Mesquite, TX 
Porter Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #7 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Short But Fun.

1    3/15/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Porter Park plays a few great elevation shots over a small confined area. If you like an easy quick course to play over and over - this is the place. Every tee has concrete tees, and each has a color sign complete with yardage.

The park is in good condition and is centrally located between Harry Myers and Pachall Park DGC if a player truly wants to make a day of it. This is the perfect course for experienced golfers to practice elevation changes in their midrange and long putts, or for a new player to learn the game.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #7
Cons: This is a very short and easy course (only one hole in the 300's range) that doesn't require much thinking. This was a plus for me having just finished the Harry Myers course and wanting to relax a little on a course, but most experienced players may be turned off by this factor.

Parking for tee one is on a road away from the highway up by the school, and since we came in off the highway onto Olympia - we started on hole three to save time. However, there are no parking signs everywhere close to hole one on Olympia, so watch yourself.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: If you'd liked to be challenged and see everything a DG course can offer, drive the extra fifteen minutes out of Dallas to Rockwall and play Harry Myers.

If you rather take it easy, learn to play the game, get your first ace, or boost your ego with ample birdies - then stop by and give Porter Park a whirl. This is a course where every hole has a good birdie opportunity.

Overall, I really enjoyed myself on this course, and loved the feeling of skirting multiple pins off my drive even though I only threw it 200'. My suggestion is to tie this course into other harder courses in the area and play it as a warm-up course before taking on something else. You'll enjoy it, and probably shave off a few stokes on your average.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A good place to learn

5+    11/8/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: Geraldo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners. Everything is well marked and easy to find and follow.Most holes have both trees and slight elevation changes. Park is very clean.

Overall this course is a great place to teach someone the game.Newer players will find it much easier to build confidence here and not get as frustrated as they might at harder courses.
Cons: Holes 4 & 5 play pretty close to the elementary school's recess area.No real parking lot( you have to park in the street near #1). Only one set of tees, all of the holes are under 305ft so the bigger arms dont get to open it up here.
Other Thoughts: As a hole this course is a good place to introduce new players to the sport.When the park is empty its a great course to make up your own long tees.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner / intro course

1    8/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **Let me start by saying that this is clearly a beginner-level course, and that my overall rating takes that into consideration. I don't think it would be fair to compare this course to top-caliber, pro/adv-level courses.**

The course was very easy to navigate, which is a giant plus for the crowd it was designed for. The grass was recently mowed, no trash was on the ground, and I recall passing a few trash cans along the way. The course has concrete pads, nice signage, and new Discatcher baskets.

While all the holes are under 300', each demonstrates a particular type of throw or "idea"...one with a low ceiling, one slightly downhill, one uphill, one through a narrow gap, etc, etc. I feel this is very important for a beginner level course.

Overall, there is a good amount of shot variety and the "fun factor" is fairly high for a short course...which I think will keep new players coming back for more. This course could also be a great place for upper level players to practice their midrange/putter game.
Cons: One of the holes plays pretty close to the elementary school it borders...which shouldn't be a problem for new playes, but if a longer thrower were to miss their shot it could end up near kids at recess.

The course could prove a bit boring for upper level players, but this open division player enjoyed it :)

Also, there isn't a parking lot, so you have to park on the street. Not really a "con" for me since you can park right next to Hole 1, but could be for others.
Other Thoughts: I've heard rumors that the Mesquite ISD is going to integrate disc golf into it's PhysEd curriculum, and with a course like this, they should be off to a great start!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2008   9/19/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the best short beginner courses both in basic design stressing gentle turns and straight shots, elevation play and in cleanliness of play, amenities. Has cement tees, well marked, ball golf quality grass, rolling hills dotted with Mesquite trees. No rough/water hazard (good for the level of player it's for).
Cons: Short and too easy for anyone beyond a novice, not really a con because that's it's purpose and there are tons of other courses nearby.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.