Bethlehem, PA 
South Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #15
3 / 307ft.   3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Rocks More Trees Blocks Your Threes

5+    3/7/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No matter that I have played this course countless times I still take a tree spanking everytime! Such short fairways but trees and hills are just everywhere. Then rocks prevent good run ups so you have to be able to stand and throw off balance often. A technical course to test your game and patience. There are lanes but they are so tight that hitting them and landing without hitting wood is a rare feat. This may sound like a con, but it is the perfect course to perfect your accuracy. There are a few holes I really enjoy playing here:
Hole #3 is a nice drive across the side of a mountain to a clearing where the wind often whips your disc into trouble just as it clears the woods. The views from this basket are amongst the best in all of disc golf...you can see for miles from there....you may be tempted to throw from here! Many have unloaded a beaten driver from this spot!
#8 long tee has a field goal set of trees to score through into a relatively open field and then a protected basket-one of the few fair holes on the course that requires a good drive, room to land, and then a well protected pin that if played right yields a good score.
#16 a tight drive down the mountain. Very fun if you manage to keep disc straight and watch it flow down the hill to the basket area nestled below.
#17 The only unobstructed drive on course...just 190 feet but up a steep grassy hill to a woodline with a huge telephone pole placed sideways to block rollers and require you to strong arm your drive up there...one really well thought out and fun hole..especially after all those trees.
#14 & 18 are both simple tosses down a power line but it is still fun if you can keep it straight. A very big disc golf scene from the locals to the nearby Lehigh University students. Primal Expressions a head type shop at 311 west Broad in town sells a wide variety of plastic. Some alternate tees/basket positions. Plenty of Info here and bathrooms available.
Cons: Trees really can mentally ruin you here. Often I have found myself unaware that there is another tree behind that tree I just played around..Thwack! You have to walk around and really scope it all out. The natural/gravel tees are never in good condition. You don't need big run ups but the ruts and the mud really detract from being able to drive here. There is a confusing area of the course from holes 6-9. Be sure to go left from basket 5 then play 6 but be careful to not play the basket for hole 8. then backtrack a bit to tee for hole 7. throw past bathrooms and again go left after basket and play hole 8, but don't throw at basket for hole 6 and then cross back over fairway for hole 7 up gravel road and play over road for hole 9. Just a sloppy area for newcomers and veterans alike. Not a fan of playing over roads when so much nature is around and the flow literally will have you walking in circles. Holes 14 and 18 are similiar and holes 12 and 15 are similiar. Seems plenty of room in this park to lay out some new holes or alternate fairways to keep it fresh.
Other Thoughts: This park is very close to my apartment. Maybe less than 2 miles. If I was disciplined enough to play it everyday I think my game would greatly improve. I cannot complain too much about the conditions of the course here because I know theres only a few guys who do the work and they are the same crew who work on Jordan Creek and some of the other Lehigh Valley Masterpieces. I would recommend playing this course, it often gets overlooked due to the world class courses nearby..but it is still far superior to many of the courses I have played. I have never broken par depite it's short length.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Short Course

7/29/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: jcavanaugh
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: While this is a short course, it is very technical with the tight fairways leaving little room for error. All the elevation changes and rough (rocky) trails make sure your tired at the end of this course. Will definetly play this course more in the future. Easy and quick to get to from south of the allentown and bethlehem area. Alternate tees also help keep the course fresh. Amazing over look view by 3rd pin
Cons: A little short and rocky trails

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sedgley on Steroids

6/28/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As a fan of Sedgley Woods, this course goes it one better with tighter fairways, bigger elevation and some breathtaking holes. #10 is an instant favorite of mine: Water tower OB on left, blind drive over a 10-foot hump into a gully where the protected basket lies. 18 goes straight downhill under the power lines with a few thorn bushes protecting the fairway, and it's a long way down to the tucked-in basket. Red alternate tees provide variety, not just length, often attacking the hole from a completely different angle. Practice basket right by the road.
Cons: Not much length for the pros. Never found the red tee on hole 9. A few holes, like red #2 and all of #3, didn't seem to have a fairway. Very rocky and unkempt.
Other Thoughts: You're never too far from the car, which can be comforting on this rocky terrain. More gnats than I've ever seen in my life...bring spray. Would be a great winter course I'm sure, with fewer leaves to get in the way, less growth (meaning more fairway) and fewer bugs!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your old plastic and a spare set of ankles

10/6/2007   3/6/2008
Review By: I Didn't Like It
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful views and lots of elevation. Tight and very wooded. The friendly people who play here.
Cons: Rock outcroppings on first 5 or 6 holes. Awful tee pads. Poor signage makes it hard to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to bring old plastic to this course. No matter what plastic you bring, it will not be the same after the front 9. Each time your disc hits the rocks, I mean the ground, you've got a new scuff or gouge in your disc. If you've got new plastic you're trying to make unstable, this is the definitely the course to bring it to.

It's not a bad idea to bring a spare set of ankles either as your ankles will be tested the whole round.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Home Tree Home...

5+    11/21/2014   5/29/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 70  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2014
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 Holes with dual concrete tees (red and white layouts). Good mix of left and right turning holes with elevation on nearly every hole. Mostly short, well wooded holes with some defined fairways. Good drives will yield lots of birdie runs. New signs point the way to the next tee box, and new flags are stationed above the baskets for visibility. Not overwhelming for beginners, and still challenging for those looking to score well. White tees have been repainted and stand out well.
Cons: Summer bugs as per usual for LV courses. The first five holes have a lot more rocks than the rest of the course, so watch your step. In the fall, leaves can pile up, so watch your throws, and watch your footing early in the morning for icy or slippery spots this time of year (obviously not a problem when it's warm).
Other Thoughts: With the improvements lately, I felt compelled to update this review, and the LVDC here did a great job. The new signs are well done and excellent. There are also great tourneys here year round, doubles every Friday evening, and helpful locals. While some of the changes are nice and definitely add to the challenges, some things were better off the way they were for the longest time.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.