Mesquite, TX 
Porter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #6 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very nice

1    11/13/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've heard the term pitch and putt a lot in a negative way, but this was a really good example. Many short holes, used a mid range a lot. Great practice or for a quick round. Some very interesting holes though, 2 is a long downhill that is good for a RHFH, 4 is a very intimidating tee box. Hole 7 looked really fun until it whipped my butt. For a 9 hole I had a lot of fun, this one had the right amount of challenge. Has those yellow poles that make navigation easy.
Cons: Pay attention after hole 4, hole 5 will be off to your left by the school, hole 7 is the one you're seeing and thinking it's hole 5. Can be awkward/difficult to play during school hours.
Other Thoughts: A local told me that of the parks in Mesquite this one drains the best after a rain. Really good for

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My 1st Elementary school course

2-4    3/19/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rolling hills and a decent amount of trees that were used to the maximum. The course is very well designed IMO. Not much wasted space here. It's like the person that designed it knew what they were trying to achieve. Surely it was designed by someone that plays DG. Mesquite coming through with the bright yellow concrete polls with the red tops next too the nice sized concrete Tee pads which makes them easy to spot. Safe neighborhood. Nice disc catchers. An older gent walking his dog stopped and asked some questions about DG which I was glad to answer... for a price. Just kidding I didn't charge him. Elevation changes and a couple of tight gap shots(3&7) help make this a pretty balanced 9 holer for the amount and type of land given. I am not a pro so they were not ALL ace runs, but I enjoyed the ones that were. Plenty of parking after school and not busy on a Friday at 3:30. ! group of 4 showed up right as I was leaving. Just a very surprising little 9 holer that I will def try to sneak in on a future DFW road trip.
Cons: Too easy for any seasoned disc golfer with any kind of distance and accuracy, but that is what this site is for so you know this going in. For what this course is supposed to be, it exceeded my expectations. Walking track that was empty today except for the curious old gent, so maybe it is usually not busy. No seclusion factor as you are next to a school in a Neighborhood. Can't play during most of the lighted hours during the week 9 months out of the year. There are no tee signs, but the yellow posts have the distance, hole number and what its par is. This course isn't exactly over flowing with cons IMO.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fine ambassador for our sport to attract young children and turn them and maybe their parents in addicts. After only playing 2 rounds, I can't think of a whole lot that I would change.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Neighborhood course

1    3/9/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads

Tee markers (although the signs have all been stolen)

Pretty good flow of holes and good use of the land.

good elevation
Cons: 2 holes are too close to the school for my taste.

2 or 3 of the holes are just too short.
Other Thoughts: This is a perfect little neighborhood 9 hole course. In fact there were several people out playing today.

Most of the time 9 hole courses are in boring parks, this one is actually interesting.

The kids were out at recess when I was there, I felt weird with the teachers watching me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Most birdies wins this course!

1    12/30/2009   12/30/2009
Review By: six30two
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though the holes are pretty short, great use of trees and terrain makes for fun and interesting shots. The course looks very well maintained- the grass was short, brush was a non-factor so the course looks and feels great. If you are an experienced player, it's like a discgolf carnival, all the holes are reachable, and thus, 'aceable'. the most birdies wins.
Other pros: quality concrete tee pads, high quality discatchers, quiet neighborhood setting
Cons: When I played yesterday, every tee pad sign save one had been torn off. Someone has used a marker to write the hole number on some of the posts, but really anyone can figure out where to go.
Other Thoughts: Shooting a -4 at the course is like dunking a basketball on an 8 foot goal over a gaggle of 6th graders. Sure, it isn't all that hard, but it sure is fun!!!


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A School Yard Brawl?

1    8/17/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The few school courses that I have played turned out to be a real bore. This one however is not the case. This one wins the brawl against the little school type courses that I have seen so far. This course has great signs, baskets, and cement tee pads. Elevation and sparse trees are well used on this 9-hole layout. It is a great beginner course and set in a family type setting. I am not a huge fan of multiple ace runs, but this course was enjoyable. This school course is well maintained and quite clean.
Cons: This course is very short. 305 feet is the longest hole here. During school, I would imagine that strangers are not welcome. There was no on site restroom or trashcans,
Other Thoughts: There was an odd fun factor here for me. It was actually quite fun throwing at all of these little ace runs. I never thought this kind of elevation and such short holes would be good time.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Absolute best beginners course

5+    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: jackson
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for three purposes:

1. You have never played and want to learn
2. You have played and want a quick round of fun disc golf
3. You want to practice throwing discs
Cons: Three cons:

1. Neighborhood hooligans have torn up some of the signs.
2. This course is not overly challenging (I know because I parred it!).
3. There are no water hazards and very few tree hazards.
Other Thoughts: The course does offer some elevation changes, which is cool. It is right next to a school though, so I wouldn't recommend playing during school hours. Nothing kills the disc golf experience quicker than a screaming Kindergartner.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Family fun.

2-4    8/8/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In the Dallas area it is very tough to find some elevation change. However, this course has some nice mix up on elevation and make this short course much more fun. This is a place that beginners can fit right in. The tee boxes are great and so are the baskets. Every hole has some trees and make you choose a path rather than wide open shots.
It is very balanced. High shots, low shots, hyzers, annies, you name it and can be done here. No water to lose a disc, so this place is kid friendly and newbs are wanted. Also a place to introduce the wife or g/f to the sport.

Park is very well maintained. THIS IS A GREAT PLACE TO TAKE THE FAMILY OUT!
Cons: If somebody is teeing off on 8 watch out!Hole #2 plays is very very close to basket #8. Given the activity of the course the odds of this are slim to none. Some holes play close to the school but should not be a major factor. Just be smart in the school year, it could get nuts.
Other Thoughts: Even though the course is very short and 9 holes, it is a blast to play. You will have several opportunities to bag a ace here which makes it that more fun!

If you are an advanced player, just work on that short game and you will still have fun.

In my opinion, stay away during school hours. This city has several other options available to pick from.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/7/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: spcnance25
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a good course for a quick round. It is wide open easy to follow. Great for new players to get the hang of the sport.
Cons: All of the signs have been ripped off the poles by the local kids.Also they like to break beer bottles on the tee pads. I have grown up close to that area and the city will take pull the course up if the local kids do not stop tearing it up. Next to the fairway on hole 1 there is a soccor pratice field and the people out there sometimes like to let there kids play in the fairway. I foresee a kid getting hit with a disc because of there parents not watching them.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to expand this course to a 18 there is plenty of room to do so out there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Starter Course

2-4    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The city of Mesquite is putting in quality courses and this is another fine example. This course shares much of the same qualities as the nearby DeBusk Park: quality concrete tees, Discatcher Pro baskets, and high visibility descriptive tee signs. The flow of the course is easy to follow without a map or guide. There are several short holes that are prime for the Ace run. This is obviously a beginner course being adjacent to a school and while pro or advanced players will quickly tire of this it's an awesome course for novice, rec, and low intermediate players to develop their short range game. For the intermediate player the challenge would be to log that perfect 9-birdie round. There are some nice low canopy holes in the mix here and a lot of elevation changes, in fact there really isn't a flat hole on the course, though #1 is close.
Cons:
When I played there was actually a decent bit of trash strewn around the course so perhaps now that school is out the maintenance is less frequent. The distance posted for the best Ace run hole (#5) is 180' which might mess with some players as the actual distance is 162'. Not much variety to the course in that with the exception of #8 all the holes can be played as straight shots. That may not be the best line, but it's there. Hole #2 plays dangerously close to basket #8 so be wary when driving #2 or walking up to #8.
Other Thoughts:
For what it is Porter does a good job. I was coming off a day at Arcadia where I lost three discs so Porter was a nice change of pace since it's virtually impossible to lose a disc here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mesquites Porter

2-4    5/27/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course that can be played VERY quick! Easy for beginners but still has a little challenge to it for some of the pro/adv guys. There is alot of room to make alt tees and then it could get very interesting!!!! Lots of birds but you can still get into trouble if you throw a bad shot. Good baskets, tee pads, and tee signs. Very easy to follow even the first time out. Always mowed and clean as well which is great. I ike the flow of the holes, for me it was 2 horseshoes, one big one, the front four, then the smaller one. Good times! Enjoy.
Cons: Always windy. Next to a school, so I bet it can get nasty during school times. Too short and only nine holes just to go out and play this course.
Other Thoughts: I would rather play this course then the other Mesquite 9 hole course (Debusk) because there is alot more challenge and its in a better part of town.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.