Disc Golf Store
Bethlehem, PA 
South Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #4
3 / 244ft.   3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/8/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 140  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great, short course that allows you to work on your shorter, midrange shots. If you need to work on your putter shots, short sidearm shots or midrange shots then this is the course for you.

The course is mostly wooded and offers some fun, short holes. It also does not take a long time to play. If you only have 90 minutes you can easily get through this course in that amount of time.

Since this course is short most of the holes are tighter and have a defined fairway in mind. The course designer had an idea of a shot in mind for each hole and the disc needs to be shaped accordingly. If you can hit the lines that the designer intended then you can score well here! Hole 10 is a good example of this. Even though this is a short hole the design of this hole requires a slight anhyzer or a sidearm shot to get down to the green. Even then, you really have to perfectly hit your line to have a putt.

Hole 4 has a new basket location and it is truly stunning. It is cut into a tree and elevated up in the air. Its a VERY challenging basket that drops off past the basket. If you are behind the basket and putt back to the basket and go long you could easily drop away and have a 30 foot putt coming back.

Even though this course probably doesn't have a signature hole, it does have a signature view. The view to the right of hole 3 is simply stunning. Its a view down the mountain and is truly stunning.
Cons: Here are the cons for this course. Don't take these the wrong way as they are just the things that keep the course from being a 5:

1) This is essentially par 3 golf. None of the holes are more than 360 feet so the driver can essentially be kept in the bag. There was an alternate pin on one hole that was just installed and I think that would add one par 4 but it was a two shot hole so there were no opportunities to air out a drive.

2) Navigation was very tricky in the middle of the course. I fortunately played with a local and had printed a map beforehand but even with the map I may have been confused. The confusing holes were 6 through 9 so I would recommend reading Optidisc's review of the course on how to navigate these holes.

3) Expect your plastic to take a beating. The course has some serious boulders and rocks in and around the fairways that will eat up lesser quality plastic. Also, this course is not an easy walk in the park. The rocks, boulders and elevation make for some challenging walks.

4) Even though this was a fun course with some nice holes, the course really didn't have any true signature holes. This is not a huge con for me but don't come to this course expecting any massive bomber holes or water hazards. This course has a lot of solid holes but nothing that I would call a spectacular signature hole.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great compliment to one of the best areas for disc golf in the country. While this course doesn't have the allure of Jordan, Lehigh, Nocky, etc it does offer something different and variety is a good thing. Not every course is going to be epic and not every course is going to be hard. I played this course on a lazy Sunday afternoon and actually had a nice, fun time. I was able to play the course with Allentown legend Optidisc and if you haven't had the chance to play with him then send him a message. I would highly recommend playing Nockamixon and Sellersville if you are in the area. They are good compliments to South Mountain if you want some variety.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Delivered on Expectations

1    1/12/2014   1/13/2014
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really liked this course because it was challenging without the threat of tossing a disc into a waterway. Lots of elevation with the mix of trees and rocks/boulders. This was sweet as it demanded a different approach to almost every shot. There was just enough baskets that were pretty wide open. A handful of holes that left you rip it and some holes that forced me out of my confort zone and throw a few shots I found fun and challenging. Lots of nice, new concrete tees.
Cons: Navigation was a little rough. If it wasn't for the group in front, we'd have been searching for the next hole quite a few times. Marking of short and long tees were a tad vague.
Other Thoughts: I had a preconceived idea about what I was about to face from videos and other reviews. I was pleasantly surprise. Looking forward to my next round here and plenty more after that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 South Mtn DGC

2-4    5/8/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tight technical shots through the woods and significant elevation changes are the name of the game for this decent 18-hole course.
Good variety allows for a number of different shot types-you won't get bored.
Most holes are short so you don't need a big arm to score well.
Seems like some of the tee pads have been upgraded since ive played it last and most of them are in good condition.

Cons: Lack of signage is a major con-distance is labeled for each hole but locating the basket can be a challenge. Navigation can also be difficult; i don't think there are any "next tee" signs.
Footing can be rough due to tons of rocks so its important to wear some decent shoes.
Other Thoughts: Overall a positive disc golfing experience but probably my least favorite of the Lehigh Valley courses I have played.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another tech woods pa course

5+    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: tarel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: risk is almost non existant once you learn the lines you need to play to get birdies, there are some alternate tees on some holes which provide completely different lines you need to play.
Cons: you need a fair amount of luck to get real close as some of the holes are about a 50/50 even if you are on your game there are to many trees on some holes but some like it some dont.
Other Thoughts: not alot of fun for starters you will spend alot of time hacking trees or sliping on rocks if you arent wearing good shoes

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting

5+    7/1/2008   4/21/2009
Review By: justinvt
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Set in an interesting spot on South Mountain. Easy to get to. Some elevation changes and a variety of short and long holes. Usually pretty empty. Has a practice basket.
Cons: Poorly marked, its easy to get off-track. Tee boxes in rough shape. So many trees everywhere, lots of "thwack" sounds.
Other Thoughts: Expect to wear out some discs here.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 South Mtn- 3/27/09

5+    4/3/2009   4/3/2009
Review By: Wino249
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice short course with lots of elevation changes and trees.

This course requires hyzers, anhysers, forehands and back hands.

Very convenient to route 78. We stopped by for a break on a 5 hour car trip.

The locals were kind and friendly. They pointed us in the right direction and let us play through without asking. Very kind.

Hole 16 was our favorite. My 9 year old son parked his drive with forehand shot! The powerline hole was pretty cool too.
Cons: The first few holes were very rocky.

Very crowded- well used by the locals.

Very short...but hey, every course can't be long.
Other Thoughts: It was 5 minutes off of route 78 in Bethlehem. We played in 1 hour. Excellent break from a long car ride. Will play it again.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sedgley on Steroids

6/28/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As a fan of Sedgley Woods, this course goes it one better with tighter fairways, bigger elevation and some breathtaking holes. #10 is an instant favorite of mine: Water tower OB on left, blind drive over a 10-foot hump into a gully where the protected basket lies. 18 goes straight downhill under the power lines with a few thorn bushes protecting the fairway, and it's a long way down to the tucked-in basket. Red alternate tees provide variety, not just length, often attacking the hole from a completely different angle. Practice basket right by the road.
Cons: Not much length for the pros. Never found the red tee on hole 9. A few holes, like red #2 and all of #3, didn't seem to have a fairway. Very rocky and unkempt.
Other Thoughts: You're never too far from the car, which can be comforting on this rocky terrain. More gnats than I've ever seen in my life...bring spray. Would be a great winter course I'm sure, with fewer leaves to get in the way, less growth (meaning more fairway) and fewer bugs!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.