Palmdale, CA 
Desert Sands Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #7
3 / 215ft.   4 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    8/5/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: Daniel Pratt
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of trees to to work on accuracy. all Par 3's
my understanding is that its designed for left's
It's my local course so it rocks.LOL
INNOVA baskets. Are local group try's to make sure baskets are taken care of.
Cons: Trees and a lot of wind, short lengths to baskets, under 300'. people walking around a lot between 11:00 am and 3:00 pm
Dirt boxes for drive area. trying to get city to install a red dirt that they use on baseball fields.
Other Thoughts: Its free to play and that is a great thing in these days.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good short course

5+    2/8/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: Jmart007
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good short course for practicing your midrange and getting your drives tuned up for the shorter stuff. Nice baskets and good surfaces overall. Good for quick games cause your all alone most of the time.
Cons: Short, short, and short. Dirt t boxes are tough to adjust to and could use some love as they are uneven and slippery. Not many people play it so it can be lonely.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good fun course that can be played in 30 mins or less for 9 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best bet for the Antelope Valley

5+    12/15/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Smelvis
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Easy to find, Tee 1 right next to parking lot.
- Great baskets.
- Great tee maps, no course map reqd, distances posted.
- Flow is fine, no criss cross.
- Plenty of obstacles, trees, tennis courts, small buildings with high fence, baseball field.
- Park is well maintained.
- Favorite holes are 6 and 9 (good distance with tough obstacles)
Cons: - No reg events or clubs
- Only 9 Holes
- Most holes are too short for my liking.
- Teepads full of lots of chips, I actually trip up in the teepad. I would rather tee in the dirt than the loose chips.
- Public is oblivious to disc golfers. I have often had to skip a hole due to park goers.
- No elevation change.
- Hole 4 and 6 have a small building with a very tall fence as an obstacle. I have thrown into this fence twice. I almost broke an ankle trying to climb the fence. Be Carefull!
Other Thoughts: - I play this course often at lunch time during the week because it's next to my work. Its the only place to play near Palmdale.
- Bathrooms avail, but I have never used them.
- Water fountains may be avail, I always bring my own water though.
- Holes 4 and 5 are easy to throw over the fence. Look for hole in fence south of tee 5.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 For a local course, its not bad

5+    12/23/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: Hans
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice, new baskets
-Usually pretty baren
-Good signage and easy to navigate
-Discs are available to rent in the office
-Close by for us Antelope Valley players!
Cons: -Wood chip tee boxes make for unstable footing and wood in your shoes
-There are times when the wind can really get blowing, and when it does, this is a huge con
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty good course for being only 9 holes. Living in the AV, its the only year round course we have without driving down to Saugus or Sylmar. Its generally uncrowded, and since its only 9 holes, this allows you to be able to improvise a bit without worrying about messing with someone elses game. The wood chip tee boxes can be annoying, but you can throw out of the dirt right next to them with no problems. A group of people I regularly play with have thought about going in one night with a few backs of self leveling concrete and just taking care of that problem. People are pretty nice, I've met several friendly golfers while playing here. If you live in the area, check it out, and if you're passing through, feel free to stop in! Unless its windy, then keep on drivin, the wind in the desert can really ruin your day. I threw what was going to be a beautiful hyzer on hole 3 that ended up almost in someones front yard due to the ridiculous wind that was out that day. That's been my only negative experience though, so give it a run.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Sands

1    8/28/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: bguiniling
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick course; well marked tees. Technical course makes it tricky if you don't think out your shot before hand, yet short distances to the basket keeps it simple for beginners.
Cons: I'm used to playing off of concrete/rubber/grass/dirt tees, so the wood chip tees at Desert Sands take a little getting used to, and some tee boxes don't feel long enough.
Other Thoughts: Baskets are generally placed in a hard packed sandy area, so your disc can end up skipping past the basket - keep it in mind when you're playing

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Desert sands

2-4    6/14/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: howardb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very short technical course, lots of trees, makes you think about your shot before you actually throw, finding a path is the best part of this course, especially on hole #2...course well layed out and very good for a beginner.
Cons: my con for this course would have to be the tee pads, they are wood chips or bark and im use to playing on concrete tees or rubber. when you step in or on these tee pads you feel like there isnt enough chips/bark and you feel like you are teeing off in a bunker. other than that nothing too bad about this course
Other Thoughts: would like to see if maybe we could make this course longer or think of some alternate tees and make it an 18 hole course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Desert Sands

5+    10/29/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: lcowdray
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 34.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good short course, very good for beginners. serval holes are very challenging because of trees.
Cons: some very easy holes, and only a nine hole course. Do have problems with soccers players.
Other Thoughts: it's about time the AV got it's only course...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.