Great Meadows, NJ 
Fields of Dreams DGC Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #11 (Taken 6/2009)
5 / 750ft.   5 / 1000ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Course is almost as good as the state's bagels!

1    6/10/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Notable holes = 1,12,16, 17

Clever use of course design. It's quite obvious that the designers didn't haphazardly place holes here; careful attention to uniqueness, novelty, and challenge is evident on many holes. Not too many of the wooded holes are alike and require a nicely crafted bag to par. Nice balance of dogleg for hyzers and anhyzers as well.

Spectacular elevation changes. Holes 1 and 14 and ... And ... are testaments to the mad downhill and uphill changes you'll experience, respectively.

Hole 12 may seem like a gimmicky ace run hole to some, but I love its placement. The views of the trees juxtaposed with the fields are spectacular and I think it's a fun run for the ace!
Cons: I've seen fewer courses so overgrown; maybe I came on a bad day but even the fairway was covered with vegetation. As such, this course can be a disc eater and a spotter is highly recommended.

Plays over a soccer field, which I can imagine gets crowded at times. These open holes are good for big arms, but kind of get redundant do their similarity.

The teepads show some evident effort with the wood and gravel, but they're hardly conducive to run-ups unless you are 4 feet tall. This caused me to throw more forehand shots as a result.

Tees are close together; you don't need to go far from basket to tee. This can be a pro if you're the only one playing and a big con if lots of people are playing due to congestion.

Some of the holes are downright short. Your hopes are let up after playing the mammoth first hole, but the technicality of these holes almost negate the length.
Other Thoughts: Northern Jersey seems to be notorious for short hole lengths and Cubby Ace holes. This is definitely an exception! This is a fun course with a degree of challenge. I regret being unable to play a tourney here a few months ago because it seems like a good place to hold an event.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Seems like a solid 3

1    5/2/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: Noaceyet
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of shots needed
Long and short holes
Elevation changes
Tight and open holes
Some very unique holes
Great easy to follow tee-signs
2 tees per hole
Good parking
Cons: Tee pads are short - but I heard they will be re-done soon
Several holes seem uninspired. The 750/1000 foot hole or the 2 soccer field holes. A couple of the wood holes
The soccer fields....The park was crowded as can be with soccer players everywhere. People walking close to driving areas, sitting close to the baskets. On a busy day, there are probably 3 or 4 holes with too many people around.
Other Thoughts: Many blind holes - need to go down and see where the basket is.
The rough was not too bad. Yes, you need to watch your disc closely. But it's not worse then many other courses.

Is it worth playing and worth a trip? You bet! Is it a great course? No, but it's a solid course and well worth a visit

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Just not quite there yet

5+    5/2/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * Good signs
* Located in nice park with facilities
* Quality baskets
* Some interesting holes
Cons: * Most holes are either wide open or unforgivingly tight and narrow
* Serious undergrowth/thorns/vines etc. on the front nine
* Lots of time spent on searching for lost discs, high probability of losing a disc.
* Short, narrow teeboxes with bad footing
Other Thoughts: I hate to rate this course poorly, I really *want* to like this course. It's a tough course, that's for sure, but unlike some other tough courses (Nockamixon, for example) that just blew me up and make me want to come back for more, each time I play this course I like it less.

Some of the holes in the woods are pretty good, but so many of them are too tight, too overgrown, too blind. I hate having to search and search for my disc. I hate that when a drive goes two feet off the fairway it's buried behind stickers or vines and I have no shot.

And then you get into the field holes, and there are some serious safety issues. At the tournament today, someone hit a soccer player.

Again, I hate to talk down someone's hard work, and some of these issues will be fixed as they keep attacking the undergrowth, but some of the problems have to do with design and a few of these holes really should be redesigned.

This course has so much potential, and it's still very new. I look forward to improvements on this course.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/20/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: pdisc
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 4/23/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This had to be one of the most beautiful courses I have ever played. I loved the mixed variety of woods, elevation, and open holes. Most of the open holes have nothing but green mowed grass! The layout was made in such a way where you were not interfering too much with any other sport activities there. Having a great view of the surrounding hills made it a disc golfer's dream.

Here are a few reasons why I gave this course its rating:

Hole #1 A dogleg right that dipped down a steep hill.
Hole #8 A very challenging uphill hole that made a slight dogleg left.
Hole #9 Just a beautiful wide open Par 3 hole with mowed grass.
Hole #11 A nice long 750 foot bomb that dips slightly downhill to the left.
Hole #13 Again, a beautiful 450 foot straight bomb, mowed grass, and trees on the left hand side.

It was a 5 hour ride home to Boston from this course and it was worth it!
Cons: I feel the tee boxes need some updating. It is real easy to twist your ankle on some of the tee boxes. If they did that I would almost give it a rating of 5.

Though I did say that the layout does not interfere too much with other events, I would feel a little nervous if I was an inexperienced and had grip lock problems. This is the case with #1 because there are a lot of little kids that hang around the basketball court and if you have grip lock issues... well, you will have a lot of explaining to do.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome addition to NJ DG scene

1    4/4/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 71  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good combination of wooded holes to start (1-8), open holes in the middle(9-13) then back to the woods (14-18). All shots in your arsenal needed for success here. Several standout holes- #1 (dogleg right and pronounced drop into the woods) and #8 (uphill hyzer) . Dual tee boxes at most holes. Great signage showing the hole, suggested flight path and distance. Little yellow "next hole" arrows make navigation easy. Baskets new and of high quality. Nice board located by practice basket with map, course rules and the names of each hole. OB areas (pathways, road) exist but aren't overly ridiculous in nature. Very nice park in a quiet area of NJ.
Cons: Many tee boxes made out of stone and still a work in progress. The rough is oppressive in spots and is most certainly God-awful in the summer to the novice or recreational player. Several open holes play near soccer fields and aren't particularly interesting. Some areas of junk/trash strewn about in the woods. Hole 16 (hanging basket) flat out stinks, a "throw and hope" shot with no true landing area.
Other Thoughts: Many people aspire to designing a course, but few hold that same passion for the massive work it takes to maintain it once it's built. And therein lies a big problem with Field of Dreams. The two primary builders designed a nice course, worked hard to see its completion then seemingly disappeared from the planet, leaving its care in the hands of others. This course is a bear to maintain with its dense rough and high fairway grass, and without that constant level of care, playing here has its warts. Hidden drop-offs in the woods are potentially treacherous, and a couple of holes are out of commission if soccer or field hockey games are being played. Field of Dreams is worth your while but has its risks if it hasn't been groomed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2009   2/18/2010
Review By: jbyrd
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2012
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: What a sweet lil score average destroyer! That came about to an 18 hole flyer.
Aye, She seems short en stalky fer thar first 2 decks, but she opens up en narrows down faster than a change o wind.
Stay enside yar sail'in course er yar en deep kelp er shallow waters before yar know it!
Beautiful terrain changes, en challenging pin placements will put ALL yar skills to thar test it twill.
A Wishbone fairway will sharpen yer shot, er yar be payin a wishbone price.
Deck 8 is prue terror, a blind uphill par 4 that can eat yar up, if yar allow it too! En #1 looks much easier that it treally is... hehehe.
Its got an intersting ooops factor! I saw a large buck right next to pin 1 today before I threw. Its a great location.
Hard turn doglegs with down/up terrain.
En thar course favors no particular shot!
Yar better have them ALL workin, er yer chum.
En thars more rasberry bushes that Campgaw... Yum!

This course is pure DG'n beauty.
I still cant believe 4 to 6 machettee madmen carved these decks in 3 months.
En the parks committie loves em! Har! yar cant blaim em fer doing great accomplishments!
Aye, I'll be hiring this crew fer me next voyage tar far shores.
JByrd
Cons: Thar tee boxes need work, take the back piece o wood off for a good runup

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Jersey Disc Golf

2-4    1/18/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 26 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm writing my first review, so be gentle. Nice location with a picturesq back drop.
Doesn't seem this course gets heavy play. But, after all it is mid January. My home course is Tyler Park, Pa. and on a 45* day even in winter, it will get well used. The course layout uses most of the land and terrain changes. I played the Red tee's one time throught to get a feel of the basket locations and fairways. Second round went quick and focused on score. I printed the map from this site and brought it with me just incase. I didn't have any problems finding the tee's. They were normaly a short walking distance from the last basket. Holes 1-8 are more about placement and accuracy than distance drives. Holes 9,10,11,13 are more your big arm open field drives. You finish your round with 14-18 playing much like the front 9. Seems to be a 50-50 split on distance and placement.
Cons: We played after a full day of rain, the place was a total mud pit. Slippery fairways, hole 1 was a nightmare to get down the hill to the basket. Hole 7 had a 15" deep puddle in front of the basket, that I had to fish my disc out with a stick to make the putt. The up hill walk on 8 was very slippery as well. I'm not feeling alot of love for holes 10,12,13 playing so close to the soccer fields and the paved walking path. The tee signs say to give the pedestrians the right of way, so you may have to wait a bit to drive from these tees. Roller bladers, joggers, baby strollers, walkers and bikes are easy targets for an errant drive from tee 10 & 12. The two biggest cons for this course, tee boxes need work. Some were so bad it was a safety hazard to try. A few were filled with water, missing most of the gravel. Hole 17, the tee sits in a ravine with little sun and water filled and froze to solid ice. Holes 1-8, 15-18 have some of the worst thorns and brush. I can imagine what a nightmare this area would be in the summer. If you drive into the thick or tap off a tree. Good luck, and bring a machete so you can get to your disc.
Other Thoughts: I give this course a 3.0-Good and really couldn't give it more. There just doesn't seem to be anything that makes this park stand out. No true signature hole that is memorable. If I had to pick one? I would have to say #1, never played a hole like this anywhere else. Over all a good local course that will offer a lot of fun. Hopefully over the next few years, improvements to fairway layout, and tees will let this course mature. It's still a new 18 hole layout. I will stop here from time to time for a change.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I move away from nj then they make this gem of a course lol!!!!

2-4    10/26/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Alot of time effort and love went into this course, This was a course built by disc golfers and it shows. #2 and 16 will keep you on your toes.
Cons: The wooded holes could use some more time and effort into cleaning the t boxes or to cut down some shrubbery to make it easier to see them. The thorns that infest the entire course should be removed entirely from the area completely. Hole #17 is housed on a sandpit which is infested by ground bees. The wide open holes in the back are easy birdies by those with big enough arm to cut the distance which the holes in the front are somewhat manageable to squeeze in a birdy with playing a tight lane.
Other Thoughts: this course is very long alot of walking and is not for beginners or those with poor shot selection. There was only 1 hole which stood out to me as no clear line to play #15. I could not imagine having to play this during the summer months. The par 4's here are really par 4.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/28/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: StymieDidIt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most holes are challenging. Some short some long. It covers a good sized area and is well maintained. Very good signs for each tee and directions to the next hole.
Cons: Some of the holes between 1 & 8 are very short. It seemed that they were even shorter than the distance noted on the sign? Tee boxes... ouch! I thought they were small and difficult to throw from. Also, the gravel boxes provided me with loose footing several times and it really altered my shot(for the worse). Lots of blind shots, over hills around bends, dropoffs, etc. I don't know if that's a con for everybody, but I thought that there were too many of those type holes.
Other Thoughts: I'd go back. Certainly not a bad course, and it is new, so maybe there are some bugs to work out. The Soccer fields could be an issue as well.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of Jersey's Best

1    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Top notch baskets and signs, and decent gravel pits to tee off from. A great variety of short wooded holes, and wide-open fields - including an extremely long 1000 footer. The downhill shots are especially fun, and there are at least a couple holes that could potentially be aced.
Cons: Way too many blind drives. This is partially mitigated by the excellent color maps at each tee, but still very hard to locate your disc after throwing down a hill, around a corner, etc. I lost a disc and had another two or three close calls - I'm sure this gets easier on repeated visits as you grow more familiar with the layout.

No soccer games on the day of my visit, but they could most certainly prevent you from playing one or two of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I bet the course would be more fun in the fall, when the narrow wooded fairways open up a little more, and the thick brush subsides.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.