Mesquite, TX
Porter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #9 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 quick and easy.

1    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: pfluegel
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course offers great variety when it comes to elevation shifts. It is an easy course and though I would still consider myself new I shot one under par here. Lots of oppertunities for an ace here as well,( my brother hit the top of hole 5 today) over all lots of fun
Cons: Not the most challenging course. It is hard to feel really good about yourself after doing well on this course.
Other Thoughts: I have a hard time rating this course. Super fun, no poison ivy, hard to lose a disc and all holes have something interesting going for it. It is hard for me not to give this a 4 or higher...
All that being said it is only a nine hole course and if it were to have an additional 9 in the same manner this would be a very popular course for newbees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great starter course

2-4    11/19/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: loki
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good for someone just starting out almost impossible to lose a disc on this course

hole 4 is trickier then it looks by far but a blast to play
Cons: a little too close to the elementary school

no bathrooms around

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice

1    11/13/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've heard the term pitch and putt a lot in a negative way, but this was a really good example. Many short holes, used a mid range a lot. Great practice or for a quick round. Some very interesting holes though, 2 is a long downhill that is good for a RHFH, 4 is a very intimidating tee box. Hole 7 looked really fun until it whipped my butt. For a 9 hole I had a lot of fun, this one had the right amount of challenge. Has those yellow poles that make navigation easy.
Cons: Pay attention after hole 4, hole 5 will be off to your left by the school, hole 7 is the one you're seeing and thinking it's hole 5. Can be awkward/difficult to play during school hours.
Other Thoughts: A local told me that of the parks in Mesquite this one drains the best after a rain. Really good for

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Most birdies wins this course!

1    12/30/2009   12/30/2009
Review By: six30two
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though the holes are pretty short, great use of trees and terrain makes for fun and interesting shots. The course looks very well maintained- the grass was short, brush was a non-factor so the course looks and feels great. If you are an experienced player, it's like a discgolf carnival, all the holes are reachable, and thus, 'aceable'. the most birdies wins.
Other pros: quality concrete tee pads, high quality discatchers, quiet neighborhood setting
Cons: When I played yesterday, every tee pad sign save one had been torn off. Someone has used a marker to write the hole number on some of the posts, but really anyone can figure out where to go.
Other Thoughts: Shooting a -4 at the course is like dunking a basketball on an 8 foot goal over a gaggle of 6th graders. Sure, it isn't all that hard, but it sure is fun!!!


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.