Great Meadows, NJ 
Fields of Dreams DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
4 / 478ft.   3 / 564ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Winter Course

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is easy to find as the park is just one turn off route 46 (which is a main road in this area). The course is also easy to locate once inside the park. The conveniences of a multi-use, community park and recreational facility (bathrooms, vending machines, garbage cans, benches, etc.) are readily available and adjacent to the parking area (plenty of space to put your ride, FWIW).

As far as the course design goes, there is a variety of fairway distances, from as little as 188' on up to a MONSTER 1,000', depending on which tee you play. The course also factors in elevation changes, some more extreme than others, on numerous holes. Fields of Dreams features a mix of left, right, and straight fairways as well as a mix of wooded and open fairways. There are several holes where water can come into play on extra long drives or from ugly tree kicks.

Other positive features of the course include two tees per hole, detailed maps and tee signs showing tees, fairway, basket, distance and par, and a practice basket between holes 1 and 14.

The bulk of the wooded holes at this course appear to be exclusive to disc golf and include a small pavilion, picnic table, and garbage can on 17 and the course overall was fairly clean.
Cons: Although it's not the biggest con at this course, safety (or lack thereof) will be the first thing to get a course pulled. Specifically, bystander safety is a concern on holes 9, 10, 13 and possibly 12. For all these holes, the fairway is directly adjacent to walking paths and other sports fields where a wayward disc could injure a pedestrian. In this regard, holes 10 & 13 are unplayable when soccer games are taking place. For the wooded holes, the safety of other players needs to be considered as there are several fairways that cross each other, baskets finish too close to the next tee, or require the thrower to backtrack down the fairway to get to the tee. Additionally, blind baskets pose a risk to players, including holes 1 and 15.

The biggest drawback at FOD is the vegetation. The overgrown underbrush and knee-high weeds on the fairway are a total mess. The growth on several of the wooded fairways was bad, really, really bad and the rough was painfully rough. During the summer months, a spotter would be a good idea as well as long pants.

In terms of course design, there are some unrealistic lines on a few of the holes (1 and 15, for example) and several holes that push the risk vs. reward way to far into the risk category (such as 8 and 16).

The tees at FOD actually prohibited a run-up as they are fairly small and in most cases and were rutted and uneven, forcing a "stand and deliver" throw. In several cases, the long tees not always visible/locateable. Specific to the longs, most were just subtle variations of their shorter counterparts and didn't really offer much more of a different playing experience.

The baskets are rusting and showing signs of wear.
Other Thoughts: Despite me knocking hole #1 for having a blind basket and a fairly impossible line, it's a pretty rad hole. The 200+ foot straight shot, followed by the hard right turn, and then a signature downhill floater is pretty unique. Same goes for the high climb on hole #8

For the six month window of October through April, this course is probably easily a 3.5 because all 18 holes will likely be playable (not as much soccer, if any) and all the overgrown underbrush and rough probably dies back to a very managable level. That being said, for the remainder of the year, it's an expedition to slog through the jungle that takes over this course.

Removing the "jungle" from the equation, you're left with a technically challenging course that makes good use of the land that's available. If the overgrowth were mitigated and if the tees were a little safer, I'd be much more likely to play this course as it's very close to family that lives nearby. Regardless, it's the only DG in this area of NJ, so for those folks where FOD is their only option, this course is a good play (in the winter).



PLEASE NOTE! If you're going to mark this review as not helpful, please send me a PM and let me know why before you do. I'm always trying to improve my reviews so whatever feedback you can provide would be appreciated.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Bring a Spotter

1    7/10/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: fort
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 2/1/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall the course has a nice good lay out. The initial 9 holes are wooded with good use of elevation changes. Several early holes are along a river. #'s 14-18 put you back in the woods.
Cons: TALL GRASS - the undergrowth through the woods was ridiculously long. I was playing solo and I don't know how I managed to not lose a disc - at times you could be standing right over your disc and not see it in the weeds. Bring a spotter! #11 was a joke - 750+ft long hole over an un-mowed field of weeds and Queen Annes Lace 2 1/2ft tall - total disc eater. #15 is a wooded hole and the under growth was particularly deep - spent 20 minutes searching for a disc that I made a perfect throw right down the fairway. Tee boxes are in terrible shape - I played most holes from next to the tee boxes.
UPDATE 2/1/12- I hear they have started to do a bunch of work clearing underbrush and thorns - might be time to go check it out again
Other Thoughts: The open holes are very uninspiring - basically they are just straight throws bordering the edges of soccer fields. I think this would be a very fun course to play in the early Spring or late Fall either before the weeds grow in or after they die off. Definitely not a course I'll head back to in the summer. If they could somehow get the growth dealt with I'd raise the review to a 3 1/2

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Course is almost as good as the state's bagels!

1    6/10/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Notable holes = 1,12,16, 17

Clever use of course design. It's quite obvious that the designers didn't haphazardly place holes here; careful attention to uniqueness, novelty, and challenge is evident on many holes. Not too many of the wooded holes are alike and require a nicely crafted bag to par. Nice balance of dogleg for hyzers and anhyzers as well.

Spectacular elevation changes. Holes 1 and 14 and ... And ... are testaments to the mad downhill and uphill changes you'll experience, respectively.

Hole 12 may seem like a gimmicky ace run hole to some, but I love its placement. The views of the trees juxtaposed with the fields are spectacular and I think it's a fun run for the ace!
Cons: I've seen fewer courses so overgrown; maybe I came on a bad day but even the fairway was covered with vegetation. As such, this course can be a disc eater and a spotter is highly recommended.

Plays over a soccer field, which I can imagine gets crowded at times. These open holes are good for big arms, but kind of get redundant do their similarity.

The teepads show some evident effort with the wood and gravel, but they're hardly conducive to run-ups unless you are 4 feet tall. This caused me to throw more forehand shots as a result.

Tees are close together; you don't need to go far from basket to tee. This can be a pro if you're the only one playing and a big con if lots of people are playing due to congestion.

Some of the holes are downright short. Your hopes are let up after playing the mammoth first hole, but the technicality of these holes almost negate the length.
Other Thoughts: Northern Jersey seems to be notorious for short hole lengths and Cubby Ace holes. This is definitely an exception! This is a fun course with a degree of challenge. I regret being unable to play a tourney here a few months ago because it seems like a good place to hold an event.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Seems like a solid 3

1    5/2/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: Noaceyet
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of shots needed
Long and short holes
Elevation changes
Tight and open holes
Some very unique holes
Great easy to follow tee-signs
2 tees per hole
Good parking
Cons: Tee pads are short - but I heard they will be re-done soon
Several holes seem uninspired. The 750/1000 foot hole or the 2 soccer field holes. A couple of the wood holes
The soccer fields....The park was crowded as can be with soccer players everywhere. People walking close to driving areas, sitting close to the baskets. On a busy day, there are probably 3 or 4 holes with too many people around.
Other Thoughts: Many blind holes - need to go down and see where the basket is.
The rough was not too bad. Yes, you need to watch your disc closely. But it's not worse then many other courses.

Is it worth playing and worth a trip? You bet! Is it a great course? No, but it's a solid course and well worth a visit

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Jersey Disc Golf

2-4    1/18/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 71  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm writing my first review, so be gentle. Nice location with a picturesq back drop.
Doesn't seem this course gets heavy play. But, after all it is mid January. My home course is Tyler Park, Pa. and on a 45* day even in winter, it will get well used. The course layout uses most of the land and terrain changes. I played the Red tee's one time throught to get a feel of the basket locations and fairways. Second round went quick and focused on score. I printed the map from this site and brought it with me just incase. I didn't have any problems finding the tee's. They were normaly a short walking distance from the last basket. Holes 1-8 are more about placement and accuracy than distance drives. Holes 9,10,11,13 are more your big arm open field drives. You finish your round with 14-18 playing much like the front 9. Seems to be a 50-50 split on distance and placement.
Cons: We played after a full day of rain, the place was a total mud pit. Slippery fairways, hole 1 was a nightmare to get down the hill to the basket. Hole 7 had a 15" deep puddle in front of the basket, that I had to fish my disc out with a stick to make the putt. The up hill walk on 8 was very slippery as well. I'm not feeling alot of love for holes 10,12,13 playing so close to the soccer fields and the paved walking path. The tee signs say to give the pedestrians the right of way, so you may have to wait a bit to drive from these tees. Roller bladers, joggers, baby strollers, walkers and bikes are easy targets for an errant drive from tee 10 & 12. The two biggest cons for this course, tee boxes need work. Some were so bad it was a safety hazard to try. A few were filled with water, missing most of the gravel. Hole 17, the tee sits in a ravine with little sun and water filled and froze to solid ice. Holes 1-8, 15-18 have some of the worst thorns and brush. I can imagine what a nightmare this area would be in the summer. If you drive into the thick or tap off a tree. Good luck, and bring a machete so you can get to your disc.
Other Thoughts: I give this course a 3.0-Good and really couldn't give it more. There just doesn't seem to be anything that makes this park stand out. No true signature hole that is memorable. If I had to pick one? I would have to say #1, never played a hole like this anywhere else. Over all a good local course that will offer a lot of fun. Hopefully over the next few years, improvements to fairway layout, and tees will let this course mature. It's still a new 18 hole layout. I will stop here from time to time for a change.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/28/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: StymieDidIt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most holes are challenging. Some short some long. It covers a good sized area and is well maintained. Very good signs for each tee and directions to the next hole.
Cons: Some of the holes between 1 & 8 are very short. It seemed that they were even shorter than the distance noted on the sign? Tee boxes... ouch! I thought they were small and difficult to throw from. Also, the gravel boxes provided me with loose footing several times and it really altered my shot(for the worse). Lots of blind shots, over hills around bends, dropoffs, etc. I don't know if that's a con for everybody, but I thought that there were too many of those type holes.
Other Thoughts: I'd go back. Certainly not a bad course, and it is new, so maybe there are some bugs to work out. The Soccer fields could be an issue as well.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.