Great Meadows, NJ 
Fields of Dreams DGC Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 236ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Overrated

1    12/3/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: Moops
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent variety of hole types.

Easy to get to.
Cons: Even in the winter, you could tell the course was pretty unkempt.

Multi-use park so some shots have to go near soccer fields or over walking pathways.

Terrible teepads. Uneven gravel surface which is both too narrow and too short.

Just didn't seem there was much thought into many of the hole designs.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the trip to me. If you live in the northern/central New Jersey area, there are MUCH better courses that are only slight farther (Jordan Creek, Tinicum, Tyler, Warwick to name a few)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Can you say UNKEMPT?

1    8/15/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2011
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long Course with long throws. Well laid out.
Cons: Not sure who is responsible for cleaning this place up but they should probably find a job they're better at! The only holes not COMPLETELY overgrown were the ones in the soccer and baseball fields. Lost a disc on 7 and quit right after that.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful country but if you're heading to field of dreams then play the back 9 or run a REAL risk of disc loss for NO reasons.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Ever heard of a weed whacker?

1    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: brookjhoffman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Holes have a good length
Nice Park
I liked hole 15
Cons: The front nine is offensively overgrown. It's terrible terrible terrible. It was so bad, I simply wouldn't go back until winter. Holes 10-13 are simply lining the perimeter of a large soccer field, very uninspired. Luckily, it wasn't a saturday morning or I'd have a murder of soccer moms chasing me back into the woods for holes 14-18.
Other Thoughts: If holes 1-8 and 16-18 where groomed like 15, this course would be a 3.5-4, but I was so annoyed with 1-3 I almost left then. If I hadn't driven 45 minutes to try this course, I wouldn't have even finished. I don't think there is enough interested in disc in the area for it to be a GREAT course. If you own a weed whacker and live in the great meadows area, do everyone a favor a play a round of disc and clean up this course

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2009   2/18/2010
Review By: jbyrd
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2012
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: What a sweet lil score average destroyer! That came about to an 18 hole flyer.
Aye, She seems short en stalky fer thar first 2 decks, but she opens up en narrows down faster than a change o wind.
Stay enside yar sail'in course er yar en deep kelp er shallow waters before yar know it!
Beautiful terrain changes, en challenging pin placements will put ALL yar skills to thar test it twill.
A Wishbone fairway will sharpen yer shot, er yar be payin a wishbone price.
Deck 8 is prue terror, a blind uphill par 4 that can eat yar up, if yar allow it too! En #1 looks much easier that it treally is... hehehe.
Its got an intersting ooops factor! I saw a large buck right next to pin 1 today before I threw. Its a great location.
Hard turn doglegs with down/up terrain.
En thar course favors no particular shot!
Yar better have them ALL workin, er yer chum.
En thars more rasberry bushes that Campgaw... Yum!

This course is pure DG'n beauty.
I still cant believe 4 to 6 machettee madmen carved these decks in 3 months.
En the parks committie loves em! Har! yar cant blaim em fer doing great accomplishments!
Aye, I'll be hiring this crew fer me next voyage tar far shores.
JByrd
Cons: Thar tee boxes need work, take the back piece o wood off for a good runup

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    11/26/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: reallybadputter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun little course with a variety of shots required.
Very well put together based on the amount of land used, and will get much better with the addition of a longer back 9.
9 is a real fun hole, especially from the blues.
Cons: From the whites, only one hole requires more than a midrange.
A few holes where fairways or tees are a little close to the previous basket. Not a problem now, but could become an issue as the number of players on the course increases. (holes 3,4,5)
Other Thoughts: Having seen the plans for the additional 9 holes online, looks like it will give this course most of what it needs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.