Disc Golf Store
Bethlehem, PA 
South Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #5
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

1    7/8/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 141  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 14.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great, short course that allows you to work on your shorter, midrange shots. If you need to work on your putter shots, short sidearm shots or midrange shots then this is the course for you.

The course is mostly wooded and offers some fun, short holes. It also does not take a long time to play. If you only have 90 minutes you can easily get through this course in that amount of time.

Since this course is short most of the holes are tighter and have a defined fairway in mind. The course designer had an idea of a shot in mind for each hole and the disc needs to be shaped accordingly. If you can hit the lines that the designer intended then you can score well here! Hole 10 is a good example of this. Even though this is a short hole the design of this hole requires a slight anhyzer or a sidearm shot to get down to the green. Even then, you really have to perfectly hit your line to have a putt.

Hole 4 has a new basket location and it is truly stunning. It is cut into a tree and elevated up in the air. Its a VERY challenging basket that drops off past the basket. If you are behind the basket and putt back to the basket and go long you could easily drop away and have a 30 foot putt coming back.

Even though this course probably doesn't have a signature hole, it does have a signature view. The view to the right of hole 3 is simply stunning. Its a view down the mountain and is truly stunning.
Cons: Here are the cons for this course. Don't take these the wrong way as they are just the things that keep the course from being a 5:

1) This is essentially par 3 golf. None of the holes are more than 360 feet so the driver can essentially be kept in the bag. There was an alternate pin on one hole that was just installed and I think that would add one par 4 but it was a two shot hole so there were no opportunities to air out a drive.

2) Navigation was very tricky in the middle of the course. I fortunately played with a local and had printed a map beforehand but even with the map I may have been confused. The confusing holes were 6 through 9 so I would recommend reading Optidisc's review of the course on how to navigate these holes.

3) Expect your plastic to take a beating. The course has some serious boulders and rocks in and around the fairways that will eat up lesser quality plastic. Also, this course is not an easy walk in the park. The rocks, boulders and elevation make for some challenging walks.

4) Even though this was a fun course with some nice holes, the course really didn't have any true signature holes. This is not a huge con for me but don't come to this course expecting any massive bomber holes or water hazards. This course has a lot of solid holes but nothing that I would call a spectacular signature hole.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great compliment to one of the best areas for disc golf in the country. While this course doesn't have the allure of Jordan, Lehigh, Nocky, etc it does offer something different and variety is a good thing. Not every course is going to be epic and not every course is going to be hard. I played this course on a lazy Sunday afternoon and actually had a nice, fun time. I was able to play the course with Allentown legend Optidisc and if you haven't had the chance to play with him then send him a message. I would highly recommend playing Nockamixon and Sellersville if you are in the area. They are good compliments to South Mountain if you want some variety.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Wooded Course

5+    5/19/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: Smf5125
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly short technical holes that can provide a decent challenge for most.
Holes are laid out pretty well to allow quick play through, but it can be slightly confusing the first time you play
Tees are in good shape, new Pro tees are being put in slowly and there are a few holes with them already done.
Cons: Again, the layout can be difficult for new people so I recommend trying to play with someone who ha splayed there before your first time.
When it is crowded, it is very possible to have crossover on the holes
Other Thoughts: This course is the course we generally go to when we only have about 2 hours. Takes me about half an hour to get there and then two of us are able to get through it in about an hour and a half. The holes can be challenging and the new pin placement on hole 4 (literally drilled into a downed tree) is a very cool hole but a pain to get the discs out of. This is a great quick course though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Delivered on Expectations

1    1/12/2014   1/13/2014
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked this course because it was challenging without the threat of tossing a disc into a waterway. Lots of elevation with the mix of trees and rocks/boulders. This was sweet as it demanded a different approach to almost every shot. There was just enough baskets that were pretty wide open. A handful of holes that left you rip it and some holes that forced me out of my confort zone and throw a few shots I found fun and challenging. Lots of nice, new concrete tees.
Cons: Navigation was a little rough. If it wasn't for the group in front, we'd have been searching for the next hole quite a few times. Marking of short and long tees were a tad vague.
Other Thoughts: I had a preconceived idea about what I was about to face from videos and other reviews. I was pleasantly surprise. Looking forward to my next round here and plenty more after that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Will play again and again

5+    10/15/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: wmjar
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything about this course will attract both the first time player as well as the seasoned pro. Living in an area that has a lot of top rated courses, I always come back to South Mountain. Even after rainfall, this is a course that you can play the next day without drudging through mud and flooded tees. There are so many courses that you find to be interesting from the first time playing. South Mountain may be a tough the first few times through, but once you've figured out the proper angles, it may be a place you will find yourself at again and again.
Cons: Could use a longer shot or two and maybe a par 4 or 5. There are not too many times that most players would bring out the "big arm" distance driver, but probably makes for a more interesting round.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Lehigh Valley, this should be the first course to get to. Easy to find, Good mix and, will always run into other friendly disc golf players.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

fun short coarse

5+    8/15/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: cmjar
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: no ridiclous long shots like tinicum trees are a big thing plus rocks so rollers are a no-no alot of dog leg left and right shots theres times were baskets are moved.
Cons: lot of hills making walking not fun. other than that it's great.
Other Thoughts: like some longer shots

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Nice par 3 course

1    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: SSCrash
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Was a fun course to play after hitting Nockamixon 2 days prior.
Wooded and rocky course pretty easy to navigate in most spots.
Tees are marked with short posts giving hole # and pin distance(s) -
Cons: Could use signage or colored spokes directing you to the next tee in a few spots.
Could use hole layout signage.
Other Thoughts: New framed crushed stone tee pads were in the process of being installed.
Played on a Sunday afternoon - plenty of players but no backups or waiting.
Yellow poles are the alternate pins.
Would return to play again - had a 3rd timer and 1st timer with me - both enjoyed playing there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A classic wooded Lehigh Valley treat!

1    6/21/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Overall, this is one of the most peaceful and picturesque wooded courses I've played in awhile. The lush foliage, paths, and all of the rocks make it look like some kind of setting of a fairy tale. I guess the fable here is that you need to throw with precision throughout the 18 holes!

- Each fairway is cut with a certain line in mind; this course does a nice job of making you shape a lot of different lines with little margin for error. Several holes have a lefty and righty line to the basket. Lots of punishment if you make errant throws. Nice balance, IMO, of righty and lefty holes with a few straight lasers to the basket as well.

- Great use of elevation, both downhill and uphill. I thought the long bomb downhill on #18 was a great way to finish, especially when the road and parking lot played OB.

-Practice basket, info kiosk, bathrooms by hole #8, tees are marked well and the paths are well defined. Definitely has that worn-in but cared for look and feel, which I enjoy.

- Not too busy for being a Friday afternoon. Saw a few souls but didn't have to wait to throw on any holes.

- Some nice stand-out holes here. Hole #8 must clear a sightly tight gap between two trees, but then it opens out into a giant expanse with plenty of approach room! Hole #14 was a near-400 foot downhill bomb down a pole-line to the basket. Errant shots make par difficult to achieve. #16 is a nice downhill shot that cuts hard to the right and 17 balances its previous hole with an uphill bomb to a basket guarded in the woods that can utilize either a sidearm or backhand.

- I think I played this in a little under 80 minutes, which isn't bad for never playing here before. It's definitely a quick round if the crowds are thin!
Cons: - The rocks. They're everywhere. I mean everywhere. Just big enough to bust your ankles if you're not watching yourself. Wear good footwear and be mindful of the rocks. Also, if you throw primarily with low-end plastic, either disc-up or be prepared to turn your drivers into rollers.

- With the exception of #17 and 18, there aren't many chances for wide open bombs. I think this would be a nice balance to the excellent wooded holes present. Then again, maybe you want to come here for mostly a semi-technical challenge :raises hand:

- The old DGA baskets. So many spit-outs! Some of the tees were uneven as well, but it looks like some new tees are about to be put in.

- Only one mando on the course; I forget which hole, but it was on the middle of the front nine. Would have been nice to see another mando or two just to make the shots interesting and really require pinpoint accuracy. Not sure if the road on #9 is OB, but it should be.
Other Thoughts: When this course was installed a decade and a half ago, I'm sure it was a bear! Now courses like Nockamixon make this seem a little easier--not to mention a better variety of discs! Like its Nocky neighbor, you have to thread many trees and stumble over many rocks to get to the basket here. The main difference here is that you can bring an inexperienced player and not scare him/her away! Overall, I think it's another solid course in the Lehigh Valley and is a nice complement to Allentown's Little Lehigh Parkway and Jordan Creek--especially in the sense of practicing line-shaping, throwing low, meandering doglegs, etc. I'd definitely come back!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sudberg

1    4/27/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The long, wide, and flat concrete tees were a pleasant surprise

Friendly locals - we arrived at towards the end of a one-n-done tournament, and we managed to integrate in without any problem, and got to spend some time talking about the local courses.
Cons:
With some the baskets being hard to spot (no coloured band) and some holes having multiple pin positions, a map at the tee and an indication of the current position would be nice.

Lower-grade plastic will be eaten up - my Pro-D Stratus looks as if it was gnawed on by Preston.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays across (often), down (sometimes), and up (infrequently) the ridge/slope that forms South Mountain. Despite being on a mountain, the elevation changes are not overly extreme, but the rocky terrain certainly is - wear stout, firm-soled shoes. Scattered, mid-sized hardwoods and evergreens are used to form primary (and often, alternate, so you do have decisions to make) throwing lanes of various width, from tightish to openish, but nothing extreme nor unfair. The trees are not so dense that recovery is not impossible, and the undergrowth is not existent (its rocks), so disc loss chance is minimal.

From the white (concrete) tees, from where I played, the average length is just under 260', ranging from 200'~350', so, when combined with the omnipresent trees and bending throwing lanes, makes this course about control. Shape-wise, a variety of lefts/right/straights will be needed from the tee, with moderate turns needed mid-fairway, or subtle turns needed late - at times, both.

Navigation for a first-time visitor isn't too bad with the map, as long as you pay attention to the "mixing bowl" that is 6-8.

Favourite hole: While I very much enjoyed the view across the valley from basket-3, and trying to throw the perfect S-shape down the straight ~350' #14, number-15 was my favourite, requiring a "classic" right-turn-then-hold-the-line at the midpoint of this gradually descending ~300' hole, with many a hardwood ready, willing, and available to knock the disc askew.

South Mountain is a fine course, adding to the varied options one finds in the greater Allentown area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

tight but fair

2-4    2/20/2013   3/5/2013
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A very nice mix of shots that does not favor one type of throw over another. Does not take long to get around the whole 18. No probs at all with lost plastic.
Cons: Not many. Signage could be better. A few arrows would help.
Other Thoughts: If you are hitting the lines, you can put up good number. The trees got me, but I will be back again and again to this fun and interesting track.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Technical Course

1    7/28/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: ace5353
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: South mountain is a very technical course with a great variety of shots needed. There is a good mix of hyzers and anhyzers, and I was even forced to throw a few overhand shots. One thing that i definitely liked about this course was the elevation change. My home course is very flat, so this was a great change of pace with several uphill, and downhill shots.

Even though this course was pretty heavily wooded, there was usually a pretty obvious fairway that you had to hit. But, even if you did not thread the needle, the woods were forgiving enough that it did not cost you to many strokes.

The course had very nice cement tee pads, and the baskets were in great condition which made for a better experience.

The terrain of this course is very rocky. Some people may think of this as a negative, but I like it because it forces you to be very accurate with your drive so you can have good footing for your second shot.
Cons: The navigation of this course was a little tricky at times. I was playing with a couple of locals so luckily they knew there way around. Had I not been playing with them, I would have definitely needed a course map at times.

I would like to have seen a hole map on each hole. There were posts in the ground showing you the distances(depending on the pin placement) but we did not know which pin placement it was, so we were a little confused on the hole length sometimes.

The majority of holes on this course are relatively short, and I would have liked to see a few longer ones so you could really rip some drives. I would say that 17 out of 18 holes are pretty easily deuceable if you can keep your drive out of the trees.
Other Thoughts: Overall i thought that this was a very good course, and i will definitely be back to play. It is very well maintained and had several great aspects about it. It is another one of the many fantastic courses in the Lehigh Valley!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.