Great Meadows, NJ 
Fields of Dreams DGC Share
Uploaded By: Macnamara Hole #8
4 / 352ft.   3 / 379ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 Love my home course

5+    12/22/2013   1/1/2014
Review By: Cpatire
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Several par 4's, and even a par 5. Great course, very challenging. Fun all year round! Wooded holes are tough in summer months. Fun open field holes as well. Excellent mixture of holes. First hanging hole in New Jersey!
Cons: Trees, trees, trees are tough in summer. First hole is steep to walk down and if raining or snowing is dangerous.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    12/21/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 26  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Interesting balance of par 3's, 4's, and 5's
- The baskets are in perfect shape
- Yardages aren't too short
- Nice tee signs
- Great elevation changes
- The whole course flowed very nicely
Cons: - Hole 10 is awfully close to soccer fields
- The back nine could be a little bit more interesting
- Long walks on some holes
- The tee boxes could use a little more care


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: Bosler
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The signage was spot on and the tee pads were awesome. This course has a great flow to it and is well maintained. Overall it was one of the best I've played
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and it is expertly maintained by people that truly care about the game. If your in the area I highly recommend the journey to FoD. Great course.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

FOD in the Summer?!?!

2-4    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. Set at a real nice park with good parking. New 2013 concrete pads on many holes. Project underway to complete AM and PRO tees in concrete. PRO tees are insane and will challenge you even on the shorter wooded holes. Fairways on all wooded holes are maintained. Par is forgiving but still keeping under 60 can be tough for an AM player. Good signage. Great variety. One super long par 5 that can easily become a six or 7. Tunnel shots. Elevation changes. Bathrooms! You start right off into the woods to sharpen your finesse shots, then some challenging long holes to stretch your arm out, play along side a field, back into the woods to finish with 2 short birdie runs.
Cons: New players may find the tight wooded holes to be pretty hard. Rough is still very rough on some holes. Keep in on the fairway!
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to this place growing in popularity. Great crew working hard. James Lindeman leading the way. He has some great ideas. Check out North Jersey Disc Golf Club. On Facebook.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jungle of Nightmares in Summer, but Well Worth a Play

5+    11/20/2012   12/6/2012
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of terrain and open field/woodsy close quarters holes

Reasonable pars set

Fun yet challenging from both Am and Pro tees.

All types of players and levels of experience will find something to like here.

Picnic area with a roof at hole 17

Decent signage

Random Doubles held every Monday @ 5:30 PM throughout the summer, weather permitting. 5$ entry, with most of the proceeds going to the upkeep and upgrade of the course. 1st place winners get the pot, 2nd place gets their money back
Cons: Tee boxes are pretty lousy if not dangerous in some instances. Huge divots in the gravel are pretty treacherous. Run ups are not always possible for this reason.

(*Update*: Tee boxes should all be concrete by the beginning of fall, if not sooner. North Jersey Disc Golf is trying to raise money to accomplish this. Come out, register and give it all you got at the "Concrete Cup" July 7th, 2013 to help them achieve this goal! Check the North Jersey Disc Golf Facebook group for more details)

In the spring and summer this place can turn into the Jungle of Nightmares. Heavy vegetation. Spotter HIGHLY recommended during the spring and summer. Volunteers have listened to the complaints and are diligently trying to keep the jungle at bay.

Pedestrians and athletes that are often present can pose problems on some of the open field holes, as well as hole #1, #14, and #18 (almost took some guy out walking his dogs down the steps because I couldn't see him around the bend!)

Water hazard at the end of hole 1

Other than these cons, I can't think of much else.


Other Thoughts: The only thing I find "bad" about FOD is the vegetation and the poor shape the tee boxes are in, but thats soon to change. It makes you appreciate courses that aren't so overgrown, but I've lived in the woods all of my life so I'm kind of used to a few stickers in the side. I've come to enjoy the backwoods feeling on the close quarters holes at this course. I'm not a power player so I'm not really feeling the long distance drives and the pars set for them, but if thats your thing it shouldn't bring your score up too much and you will have a great opportunity to let em' rip. All in all I think its a great course on its own, but also considering what else is available nearby and not so nearby, both in NJ and PA. Much more variety and imagination than the well regarded Yetter's Park in PA, which has a lot of merit in its own right. Always love the look on the faces of those who are playing hole # 1 the first time when they realize they still have to shoot down hill after rounding the bend of trees to the left.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Overrated

1    12/3/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: Moops
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent variety of hole types.

Easy to get to.
Cons: Even in the winter, you could tell the course was pretty unkempt.

Multi-use park so some shots have to go near soccer fields or over walking pathways.

Terrible teepads. Uneven gravel surface which is both too narrow and too short.

Just didn't seem there was much thought into many of the hole designs.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the trip to me. If you live in the northern/central New Jersey area, there are MUCH better courses that are only slight farther (Jordan Creek, Tinicum, Tyler, Warwick to name a few)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Winter Course

1    6/17/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is easy to find as the park is just one turn off route 46 (which is a main road in this area). The course is also easy to locate once inside the park. The conveniences of a multi-use, community park and recreational facility (bathrooms, vending machines, garbage cans, benches, etc.) are readily available and adjacent to the parking area (plenty of space to put your ride, FWIW).

As far as the course design goes, there is a variety of fairway distances, from as little as 188' on up to a MONSTER 1,000', depending on which tee you play. The course also factors in elevation changes, some more extreme than others, on numerous holes. Fields of Dreams features a mix of left, right, and straight fairways as well as a mix of wooded and open fairways. There are several holes where water can come into play on extra long drives or from ugly tree kicks.

Other positive features of the course include two tees per hole, detailed maps and tee signs showing tees, fairway, basket, distance and par, and a practice basket between holes 1 and 14.

The bulk of the wooded holes at this course appear to be exclusive to disc golf and include a small pavilion, picnic table, and garbage can on 17 and the course overall was fairly clean.
Cons: Although it's not the biggest con at this course, safety (or lack thereof) will be the first thing to get a course pulled. Specifically, bystander safety is a concern on holes 9, 10, 13 and possibly 12. For all these holes, the fairway is directly adjacent to walking paths and other sports fields where a wayward disc could injure a pedestrian. In this regard, holes 10 & 13 are unplayable when soccer games are taking place. For the wooded holes, the safety of other players needs to be considered as there are several fairways that cross each other, baskets finish too close to the next tee, or require the thrower to backtrack down the fairway to get to the tee. Additionally, blind baskets pose a risk to players, including holes 1 and 15.

The biggest drawback at FOD is the vegetation. The overgrown underbrush and knee-high weeds on the fairway are a total mess. The growth on several of the wooded fairways was bad, really, really bad and the rough was painfully rough. During the summer months, a spotter would be a good idea as well as long pants.

In terms of course design, there are some unrealistic lines on a few of the holes (1 and 15, for example) and several holes that push the risk vs. reward way to far into the risk category (such as 8 and 16).

The tees at FOD actually prohibited a run-up as they are fairly small and in most cases and were rutted and uneven, forcing a "stand and deliver" throw. In several cases, the long tees not always visible/locateable. Specific to the longs, most were just subtle variations of their shorter counterparts and didn't really offer much more of a different playing experience.

The baskets are rusting and showing signs of wear.
Other Thoughts: Despite me knocking hole #1 for having a blind basket and a fairly impossible line, it's a pretty rad hole. The 200+ foot straight shot, followed by the hard right turn, and then a signature downhill floater is pretty unique. Same goes for the high climb on hole #8

For the six month window of October through April, this course is probably easily a 3.5 because all 18 holes will likely be playable (not as much soccer, if any) and all the overgrown underbrush and rough probably dies back to a very managable level. That being said, for the remainder of the year, it's an expedition to slog through the jungle that takes over this course.

Removing the "jungle" from the equation, you're left with a technically challenging course that makes good use of the land that's available. If the overgrowth were mitigated and if the tees were a little safer, I'd be much more likely to play this course as it's very close to family that lives nearby. Regardless, it's the only DG in this area of NJ, so for those folks where FOD is their only option, this course is a good play (in the winter).



PLEASE NOTE! If you're going to mark this review as not helpful, please send me a PM and let me know why before you do. I'm always trying to improve my reviews so whatever feedback you can provide would be appreciated.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Love this course!

2-4    2/4/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: n8thegreat
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The weeds have been wacked! The rough and overgrowth are a lot more manageable. No lost disks. In fact, there was never a moment to worry, could find any throw (no matter how bad) with little to no issues.

Awesome layout. #1 is one of my favorite holes anywhere.

It's a very technical course, without being overly infuriating. Definitely keeps you on your toes.
Cons: The tee boxes are a little rough, and the B placement (long tees) are barely still there. Most of them (still speaking to the long tees) are broken, buried, or seemingly forgotten.
Other Thoughts: So far, I've only played this course in Winter. I have no idea how conditions are going to be once everything starts growing again. But for now, I love this course!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Can you say UNKEMPT?

1    8/15/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2011
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long Course with long throws. Well laid out.
Cons: Not sure who is responsible for cleaning this place up but they should probably find a job they're better at! The only holes not COMPLETELY overgrown were the ones in the soccer and baseball fields. Lost a disc on 7 and quit right after that.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful country but if you're heading to field of dreams then play the back 9 or run a REAL risk of disc loss for NO reasons.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Bring a Spotter

1    7/10/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: fort
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 2/1/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall the course has a nice good lay out. The initial 9 holes are wooded with good use of elevation changes. Several early holes are along a river. #'s 14-18 put you back in the woods.
Cons: TALL GRASS - the undergrowth through the woods was ridiculously long. I was playing solo and I don't know how I managed to not lose a disc - at times you could be standing right over your disc and not see it in the weeds. Bring a spotter! #11 was a joke - 750+ft long hole over an un-mowed field of weeds and Queen Annes Lace 2 1/2ft tall - total disc eater. #15 is a wooded hole and the under growth was particularly deep - spent 20 minutes searching for a disc that I made a perfect throw right down the fairway. Tee boxes are in terrible shape - I played most holes from next to the tee boxes.
UPDATE 2/1/12- I hear they have started to do a bunch of work clearing underbrush and thorns - might be time to go check it out again
Other Thoughts: The open holes are very uninspiring - basically they are just straight throws bordering the edges of soccer fields. I think this would be a very fun course to play in the early Spring or late Fall either before the weeds grow in or after they die off. Definitely not a course I'll head back to in the summer. If they could somehow get the growth dealt with I'd raise the review to a 3 1/2

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.