Disc Golf Store
Danville, IL 
Kickapoo State Park Share
Uploaded By: uigrad Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 264ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
honestly

1    6/18/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: depauw
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: lots of animal life
a change from the normal baskets
no one knows about this course not even the people that work at the park
areas of play are mowed and losing a disc is difficult to do
Cons: uses post instead of baskets and holes could be longer only nine holes wish it longer

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for park visitors

1    5/24/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: uigrad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 24.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though I've been to Kickapoo State Park many times for camping and canoeing, I've never noticed the disc golf course. I decided to check it out because I saw it here, and obviously didn't expect much. What I found was a nicely kept course, designed for the average park visitor.

I'm pretty sure that the typical visitors to this course are not disc golfers. They probably are there to camp or fish, and just happen to have a $2 disc with them from the local megamart.

This course is designed to give such a person a taste of disc golf, and it succeeds at that mission.

The tees and holes are all in nice condition. I uploaded pictures of them in their current state. I noticed a bit of damage of hole #6, due to termites, but I'm sure the park will take care of it before it becomes a problem.

The fairways are nicely mowed, even if they are mowed a bit too narrow. The rough areas have long grass (almost waist high), but are almost completely free of weeds and fairly thin, so it isn't a problem finding your disc.

The wooded areas are pretty clear too. I wore shorts when I visited. This is obviously not recommended, but I'm pretty sure that I escaped without poison ivy, and I never had any problem with thorns, nettles, or thistles.

The course is nicely laid out. The parking lot is very close to tee #1 and hole #9, and nearly every tee is near the preceding hole. Even though there aren't any long holes, and not much for doglegs, there are two holes (3&5) that are uphill. Starting with hole #3, there are trees in play for each hole.

Lastly, I should list all the standard nice things that reviewers say about every small courses:
The course is short enough that you can easily play through more than once!
There is a fair amount of wildlife. I saw a deer twice (I think he was stalking me!)
There are benches and a restroom.
You can camp here or go canoeing after you finish.
This is a great place to get your first ace. I just narrowly missed one on hole 3!


Cons: Even though this course does a good job of meeting the needs of a casual visitor, I still have to rate it below average. Anyone who is here researching courses on dgcoursereview is probably going to be disappointed with the lack of challenge at this course. The park has plenty of space, even in this area, so it seems like it could easily be stretched out to make some decent par 4 and par 5 holes. If the woods were used a bit better, there could be some rather nice doglegs too. I would raise my rating by at least 2 stars if this was done.

Even though the blue painted beams for holes aren't terrible, they clearly could be improved if they were replaced with baskets. When you play this course, you'll need to decide whether bounce strikes will count or not, or you can just choose to only count the blue part of the hole. No matter what you decide, there is the possibility that a putt will be close enough that you can't tell whether it grazed or not.

The rest of the complaints I have with the course are all minor, and rather standard issues. Rather than going into detail, I'll just make a list:
Tees #2 and #5 could be hard to find. A pole would help.
The road by #1 can be an issue. I nearly had a disc smashed by a car.
The playground by #9 can certainly be an issue. If there are kids playing there, you should probably skip it.
There should be an extra set of tees, so it will be interesting if you play it twice.
There's no trash cans, but the car is always close...lol


Other Thoughts: The correct latitude and longitude for the course is (40.138321,-87.738144).

I've updated the course information on the first page. It used to list (40.140802, -87.735957), but I went there and just found the park office, which won't help you because they closes around 2pm each day!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 And now for something a bit different

1    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful state park. Decent sign at first tee showing layout. Tees are clearly labeled. Part of course is cleanly mowed out of deeper rough. Some holes are paths through woods. last 2 holes are out in the open. Bugs were not too bad on a hot day.
Cons: Never found hole/pin for hole 6. Never found tee for hole 7 (might have been near pin for 6 :) )
Other Thoughts: Posts instead of baskets was a fun change from "usual". A wayward shot on 4, 5, 6 would have you hunting in the woods.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A few good holes

1    3/14/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: Preacher Johnson
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 5, 6 and 7 need precision shooting. Five and Six is through trees and 7 around obsticles including trees and a pick-nick pavillion.
Cons: The course is very short. Hole 7 is the only par 4. Also, other than the three holes alrady mentioned the course is pretty wide open.
There are no baskets. The holes are wood posts painted blue near the top.
Other Thoughts: The park is a nice setting. The course circles around a children's playground that can be seen from most everywhere on the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.