Conroe, TX 
Gwen Hruska Park (River Plantation) Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    12/27/2012   12/28/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The one thing that this course has going for it is the atmosphere and the surrounding area. First off, the neighborhood is very nice. There is a weird, surreal feeling playing at a course with abandoned houses and old house lots throughout the course.
-The course plays next to a very nice ball golf course which adds to the surrounding area feeling.
-There are huge trees throughout which also gives the course a bit of a challenge as well as a good feeling.
-The baskets are all in good shape. With the lack of people that play this course, this should not come as a surprise.
-The flow of this course is pretty straightforward. There are wooden stakes at every hole which can be seen very easily. Navigation is not a problem.
Cons: -Surprisingly, for never being played the tees are practically holes (think Agnes Mofitt pre-concrete). Some of the tees have roots to make footing treacherous.
-This course is just plain shooting wise. Majority of the holes do not have many obstacles to speak of. Most of the holes are placed in the 250-300' range so there is not a whole lot of hole variety.
Other Thoughts: -This course will not be hosting any major tournaments here anytime soon. This is just a typical neighborhood course with nothing really going for it other then 9 straight shots.
-I thought that the small culdesac was a good thing to have for the small number of disc golfers that come here. Golfers are out of everyones way.
-This is a good place to bring the family or play quickly if you do not have time or patience to go to McDade Park 10 minutes to the north.

As I do on most 9> hole courses, the first time I play it I just bring a putter and mid range. There are a few holes that play longer then an intermediate player could reach for putting distance with just a mid range. This is a great place, though, to bring two discs to work on your straight approach shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Looks nice

1    3/9/2011   3/26/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -quiet park deep in the back of a nice neighborhood
-no crowds
-baskets in good condition
-tee signs with approximate distance
-pro tees (supposedly) marked by bricks
-easy navigation except between 5 & 6
Cons: -many pro tees hard to find and/or nonexistent
-distances on tee signs are a little off, no map, no extra info
-a couple of the dirt tees are in poor condition, particularly #3
-no stand-out holes
-very close to the surrounding houses, almost feels like you are intruding
-tee for #5 is very close to #4's basket, someone could get hit on the off chance that 2 groups are playing at once
-#6 & 7 are right next to #8 & 9, see above
Other Thoughts: There are not a lot of good things to say about this course but not a lot of bad things to say either. Tucked deep into a nice neighborhood, this course plays through a few empty lots and non-utilized areas next to a ball golf course.

All of the holes are pretty straight forward: 250'-350' range, a few trees to contend with but no major obstacles, nothing special in terms of pin placement, no forced lines.

The signs are sufficient and the dirt tees are okay. Most of the tees are in decent shape as I imagine the course doesn't get that much play but #3 was quite rutted and has many roots from a nearby tree. Definitely needs some love. There are supposed to be bricks marking the pro tees but I only found one for #8, though I wasn't looking that hard. The navigation is mostly straightforward. There is an obvious path across the street between 3 & 4 but no obvious path after #5 (go around the right side of the house, follow the sidewalk).

The atmosphere of this park is its best asset. The neighborhood is quiet and there are not a lot of people around. The park itself looks really nice, the topography just makes for bland disc golf.

One thing I can say on its behalf is that this course can be really fun for an intermediate level player due to the average distance. As someone who throws around 300', this course offered me an opportunity to get rewarding 2's if I have good drives or easy 3's if my drives are a little off. For the average player this means the course can be really fun if you're having a good day, frustrating if you're not because you're missing your birdies, or just boring if you're hitting easy 3's one after another.

Overall, this is a decent place to play to practice your game if you live nearby or if you don't like the crowds at Bear Branch or McDade. A unique place to play if you're traveling through and looking to bag courses but not worth going out of the way for this one.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great 9 hole

2-4    7/25/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: brennan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is pretty open with a few fairly long holes (300+ and one 400+). Most of the holes you are playing beside the ball golf course which makes for nice scenery. The grass and foliage is trimmed and looks very nice. The dirt tee boxes are in good shape and weren't muddy the day after a good rain.
Cons: The only con I can think of is that this course is easy, and most holes are birdie-able with a good drive.
Other Thoughts: Living just a few miles from this course, I'll come back when I want to stretch my arm out after playing the many woodsy courses in the area. Recommended if your in the area, but not worth a long drive.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.