Disc Golf Store
Bethlehem, PA
South Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #10
3 / 235ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Delivered on Expectations

1    1/12/2014   1/13/2014
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked this course because it was challenging without the threat of tossing a disc into a waterway. Lots of elevation with the mix of trees and rocks/boulders. This was sweet as it demanded a different approach to almost every shot. There was just enough baskets that were pretty wide open. A handful of holes that left you rip it and some holes that forced me out of my confort zone and throw a few shots I found fun and challenging. Lots of nice, new concrete tees.
Cons: Navigation was a little rough. If it wasn't for the group in front, we'd have been searching for the next hole quite a few times. Marking of short and long tees were a tad vague.
Other Thoughts: I had a preconceived idea about what I was about to face from videos and other reviews. I was pleasantly surprise. Looking forward to my next round here and plenty more after that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 South Mtn DGC

2-4    5/8/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tight technical shots through the woods and significant elevation changes are the name of the game for this decent 18-hole course.
Good variety allows for a number of different shot types-you won't get bored.
Most holes are short so you don't need a big arm to score well.
Seems like some of the tee pads have been upgraded since ive played it last and most of them are in good condition.

Cons: Lack of signage is a major con-distance is labeled for each hole but locating the basket can be a challenge. Navigation can also be difficult; i don't think there are any "next tee" signs.
Footing can be rough due to tons of rocks so its important to wear some decent shoes.
Other Thoughts: Overall a positive disc golfing experience but probably my least favorite of the Lehigh Valley courses I have played.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another tech woods pa course

5+    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: risk is almost non existant once you learn the lines you need to play to get birdies, there are some alternate tees on some holes which provide completely different lines you need to play.
Cons: you need a fair amount of luck to get real close as some of the holes are about a 50/50 even if you are on your game there are to many trees on some holes but some like it some dont.
Other Thoughts: not alot of fun for starters you will spend alot of time hacking trees or sliping on rocks if you arent wearing good shoes

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting

5+    7/1/2008   4/21/2009
Review By: justinvt
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Set in an interesting spot on South Mountain. Easy to get to. Some elevation changes and a variety of short and long holes. Usually pretty empty. Has a practice basket.
Cons: Poorly marked, its easy to get off-track. Tee boxes in rough shape. So many trees everywhere, lots of "thwack" sounds.
Other Thoughts: Expect to wear out some discs here.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 South Mtn- 3/27/09

5+    4/3/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: Wino249
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice short course with lots of elevation changes and trees.

This course requires hyzers, anhysers, forehands and back hands.

Very convenient to route 78. We stopped by for a break on a 5 hour car trip.

The locals were kind and friendly. They pointed us in the right direction and let us play through without asking. Very kind.

Hole 16 was our favorite. My 9 year old son parked his drive with forehand shot! The powerline hole was pretty cool too.
Cons: The first few holes were very rocky.

Very crowded- well used by the locals.

Very short...but hey, every course can't be long.
Other Thoughts: It was 5 minutes off of route 78 in Bethlehem. We played in 1 hour. Excellent break from a long car ride. Will play it again.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sedgley on Steroids

6/28/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As a fan of Sedgley Woods, this course goes it one better with tighter fairways, bigger elevation and some breathtaking holes. #10 is an instant favorite of mine: Water tower OB on left, blind drive over a 10-foot hump into a gully where the protected basket lies. 18 goes straight downhill under the power lines with a few thorn bushes protecting the fairway, and it's a long way down to the tucked-in basket. Red alternate tees provide variety, not just length, often attacking the hole from a completely different angle. Practice basket right by the road.
Cons: Not much length for the pros. Never found the red tee on hole 9. A few holes, like red #2 and all of #3, didn't seem to have a fairway. Very rocky and unkempt.
Other Thoughts: You're never too far from the car, which can be comforting on this rocky terrain. More gnats than I've ever seen in my life...bring spray. Would be a great winter course I'm sure, with fewer leaves to get in the way, less growth (meaning more fairway) and fewer bugs!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.