Conroe, TX 
Gwen Hruska Park (River Plantation) Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #6 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    12/27/2012   12/28/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The one thing that this course has going for it is the atmosphere and the surrounding area. First off, the neighborhood is very nice. There is a weird, surreal feeling playing at a course with abandoned houses and old house lots throughout the course.
-The course plays next to a very nice ball golf course which adds to the surrounding area feeling.
-There are huge trees throughout which also gives the course a bit of a challenge as well as a good feeling.
-The baskets are all in good shape. With the lack of people that play this course, this should not come as a surprise.
-The flow of this course is pretty straightforward. There are wooden stakes at every hole which can be seen very easily. Navigation is not a problem.
Cons: -Surprisingly, for never being played the tees are practically holes (think Agnes Mofitt pre-concrete). Some of the tees have roots to make footing treacherous.
-This course is just plain shooting wise. Majority of the holes do not have many obstacles to speak of. Most of the holes are placed in the 250-300' range so there is not a whole lot of hole variety.
Other Thoughts: -This course will not be hosting any major tournaments here anytime soon. This is just a typical neighborhood course with nothing really going for it other then 9 straight shots.
-I thought that the small culdesac was a good thing to have for the small number of disc golfers that come here. Golfers are out of everyones way.
-This is a good place to bring the family or play quickly if you do not have time or patience to go to McDade Park 10 minutes to the north.

As I do on most 9> hole courses, the first time I play it I just bring a putter and mid range. There are a few holes that play longer then an intermediate player could reach for putting distance with just a mid range. This is a great place, though, to bring two discs to work on your straight approach shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Close to Home

5+    8/18/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: cj37
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Close to home. Great for practice. Being in a neighborhood makes for a nice quiet game amongst friends.
Cons: Worn down dirt tee boxes. some holes are too close together.
Other Thoughts: There isn't a parking lot, so you have to park in a cul-de-sac.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Looks nice

1    3/9/2011   3/26/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -quiet park deep in the back of a nice neighborhood
-no crowds
-baskets in good condition
-tee signs with approximate distance
-pro tees (supposedly) marked by bricks
-easy navigation except between 5 & 6
Cons: -many pro tees hard to find and/or nonexistent
-distances on tee signs are a little off, no map, no extra info
-a couple of the dirt tees are in poor condition, particularly #3
-no stand-out holes
-very close to the surrounding houses, almost feels like you are intruding
-tee for #5 is very close to #4's basket, someone could get hit on the off chance that 2 groups are playing at once
-#6 & 7 are right next to #8 & 9, see above
Other Thoughts: There are not a lot of good things to say about this course but not a lot of bad things to say either. Tucked deep into a nice neighborhood, this course plays through a few empty lots and non-utilized areas next to a ball golf course.

All of the holes are pretty straight forward: 250'-350' range, a few trees to contend with but no major obstacles, nothing special in terms of pin placement, no forced lines.

The signs are sufficient and the dirt tees are okay. Most of the tees are in decent shape as I imagine the course doesn't get that much play but #3 was quite rutted and has many roots from a nearby tree. Definitely needs some love. There are supposed to be bricks marking the pro tees but I only found one for #8, though I wasn't looking that hard. The navigation is mostly straightforward. There is an obvious path across the street between 3 & 4 but no obvious path after #5 (go around the right side of the house, follow the sidewalk).

The atmosphere of this park is its best asset. The neighborhood is quiet and there are not a lot of people around. The park itself looks really nice, the topography just makes for bland disc golf.

One thing I can say on its behalf is that this course can be really fun for an intermediate level player due to the average distance. As someone who throws around 300', this course offered me an opportunity to get rewarding 2's if I have good drives or easy 3's if my drives are a little off. For the average player this means the course can be really fun if you're having a good day, frustrating if you're not because you're missing your birdies, or just boring if you're hitting easy 3's one after another.

Overall, this is a decent place to play to practice your game if you live nearby or if you don't like the crowds at Bear Branch or McDade. A unique place to play if you're traveling through and looking to bag courses but not worth going out of the way for this one.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, QUIET, lil course

5+    6/16/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: rbsold
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No crowds, plenty of rangy holes around 400'. Great place to practice drives. Can play with a couple people in about a half an hour. has signs that show distance(even tho I think the distance is off). nice flow of holes. Baskets are in great shape. Again I cant stress enough how great it is to go to a course and no be waiting on poeple, or people playing through. Not too much walking for you lazy folks.
Cons: Holes are way too open, not many trees. No need to shape shots, and I find myself not playing well as I don't have to make an accurate shot. Can play this whole course with 2-3 discs. Runs along side of a fairway of a ball golf course. Needs actual tee boxes rather than just patches of dirt.
Other Thoughts: quiet, open, and pleasant place to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great if you hate the crowds

5+    11/4/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: improvingmygame
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This park is quiet and clean.
It has a cop presence so it keep some of the knucklehead at bearbranch away.
cement walking path.
never crowded!
Cons: Predictable course. when it rain the dirt tee pad stay sludgy for at least 3 days. Ants are everywhere so be careful where you lay your discgolf bag down.
Other Thoughts: all right i play this course on average 2 time a week. I like this course beacuse it dead most of time. i think at most i've seen 3 other group playing at same time. i used this course to work on the fundamental of the game and it allow me to really pratice diffrent shot with out chance of losing my disc. I enjoy the freedom i get beacuse it really is a very forgiving course. I also find that this is a great course to bring people into the sport. it really is for the novice player but i still have a blast playing it!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Special

2-4    8/8/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very pretty course on what appears to be old home sites. You get a strong feeling of playing in someone's back yard as there are many homes adjacent to the fairways. The course plays along a ball golf course so the scenery is nice and well maintained. The baskets are double chain DGA baskets in perfect condition. The baskets that are tucked in the trees have bright yellow tape on the pole to make them easier to see. The tee markers are white posts that have distances engraved in them. This isn't a pitch & putt course with the hole average at 300'+, but every hole should be a pretty easy '3' for most recreational players.
Cons:
Gwen's biggest downfall is the lack of variety. Every hole seems to be a straight ahead shot with a few trees to get through... every hole. No elevation on this course either. The posted distances on several of the holes are pretty far off. Parking is very limited; use the empty cul-de-sac. No trash cans or restroom facilities. Fairways for #6/#7 run parallel to #8/#9 and there's a danger of errant discs crossing over.
Other Thoughts:
You should definitely play this course with road and beyond as OB. The old house foundation in the fairway of hole #4 was interesting from a perspective of what has gone before. Can't recommend this course as a destination course but if you're in town to play McDade it's just a short ways down I-45 to bag this course as well.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice and Easy Day of DG

1    5/16/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very quiet course away from the hustle and bustle of H-Town. You can typically get a round in and be the only person on the course. Nice easy pin placement and a great place for beginners or people trying to work on there game.
Cons: A very easy course, and experienced players will find it hard to find a reason to make it out here, when there are so many other good courses around it. Being very close to an actual golf course can be an adventure at times and I have had a few golf balls zing by my head. As a previous reviewer mentioned, very little parking and no facilities make it necessary to relieve one self well before they get here.
Other Thoughts: I like to go to this course to warm up before going over to McDade. It warms up my arm and you rarely leave here not feeling confident. If someone plans on making the trip up to McDade stop by Gwen if not then don't bother.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Memorable Here

1    3/7/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is solid nine-hole course for new players learning the game. Dirt tee boxes are in decent shape, and there is plenty of grass surrounding the tee if you'd rather tee off in grass.

Each hole is marked with a white marker indicating the yardage. Baskets are still in good shape.

This is a flat course that is kid and stroller friendly, and when I played it I was the only one playing the entire course. If you don't like Bear Branch Park or McDade Park because of the crowds, you'll be pleased with the stillness of this course.

BEST HOLE/S: #3
Cons: Anyone with experience under their belt will probably be bored by hole five. There is no real shot variation or risk versus reward aspects. This is just a "huck the disc and go" type of course.

Also, the back and forth walking on holes six through nine leave real possibilities of being hit by people playing other holes. Holes six and seven border an actual golf course, so you have to watch for golfers in the summer time.

There is no real parking lot or bathroom facility, so you make do will parking on the side of a dead end road next to the park.

WORST HOLE/S: #5; #9
Other Thoughts: Driving through the tunnel bridge reminiscent of the movie Beetlejuice, hopes are high for this course since its surroundings are pretty in a traditional southern sense. Unfortunately that's the biggest highlight, since this course isn't horrible - it just isn't memorable. The straightforward holes offer no twists, bends, or hazards. There are simply a few trees for your drive to contend with.

The biggest selling point of the river plantation may simply be that it has much better courses surrounding it, so if you've never played it - feel free. Once you're warm though, make your way to Terramont Park (big elevation), Bear Branch Park (short and tight), or McDade Park (top quality and newly revamped) to play a real disc golf course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Great 9 hole

2-4    7/25/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: brennan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is pretty open with a few fairly long holes (300+ and one 400+). Most of the holes you are playing beside the ball golf course which makes for nice scenery. The grass and foliage is trimmed and looks very nice. The dirt tee boxes are in good shape and weren't muddy the day after a good rain.
Cons: The only con I can think of is that this course is easy, and most holes are birdie-able with a good drive.
Other Thoughts: Living just a few miles from this course, I'll come back when I want to stretch my arm out after playing the many woodsy courses in the area. Recommended if your in the area, but not worth a long drive.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.