Bethlehem, PA
South Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #6
3 / 236ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Sixth hole... Open fairway and right dogleg to a basket on some flat space. Not far from 8th basket.



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent

1    4/11/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes. Enjoyed holes 14-18. Beautiful area. Great cement tees.18 hole course,
Cons: Each hole was short and par can easily be made. Hole layout and par was not listed at tee.
Other Thoughts: It could be more challenging once the trees get leaves but without the leaves I felt the course was too easy to get par. It was still fun and there were a few really fun holes14-18

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Originals

1    3/11/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short yet challenging 18 hole wooded course located in a township park in the Bethlehem area. A practice basket is located by the parking lot to the left of hole #1. All tee areas have painted white tee posts with the hole number routed into the top and distance displayed underneath. Nice sized cement tee pads. Log benches exist at most holes. Navigation very simple, and course has good flow. Baskets, though older, work well. Excellent use of elevation. Provides a challenge for advanced players yet is a great course for the intermediate or rec player to learn how to hit lines and shape shots. Hole 18 is a good finishing hole.
Cons: Will not appeal to the guy who loves to air it out. Rocks will destroy your DX plastic on certain sections of the course. Alternate tee pads exist at a number of holes but are not clearly defined. There are no real signature holes here. "Next tee" signs and flight path indicators are always welcome additions to any course.
Other Thoughts: South Mountain is one of the original courses in the disc golf-rich Lehigh Valley Area of Pennsylvania. Though Jordan Creek, Little Lehigh Pkwy. and Nockamixon are all superior area courses, South Mountain is nonetheless a quality play. It is very heavy on the fun factor, for mixed in with numerous challenges also exist plenty of birdie opportunities and ace runs. The installation of cement tee pads awhile back adds immeasurably to playing here. Some of the terrain is tough here, so bring adequate footwear. Very enjoyable overall.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rhbh course

1    8/2/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Jby1999
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice flow like terrain technical lines.
Cons: Rhbh dominant course. Sure there arnt as many south paws but for such a tight course lines are very very tough for lhbh. I played some sneak shots got lucky but in all fairness 1/6 of course was designed for rhfh or lhbh oth 5/6 of course was rhbh in mind.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course I know I can improve after only
Playing once. But honestly without being able to throw lhfh or rhbh this course is a bummer. Being in a accident with a shoulder injury I can only throw lhbh and rhfh which is a fight to make any disc go left. Final thought course definitely has a line in which is meant to be thrown but very difficult for leftys.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Intermediate Course

5+    6/23/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tons of trees which make for excellent challenge. Elevation change also comes into play on many holes. Possibility of different pin positions. Requires a variety of different throws. Excellent course for 300 ft drives to weave around the trees. Most of the fairways have a very distinct flight path one should take. All Par 3 but extremely challenging due to the tight flight paths required. Just about every hole is possible birdie for Advanced players with the possibility of many Ace shots. Front 9 is very smooth play while the back 9 could easily jack your score up. Hole 12 is a well guarded basket, also hole 14 at pin position B is definitely a challenging par 3. Extremely popular course in the Lehigh Valley!
Cons: Need professional looking signs with hole#/distance to pin,par info, and flight path map to basket for all holes. Need to insert concrete tee pad for hole #7. Would like to see a trash can placed about every 6 holes. Due to the amount of people playing there, trash has been accumulating basically everywhere along the course.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course to work on distance weaves. One of my personal favorite courses. Was the first course i ever played on when i got into the sport and I always go back as much as possible. Would definitely recommend playing this course for anyone who is passing through the area! Side Note: PDGA claims that a 48-49 would be about 1000 Rating.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Foggy Paradise!

1    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: eRc_oRt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Short but technical course.
- Nice hike if you are into that part of the game.
Cons: - Holes are a bit hard to find.
- Tee pads on some holes could use some work.
Other Thoughts: Play on a rainy day because the fog adds a great atmosphere to the game.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short Holes But More Technical

1    5/29/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: DarkNemesis618
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wooded course -- great for hot days
Technical Shots adds to the challenge
Park in good shape
Cons: Signage for holes isn't all that great
No real long-distance holes
Other Thoughts: I played here on a hot day and being in the woods definitely helped keep me cool. I do wish that they had some longer holes to add to the challenge but as it was, most of the holes are really only 200-some feet. Avoiding the trees makes it a challenge but in some cases it just seemed too easy. It's not a bad course, but felt it was missing a bit

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 South Mtn DGC

2-4    5/8/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tight technical shots through the woods and significant elevation changes are the name of the game for this decent 18-hole course.
Good variety allows for a number of different shot types-you won't get bored.
Most holes are short so you don't need a big arm to score well.
Seems like some of the tee pads have been upgraded since ive played it last and most of them are in good condition.

Cons: Lack of signage is a major con-distance is labeled for each hole but locating the basket can be a challenge. Navigation can also be difficult; i don't think there are any "next tee" signs.
Footing can be rough due to tons of rocks so its important to wear some decent shoes.
Other Thoughts: Overall a positive disc golfing experience but probably my least favorite of the Lehigh Valley courses I have played.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, challenging, and fun

1    4/30/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: Mystic1027
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation changes and heavy tree coverage make for interesting shots on almost every hole.

Orange flags make baskets very easy to spot from a distance.

Shorter average distances make the course great for people with smaller arms while still providing a challenge for all.

Close to a number of other courses that are a bit longer. Makes for a great round to start off the day before moving to something else, or to wind things down.
Cons: Very rocky - Don't even think about playing this course with any discs you're afraid of having beat up. The rocks will tear base plastic to shreds.

Water/Cell towers - While not really a very big con, I'm never fond of OB that you stand absolutely no chance of getting your discs back from. It would require an insanely bad shot to put a disc behind the fences around the cell/water towers, but if you do they'll be stuck behind the barbed wire topped fences for good.

The rocks hillside to the right of the fairway on #3 seems like they would have a tendency to swallow up discs on a mildly errant throw very easily.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time in a one and done last weekend. It makes for a very nice quick round while still providing a nice challenge. The course is full of very rough terrain with lots of loose rocks and elevation changes....don't forget a pair of shoes with good ankle support! Overall, I really liked this course and hope to play again in the near future. I just wish it was a bit closer than the hour and 45 minutes it takes for me to get to it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This course never gets old...

5+    6/11/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: Theli420
Played: 55  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - This course has many elevation changes and a variety of holes. From #17 straight uphill through a grassy field to #4 downhill a smidgeon right, you get a good workout. My personal favorite being a lefty is #3. With a LHFH, ace run is possible from whites.

- A "Thinking person's course". You have to potentially invent some shot types if you are left with a wayward drive and awful lie. There are trees of all shapes and sizes abundant, along with drop-offs in elevation, large rocks, etc. Also, you will be required to think which lane you want to throw through, as the strokes can pile up if you plant yourself behind a cluster of trees.
- Multiple tees. If you want to crank up the challenge factor, try the reds.

- Although the fairways are tight, there are not many thorn bushes or gnarly nonsense should you go astray. The fairway width is definently fair. There is good potential to score low if you navigate the lanes that are carved out very well.

- As the title suggests, this course never gets old. Despite no water and little OB hazards (parking lot, two fenced off areas), there is enough variety with elevation changes, hyzer shots, anhyzer shots all required, some sudden drop-offs too if your disc doesn't go where you want it to.

- Very little non-discgolf encounters, besides with your occassional deer. This is for us, and us only (and the local Lehigh University ROTC on occassion does drills up there on Saturdays). Also, very well-maintaned! Hats off to the folks that take care of the course.

- Cement tees now installed. LVDC, as always, did a great job.
Cons: - Rocky terrain. I do NOT recommend attempting this course in flip flops. Wear something that will support your ankles! I find that tree stumps sometimes try to grab you, too.

- Not for big arms. I am have been playing approximately 3 months now. And, I can ace run a few a holes. But, as I mentioned in the pros, the width of the fairway is fair and there are quite a few obstacles to keep you in check.
Other Thoughts: Sitting on South Mountain in Bethlehem, PA, conveniently off of Route 378, this course has withstood the test of time and evolution of technology. I love this course and will continue to play as I am nearby. I recommend you bring a map for the first time or if you are playing the Red tees. Once you play a few times, you will be able to sleepwalk it. If anyone is ever up for a round there or is traveling through and needs a tour guide to tag along, message me! (NOTE: I have only been playing 3 months. Please treat the review as such. Thanks!) Even if I develop a longer throw (am about 250-300'), this course will still challenge me with its technical play. This is a good warm-up to Jordan or Little Lehigh to get your brain functioning, without destroying your arm.

UPDATE 8/3/10 -> Played on 8/2 on the cement tees. Absolutely amazing! I gave the course another 1/2 disc as they make the experience that much better.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 South Mtn

5+    4/22/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: kanobum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great terrain and diversity. You will learn to control your throws or the trees will get the better of you. The tees and baskets are all clearly identifiable. Variety of distances makes it easy.
Cons: Just watch for basket placement, they have moved slightly since last year. Some throws are narrow, so again control is the name of the game.
Other Thoughts: We enjoy the course, not much low brush, easily walkable, and great diversity.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.