Mesquite, TX 
Porter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick   (Taken 7/2013)
Park Sign

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Impressive Beginner Course

1    1/16/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: jenb
Played: 83  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Having never played here, I expected much worse based on the comments of pros I know who are unwilling to play here because it is a beginner course that is too easy for them.

Much to my surprise, this course offers some of the best elevation changes in DFW.

Additionally, while the holes are not long, the foliage and elevation combine to yield lines that, with wind, should provide a fun challenge for almost anyone who can't simply circumvent all obstacles and park every hole with a 250 foot overhead shot.

When nearby Paschall was a sea of mud, Porter proved nice and dry. That's not to say it doesn't need a day or two to dry out after a lot fo rain, but it doesn't keep mud as long as Paschall. But the day after a rain, BB Owen is the only park in the area that will be free of mud, and that's only if the pins all get moved short as they tend to do there after rain.

Teepads, signs, and baskets are good to go.

Not too busy. Clean, safe, and fun.

No water to lose discs in.
Cons: No water to lose discs in :P

Only 9 pins is OK, but lack of dual tees? Dual tees would really add value to this course, especially if they provide different, and not just longer, looks at the baskets.

No parking lot or bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Porter DGC is probably the best beginner course I've ever encountered, and a fun time for all but the most advanced players. If it had dual tees, I'd definitely give it the 3.5 that I want to give it. I plan to play here whenever the other courses in the area are muddy, and maybe play a little safari golf or add my own tee positions to provide what I'm looking for in terms of variety and replay value.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 quick and easy.

1    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: pfluegel
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course offers great variety when it comes to elevation shifts. It is an easy course and though I would still consider myself new I shot one under par here. Lots of oppertunities for an ace here as well,( my brother hit the top of hole 5 today) over all lots of fun
Cons: Not the most challenging course. It is hard to feel really good about yourself after doing well on this course.
Other Thoughts: I have a hard time rating this course. Super fun, no poison ivy, hard to lose a disc and all holes have something interesting going for it. It is hard for me not to give this a 4 or higher...
All that being said it is only a nine hole course and if it were to have an additional 9 in the same manner this would be a very popular course for newbees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 get schooled in DG

1    2/15/2011   2/15/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good local course if you live in the local neighborhood. See my full review below.
Cons: Close to school, be wary of proximity to children during school hours.
Other Thoughts: This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth disc for a total of 10, disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat... even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Porter park, Mesquite, TX

1. Yes. Good tee pads.
2. Yes. Good signage on posts. No main map. Next tee indicators on baskets. Easy to navigate course.
3. No. Park amenities are good, but course specific amenities are absent.
4. No. Overall nice clean park, but since it is basically attached to the school, no real park amenities.
5. Yes. Quite well done here. Nice use of the creek like areas. Could have used central tree area more, but this might subject it to much traffic/trampeling and that would be a shame.
6. Yes. Existing elevation and terrain is incorporated well into course layout.
7. No. Mostly all are just longer than short... low end of mid length holes.
8. No. No tee or basket choices are offered.
9. No. No real sig hole here.
10. Yes. I had fun. Good, basic course for one on a school grounds. Use care when playing during the day when school is in session. Fun to play, but there is better golf close by.

Rating = 5 yes, 5 no = 2.5 disc rating

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great starter course

2-4    11/19/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: loki
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good for someone just starting out almost impossible to lose a disc on this course

hole 4 is trickier then it looks by far but a blast to play
Cons: a little too close to the elementary school

no bathrooms around

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice

1    11/13/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: chalos13
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've heard the term pitch and putt a lot in a negative way, but this was a really good example. Many short holes, used a mid range a lot. Great practice or for a quick round. Some very interesting holes though, 2 is a long downhill that is good for a RHFH, 4 is a very intimidating tee box. Hole 7 looked really fun until it whipped my butt. For a 9 hole I had a lot of fun, this one had the right amount of challenge. Has those yellow poles that make navigation easy.
Cons: Pay attention after hole 4, hole 5 will be off to your left by the school, hole 7 is the one you're seeing and thinking it's hole 5. Can be awkward/difficult to play during school hours.
Other Thoughts: A local told me that of the parks in Mesquite this one drains the best after a rain. Really good for

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My 1st Elementary school course

2-4    3/19/2010   3/20/2010
Played: 56  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rolling hills and a decent amount of trees that were used to the maximum. The course is very well designed IMO. Not much wasted space here. It's like the person that designed it knew what they were trying to achieve. Surely it was designed by someone that plays DG. Mesquite coming through with the bright yellow concrete polls with the red tops next too the nice sized concrete Tee pads which makes them easy to spot. Safe neighborhood. Nice disc catchers. An older gent walking his dog stopped and asked some questions about DG which I was glad to answer... for a price. Just kidding I didn't charge him. Elevation changes and a couple of tight gap shots(3&7) help make this a pretty balanced 9 holer for the amount and type of land given. I am not a pro so they were not ALL ace runs, but I enjoyed the ones that were. Plenty of parking after school and not busy on a Friday at 3:30. ! group of 4 showed up right as I was leaving. Just a very surprising little 9 holer that I will def try to sneak in on a future DFW road trip.
Cons: Too easy for any seasoned disc golfer with any kind of distance and accuracy, but that is what this site is for so you know this going in. For what this course is supposed to be, it exceeded my expectations. Walking track that was empty today except for the curious old gent, so maybe it is usually not busy. No seclusion factor as you are next to a school in a Neighborhood. Can't play during most of the lighted hours during the week 9 months out of the year. There are no tee signs, but the yellow posts have the distance, hole number and what its par is. This course isn't exactly over flowing with cons IMO.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fine ambassador for our sport to attract young children and turn them and maybe their parents in addicts. After only playing 2 rounds, I can't think of a whole lot that I would change.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Neighborhood course

1    3/9/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 201  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 27.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads

Tee markers (although the signs have all been stolen)

Pretty good flow of holes and good use of the land.

good elevation
Cons: 2 holes are too close to the school for my taste.

2 or 3 of the holes are just too short.
Other Thoughts: This is a perfect little neighborhood 9 hole course. In fact there were several people out playing today.

Most of the time 9 hole courses are in boring parks, this one is actually interesting.

The kids were out at recess when I was there, I felt weird with the teachers watching me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Most birdies wins this course!

1    12/30/2009   12/30/2009
Review By: six30two
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though the holes are pretty short, great use of trees and terrain makes for fun and interesting shots. The course looks very well maintained- the grass was short, brush was a non-factor so the course looks and feels great. If you are an experienced player, it's like a discgolf carnival, all the holes are reachable, and thus, 'aceable'. the most birdies wins.
Other pros: quality concrete tee pads, high quality discatchers, quiet neighborhood setting
Cons: When I played yesterday, every tee pad sign save one had been torn off. Someone has used a marker to write the hole number on some of the posts, but really anyone can figure out where to go.
Other Thoughts: Shooting a -4 at the course is like dunking a basketball on an 8 foot goal over a gaggle of 6th graders. Sure, it isn't all that hard, but it sure is fun!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A School Yard Brawl?

1    8/17/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 220  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.5 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The few school courses that I have played turned out to be a real bore. This one however is not the case. This one wins the brawl against the little school type courses that I have seen so far. This course has great signs, baskets, and cement tee pads. Elevation and sparse trees are well used on this 9-hole layout. It is a great beginner course and set in a family type setting. I am not a huge fan of multiple ace runs, but this course was enjoyable. This school course is well maintained and quite clean.
Cons: This course is very short. 305 feet is the longest hole here. During school, I would imagine that strangers are not welcome. There was no on site restroom or trashcans,
Other Thoughts: There was an odd fun factor here for me. It was actually quite fun throwing at all of these little ace runs. I never thought this kind of elevation and such short holes would be good time.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Absolute best beginners course

5+    8/28/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: jackson
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for three purposes:

1. You have never played and want to learn
2. You have played and want a quick round of fun disc golf
3. You want to practice throwing discs
Cons: Three cons:

1. Neighborhood hooligans have torn up some of the signs.
2. This course is not overly challenging (I know because I parred it!).
3. There are no water hazards and very few tree hazards.
Other Thoughts: The course does offer some elevation changes, which is cool. It is right next to a school though, so I wouldn't recommend playing during school hours. Nothing kills the disc golf experience quicker than a screaming Kindergartner.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center