Great Meadows, NJ 
Fields of Dreams DGC Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 478ft.   3 / 564ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
FOD in the Summer?!?!

2-4    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. Set at a real nice park with good parking. New 2013 concrete pads on many holes. Project underway to complete AM and PRO tees in concrete. PRO tees are insane and will challenge you even on the shorter wooded holes. Fairways on all wooded holes are maintained. Par is forgiving but still keeping under 60 can be tough for an AM player. Good signage. Great variety. One super long par 5 that can easily become a six or 7. Tunnel shots. Elevation changes. Bathrooms! You start right off into the woods to sharpen your finesse shots, then some challenging long holes to stretch your arm out, play along side a field, back into the woods to finish with 2 short birdie runs.
Cons: New players may find the tight wooded holes to be pretty hard. Rough is still very rough on some holes. Keep in on the fairway!
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to this place growing in popularity. Great crew working hard. James Lindeman leading the way. He has some great ideas. Check out North Jersey Disc Golf Club. On Facebook.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jungle of Nightmares in Summer, but Well Worth a Play

5+    11/20/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of terrain and open field/woodsy close quarters holes

Reasonable pars set

Fun yet challenging from both Am and Pro tees.

All types of players and levels of experience will find something to like here.

Picnic area with a roof at hole 17

Decent signage

Random Doubles held every Monday @ 5:30 PM throughout the summer, weather permitting. 5$ entry, with most of the proceeds going to the upkeep and upgrade of the course. 1st place winners get the pot, 2nd place gets their money back
Cons: Tee boxes are pretty lousy if not dangerous in some instances. Huge divots in the gravel are pretty treacherous. Run ups are not always possible for this reason.

(*Update*: Tee boxes should all be concrete by the beginning of fall, if not sooner. North Jersey Disc Golf is trying to raise money to accomplish this. Come out, register and give it all you got at the "Concrete Cup" July 7th, 2013 to help them achieve this goal! Check the North Jersey Disc Golf Facebook group for more details)

In the spring and summer this place can turn into the Jungle of Nightmares. Heavy vegetation. Spotter HIGHLY recommended during the spring and summer. Volunteers have listened to the complaints and are diligently trying to keep the jungle at bay.

Pedestrians and athletes that are often present can pose problems on some of the open field holes, as well as hole #1, #14, and #18 (almost took some guy out walking his dogs down the steps because I couldn't see him around the bend!)

Water hazard at the end of hole 1

Other than these cons, I can't think of much else.


Other Thoughts: The only thing I find "bad" about FOD is the vegetation and the poor shape the tee boxes are in, but thats soon to change. It makes you appreciate courses that aren't so overgrown, but I've lived in the woods all of my life so I'm kind of used to a few stickers in the side. I've come to enjoy the backwoods feeling on the close quarters holes at this course. I'm not a power player so I'm not really feeling the long distance drives and the pars set for them, but if thats your thing it shouldn't bring your score up too much and you will have a great opportunity to let em' rip. All in all I think its a great course on its own, but also considering what else is available nearby and not so nearby, both in NJ and PA. Much more variety and imagination than the well regarded Yetter's Park in PA, which has a lot of merit in its own right. Always love the look on the faces of those who are playing hole # 1 the first time when they realize they still have to shoot down hill after rounding the bend of trees to the left.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Welcome addition to NJ DG scene

1    4/4/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good combination of wooded holes to start (1-8), open holes in the middle(9-13) then back to the woods (14-18). All shots in your arsenal needed for success here. Several standout holes- #1 (dogleg right and pronounced drop into the woods) and #8 (uphill hyzer) . Dual tee boxes at most holes. Great signage showing the hole, suggested flight path and distance. Little yellow "next hole" arrows make navigation easy. Baskets new and of high quality. Nice board located by practice basket with map, course rules and the names of each hole. OB areas (pathways, road) exist but aren't overly ridiculous in nature. Very nice park in a quiet area of NJ.
Cons: Many tee boxes made out of stone and still a work in progress. The rough is oppressive in spots and is most certainly God-awful in the summer to the novice or recreational player. Several open holes play near soccer fields and aren't particularly interesting. Some areas of junk/trash strewn about in the woods. Hole 16 (hanging basket) flat out stinks, a "throw and hope" shot with no true landing area.
Other Thoughts: Many people aspire to designing a course, but few hold that same passion for the massive work it takes to maintain it once it's built. And therein lies a big problem with Field of Dreams. The two primary builders designed a nice course, worked hard to see its completion then seemingly disappeared from the planet, leaving its care in the hands of others. This course is a bear to maintain with its dense rough and high fairway grass, and without that constant level of care, playing here has its warts. Hidden drop-offs in the woods are potentially treacherous, and a couple of holes are out of commission if soccer or field hockey games are being played. Field of Dreams is worth your while but has its risks if it hasn't been groomed.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I move away from nj then they make this gem of a course lol!!!!

2-4    10/26/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Alot of time effort and love went into this course, This was a course built by disc golfers and it shows. #2 and 16 will keep you on your toes.
Cons: The wooded holes could use some more time and effort into cleaning the t boxes or to cut down some shrubbery to make it easier to see them. The thorns that infest the entire course should be removed entirely from the area completely. Hole #17 is housed on a sandpit which is infested by ground bees. The wide open holes in the back are easy birdies by those with big enough arm to cut the distance which the holes in the front are somewhat manageable to squeeze in a birdy with playing a tight lane.
Other Thoughts: this course is very long alot of walking and is not for beginners or those with poor shot selection. There was only 1 hole which stood out to me as no clear line to play #15. I could not imagine having to play this during the summer months. The par 4's here are really par 4.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of Jersey's Best

1    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Top notch baskets and signs, and decent gravel pits to tee off from. A great variety of short wooded holes, and wide-open fields - including an extremely long 1000 footer. The downhill shots are especially fun, and there are at least a couple holes that could potentially be aced.
Cons: Way too many blind drives. This is partially mitigated by the excellent color maps at each tee, but still very hard to locate your disc after throwing down a hill, around a corner, etc. I lost a disc and had another two or three close calls - I'm sure this gets easier on repeated visits as you grow more familiar with the layout.

No soccer games on the day of my visit, but they could most certainly prevent you from playing one or two of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I bet the course would be more fun in the fall, when the narrow wooded fairways open up a little more, and the thick brush subsides.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets
Great use of elevation changes
Mix of short holes and par 4's
Two tee pads for every hole
Signs are real good in terms of distance, and where to find the next tee, but some of the long "B" tee pads were tough to find.
Cons: Gravel tee pads, some of which are uneven and tough to through from. We threw from the grass on a few holes.
Plenty of bugs.
The rough is very rough, sometimes it can be hard to get into the rough to look for a disc.
Other Thoughts: This course has plenty of holes that are extremely fun to play. mainly set in the woods, it is a techincal course that demands accuracy over power. There are a few field holes that have you walking around a soccer field and are a bit tedious. We played the entire course and only had trouble finding the tee for #9. you have to follow the tree line on the left and than actually cross a street and walk up towards the fence. The course could use a weed wackin and a mower in some points. We were the only people on the course so no waits.
We did lose two discs (the 1000 foot hole into the rough on the right) and two holes later it might have rolled down a hill. You can tell a lot of work was put into this course and it really is worth playing. I'm sure it will only get better as more people play it and more landscaping work is done. Some down hill holes. Hole 1 is one of my favorite holes - about 250 feet lefty hyzer to set up an approach probably 150 feet downhill to a basekt with some trees in the fairway and some brush around the basket. It's definitley worth playing this course, which will only get better with perhaps a new layout (or upgrade or removal of field holes) and some of the underbrush removed. Be careful with tics, as we did see Deer (not only on the course, but while driving to it, so be careful when driving)

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Quite possibly the best in NJ

1    5/21/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Field of Dreams is a top notch course ... in New Jersey ... Imagine that! The group that put this course together did an amazing job and the course reflects their hard work.
F of D is a well balanced course. It has short technical wooded shots, long open drives, and those long difficult wooded holes. There is elevation changes including downhill shots, uphill shots, horseshoe holes and doglegs. The complete 18 hole layout is great. Hole one is a great opening with a long downhill sloping right dogleg. The few holes following that are technical shots through the woods. Hole 3 is near a creek but the creek doesn't come into play. Hole 8 is reminiscent of a mini "heart-attack hill" (Jordan Creek) with a long uphill curved fairway that opens to a nice green. Holes 9 and 10 were open grip 'n rip shots and hole 11 was a looong 1000 foot hole with a nicely placed pin position. I liked hole 12, a short birdie run following the long hole. Holes 17 and 18 were also really fun, especially hole 17 (formerly hole 1). The pin placement up on a hill with a really fast green is great.
The signs are all great and the directional signs really help with navigation.
This course is set in the highlands of New Jersey and the scenery is absolutely beautiful. The park is really well kept and has lots of amenities including bathrooms

Cons: The course is isolated from any other courses and anything else in general. You really have to plan to travel to this course and just play it.
This course is young and it shows. What it really needs is to be played more so that it gets worn in. The rough is really bad in some spots and tears up your legs if you go out of the fairway.
My only major concern with the design of this course is the placement of hole 10. It skirts the edge of a soccer field and is along a walking path. I think that this hole will eventually need to be moved. Holes 9 12 and 13 also play near the path but are not as bad. Some of the holes have rather long walks in between them especially between holes 8 and 9 which is a pain.
my personal complaint about the course is the tee boxes. Gravel tees aren't my favorite, but they aren't bad ... what really makes these tees bad is the fact that they are raised and small greatly hindering a full x-step. it would be nice if the tees had been made bigger to allow for a fuller and safer x-step throw.
This course is really a great course and just needs to mature with time.

Other Thoughts: This course is awesome and the design is what makes it so awesome. the group of people who designed this course did an amazing job and I look forward to playing it again. I just hope its isolation doesn't hinder the course from growing. As this course matures and gets more worn in it will improve and has the potential to be the best in New jersey and even hold its own against the great Allentown-Bethlehem courses.
If you can, this course is a must play, you wont be disappointed. For the best experience though, dont play during peak hours so the park wont be as crowded.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Jersey Dreaming!

2-4    4/8/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course fills a deadspot between the World Class Lehigh Valley, PA to the west and the Warwick, NY and Campgaw,NJ courses to the east. Now 18 dual pad holes,it is one of the best if not the best NJ course. Nice Tee signs and well marked course. It has 13 very interesting and technical holes ..these play tightly amongst some fun undulating terrain with interesting pin placements and some interesting alternate tees, particularly holes #1,2,8,14,15,16,17, and 18 wow! #1 is a fun dogleg drop in to the creeky green below and #8 is a memorable uphill woodsy hyzer, These offer some of the best technical challenges anywhere. With severe undulating terrain playing through eastern forrest....these holes are a whole lot of fun and you will want to play them again and again. The Dream has been fulfilled and there is finally a permanent championship caliber course in Jersey.. There are 5 open holes including the huge 1000+ hole #11 that brings this course to a perfectly balanced and amazing 18. Nice rural park with ample parking. Beautiful Mountanous area of Jersey. Potties available. A lot of work seems to take place here, so I imagine this is one of those courses that will continue to improve and get better with age.
Cons: It is really in the middle of Nowhere, NJ. Some of the technical holes are too close to one another 3&4. . In summer I am sure this place can beat up your legs with scratches and losing a disc is truly possible. The stream is really cool I wish it was brought into play more. It also seems some of the rolling terrain could have been used more as either tee pads or pin locations, particularly for holes 5-6 which have a filler feel. I love having 2 pads but they are a bit smallish. Holes 9,10,12,and 13 play very close to a walking path and are very open so watch out for joggers/walkers...hope no one gets hurt. Hole #1 plays close to a hockey rink and a tee ball field before doglegging down to the river/woods area.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses I want to show other people....It really has a lot of fun factor and a lot of challenge as well. The theme here is technical and I like the fact that after playing out in the open you are forced back into the woods for 5 more wildly technical holes. I think some more grooming and opening up around the baskets will improve the course as the high vegetation as it stands now stops errant putts. I would rather see those putts sail into serious trouble, particularly on holes 17 and 18. This course is definetely being created by someone who understands the roots of the game...finesse and risk/reward are evident. I am not a fan of the wide open holes but they do balance the course nicely. Anymore open holes and the course would have lost some of it's unique character that I think will cause DGers to start coming here in droves once the word is out how clever and fun this course is. Did I mention I hate soccer fields. The first time I played here the field was open and the park was empty. It's April and there are soccer goals up in the field and many people everywhere. To really enjoy this course I would play it in the winter or during the daytime during the week. I think peak hours the open holes and hole #1 will be compromised. Dream On!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A diamond in the rough...

5+    8/31/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: illnana94
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging... I'm not a big fan of the wide open courses that require little effort and absolutely no skill. The fairways are tight and reward good shots. The practice basket is a nice touch. 8 and 9 are two of the best holes in nj. The whole course requires an array of different shots.
Cons: The rough is thick. Definately not a beginner course. Some tee boxes need to be weedwacked.
Other Thoughts: The sign leading into the park said that the official opening of the course is September 20th. For a course that is not even officially open yet its pretty. Worth the drive

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.