Great Meadows, NJ 
Fields of Dreams DGC Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 236ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    4/20/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: pdisc
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 4/23/2010
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This had to be one of the most beautiful courses I have ever played. I loved the mixed variety of woods, elevation, and open holes. Most of the open holes have nothing but green mowed grass! The layout was made in such a way where you were not interfering too much with any other sport activities there. Having a great view of the surrounding hills made it a disc golfer's dream.

Here are a few reasons why I gave this course its rating:

Hole #1 A dogleg right that dipped down a steep hill.
Hole #8 A very challenging uphill hole that made a slight dogleg left.
Hole #9 Just a beautiful wide open Par 3 hole with mowed grass.
Hole #11 A nice long 750 foot bomb that dips slightly downhill to the left.
Hole #13 Again, a beautiful 450 foot straight bomb, mowed grass, and trees on the left hand side.

It was a 5 hour ride home to Boston from this course and it was worth it!
Cons: I feel the tee boxes need some updating. It is real easy to twist your ankle on some of the tee boxes. If they did that I would almost give it a rating of 5.

Though I did say that the layout does not interfere too much with other events, I would feel a little nervous if I was an inexperienced and had grip lock problems. This is the case with #1 because there are a lot of little kids that hang around the basketball court and if you have grip lock issues... well, you will have a lot of explaining to do.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Welcome addition to NJ DG scene

1    4/4/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good combination of wooded holes to start (1-8), open holes in the middle(9-13) then back to the woods (14-18). All shots in your arsenal needed for success here. Several standout holes- #1 (dogleg right and pronounced drop into the woods) and #8 (uphill hyzer) . Dual tee boxes at most holes. Great signage showing the hole, suggested flight path and distance. Little yellow "next hole" arrows make navigation easy. Baskets new and of high quality. Nice board located by practice basket with map, course rules and the names of each hole. OB areas (pathways, road) exist but aren't overly ridiculous in nature. Very nice park in a quiet area of NJ.
Cons: Many tee boxes made out of stone and still a work in progress. The rough is oppressive in spots and is most certainly God-awful in the summer to the novice or recreational player. Several open holes play near soccer fields and aren't particularly interesting. Some areas of junk/trash strewn about in the woods. Hole 16 (hanging basket) flat out stinks, a "throw and hope" shot with no true landing area.
Other Thoughts: Many people aspire to designing a course, but few hold that same passion for the massive work it takes to maintain it once it's built. And therein lies a big problem with Field of Dreams. The two primary builders designed a nice course, worked hard to see its completion then seemingly disappeared from the planet, leaving its care in the hands of others. This course is a bear to maintain with its dense rough and high fairway grass, and without that constant level of care, playing here has its warts. Hidden drop-offs in the woods are potentially treacherous, and a couple of holes are out of commission if soccer or field hockey games are being played. Field of Dreams is worth your while but has its risks if it hasn't been groomed.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2009   2/18/2010
Review By: jbyrd
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2012
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: What a sweet lil score average destroyer! That came about to an 18 hole flyer.
Aye, She seems short en stalky fer thar first 2 decks, but she opens up en narrows down faster than a change o wind.
Stay enside yar sail'in course er yar en deep kelp er shallow waters before yar know it!
Beautiful terrain changes, en challenging pin placements will put ALL yar skills to thar test it twill.
A Wishbone fairway will sharpen yer shot, er yar be payin a wishbone price.
Deck 8 is prue terror, a blind uphill par 4 that can eat yar up, if yar allow it too! En #1 looks much easier that it treally is... hehehe.
Its got an intersting ooops factor! I saw a large buck right next to pin 1 today before I threw. Its a great location.
Hard turn doglegs with down/up terrain.
En thar course favors no particular shot!
Yar better have them ALL workin, er yer chum.
En thars more rasberry bushes that Campgaw... Yum!

This course is pure DG'n beauty.
I still cant believe 4 to 6 machettee madmen carved these decks in 3 months.
En the parks committie loves em! Har! yar cant blaim em fer doing great accomplishments!
Aye, I'll be hiring this crew fer me next voyage tar far shores.
JByrd
Cons: Thar tee boxes need work, take the back piece o wood off for a good runup

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Jersey Disc Golf

2-4    1/18/2010   1/18/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 71  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'm writing my first review, so be gentle. Nice location with a picturesq back drop.
Doesn't seem this course gets heavy play. But, after all it is mid January. My home course is Tyler Park, Pa. and on a 45* day even in winter, it will get well used. The course layout uses most of the land and terrain changes. I played the Red tee's one time throught to get a feel of the basket locations and fairways. Second round went quick and focused on score. I printed the map from this site and brought it with me just incase. I didn't have any problems finding the tee's. They were normaly a short walking distance from the last basket. Holes 1-8 are more about placement and accuracy than distance drives. Holes 9,10,11,13 are more your big arm open field drives. You finish your round with 14-18 playing much like the front 9. Seems to be a 50-50 split on distance and placement.
Cons: We played after a full day of rain, the place was a total mud pit. Slippery fairways, hole 1 was a nightmare to get down the hill to the basket. Hole 7 had a 15" deep puddle in front of the basket, that I had to fish my disc out with a stick to make the putt. The up hill walk on 8 was very slippery as well. I'm not feeling alot of love for holes 10,12,13 playing so close to the soccer fields and the paved walking path. The tee signs say to give the pedestrians the right of way, so you may have to wait a bit to drive from these tees. Roller bladers, joggers, baby strollers, walkers and bikes are easy targets for an errant drive from tee 10 & 12. The two biggest cons for this course, tee boxes need work. Some were so bad it was a safety hazard to try. A few were filled with water, missing most of the gravel. Hole 17, the tee sits in a ravine with little sun and water filled and froze to solid ice. Holes 1-8, 15-18 have some of the worst thorns and brush. I can imagine what a nightmare this area would be in the summer. If you drive into the thick or tap off a tree. Good luck, and bring a machete so you can get to your disc.
Other Thoughts: I give this course a 3.0-Good and really couldn't give it more. There just doesn't seem to be anything that makes this park stand out. No true signature hole that is memorable. If I had to pick one? I would have to say #1, never played a hole like this anywhere else. Over all a good local course that will offer a lot of fun. Hopefully over the next few years, improvements to fairway layout, and tees will let this course mature. It's still a new 18 hole layout. I will stop here from time to time for a change.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I move away from nj then they make this gem of a course lol!!!!

2-4    10/26/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Alot of time effort and love went into this course, This was a course built by disc golfers and it shows. #2 and 16 will keep you on your toes.
Cons: The wooded holes could use some more time and effort into cleaning the t boxes or to cut down some shrubbery to make it easier to see them. The thorns that infest the entire course should be removed entirely from the area completely. Hole #17 is housed on a sandpit which is infested by ground bees. The wide open holes in the back are easy birdies by those with big enough arm to cut the distance which the holes in the front are somewhat manageable to squeeze in a birdy with playing a tight lane.
Other Thoughts: this course is very long alot of walking and is not for beginners or those with poor shot selection. There was only 1 hole which stood out to me as no clear line to play #15. I could not imagine having to play this during the summer months. The par 4's here are really par 4.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/28/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: StymieDidIt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most holes are challenging. Some short some long. It covers a good sized area and is well maintained. Very good signs for each tee and directions to the next hole.
Cons: Some of the holes between 1 & 8 are very short. It seemed that they were even shorter than the distance noted on the sign? Tee boxes... ouch! I thought they were small and difficult to throw from. Also, the gravel boxes provided me with loose footing several times and it really altered my shot(for the worse). Lots of blind shots, over hills around bends, dropoffs, etc. I don't know if that's a con for everybody, but I thought that there were too many of those type holes.
Other Thoughts: I'd go back. Certainly not a bad course, and it is new, so maybe there are some bugs to work out. The Soccer fields could be an issue as well.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of Jersey's Best

1    7/11/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Top notch baskets and signs, and decent gravel pits to tee off from. A great variety of short wooded holes, and wide-open fields - including an extremely long 1000 footer. The downhill shots are especially fun, and there are at least a couple holes that could potentially be aced.
Cons: Way too many blind drives. This is partially mitigated by the excellent color maps at each tee, but still very hard to locate your disc after throwing down a hill, around a corner, etc. I lost a disc and had another two or three close calls - I'm sure this gets easier on repeated visits as you grow more familiar with the layout.

No soccer games on the day of my visit, but they could most certainly prevent you from playing one or two of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I bet the course would be more fun in the fall, when the narrow wooded fairways open up a little more, and the thick brush subsides.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets
Great use of elevation changes
Mix of short holes and par 4's
Two tee pads for every hole
Signs are real good in terms of distance, and where to find the next tee, but some of the long "B" tee pads were tough to find.
Cons: Gravel tee pads, some of which are uneven and tough to through from. We threw from the grass on a few holes.
Plenty of bugs.
The rough is very rough, sometimes it can be hard to get into the rough to look for a disc.
Other Thoughts: This course has plenty of holes that are extremely fun to play. mainly set in the woods, it is a techincal course that demands accuracy over power. There are a few field holes that have you walking around a soccer field and are a bit tedious. We played the entire course and only had trouble finding the tee for #9. you have to follow the tree line on the left and than actually cross a street and walk up towards the fence. The course could use a weed wackin and a mower in some points. We were the only people on the course so no waits.
We did lose two discs (the 1000 foot hole into the rough on the right) and two holes later it might have rolled down a hill. You can tell a lot of work was put into this course and it really is worth playing. I'm sure it will only get better as more people play it and more landscaping work is done. Some down hill holes. Hole 1 is one of my favorite holes - about 250 feet lefty hyzer to set up an approach probably 150 feet downhill to a basekt with some trees in the fairway and some brush around the basket. It's definitley worth playing this course, which will only get better with perhaps a new layout (or upgrade or removal of field holes) and some of the underbrush removed. Be careful with tics, as we did see Deer (not only on the course, but while driving to it, so be careful when driving)

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Filled with dreams... of a good round

1    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: adlacro
Played: 64  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 DIScatcher baskets in new, pristine shape. Much of course, especially open holes, is excellently maintained. Mixes lefty and righty holes ( first 4 are lefty but only a few lefty afterwards.) No pinball holes, enought trees and elevation to challenge you as is. Nice usuage of land. Tee signs are VERY nice and there are two tees to each hole ( the longer, "B" tees have no signs but are usually very close to the other tee). Holes are not clustered, they are spread out.
Cons: The open field holes play close to soccer fields, so if there are games nearby this could cause a hazard. This course really emphasizes accuracy at points, so don't miss the fairway! I kind of wish there was one water hole, none of the holes, barring a very errant throw, deal with the Pequest River nearby.
Other Thoughts: I truly enjoyed the design of the course with the majority of the land. The 11th hole is 750 feet from the short position, 1000 from the B tee. Some other holes are pretty long too... not a pitch and putt course, so that's a positive. A course I'd recommend, add it as part of an area road trip. Excellent job by Rico and his buddies, creating a nice solid course in an area very devoid of challenging DG courses (Tinicum is almost an hour away and so is Campgaw to the north and east). Way to go!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quite possibly the best in NJ

1    5/21/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Field of Dreams is a top notch course ... in New Jersey ... Imagine that! The group that put this course together did an amazing job and the course reflects their hard work.
F of D is a well balanced course. It has short technical wooded shots, long open drives, and those long difficult wooded holes. There is elevation changes including downhill shots, uphill shots, horseshoe holes and doglegs. The complete 18 hole layout is great. Hole one is a great opening with a long downhill sloping right dogleg. The few holes following that are technical shots through the woods. Hole 3 is near a creek but the creek doesn't come into play. Hole 8 is reminiscent of a mini "heart-attack hill" (Jordan Creek) with a long uphill curved fairway that opens to a nice green. Holes 9 and 10 were open grip 'n rip shots and hole 11 was a looong 1000 foot hole with a nicely placed pin position. I liked hole 12, a short birdie run following the long hole. Holes 17 and 18 were also really fun, especially hole 17 (formerly hole 1). The pin placement up on a hill with a really fast green is great.
The signs are all great and the directional signs really help with navigation.
This course is set in the highlands of New Jersey and the scenery is absolutely beautiful. The park is really well kept and has lots of amenities including bathrooms

Cons: The course is isolated from any other courses and anything else in general. You really have to plan to travel to this course and just play it.
This course is young and it shows. What it really needs is to be played more so that it gets worn in. The rough is really bad in some spots and tears up your legs if you go out of the fairway.
My only major concern with the design of this course is the placement of hole 10. It skirts the edge of a soccer field and is along a walking path. I think that this hole will eventually need to be moved. Holes 9 12 and 13 also play near the path but are not as bad. Some of the holes have rather long walks in between them especially between holes 8 and 9 which is a pain.
my personal complaint about the course is the tee boxes. Gravel tees aren't my favorite, but they aren't bad ... what really makes these tees bad is the fact that they are raised and small greatly hindering a full x-step. it would be nice if the tees had been made bigger to allow for a fuller and safer x-step throw.
This course is really a great course and just needs to mature with time.

Other Thoughts: This course is awesome and the design is what makes it so awesome. the group of people who designed this course did an amazing job and I look forward to playing it again. I just hope its isolation doesn't hinder the course from growing. As this course matures and gets more worn in it will improve and has the potential to be the best in New jersey and even hold its own against the great Allentown-Bethlehem courses.
If you can, this course is a must play, you wont be disappointed. For the best experience though, dont play during peak hours so the park wont be as crowded.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.