that is too easy for them.

Much to my surprise, this course offers some of the best elevation changes in DFW.

Additionally, while the holes are not long, the foliage and elevation combine to yield lines that, with wind, should provide a fun challenge for almost anyone who can't simply circumvent all obstacles and park every hole with a 250 foot overhead shot.

When nearby Paschall was a sea of mud, Porter proved nice and dry. That's not to say it doesn't need a day or two to dry out after a lot fo rain, but it doesn't keep mud as long as Paschall. But the day after a rain, BB Owen is the only park in the area that will be free of mud, and that's only if the pins all get moved short as they tend to do there after rain.

Teepads, signs, and baskets are good to go.

Not too busy. Clean, safe, and fun.

No water to lose discs in.
Cons: No water to lose discs in :P

Only 9 pins is OK, but lack of dual tees? Dual tees would really add value to this course, especially if they provide different, and not just longer, looks at the baskets.

No parking lot or bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Porter DGC is probably the best beginner course I've ever encountered, and a fun time for all but the most advanced players. If it had dual tees, I'd definitely give it the 3.5 that I want to give it. I plan to play here whenever the other courses in the area are muddy, and maybe play a little safari golf or add my own tee positions to provide what I'm looking for in terms of variety and replay value.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My 1st Elementary school course

2-4    3/19/2010   3/20/2010
Played: 56  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rolling hills and a decent amount of trees that were used to the maximum. The course is very well designed IMO. Not much wasted space here. It's like the person that designed it knew what they were trying to achieve. Surely it was designed by someone that plays DG. Mesquite coming through with the bright yellow concrete polls with the red tops next too the nice sized concrete Tee pads which makes them easy to spot. Safe neighborhood. Nice disc catchers. An older gent walking his dog stopped and asked some questions about DG which I was glad to answer... for a price. Just kidding I didn't charge him. Elevation changes and a couple of tight gap shots(3&7) help make this a pretty balanced 9 holer for the amount and type of land given. I am not a pro so they were not ALL ace runs, but I enjoyed the ones that were. Plenty of parking after school and not busy on a Friday at 3:30. ! group of 4 showed up right as I was leaving. Just a very surprising little 9 holer that I will def try to sneak in on a future DFW road trip.
Cons: Too easy for any seasoned disc golfer with any kind of distance and accuracy, but that is what this site is for so you know this going in. For what this course is supposed to be, it exceeded my expectations. Walking track that was empty today except for the curious old gent, so maybe it is usually not busy. No seclusion factor as you are next to a school in a Neighborhood. Can't play during most of the lighted hours during the week 9 months out of the year. There are no tee signs, but the yellow posts have the distance, hole number and what its par is. This course isn't exactly over flowing with cons IMO.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fine ambassador for our sport to attract young children and turn them and maybe their parents in addicts. After only playing 2 rounds, I can't think of a whole lot that I would change.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A School Yard Brawl?

1    8/17/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 223  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The few school courses that I have played turned out to be a real bore. This one however is not the case. This one wins the brawl against the little school type courses that I have seen so far. This course has great signs, baskets, and cement tee pads. Elevation and sparse trees are well used on this 9-hole layout. It is a great beginner course and set in a family type setting. I am not a huge fan of multiple ace runs, but this course was enjoyable. This school course is well maintained and quite clean.
Cons: This course is very short. 305 feet is the longest hole here. During school, I would imagine that strangers are not welcome. There was no on site restroom or trashcans,
Other Thoughts: There was an odd fun factor here for me. It was actually quite fun throwing at all of these little ace runs. I never thought this kind of elevation and such short holes would be good time.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Absolute best beginners course

5+    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: jackson
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for three purposes:

1. You have never played and want to learn
2. You have played and want a quick round of fun disc golf
3. You want to practice throwing discs
Cons: Three cons:

1. Neighborhood hooligans have torn up some of the signs.
2. This course is not overly challenging (I know because I parred it!).
3. There are no water hazards and very few tree hazards.
Other Thoughts: The course does offer some elevation changes, which is cool. It is right next to a school though, so I wouldn't recommend playing during school hours. Nothing kills the disc golf experience quicker than a screaming Kindergartner.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.