Great Meadows, NJ 
Fields of Dreams DGC Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 333ft.   3 / 373ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Really nice course

2-4    4/30/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: hyperspike
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good mix up of field and technical holes. Some really cool holes in general, easy to follow around even if you haven never played there.
Cons: My guess is that the woods would become really overgrown in the summer...
Other Thoughts: defiantly worth stopping by and playing if you are in the area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  excellent course

1    3/19/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: dosier2442
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Really liked the course alot of nice holes. It would be nice to have score cards and it was very easy to find your way around definitly will play there again and hole number one was awesome
Cons: Tees could use the updating

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Played it All

1    12/23/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: Moose Jaw
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course has a good mix of small and big holes. You need it all to truly score well. From the longs its definitely challenging to get under par.

Easy enough from the shorts to get under.
Cons: The tee boxes really need work, and the brush is thick in spots --- off the fairway. Sometimes you need to throttle back a bit to ensure accuracy, rather than risk a muff going deep in the brush. This is a good thing, imo. The fairways are wide, if you're deep in the rough you made a poor shot. Not like Tyler where a great drive is determined by 2' either way at 200 feet.
Other Thoughts: This is a gem of a course in a place where there are few! Try it out, seasoned DG'ers will find themselves traveling to it --- like they might to Jordan, or Warwick. Clearly tops some of the smaller courses like S. Mtn, Alex, etc.


2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Disc golf course in the jungle

1    8/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: Jackmdiscgolfer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes were nicely laid out and had good map directions at each of the holes. Open holes in the fields were good if you want to practice Driving the disc
Cons: Extremely poorly maintained, high weeds makes it hard to find your disc, Tons of thorn bushes if you throw your disc out of bounds, Hole 11 is a long hole on both tee boxes
Other Thoughts: Someone who is in charge of the park needs to step up and maintain that course, If you end up going bring a machette to cut throw thorn bushes and high weeds. you may also want to bring work gloves, boots, have a spotter for every hole in the woods

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A great challenging course

1    7/11/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2010
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - One of my favorite courses to play in NW Jersey
- Favorite Holes: 7, 12, 15, 17, 18
- Great workout going up and down hills
- The signs look great
- Great use of elevation
Cons: - The valley next to 14 and 16 is a challenge but its a bitch if you lose a disc in there.
- No water fountains anywhere in the park
- Couple of holes are right next to some soccer fields, and might be hard to play during soccer season.
- Finding the basket on 11 was difficult my first time through
- The fairway on 16 is very narrow and the deep valley is behind the basket. If you aren't aware of it you could easily double or triple bogie on the hole
Other Thoughts: The time to play this course is fall and early spring. During the summer months the course can get very wild, and make the course a disc eater. Also it's best to play with someone else so that you can spot each other, since there are a few holes where you are throwing over a ridge or around heavily wooded blind corners.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Ever heard of a weed whacker?

1    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: brookjhoffman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Holes have a good length
Nice Park
I liked hole 15
Cons: The front nine is offensively overgrown. It's terrible terrible terrible. It was so bad, I simply wouldn't go back until winter. Holes 10-13 are simply lining the perimeter of a large soccer field, very uninspired. Luckily, it wasn't a saturday morning or I'd have a murder of soccer moms chasing me back into the woods for holes 14-18.
Other Thoughts: If holes 1-8 and 16-18 where groomed like 15, this course would be a 3.5-4, but I was so annoyed with 1-3 I almost left then. If I hadn't driven 45 minutes to try this course, I wouldn't have even finished. I don't think there is enough interested in disc in the area for it to be a GREAT course. If you own a weed whacker and live in the great meadows area, do everyone a favor a play a round of disc and clean up this course

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Perfect

1    7/13/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: gdev
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great signage
Easy to navigate
Great variety of shots (left turns, right turns, up hills, downhills)
Variety of length/pars
Cons: front nine is VERY overgrown.

There isn't so much a fairway as one narrow beat in path. Really could use a weed wack job.

Tees are gravel, short, and don't really allow much of a run up.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Course is almost as good as the state's bagels!

1    6/10/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Notable holes = 1,12,16, 17

Clever use of course design. It's quite obvious that the designers didn't haphazardly place holes here; careful attention to uniqueness, novelty, and challenge is evident on many holes. Not too many of the wooded holes are alike and require a nicely crafted bag to par. Nice balance of dogleg for hyzers and anhyzers as well.

Spectacular elevation changes. Holes 1 and 14 and ... And ... are testaments to the mad downhill and uphill changes you'll experience, respectively.

Hole 12 may seem like a gimmicky ace run hole to some, but I love its placement. The views of the trees juxtaposed with the fields are spectacular and I think it's a fun run for the ace!
Cons: I've seen fewer courses so overgrown; maybe I came on a bad day but even the fairway was covered with vegetation. As such, this course can be a disc eater and a spotter is highly recommended.

Plays over a soccer field, which I can imagine gets crowded at times. These open holes are good for big arms, but kind of get redundant do their similarity.

The teepads show some evident effort with the wood and gravel, but they're hardly conducive to run-ups unless you are 4 feet tall. This caused me to throw more forehand shots as a result.

Tees are close together; you don't need to go far from basket to tee. This can be a pro if you're the only one playing and a big con if lots of people are playing due to congestion.

Some of the holes are downright short. Your hopes are let up after playing the mammoth first hole, but the technicality of these holes almost negate the length.
Other Thoughts: Northern Jersey seems to be notorious for short hole lengths and Cubby Ace holes. This is definitely an exception! This is a fun course with a degree of challenge. I regret being unable to play a tourney here a few months ago because it seems like a good place to hold an event.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Seems like a solid 3

1    5/2/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: Noaceyet
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of shots needed
Long and short holes
Elevation changes
Tight and open holes
Some very unique holes
Great easy to follow tee-signs
2 tees per hole
Good parking
Cons: Tee pads are short - but I heard they will be re-done soon
Several holes seem uninspired. The 750/1000 foot hole or the 2 soccer field holes. A couple of the wood holes
The soccer fields....The park was crowded as can be with soccer players everywhere. People walking close to driving areas, sitting close to the baskets. On a busy day, there are probably 3 or 4 holes with too many people around.
Other Thoughts: Many blind holes - need to go down and see where the basket is.
The rough was not too bad. Yes, you need to watch your disc closely. But it's not worse then many other courses.

Is it worth playing and worth a trip? You bet! Is it a great course? No, but it's a solid course and well worth a visit

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Just not quite there yet

5+    5/2/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: * Good signs
* Located in nice park with facilities
* Quality baskets
* Some interesting holes
Cons: * Most holes are either wide open or unforgivingly tight and narrow
* Serious undergrowth/thorns/vines etc. on the front nine
* Lots of time spent on searching for lost discs, high probability of losing a disc.
* Short, narrow teeboxes with bad footing
Other Thoughts: I hate to rate this course poorly, I really *want* to like this course. It's a tough course, that's for sure, but unlike some other tough courses (Nockamixon, for example) that just blew me up and make me want to come back for more, each time I play this course I like it less.

Some of the holes in the woods are pretty good, but so many of them are too tight, too overgrown, too blind. I hate having to search and search for my disc. I hate that when a drive goes two feet off the fairway it's buried behind stickers or vines and I have no shot.

And then you get into the field holes, and there are some serious safety issues. At the tournament today, someone hit a soccer player.

Again, I hate to talk down someone's hard work, and some of these issues will be fixed as they keep attacking the undergrowth, but some of the problems have to do with design and a few of these holes really should be redesigned.

This course has so much potential, and it's still very new. I look forward to improvements on this course.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.