Course Extinct
Logan, UT 
Utah State University Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 It's gone

5+    5/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: Topher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good smooth concrete tees
-DISCatcher baskets
-good technical course
Cons: -a lot of short holes
-lot's of students to worry about, especially with one hole being behind a sand volleyball court
-lots of buildings and cars which can get damaged
-lots of buildings and sidewalks/parking lots
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a really fun course, me and my roommate would play everyday as a break from class. Good technical shots on some holes, and finding the alternate tees was refreshing. Having that many brick buildings and sidewalks was annoying though, we would only allow our champion and star plastic discs to be thrown so they wouldn't get trashed.

Unfortunately, there was a lot of damage done which was not reported, lot's of litter, and drinking of alcoholic beverages despite the course being on a dry campus. Utah State Housing took the baskets out a couple of months ago, and I still don't know if another course will be put up in Logan or not..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 This course will be removed soon.

5+    2/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: DG2488
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: Convenient and fun right by dorms.
Cons: Too convenient/close to cars & buildings -- discs often hit cars in parking lots, causing damage.
Other Thoughts: USU housing office plans to remove this course soon, like in June 2010. Hopefully baskets can be reused to form a new DG course in this Cache Valley.

 USU

1    3/2/2010   3/3/2010
Review By: Carson B.
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: its a really fun little course, You can make up your own holes if you want because its a little less challenging. I guess throwing in and out of dorms is a little challenging. But it is an awesome course,
Cons: It has a really weird layout, like on hole three you will throw to the basket, then when you are at the basket look to your left and you can see hole four so you have to walk back on the other side of the dorm and throw to four, There is always this BMW on hole six right next to the basket and i always hit it, i guess you shouldnt park right next to the basket.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dorm Discin @ USU

1    9/30/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: NothinButChing
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Reminded me of Colorado State, as the course is incorporated onto the Utah State campus.

For the time of year I played the course (very cold fall day, snow was present in foothills) it was in GREAT shape! I was very surprised with the condition of each hole as well as the condition of the grass n paths on the course. Considering both everyday students along with the occasional disc golfer, the grass/course is in better shape than the BRAND NEW course at the UofU.

Cons: Very confusing, lack of signs and visible tee boxes. Going alone and being on a time restriction made things even harder for me.

Either a sign at each hole or at least an overview sign of the whole course at hole #1 would be a great guide to new players

Playing thru parking lots and students that aren't always disc friendly.

Course could be lengthened, as could each hole (although I may have been throwing from wrong tee box)

Other Thoughts: the 9 holes can be played twice, with the second time from a different tee location, there fore creating 18 holes with just the 9 present.

Great blueprint for the University of Utah for is the new course gets pulled up. The Olympic dorms at the U present more than enough space to copy the design that USU has used. This also gets more people interested in playing disc golf as the sport become visible daily.

**Instead of parking by the 1st hole, I parked on 1000 North and walked around to the first tee. When I finished 9 I was right back at my car!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for those on campus

5+    7/16/2008   3/5/2009
Review By: JohnnyB
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun to play in a more urban setting. The course winds around dorms and parking lots giving it different obstacles than the normal trees bushes and hills.
Good use of the land available to give the students a course to play on.
Only 9 holes might discourage some, but there's a lot of room for safari holes to make a complete 18.
Cons: Same as the pros to this course. It plays around dorms and parking lots. Release early and you can shatter someones window. Too much D and you dent someones car.
Other Thoughts: Not the greatest course ever. Or the worse. What still stands out most to me is the quality of people I meet each time I visit.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.