Course Extinct
Cathlamet, WA 
Skyline Golf Course Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #16 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 660ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Skyline Disc Golf Course

1    3/7/2010   3/12/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Skyline Golf course is an executive course that also features a wonderful 18 hole disc golf course on its property. As you drive up the gravel road to the clubhouse you can't help but notice the shoe tree where several people over time have decorated it with old sneakers. Once you enter the clubhouse, there is a mini putt putt course inside, along with snacks and beverages, a big screen television, and an extremely friendly owner there to greet you.

When playing the course, the first six holes have you throwing up, down, and at times across fairways on the front side of the ball course. Holes seven through fifteen are much of the same, but are located on the back. Holes sixteen through eighteen have you playing on the front once more, as you make your way back down toward the clubhouse. With the exception of holes five and eight, the first nine holes are quite short and fairly easy to birdie. Hole eight is challenging not due to distance as much as the design. It has players throwing up toward a blind pin with difficult placement, and requires one to throw through a very narrow window in order to have an attempt at a birdie.

The back nine is longer and perhaps more challenging overall, and includes their two signature holes (#11 and #16). Hole #11, like the other reviewer stated, is fairly short (150 ft.) but has you throwing downhill over a ravine toward the green where the basket sits on top of a stump (raising the basket 3+ feet). In the background was a massive Tiki statue (not Native American which I thought was kind of weird considering we are in the NW)! Hole #16 on the other hand is the largest of the holes (660 ft) on the course, having you throw downhill toward a hanging basket nestled on the left hand side amongst some trees. This hole also gives you an amazing view of the Columbia River and well as the Washington/Oregon border.

The course seemed to be very well maintained, with grass, trees, and plants well manicured. The manmade pond on hole four was also a lot of fun to throw over and helped add to the overall difficulty of the hole. The baskets (although homemade) seemed to be in pretty good shape, as I came across a shed during the round with some of the older pins waiting to be restored. The baskets also added to the overall challenge, with multiple pins hanging from trees, and others placed in stumps (making people work on their upshots). Golf carts were available too, which is a huge plus if you are looking to just play Skyline all day.
Cons:
The overall design of this course seemed to allow both ball golfers and disc golfers alike to share this land. However, there were some flaws that I could see causing some major issues if the course were busy. First, there were both tee pads and pins placed in the middle of fairways at times, which could be a major safety hazard. Also, the disc golf holes seemed to go back and forth across the multiple fairways (rather then playing with the lay of the golf course).

Some holes on the front nine although fun, lacked much of a challenge. Overall, I would say there were maybe five or six holes at best that would be considered somewhat difficult. Players like Dave Feldberg have shot 13 under which tells you something. It is a great place though for intermediate to advanced players, or those who play new courses for the love of the game.

Navigation for the most part was easy enough to follow, but the course would benefit from proper tee signs or larger tee markers that are more visible from the previous hole. Some arrows directing players toward the next tee pad would be a nice improvement too.
Other Thoughts:
Playing at Skyline was a lot of fun and very much worth my time and money. I was more then happy to support this course as the owner and son have done a lot to welcome disc golfers, so paying to play seemed quite fair for course maintenance. However, I could see it getting old paying $12 every time you wanted to play here. Perhaps a monthly or yearly membership would help get locals there more often. For someone like me who would play it maybe once or twice a year though, it was no big deal.

Also, if you have some time on your hands, I recommend stopping by Lucky Mud (7 miles away) as well as Trojan Park (30 minutes away) as they are both a lot of fun and well worth anyone's time!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf On A Golf Course!

1    8/3/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A full 18 hole course set on regular golf course. The holes range from 150 to over 600 ft. The course plays about 8 holes going out and then the final 10 heading back to the clubhouse. Going out is quite a hike as much of it is walking uphill but then the reward is those epic dour or five downhill holes at the end. The baskets are all homemade but they catch just fine. There is one hanging basket and a couple perched on tree stumps, elevating the basket another 3-4 feet. I thought this was a pretty innovative way to elevate a basket. The tee markers are wooden blocks on the grounds (the golfers use metal blocks to mark their tees). The staff was friendly and helpful. The rolling elevation and groomed golf course were major plusses.
I thought # 11 was a signature type disc golf hole. It's just a little 150' downhill over a very, very, ugly patch of rough. But it makes for a fun little throw with the basket just looming there so large and relatively easy to reach. So naturally, I hit a branch and my disc fell forever lost into the dark foreboding rough.
# 16 really gives you a chance to watch your drive sail, especially with the wind blowing. It's a bag empyting type of hole. Combining this with a trip to Lucky Mud makes for a wonderful day of discing here in Southwest Washington. You can splurge and rent a cart for $12. Ride the course in style.
Cons: I thought the price was a little steep. $5 for 9 holes but no-one's ever going to do that because then you finish up at the far end of the course. $8 for 18 and $12 for all day. Sharing the course with the regular golfers probably isn't the best idea. The course wasn't busy on the Monday that I played. Weekends might be a little scarier. The wind really kicked up here in the early afternoon which made for some very interesting throws.
Other Thoughts: If I lived close, I doubt if I would buck up and play here often. I'd save my $ and just play Lucky Mud. But for the first time visitor, I highly recommend playing Lucky Mud first and then making the short seven mile drive here to play Skyline. They compliment each other rather well.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 bring your climbing shoes!

1    8/4/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: lots of elevation that comes into play: big shots off perches, throws up hill, baskets hidden in ravines, and baskets perched on stumps and on hillsides.

very well manicured [ball golf course] which makes losing a disc hard to do. it also makes greens and tees to be in good shape.

hanging baskets were fun to play on.

super nice workers.

score cards if you need it.
Cons: it cost money... but people have to make a living some how!

if i was a local, i'd try to angle for a yearly membership. as a guest "vacationer", it wasn't much an issue.

some of the baskets were pretty easy:
1. drive hard
2. take a risk on your putt for birdie
3. drop in your missed long putt for par

lots of hiking up and down pretty good sized hills [maybe this is a pro?]

they aren't selling discs or accessories in the proshop yet.
Other Thoughts: this wasn't a super hard course, and i had fun playing it. it was nice to not have to worry about losing discs here.

all-in-all a great experience, i recommend it.

i played Lucky Mud DGC first [based on another reviewer's recommendation], then traveled the short journey to Skyline. It was a great morning of Disc Golf!
[arrived at Lucky Mud at about 8am, finished at Skyline at about 12:noon]

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Day

1    6/27/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: spletts
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the 2nd course on our tour of SW Washington...
After having played Lucky Mud, the fact that this course is on a ball golf course and allows disc golfers to rent GOLF CARTS was friggin sweet!
The course was really well laid out as far as variety of terrain and elevation. I loved the big down hill shots, which there were several of...
The foliage that is on the course didn't have a lot of impactin lost discs, which made for fun play without time lost in the deep rough.
The staff was really friendly and helpful as well. I left a disc on the course and realized it as we were leaving. One of the employees actually hopped on a golf cart and went with us to look for it...and ended up being the one who found the disc! A really fun course that is a perfect compliment to Lucky Mud a few miles away. Definitely recommend playing this course AFTER Lucky Mud, as the carts are really helpful on the sore and tired legs!
Cons: Windy! The course is right off of the Columbia river, and the day we played...the wind was just right...er....wrong rather...Blowing up from the river and causing a nice challenge on most shots. I'd imagine this is a regular occurrence, but wouldn't be a deterrent from my going back...but the employees did say it's less windy in the mornings. Maybe if the full day playing would have been at Skyline, and I'd played in the morning, it'd have been different.
Another con (that ties into the pro list of course) is that since the course is on a Ball Golf course, there is a legit chance of getting pegged by a golf ball. There are several holes that cross paths with the ball golfers. A few shotty ball golfers on the course could be a scary thing. Getting hit with a Destroyer at 200 feet hurts....but not nearly as bad as a golf ball!!!!!
Very minimal cons in my opinion...but if the course layout avoided some of the ball golf course holes better, I'd give the course a higher rating.
Other Thoughts: A really really fun course. Drove down from Seattle with some buddies and hit this course up AFTER playing Lucky Mud. Had some really epic holes that actually were assisted by the wind currents doing some funky lifts on the drives which was fun. I'd recommend this course any day of the week.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Ball/Disc Golf blend

1    6/9/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great DG application on a ball golf course (and I've played some VERY poor DG courses on BG courses)
Excellent use of elevation changes
Creative basket placement to take advantage of tree and natural obstacles
Unique homemade baskets--up on stumps--even a hanging basket
Every hole has defined paths for optimal score--not just throwing across open fields
Not very crowded and no conflicts with ball golfers
Cold beer in the pro shop
Well marked natural tees
Good flow and pretty intuitive (still recommend grabbing a map in the pro shop)
Surprising lack of redundancy for a ball golf course
Movable natural tees so that if you play it often, there is some variety
Cons: Considering the restraints of a DG course on a BG course, there aren't many cons...the pro shop should sell some discs
Other Thoughts: This course is worth the money (to play ocassionally), especially if you want to combine it with a trip to Lucky Mud...I would say if you are taking a road trip to Lucky Mud, you need to add this to your agenda...I would play it after Lucky Mud though, so you are totally fresh for the physical demands of Lucky Mud

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent fun for all.

1    6/6/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What an awesome time I had here, lots of elevated tees and pins, big open drives on real golf fairways with technical holes mixed in as well, excellent job of keeping the ball golfers and disc golfers seperate except for a few occations. You get all of the advantages of the golf course, maintained course, bathrooms, food, beer, carts, etc. Easy to navigate, good flow and an empty course makes getting in a round fast and easy. Alot of the holes are memorable and had me wanting to throw multiple discs on just about every tee pad because they are such fun. The baskets are all home made using old tires and some are hanging from a tree but all of them work well to catch the discs. There is a stream and two ponds that you have to throw near and over that make it more challenging and there is a long rake made for the disc golfers to get your disc out.
Cons: A couple of the holes are open and short and make easy birdies. It would of been nice to have had a couple more holes that were longer as there are only a couple to air it out on. If you throw off of the course there is thick brush that is possible to lose a disc in. The tee pad for number five is on the side of a small hill which can be hard to throw off of because of the slope so our group went up the hill and threw from the top part that was flat.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see a little more challenge and Yes it costs money but it is well worth the trip and the money to play here and if you have time you should go play Lucky Mud DGC, it's only about twelve miles from this course and it's free. my next trip I'm playing a couple rounds of ball golf too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some great drives
-Elevation: lots of it and good use as well.
-Nice variety of distances from under 200' to a little over 500'
-Scenic area
-Close to Lucky Mud!!!
-Golf carts available
-Very friendly staff!
-Decent course flow
-Uncrowded (when I've been there)
-Would be very difficult to lose a disc here.
-Facilities available
-Refreshments available
Cons: -Mix of baskets, some good, some very bad.
-Natural tee pads
-Many tee pads were WAY too close to the previous basket (this make have been remedied by now?!)
-Many holes were silly easy, no brainers that only seemed to exist to get you to the next tee pad.
-$10 fee. A bit much to play with natural tee pads and sub-standard baskets, for me at least.
-Pretty far too drive from Portland/Vancouver
Other Thoughts:
Skyline is a great beginning, but it seems some serious work before I'll rate it higher than 3 stars. Don't get me wrong, it's fun, and I had a great time when I was there, it just doesn't seem to be "there" yet. The staff that I spoke with seemed very receptive to criticism/suggestions and I hope that they can implement some of the necessary changes in the near future.

I understand that it's difficult to open a DG course on a ball golf course, and then make it challenging enough for skilled players, yet simple enough for new players, all the while keeping the ball golfers happy, and make enough money with DG to show the owners that installing the DG course was a good move.

It's a very complicated dichotomy, and it has worked in the past. However it's also failed poorly in places. I think Skyline has a chance to make it work, and I hope it does.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Skyline A+++

5+    10/5/2008   10/7/2008
Review By: Ultraflight 26
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2009
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Great views - Carts - short grass makes rollers and skid shots come into play - BIG elevation changes. beer & food onsite - friendly owners - good balance of short, long, up, and down shots. Baskets are unique and catch very well. Fun atmosphere, could spend all day there, and play "ball" golf too. Lodging is available. Clubhouse has Darts, PingPong, Driving Rane, Horse shoes, putting green, music and more.
Cons: You may not want to leave.

Other Thoughts: Close to Lucky Mud, makes for a great weekend.




2 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.