Bethlehem, PA 
South Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #16
3 / 283ft.   3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A great course.

5+    5/4/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: beagle757
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well tended, concrete pads work well for any weather. Challenging and varied shots, mostly through forest. Lots of replay value, the holes are each quite distinctive.
Cons: The relatively high number of trees can may you really pay for throwing even a little off target, particularly on drives. Not the best trails from tees to baskets on all of the holes.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One word: Average

2-4    4/28/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Peaceful 18 hole course. The course uses elevation very well and you have to be precise to score well here. The course can basically be played with a mid range and putter. I found the course challenging for what it is, a par 54 18-hole course. The setting is great and the park is very clean. There is also a practice basket. Cement tees are in great shape and add to the experience for sure. This is the course that introduced me to the sport, and it did enough to get me hooked. This is pretty much a disc golf only park, so encounters with people not playing the sport are rare. The rough here isn't too rough, so you won't get too scratched up with thorns if you go astray.
Cons: Rocks will destroy your cheaper plastics, so plan accordingly. Tees are clearly labeled with distances, but basket locations aren't always obvious since the tees do not show the hole layout. Most baskets can be seen from the tee, but some (Hole 2) cannot, which can make some tee shots a bit of a mystery.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course is short and is more of the technical variety. Heavily wooded with rocks galore, so bring adequate footwear. If you want to throw for distance, this course is not what you are looking for. If you want to work on your midrange and approach game, this course will appeal to you. The problem to me is: nothing stands out about South Mountain. That isn't to say it's a bad course, it just isn't that memorable. It's great if you live in the area and want to play 18 holes relatively quickly. There are far superior courses in the surrounding areas (Nockamixon, Lehigh Parkway, Jordan Creek), but this course is shorter and perfect if you are in a time crunch. Not a destination course, but definitely worth a play if you live in the area.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    4/11/2012   4/11/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes. Enjoyed holes 14-18. Beautiful area. Great cement tees.18 hole course,
Cons: Each hole was short and par can easily be made. Hole layout and par was not listed at tee.
Other Thoughts: It could be more challenging once the trees get leaves but without the leaves I felt the course was too easy to get par. It was still fun and there were a few really fun holes14-18

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Originals

1    3/11/2012   3/25/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short yet challenging 18 hole wooded course located in a township park in the Bethlehem area. A practice basket is located by the parking lot to the left of hole #1. All tee areas have painted white tee posts with the hole number routed into the top and distance displayed underneath. Nice sized cement tee pads. Log benches exist at most holes. Navigation very simple, and course has good flow. Baskets, though older, work well. Excellent use of elevation. Provides a challenge for advanced players yet is a great course for the intermediate or rec player to learn how to hit lines and shape shots. Hole 18 is a good finishing hole.
Cons: Will not appeal to the guy who loves to air it out. Rocks will destroy your DX plastic on certain sections of the course. Alternate tee pads exist at a number of holes but are not clearly defined. There are no real signature holes here. "Next tee" signs and flight path indicators are always welcome additions to any course.
Other Thoughts: South Mountain is one of the original courses in the disc golf-rich Lehigh Valley Area of Pennsylvania. Though Jordan Creek, Little Lehigh Pkwy. and Nockamixon are all superior area courses, South Mountain is nonetheless a quality play. It is very heavy on the fun factor, for mixed in with numerous challenges also exist plenty of birdie opportunities and ace runs. The installation of cement tee pads awhile back adds immeasurably to playing here. Some of the terrain is tough here, so bring adequate footwear. Very enjoyable overall.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rhbh course

1    8/2/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Jby1999
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice flow like terrain technical lines.
Cons: Rhbh dominant course. Sure there arnt as many south paws but for such a tight course lines are very very tough for lhbh. I played some sneak shots got lucky but in all fairness 1/6 of course was designed for rhfh or lhbh oth 5/6 of course was rhbh in mind.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course I know I can improve after only
Playing once. But honestly without being able to throw lhfh or rhbh this course is a bummer. Being in a accident with a shoulder injury I can only throw lhbh and rhfh which is a fight to make any disc go left. Final thought course definitely has a line in which is meant to be thrown but very difficult for leftys.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Intermediate Course

5+    6/23/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tons of trees which make for excellent challenge. Elevation change also comes into play on many holes. Possibility of different pin positions. Requires a variety of different throws. Excellent course for 300 ft drives to weave around the trees. Most of the fairways have a very distinct flight path one should take. All Par 3 but extremely challenging due to the tight flight paths required. Just about every hole is possible birdie for Advanced players with the possibility of many Ace shots. Front 9 is very smooth play while the back 9 could easily jack your score up. Hole 12 is a well guarded basket, also hole 14 at pin position B is definitely a challenging par 3. Extremely popular course in the Lehigh Valley!
Cons: Need professional looking signs with hole#/distance to pin,par info, and flight path map to basket for all holes. Need to insert concrete tee pad for hole #7. Would like to see a trash can placed about every 6 holes. Due to the amount of people playing there, trash has been accumulating basically everywhere along the course.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course to work on distance weaves. One of my personal favorite courses. Was the first course i ever played on when i got into the sport and I always go back as much as possible. Would definitely recommend playing this course for anyone who is passing through the area! Side Note: PDGA claims that a 48-49 would be about 1000 Rating.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Foggy Paradise!

1    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: eRc_oRt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Short but technical course.
- Nice hike if you are into that part of the game.
Cons: - Holes are a bit hard to find.
- Tee pads on some holes could use some work.
Other Thoughts: Play on a rainy day because the fog adds a great atmosphere to the game.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short Holes But More Technical

1    5/29/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: DarkNemesis618
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wooded course -- great for hot days
Technical Shots adds to the challenge
Park in good shape
Cons: Signage for holes isn't all that great
No real long-distance holes
Other Thoughts: I played here on a hot day and being in the woods definitely helped keep me cool. I do wish that they had some longer holes to add to the challenge but as it was, most of the holes are really only 200-some feet. Avoiding the trees makes it a challenge but in some cases it just seemed too easy. It's not a bad course, but felt it was missing a bit

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 South Mtn DGC

2-4    5/8/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tight technical shots through the woods and significant elevation changes are the name of the game for this decent 18-hole course.
Good variety allows for a number of different shot types-you won't get bored.
Most holes are short so you don't need a big arm to score well.
Seems like some of the tee pads have been upgraded since ive played it last and most of them are in good condition.

Cons: Lack of signage is a major con-distance is labeled for each hole but locating the basket can be a challenge. Navigation can also be difficult; i don't think there are any "next tee" signs.
Footing can be rough due to tons of rocks so its important to wear some decent shoes.
Other Thoughts: Overall a positive disc golfing experience but probably my least favorite of the Lehigh Valley courses I have played.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, challenging, and fun

1    4/30/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: Mystic1027
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation changes and heavy tree coverage make for interesting shots on almost every hole.

Orange flags make baskets very easy to spot from a distance.

Shorter average distances make the course great for people with smaller arms while still providing a challenge for all.

Close to a number of other courses that are a bit longer. Makes for a great round to start off the day before moving to something else, or to wind things down.
Cons: Very rocky - Don't even think about playing this course with any discs you're afraid of having beat up. The rocks will tear base plastic to shreds.

Water/Cell towers - While not really a very big con, I'm never fond of OB that you stand absolutely no chance of getting your discs back from. It would require an insanely bad shot to put a disc behind the fences around the cell/water towers, but if you do they'll be stuck behind the barbed wire topped fences for good.

The rocks hillside to the right of the fairway on #3 seems like they would have a tendency to swallow up discs on a mildly errant throw very easily.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time in a one and done last weekend. It makes for a very nice quick round while still providing a nice challenge. The course is full of very rough terrain with lots of loose rocks and elevation changes....don't forget a pair of shoes with good ankle support! Overall, I really liked this course and hope to play again in the near future. I just wish it was a bit closer than the hour and 45 minutes it takes for me to get to it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.