Great Meadows, NJ
Fields of Dreams DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2009)
4 / 352ft.   3 / 379ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 que Rico! haha

5+    4/19/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: *Dual Tees
*Sick woods
*Chunnels
*Downhill putt on #1
*Creative and well put together
*Vending machines for thirst quenching
Cons: *The prickers and brush stockpiled on the sides ate my Wolverine, very sad.
*Ticks, due to the fact its an old dear path
*The field holes are not worth the walk
Other Thoughts: Rico and Esteban put together an awesome course that gives you a good idea of what a real disc golf course layout should resemble.. it was a breath of fresh air to see a course with a little more of a western influence that the flatlands of Dunham. Cant wait to go back soon and play a round of 36 and stop for Wendys on the way home haha.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Jersey Dreaming!

2-4    4/8/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course fills a deadspot between the World Class Lehigh Valley, PA to the west and the Warwick, NY and Campgaw,NJ courses to the east. Now 18 dual pad holes,it is one of the best if not the best NJ course. Nice Tee signs and well marked course. It has 13 very interesting and technical holes ..these play tightly amongst some fun undulating terrain with interesting pin placements and some interesting alternate tees, particularly holes #1,2,8,14,15,16,17, and 18 wow! #1 is a fun dogleg drop in to the creeky green below and #8 is a memorable uphill woodsy hyzer, These offer some of the best technical challenges anywhere. With severe undulating terrain playing through eastern forrest....these holes are a whole lot of fun and you will want to play them again and again. The Dream has been fulfilled and there is finally a permanent championship caliber course in Jersey.. There are 5 open holes including the huge 1000+ hole #11 that brings this course to a perfectly balanced and amazing 18. Nice rural park with ample parking. Beautiful Mountanous area of Jersey. Potties available. A lot of work seems to take place here, so I imagine this is one of those courses that will continue to improve and get better with age.
Cons: It is really in the middle of Nowhere, NJ. Some of the technical holes are too close to one another 3&4. . In summer I am sure this place can beat up your legs with scratches and losing a disc is truly possible. The stream is really cool I wish it was brought into play more. It also seems some of the rolling terrain could have been used more as either tee pads or pin locations, particularly for holes 5-6 which have a filler feel. I love having 2 pads but they are a bit smallish. Holes 9,10,12,and 13 play very close to a walking path and are very open so watch out for joggers/walkers...hope no one gets hurt. Hole #1 plays close to a hockey rink and a tee ball field before doglegging down to the river/woods area.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses I want to show other people....It really has a lot of fun factor and a lot of challenge as well. The theme here is technical and I like the fact that after playing out in the open you are forced back into the woods for 5 more wildly technical holes. I think some more grooming and opening up around the baskets will improve the course as the high vegetation as it stands now stops errant putts. I would rather see those putts sail into serious trouble, particularly on holes 17 and 18. This course is definetely being created by someone who understands the roots of the game...finesse and risk/reward are evident. I am not a fan of the wide open holes but they do balance the course nicely. Anymore open holes and the course would have lost some of it's unique character that I think will cause DGers to start coming here in droves once the word is out how clever and fun this course is. Did I mention I hate soccer fields. The first time I played here the field was open and the park was empty. It's April and there are soccer goals up in the field and many people everywhere. To really enjoy this course I would play it in the winter or during the daytime during the week. I think peak hours the open holes and hole #1 will be compromised. Dream On!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 worth playing both tees

1    1/3/2009   1/3/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads. No frustration due to the relative easy of navigating the course. Great play environment with good scenery and a great variety in only 9 holes. Holes 8 and 9 are a nice finishing combonation:
Hole 8 was a nice steep uphill shot over 350 feet with the tee on top of a 40ft. hill.
Hole 9 is a downhill 450 ft shot with perfectly placed trees and a hook back to te basket. This is one of the nicest 9 hole courses I have ever played.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Tee pads are gravel.
Holes 6 and 9 are slightly hard to find for a beginner (for hole 6 go behind hole 5 to a small trail on the left side. For hole 9 turn to your right at hole 8 and head towards the soccer fields, the tee is to the right on the side of the hill.) Hole 9 is worth the search.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in the winter, the brush in the summer could make the course less inviting. Hole 3 can be a fun challenge for an experienced player or a frustrating impossible shot for beginners, the shot is through a small hole between an arch of brush.
Its a little bit of a walk to get to the first tee, but you will come across each hole with very little difficulty. The alternate holes make the course worth playing again from the second set of tees.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    11/26/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: reallybadputter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun little course with a variety of shots required.
Very well put together based on the amount of land used, and will get much better with the addition of a longer back 9.
9 is a real fun hole, especially from the blues.
Cons: From the whites, only one hole requires more than a midrange.
A few holes where fairways or tees are a little close to the previous basket. Not a problem now, but could become an issue as the number of players on the course increases. (holes 3,4,5)
Other Thoughts: Having seen the plans for the additional 9 holes online, looks like it will give this course most of what it needs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A diamond in the rough...

5+    8/31/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: illnana94
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging... I'm not a big fan of the wide open courses that require little effort and absolutely no skill. The fairways are tight and reward good shots. The practice basket is a nice touch. 8 and 9 are two of the best holes in nj. The whole course requires an array of different shots.
Cons: The rough is thick. Definately not a beginner course. Some tee boxes need to be weedwacked.
Other Thoughts: The sign leading into the park said that the official opening of the course is September 20th. For a course that is not even officially open yet its pretty. Worth the drive

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging but Fun

1    9/1/2008   9/2/2008
Review By: JohnnyDGolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation changes on 8 and 9 as good as any in NJ. Good work out, not for the out of shape. Potential with more play and some upgrades: unlimited.
Cons: Will eat discs if you're not careful... reminds me of Tyler state (PA) and others in that regard.
Other Thoughts: Extremely hard. Probably not for beginners... But also very enjoyable. It rewards the perfect throw and punishes missteps like any good course should.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Make some room Campgaw

2-4    4/27/2009   9/2/2008
Review By: Macnamara
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Elevation changes throughout course
-Clever pin locations.
-No advantage towards one type of throw. You'll need every shot in your bag.
-Newly expanded 18 hole layout introduces long open holes to balance the course.
-Great Flow and Markings: Layout goes back and forth between woodsy and open (not just 9 open and then 9 woodsy).

Cons: -Tight fairways (may be discouraging for beginners).
-The rough is rough...real rough. Thorns the size of cornucopias (you heard right, that big horn looking thing from Thanksgiving pictures).
-Although the new open holes introduce OB, they lack the complexity and imagination of the woodsy ones.
-Some of the new holes (not so much the old) still have some small uncut stumps-do not wear flip flops.
Other Thoughts: This course has taken a huge leap forward to definitely put itself in the "best course in NJ" conversation with the likes of Campgaw. It's hard to deny a course when it so blatantly makes an attempt to test almost every single facet of your game...up hill, down hill, short, long, dogleg right/left, tight woods to open, 200-1000 foot holes, etc...

Extremely challenging and unique. Well worth the trip.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.