Bethlehem, PA 
South Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #1
3 / 204ft.   3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
SoMo Lehigh Valley, PA

1    11/30/2014   12/16/2014
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging wooded course
Some interesting and fun shots
IIRC multiple tee's and basket positions
Easy to navigate to the next hole
Seating at each tee box
Cons: Trash, lots of beer cans and broken bottles
Leaves (but that's to be expected in the fall)
Stupid mando tree (yes, I missed it)
Other Thoughts: SoMo isn't very far from my and I don't know why I haven't played it sooner. Had a really good time playing here. Some really fun and challenging shots.

Only really cons I have are the amounts of beer cans and broken beer bottles on the course. We filled up a plastic bag of crushed beer cans by hole 6. I don't think this is from the Disc Golfers in the area, I think the mountain is a hangout for teens looking to party and just dump trash wherever.

The course itself is really fun. The view from the basket on 2 (I think it was hole 2) over the valley is really nice. Great use of the environment. Throughout the course I had to use just about every type of shot which made for a good challenging time. Each hole felt like you had multiple options or lanes to take.

Looking forward to playing this course with one disc for "Once around the mountain" tournament.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Wooded Course

5+    5/19/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: Smf5125
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly short technical holes that can provide a decent challenge for most.
Holes are laid out pretty well to allow quick play through, but it can be slightly confusing the first time you play
Tees are in good shape, new Pro tees are being put in slowly and there are a few holes with them already done.
Cons: Again, the layout can be difficult for new people so I recommend trying to play with someone who ha splayed there before your first time.
When it is crowded, it is very possible to have crossover on the holes
Other Thoughts: This course is the course we generally go to when we only have about 2 hours. Takes me about half an hour to get there and then two of us are able to get through it in about an hour and a half. The holes can be challenging and the new pin placement on hole 4 (literally drilled into a downed tree) is a very cool hole but a pain to get the discs out of. This is a great quick course though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Will play again and again

5+    10/15/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: wmjar
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything about this course will attract both the first time player as well as the seasoned pro. Living in an area that has a lot of top rated courses, I always come back to South Mountain. Even after rainfall, this is a course that you can play the next day without drudging through mud and flooded tees. There are so many courses that you find to be interesting from the first time playing. South Mountain may be a tough the first few times through, but once you've figured out the proper angles, it may be a place you will find yourself at again and again.
Cons: Could use a longer shot or two and maybe a par 4 or 5. There are not too many times that most players would bring out the "big arm" distance driver, but probably makes for a more interesting round.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Lehigh Valley, this should be the first course to get to. Easy to find, Good mix and, will always run into other friendly disc golf players.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

fun short coarse

5+    8/15/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: cmjar
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: no ridiclous long shots like tinicum trees are a big thing plus rocks so rollers are a no-no alot of dog leg left and right shots theres times were baskets are moved.
Cons: lot of hills making walking not fun. other than that it's great.
Other Thoughts: like some longer shots

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Nice par 3 course

1    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: SSCrash
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Was a fun course to play after hitting Nockamixon 2 days prior.
Wooded and rocky course pretty easy to navigate in most spots.
Tees are marked with short posts giving hole # and pin distance(s) -
Cons: Could use signage or colored spokes directing you to the next tee in a few spots.
Could use hole layout signage.
Other Thoughts: New framed crushed stone tee pads were in the process of being installed.
Played on a Sunday afternoon - plenty of players but no backups or waiting.
Yellow poles are the alternate pins.
Would return to play again - had a 3rd timer and 1st timer with me - both enjoyed playing there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Intermediate Course

5+    6/23/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 72  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tons of trees which make for excellent challenge. Elevation change also comes into play on many holes. Possibility of different pin positions. Requires a variety of different throws. Excellent course for 300 ft drives to weave around the trees. Most of the fairways have a very distinct flight path one should take. All Par 3 but extremely challenging due to the tight flight paths required. Just about every hole is possible birdie for Advanced players with the possibility of many Ace shots. Front 9 is very smooth play while the back 9 could easily jack your score up. Hole 12 is a well guarded basket, also hole 14 at pin position B is definitely a challenging par 3. Extremely popular course in the Lehigh Valley!
Cons: Need professional looking signs with hole#/distance to pin,par info, and flight path map to basket for all holes. Need to insert concrete tee pad for hole #7. Would like to see a trash can placed about every 6 holes. Due to the amount of people playing there, trash has been accumulating basically everywhere along the course.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course to work on distance weaves. One of my personal favorite courses. Was the first course i ever played on when i got into the sport and I always go back as much as possible. Would definitely recommend playing this course for anyone who is passing through the area! Side Note: PDGA claims that a 48-49 would be about 1000 Rating.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Foggy Paradise!

1    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: eRc_oRt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Short but technical course.
- Nice hike if you are into that part of the game.
Cons: - Holes are a bit hard to find.
- Tee pads on some holes could use some work.
Other Thoughts: Play on a rainy day because the fog adds a great atmosphere to the game.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 South Mtn

5+    4/22/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: kanobum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great terrain and diversity. You will learn to control your throws or the trees will get the better of you. The tees and baskets are all clearly identifiable. Variety of distances makes it easy.
Cons: Just watch for basket placement, they have moved slightly since last year. Some throws are narrow, so again control is the name of the game.
Other Thoughts: We enjoy the course, not much low brush, easily walkable, and great diversity.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A unique playing experience

5+    4/21/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: beast
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging holes, orange flags on top of holes to aid in locating the target. Maps are available online, and this course is very easy to navigate by your second time playing it. Benches, restrooms, and garbage cans are on the course.
Cons: Very hilly course (as it is built on a mountain) so sometimes your disc can roll far away from where you intended to throw it.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Playing in the Woods

5+    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: gwackr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Trees allow for some great and creative shots. Some of the views in the woods are just spectacular. It's a quick 18. I usually play it in about an hour and a half.
Cons: Easy to lose discs. Holes are not well marked, you can get lost easy. Trees eat your discs alive!
Other Thoughts: Love this course forever, so much fun to play every time.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.