Bethlehem, PA 
South Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #3
3 / 270ft.   3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    4/27/2013   5/8/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 420  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
The long, wide, and flat concrete tees were a pleasant surprise

Friendly locals - we arrived at towards the end of a one-n-done tournament, and we managed to integrate in without any problem, and got to spend some time talking about the local courses.
With some the baskets being hard to spot (no coloured band) and some holes having multiple pin positions, a map at the tee and an indication of the current position would be nice.

Lower-grade plastic will be eaten up - my Pro-D Stratus looks as if it was gnawed on by Preston.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays across (often), down (sometimes), and up (infrequently) the ridge/slope that forms South Mountain. Despite being on a mountain, the elevation changes are not overly extreme, but the rocky terrain certainly is - wear stout, firm-soled shoes. Scattered, mid-sized hardwoods and evergreens are used to form primary (and often, alternate, so you do have decisions to make) throwing lanes of various width, from tightish to openish, but nothing extreme nor unfair. The trees are not so dense that recovery is not impossible, and the undergrowth is not existent (its rocks), so disc loss chance is minimal.

From the white (concrete) tees, from where I played, the average length is just under 260', ranging from 200'~350', so, when combined with the omnipresent trees and bending throwing lanes, makes this course about control. Shape-wise, a variety of lefts/right/straights will be needed from the tee, with moderate turns needed mid-fairway, or subtle turns needed late - at times, both.

Navigation for a first-time visitor isn't too bad with the map, as long as you pay attention to the "mixing bowl" that is 6-8.

Favourite hole: While I very much enjoyed the view across the valley from basket-3, and trying to throw the perfect S-shape down the straight ~350' #14, number-15 was my favourite, requiring a "classic" right-turn-then-hold-the-line at the midpoint of this gradually descending ~300' hole, with many a hardwood ready, willing, and available to knock the disc askew.

South Mountain is a fine course, adding to the varied options one finds in the greater Allentown area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 tight but fair

2-4    2/20/2013   3/5/2013
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A very nice mix of shots that does not favor one type of throw over another. Does not take long to get around the whole 18. No probs at all with lost plastic.
Cons: Not many. Signage could be better. A few arrows would help.
Other Thoughts: If you are hitting the lines, you can put up good number. The trees got me, but I will be back again and again to this fun and interesting track.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Technical Course

1    7/28/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: ace5353
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: South mountain is a very technical course with a great variety of shots needed. There is a good mix of hyzers and anhyzers, and I was even forced to throw a few overhand shots. One thing that i definitely liked about this course was the elevation change. My home course is very flat, so this was a great change of pace with several uphill, and downhill shots.

Even though this course was pretty heavily wooded, there was usually a pretty obvious fairway that you had to hit. But, even if you did not thread the needle, the woods were forgiving enough that it did not cost you to many strokes.

The course had very nice cement tee pads, and the baskets were in great condition which made for a better experience.

The terrain of this course is very rocky. Some people may think of this as a negative, but I like it because it forces you to be very accurate with your drive so you can have good footing for your second shot.
Cons: The navigation of this course was a little tricky at times. I was playing with a couple of locals so luckily they knew there way around. Had I not been playing with them, I would have definitely needed a course map at times.

I would like to have seen a hole map on each hole. There were posts in the ground showing you the distances(depending on the pin placement) but we did not know which pin placement it was, so we were a little confused on the hole length sometimes.

The majority of holes on this course are relatively short, and I would have liked to see a few longer ones so you could really rip some drives. I would say that 17 out of 18 holes are pretty easily deuceable if you can keep your drive out of the trees.
Other Thoughts: Overall i thought that this was a very good course, and i will definitely be back to play. It is very well maintained and had several great aspects about it. It is another one of the many fantastic courses in the Lehigh Valley!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A great course.

5+    5/4/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: beagle757
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well tended, concrete pads work well for any weather. Challenging and varied shots, mostly through forest. Lots of replay value, the holes are each quite distinctive.
Cons: The relatively high number of trees can may you really pay for throwing even a little off target, particularly on drives. Not the best trails from tees to baskets on all of the holes.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One word: Average

2-4    4/28/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 34  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Peaceful 18 hole course. The course uses elevation very well and you have to be precise to score well here. The course can basically be played with a mid range and putter. I found the course challenging for what it is, a par 54 18-hole course. The setting is great and the park is very clean. There is also a practice basket. Cement tees are in great shape and add to the experience for sure. This is the course that introduced me to the sport, and it did enough to get me hooked. This is pretty much a disc golf only park, so encounters with people not playing the sport are rare. The rough here isn't too rough, so you won't get too scratched up with thorns if you go astray.
Cons: Rocks will destroy your cheaper plastics, so plan accordingly. Tees are clearly labeled with distances, but basket locations aren't always obvious since the tees do not show the hole layout. Most baskets can be seen from the tee, but some (Hole 2) cannot, which can make some tee shots a bit of a mystery.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course is short and is more of the technical variety. Heavily wooded with rocks galore, so bring adequate footwear. If you want to throw for distance, this course is not what you are looking for. If you want to work on your midrange and approach game, this course will appeal to you. The problem to me is: nothing stands out about South Mountain. That isn't to say it's a bad course, it just isn't that memorable. It's great if you live in the area and want to play 18 holes relatively quickly. There are far superior courses in the surrounding areas (Nockamixon, Lehigh Parkway, Jordan Creek), but this course is shorter and perfect if you are in a time crunch. Not a destination course, but definitely worth a play if you live in the area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    4/11/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes. Enjoyed holes 14-18. Beautiful area. Great cement tees.18 hole course,
Cons: Each hole was short and par can easily be made. Hole layout and par was not listed at tee.
Other Thoughts: It could be more challenging once the trees get leaves but without the leaves I felt the course was too easy to get par. It was still fun and there were a few really fun holes14-18

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Originals

1    3/11/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 66  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short yet challenging 18 hole wooded course located in a township park in the Bethlehem area. A practice basket is located by the parking lot to the left of hole #1. All tee areas have painted white tee posts with the hole number routed into the top and distance displayed underneath. Nice sized cement tee pads. Log benches exist at most holes. Navigation very simple, and course has good flow. Baskets, though older, work well. Excellent use of elevation. Provides a challenge for advanced players yet is a great course for the intermediate or rec player to learn how to hit lines and shape shots. Hole 18 is a good finishing hole.
Cons: Will not appeal to the guy who loves to air it out. Rocks will destroy your DX plastic on certain sections of the course. Alternate tee pads exist at a number of holes but are not clearly defined. There are no real signature holes here. "Next tee" signs and flight path indicators are always welcome additions to any course.
Other Thoughts: South Mountain is one of the original courses in the disc golf-rich Lehigh Valley Area of Pennsylvania. Though Jordan Creek, Little Lehigh Pkwy. and Nockamixon are all superior area courses, South Mountain is nonetheless a quality play. It is very heavy on the fun factor, for mixed in with numerous challenges also exist plenty of birdie opportunities and ace runs. The installation of cement tee pads awhile back adds immeasurably to playing here. Some of the terrain is tough here, so bring adequate footwear. Very enjoyable overall.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rhbh course

1    8/2/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Jby1999
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice flow like terrain technical lines.
Cons: Rhbh dominant course. Sure there arnt as many south paws but for such a tight course lines are very very tough for lhbh. I played some sneak shots got lucky but in all fairness 1/6 of course was designed for rhfh or lhbh oth 5/6 of course was rhbh in mind.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course I know I can improve after only
Playing once. But honestly without being able to throw lhfh or rhbh this course is a bummer. Being in a accident with a shoulder injury I can only throw lhbh and rhfh which is a fight to make any disc go left. Final thought course definitely has a line in which is meant to be thrown but very difficult for leftys.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Intermediate Course

5+    6/23/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 83  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tons of trees which make for excellent challenge. Elevation change also comes into play on many holes. Possibility of different pin positions. Requires a variety of different throws. Excellent course for 300 ft drives to weave around the trees. Most of the fairways have a very distinct flight path one should take. All Par 3 but extremely challenging due to the tight flight paths required. Just about every hole is possible birdie for Advanced players with the possibility of many Ace shots. Front 9 is very smooth play while the back 9 could easily jack your score up. Hole 12 is a well guarded basket, also hole 14 at pin position B is definitely a challenging par 3. Extremely popular course in the Lehigh Valley!
Cons: Need professional looking signs with hole#/distance to pin,par info, and flight path map to basket for all holes. Need to insert concrete tee pad for hole #7. Would like to see a trash can placed about every 6 holes. Due to the amount of people playing there, trash has been accumulating basically everywhere along the course.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course to work on distance weaves. One of my personal favorite courses. Was the first course i ever played on when i got into the sport and I always go back as much as possible. Would definitely recommend playing this course for anyone who is passing through the area! Side Note: PDGA claims that a 48-49 would be about 1000 Rating.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Foggy Paradise!

1    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: eRc_oRt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Short but technical course.
- Nice hike if you are into that part of the game.
Cons: - Holes are a bit hard to find.
- Tee pads on some holes could use some work.
Other Thoughts: Play on a rainy day because the fog adds a great atmosphere to the game.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.