Palmdale, CA 
Desert Sands Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #7
3 / 215ft.   4 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Kinda crammed in a municipal park

5+    4/19/2013   3/13/2014
Review By: Numbnuts
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.1 Years
Pros: *Free to play
*Quick access
*Friendly people
*Nice pins with dense chains
*Varied terrain
*Well maintained
Cons: *No concrete pads on all holes
*Very tight quarters
*A very busy public park in a small space where the course was build around it.
*Vending machines and bathrooms always close
*Some VERY narrow fairways
Other Thoughts: This course seems like and afterthought. It is easily accessable with no hiking or journey required to play. All 9 holes are all quite short, with I believe only one pin position. Some holes have a dirt or bark pad. Some pin locations are on concrete, some green grass, and some dirt, there are small trees, some buildings, and chain link fences as obstacles. No elevation changes. Very urban, you always see children on playgrounds, people playing basketball or walking their animals. A course for those who need a quick DG fix. To me, not a destination I'd seek out.

Hope I don't hit anyone

1    8/13/2013   1/13/2014
Review By: bils247
Played: 48  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2014
Pros: Close to my hotel
Easy to find
Easy play through nicely kept park
Nice course layout
Cons: I was worried about hitting innocent bystanders on about half of my shots.....my fault of course, but people in the park become part of the obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Met a great DG promoter at this course, free discs and all. Thank you M. Brayton!!!

Pretty bad

1    11/10/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept city park. The baskets are in great shape and the signage is plenty adequate to follow the course. A couple of the holes offer some surprisingly technical shots with low ceilings and fairly narrow gaps to hit. For as short and open as the course is, it felt like I threw a bunch of different kinds of shots here.
Cons: The safety issues here are pretty bad. The first couple holes play right on top of basketball courts and a picnic area. The rest play along or over walking paths and areas of the park that seem to get used for other activities. Some of the holes play right on top of one another as well. The last hole is longer, and brings multiple sports fields and a semi-blind section of path into play.

The course is very short. The design did a pretty good job of making it as interesting as possible but it's still not challenging. The tees are awful, wood frames with rutted out dirt inside that makes for terrible footing.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course a great place to learn some different lines without too much punishment for errant shots. Experienced players won't find much challenge here but it's a fun quick putter round if the park isn't crowded. I wouldn't recommend traveling very far to play this one, especially on a weekend when the safety issues are magnified.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short Local Practice Course

1    10/21/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: jasonclark.lancaster
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a small city park course that offers something for every level of player. All the holes are fairly short (good for beginners), and many are somewhat technical with tunnel shots or RH dog legs (good practice for more advanced players). All 9 holes are fun to play and I don't feel that there are any "wasted" holes (nothing interesting about them - boring).

-Course is clearly marked with signs, diagram, and distances at every tee box. It is very easy to follow.
-The fairly busy park and is well kept and clean.
-There are restrooms and functional water fountains at the park.
-Discatcher baskets are in good repair as of Oct. 2013.
-It's local (to me!).
-Good practice for your mid/approach game.
-DGC is hardly ever busy (although park sometimes is).
Cons: -Hole 8 could be seen as a "boring hole" because it is across an open grass field with no obstacles, but at around 215' with a fence directly behind the basket, it becomes the "go for the ace" hole as there is little chance of overthrowing. I have fun with this hole.
-The course plays across or near several concrete walking paths throughout the park. This means you sometimes have to wait for people walking by to pass out of range before throwing. In the evenings when the park is busier, this can mean several minute waits, taking a less preferable line, or even having to skip a hole.
-Hole 2 plays very close to several busy basketball courts - be sure not to hit players.
-There are no long holes at this course that would let you bust out the drivers, but there are several wide open sports fields that can be used to practice driving when they are empty.
-The park is well kept and grass watered and green!.... which means you'll probably end up with a muddy disc at some point during 9 holes... not really a big negative, but worth mentioning.
-Tee pads leave something to be desired. They are wood frames filled with rubber mulch ("filled" means "used to be filled until it all got kicked out to show the uneven hard packed earth underneath"). A few backyard paving stones would go a long way in improving these.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes on the this course are either tunnel shots or prefer a LHBH or RHFH thrower (veer toward the right). It is by no means a destination course, but is a fun and quick play if you happen to live in the area or are passing through and need a disc golf "fix." It serves as a good place to play and practice for those who live locally, but don't go too far out of your way to visit.

2.75 (more than 2.5 - not quite 3) stars... err.... discs

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short 9 holer

1    12/7/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -wasn't busy when I went
-easy to navigate once you find hole 1
-plenty of parking
-discatcher baskets
-signage is accurate and easy to read
Cons: -tee pads are garbage, its not just dirt, but its unlevel, sinking dirt
-short holes, which is to be expected but its still a negative. not many chances to air out your disc. you'll be using either your putter or midrange on this course for the most part
- some holes interfere with sidewalk pedestrians. i can see being in the way of pedestrians but i cant see the sidewalk being occupied to the point where u can't throw at all
Other Thoughts: First off, the tee pads are the worst I've ever encountered. Do yourself a favor and tee off to either side of the tee pad, because the footing is more solid. This is actually a great place to work on your midrange/approach game. Hole 3 is the highlight of this course; it actually resembles a hole you'd find on a 3 star course. Apparently they have doubles here as well (I forgot when). I only busted my driver out on holes 3,6, and 9 but only really needed it for hole 9 (~273ft). I would have rated this 2 stars/discs if it weren't for the crappy tee pads. Worth checking out if you're near the area, but definitely not worth going out of your way for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/5/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: Daniel Pratt
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of trees to to work on accuracy. all Par 3's
my understanding is that its designed for left's
It's my local course so it rocks.LOL
INNOVA baskets. Are local group try's to make sure baskets are taken care of.
Cons: Trees and a lot of wind, short lengths to baskets, under 300'. people walking around a lot between 11:00 am and 3:00 pm
Dirt boxes for drive area. trying to get city to install a red dirt that they use on baseball fields.
Other Thoughts: Its free to play and that is a great thing in these days.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Desert Sands Park DGC

1    6/27/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 181  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2014
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Designed in 2008 by Tim Selinske, Desert Sands DGC is located in the Antelope Valley in the town of Palmdale. This course plays in a multi-use park which offers several amenities including multiple baseball fields, basketball courts, tennis courts, playground, bathroom/drinking fountains, gazebo, and a walking path that runs through the majority of the holes. Holes range from 154 - 275 ft., making this course an ace and birdie fest. Tee signs are accurate, providing course par, distance, and OB's. Baskets, when they aren't being stolen, are all DISCatcher's and in great shape!

Favorite hole/s: #3
Cons:
Although some of the holes are very creative, they can be quite hazardous considering they are throwing over or near all the other amenities. Since this course is best suited for novice and intermediate players, safety is a major issue for nearby pedestrians due to erratic throws so please be courteous so that this course can stay intact rather then pulled. It is best to play this course in the mornings or evenings when the course is less crowded and the heat is more bearable. Tee pads are an issue as well. With the woodchips getting knocked out of the box, the dirt below has huge divots and can make it difficult to step and pivot when throwing.

Least favorite hole/s: #1 and #8
Other Thoughts:
Desert Sands DGC is a fun little nine hole course in the middle of the desert, and the perfect stop if traveling through AV. I stayed at Edwards AFB and quickly stopped by for a quick round on my way to LA, where I also played OG and Sylmar. Although I wouldn't want to have this as my home course, it does serve a purpose, and is the perfect course for those learning the sport. If I was a local, as another reviewer stated, playing safari holes to increase the overall difficulty would be a must.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good short course

5+    2/8/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: Jmart007
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good short course for practicing your midrange and getting your drives tuned up for the shorter stuff. Nice baskets and good surfaces overall. Good for quick games cause your all alone most of the time.
Cons: Short, short, and short. Dirt t boxes are tough to adjust to and could use some love as they are uneven and slippery. Not many people play it so it can be lonely.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good fun course that can be played in 30 mins or less for 9 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Birdies and a “Babe Ruth” Ace.

1    11/15/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- That it's There. I suppose it's always a pro when there are baskets in the ground… but that's about where the Pro's stop for the serious golfer.
- Opportunity for Difficulty. With the walking path bisecting almost every Hole on the course and other park features (basketball court, tennis court, etc…) on other Holes, there is an opportunity to create some island greens, extra OB's, etc… and increase the difficulty of this otherwise simple course.
- Beginner Friendly. The course is short enough for beginners to not be discouraged about the sport. It's also easy to follow and almost impossible to lose a disc. However, the course is not beginner friendly for other park users (see below).
Cons:
- Dangerous. Never before have I played a course that was as dangerous as Desert Sands. The gazebo, basketball courts, tennis courts, baseball fields, walking paths, and playground all come into play (especially for beginners, which this course was designed for).
- #3's Basket was Missing. Someone had recently stolen the basket to Hole 3. While I was there, the park director was out there collecting evidence (the cut lock) to take to the Sheriff for fingerprinting. I heard it was the second time #3 had been stolen.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. The course was filled with birdie opportunities for the advanced player, although some shots had to be thrown. In general, the Holes were more like upshots you might face at longer courses. Definitely not worth a special trip to play, unless you want to bag every course in your region or you happen to be nearby.
- Babe Ruth Ace. I ended up playing with a new local player (Damian) and on the 8th Hole I called my shot "Babe Ruth" style. There was a sprinkler that was circling and spraying the basket… I told Damian that I was going to wait until the water came back around and was spraying the basket so that I could time my disc so that it would go through the water and splash the chains… and it happened.
- My Score: A lot under Par. I didn't really take my score seriously at Desert Sands.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/9/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - nice, new DISCatchers
- nice signs with accurate distances
- easy to follow
- lots of other park amenities (bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground, etc.)
Cons: - the tee boxes are VERY small, and filled with woodchips instead of cement. Not a good plan. Natural tees are much better than chips
- all the holes are short... the longest being hole 9 at 275'
- no challenge except for the wind
Other Thoughts: This course is a fun little course, and it's better than having nothing in town. It is VERY windy here, and a great place to practice your approach game in the wind.

It doesn't seem that anyone else plays this course, and you could design your own safari layout if there aren't any other park users. A couple of the holes play very close to the basketball courts and the baseball field, so be conscious of other using the park. Because the course is used so infrequently, the other park goers aren't watching out for discs.

It's a fun little 9 hole course, but not really worth a side trip. Any dedicated players in the Antelope Valley should try and get these baskets moved to another larger park where a more legit course can be put in.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.