Mesquite, TX 
Porter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #9 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
  

5+    8/7/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: spcnance25
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is a good course for a quick round. It is wide open easy to follow. Great for new players to get the hang of the sport.
Cons: All of the signs have been ripped off the poles by the local kids.Also they like to break beer bottles on the tee pads. I have grown up close to that area and the city will take pull the course up if the local kids do not stop tearing it up. Next to the fairway on hole 1 there is a soccor pratice field and the people out there sometimes like to let there kids play in the fairway. I foresee a kid getting hit with a disc because of there parents not watching them.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to expand this course to a 18 there is plenty of room to do so out there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Starter Course

2-4    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 199  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The city of Mesquite is putting in quality courses and this is another fine example. This course shares much of the same qualities as the nearby DeBusk Park: quality concrete tees, Discatcher Pro baskets, and high visibility descriptive tee signs. The flow of the course is easy to follow without a map or guide. There are several short holes that are prime for the Ace run. This is obviously a beginner course being adjacent to a school and while pro or advanced players will quickly tire of this it's an awesome course for novice, rec, and low intermediate players to develop their short range game. For the intermediate player the challenge would be to log that perfect 9-birdie round. There are some nice low canopy holes in the mix here and a lot of elevation changes, in fact there really isn't a flat hole on the course, though #1 is close.
Cons:
When I played there was actually a decent bit of trash strewn around the course so perhaps now that school is out the maintenance is less frequent. The distance posted for the best Ace run hole (#5) is 180' which might mess with some players as the actual distance is 162'. Not much variety to the course in that with the exception of #8 all the holes can be played as straight shots. That may not be the best line, but it's there. Hole #2 plays dangerously close to basket #8 so be wary when driving #2 or walking up to #8.
Other Thoughts:
For what it is Porter does a good job. I was coming off a day at Arcadia where I lost three discs so Porter was a nice change of pace since it's virtually impossible to lose a disc here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mesquites Porter

2-4    5/27/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun little course that can be played VERY quick! Easy for beginners but still has a little challenge to it for some of the pro/adv guys. There is alot of room to make alt tees and then it could get very interesting!!!! Lots of birds but you can still get into trouble if you throw a bad shot. Good baskets, tee pads, and tee signs. Very easy to follow even the first time out. Always mowed and clean as well which is great. I ike the flow of the holes, for me it was 2 horseshoes, one big one, the front four, then the smaller one. Good times! Enjoy.
Cons: Always windy. Next to a school, so I bet it can get nasty during school times. Too short and only nine holes just to go out and play this course.
Other Thoughts: I would rather play this course then the other Mesquite 9 hole course (Debusk) because there is alot more challenge and its in a better part of town.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short But Fun.

1    3/15/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Porter Park plays a few great elevation shots over a small confined area. If you like an easy quick course to play over and over - this is the place. Every tee has concrete tees, and each has a color sign complete with yardage.

The park is in good condition and is centrally located between Harry Myers and Pachall Park DGC if a player truly wants to make a day of it. This is the perfect course for experienced golfers to practice elevation changes in their midrange and long putts, or for a new player to learn the game.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #7
Cons: This is a very short and easy course (only one hole in the 300's range) that doesn't require much thinking. This was a plus for me having just finished the Harry Myers course and wanting to relax a little on a course, but most experienced players may be turned off by this factor.

Parking for tee one is on a road away from the highway up by the school, and since we came in off the highway onto Olympia - we started on hole three to save time. However, there are no parking signs everywhere close to hole one on Olympia, so watch yourself.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: If you'd liked to be challenged and see everything a DG course can offer, drive the extra fifteen minutes out of Dallas to Rockwall and play Harry Myers.

If you rather take it easy, learn to play the game, get your first ace, or boost your ego with ample birdies - then stop by and give Porter Park a whirl. This is a course where every hole has a good birdie opportunity.

Overall, I really enjoyed myself on this course, and loved the feeling of skirting multiple pins off my drive even though I only threw it 200'. My suggestion is to tie this course into other harder courses in the area and play it as a warm-up course before taking on something else. You'll enjoy it, and probably shave off a few stokes on your average.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A good place to learn

5+    11/8/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: Geraldo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners. Everything is well marked and easy to find and follow.Most holes have both trees and slight elevation changes. Park is very clean.

Overall this course is a great place to teach someone the game.Newer players will find it much easier to build confidence here and not get as frustrated as they might at harder courses.
Cons: Holes 4 & 5 play pretty close to the elementary school's recess area.No real parking lot( you have to park in the street near #1). Only one set of tees, all of the holes are under 305ft so the bigger arms dont get to open it up here.
Other Thoughts: As a hole this course is a good place to introduce new players to the sport.When the park is empty its a great course to make up your own long tees.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner / intro course

1    8/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **Let me start by saying that this is clearly a beginner-level course, and that my overall rating takes that into consideration. I don't think it would be fair to compare this course to top-caliber, pro/adv-level courses.**

The course was very easy to navigate, which is a giant plus for the crowd it was designed for. The grass was recently mowed, no trash was on the ground, and I recall passing a few trash cans along the way. The course has concrete pads, nice signage, and new Discatcher baskets.

While all the holes are under 300', each demonstrates a particular type of throw or "idea"...one with a low ceiling, one slightly downhill, one uphill, one through a narrow gap, etc, etc. I feel this is very important for a beginner level course.

Overall, there is a good amount of shot variety and the "fun factor" is fairly high for a short course...which I think will keep new players coming back for more. This course could also be a great place for upper level players to practice their midrange/putter game.
Cons: One of the holes plays pretty close to the elementary school it borders...which shouldn't be a problem for new playes, but if a longer thrower were to miss their shot it could end up near kids at recess.

The course could prove a bit boring for upper level players, but this open division player enjoyed it :)

Also, there isn't a parking lot, so you have to park on the street. Not really a "con" for me since you can park right next to Hole 1, but could be for others.
Other Thoughts: I've heard rumors that the Mesquite ISD is going to integrate disc golf into it's PhysEd curriculum, and with a course like this, they should be off to a great start!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2008   9/19/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best short beginner courses both in basic design stressing gentle turns and straight shots, elevation play and in cleanliness of play, amenities. Has cement tees, well marked, ball golf quality grass, rolling hills dotted with Mesquite trees. No rough/water hazard (good for the level of player it's for).
Cons: Short and too easy for anyone beyond a novice, not really a con because that's it's purpose and there are tons of other courses nearby.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.