Disc Golf Store
Haltom City, TX
North Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #14 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good Middle of the Road Course

2-4    7/1/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: cbrd
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - This course is not as difficult as some of the DFW courses, but is still a fun course with many mandos to keep it interesting.
- There are multiple tee boxes and pin locations on this course, which also helps to keep it fresh.
Cons: - The hole layouts themselves can become quite monotonous. It feels a bit like playing the same hole over and over again sometimes.
Other Thoughts: A good beginner or tune-up course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

fun course but bring a map

5+    10/2/2012   4/24/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of trees, a creek, and elevation in play
-design makes good use of a limited amount of space
-nice dual concrete teepads, bridges over the creek
-creek is shallow and there is little rough, not likely to lose discs
Cons: -very difficult to navigate. no signs, no numbers on the baskets or tees
-course is pretty simple even though there are a lot of trees, not very challenging for the advanced player
-blue baskets are not the easiest to see, neon yellow, orange, or pink would be awesome
-no stand out holes or signature shots
Other Thoughts: After years of construction woes, this park is finally finished and looking great. The flow is unintuitive but the layout manages to maximize the use of a small amount of land. That said, the course doesn't feel crowded and there not any big issues of safety since most of the holes that are close together have lots of trees separating them. The trees are not real dense and have little to no undergrowth but there are enough of them to force lines and block errant shots.

The course is pretty short from the short pads but it is great for beginners. There is a better variety of distances, lines, and challenges from the long pads. The creek offers an extra challenge but will not eat plastic since it's only inches deep and a couple feet across at it's widest. A handful of holes make use of the elevation on the north end of the park.

Overall, this course offers a fun round, especially for the beginner or intermediate player, but only if you know where you are going. Make sure to bring a map or you might be frustrated. The obstacles make for a good score spread if you're playing competitively. Worth driving to play if you live in the metroplex and I wouldn't be disappointed if it were my home course. I think the rating has unfairly suffered for the navigation issues and previous issues with construction in the park.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Construction DONE!!!

5+    2/23/2012   10/2/2011
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -multiple turain
--Up and downhill shots
--Wooded and open field shots
-brand new tee pads
--most holes have two tee pads
-signs marking what holes you are at
-nice bridges
Cons: -extremely easy to get lost in pile of baskets
-when it rains it is extremely muddy
-bridges are not really located in the best spots
-grass was really long
Other Thoughts: The grass is really grown up right now and so your disc could get a lost (especially for my yellow sidewinder). Bridges not really located in the best spots but it does look like they are going to be putting in more. Also a funny note, there are some fun dogs up on the hill that freak out when you bring a dog to the park. This park is great for dogs as well.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Drilling Is Gone

1    9/16/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: Paulie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 baskets.
Easy to walk terrain.
Challenging tree obstacles.
No disc drowning water. The ditch is retrieval friendly- not deep and the water is clear.
Many baskets have 2 tee pads now and some of the longs are l-o-n-g.
Ample parking throughout the park.
Cons: Construction on I-820 is ongoing but not intrusive.
There is a pipeline station that isn't really an obstacle but sometimes crew trucks are parked near it.
The grass is coming back but it's still quite muddy at times where it hasn't.
Other Thoughts: I had fun. There are some long drives and some places where you have to play through the trees. Nice change ups from one tee to another.

Update 1-5-12
Had to give this another disc! With the new tee pads in place, many baskets now having two tees, bridges and a general clean up- this course is well worth being my home course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Under Rated Gem

5+    8/1/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: prestonkuke21
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great combination of hole lengths, tight and open holes as well as righty and lefty holes. This course requires so many different types of shots. You have to thread the needle on on hole and then next you get to air it out with a wide open 500' drive that still demands accuracy to even par. Now that the oil company is out the course is starting to look a lot better.
Cons: Next to no signage.
The dirt tees get rutty and rocky. Caution is required.
Hard to navigate for newcommers.
Other Thoughts: This course seems to be very underated as far as it's difficulty. It seems that the city is starting to rebuild the course. Hopefully there will be some new tee pads put in as well as some signs.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pin 11 sound wall

5+    3/1/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: 1hardHucker
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The oil company moved from #13; I believe, which only leaves the sound wall on #11, as j0atz stated. The creek by #17 has gotten a lot more clear, since they left. This makes it easy to spot a lost disc on those go for shots that fly too long. Good course for beginners with premium plastic, because the trees will tear up the cheaper plastic. The terrain and vegetation allows for easy spotting of wildly thrown discs.
Cons: Still another drilling company working diligently and blocking # 11. The other company has left; however, they make-shift road remains in a few holes. They removed several trees along the hi-way, so now it feels less secluded.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very unique holes, i.e. 11 with the basket on the platform. Loved it!
-Very rewarding if you are an accurate thrower.
-You don't have to be a bomber to get a decent score. Focuses more on accuracy than distance. But there are a few air out holes (13 and 15)
-Bathrooms on site
-Trashcans
-A few ace opportunities. But there are no easy aces here. You will have to be accurate to get one.
-Uses the available elevation changes very well.
Cons: -Not all boxes are cement. Some are dirt. Not really a con, but I can see them getting pretty nasty in wet weather
-Construction. Looks like a company is laying a pipeline right down the middle of the course. Hole 4 was missing its basket. Ended up playing object golf to a tree where the basket used to be.
-Parking lot is pretty rough for lowered vehicles.
-Mismatched baskets. I guess this isn't horrible, I just like dealing with 1 type of basket per course. At least it has baskets!
-Traffic on 820. It can get pretty dead stop there in the mornings and afternoons.
-If you have tree-itis, you will have a pretty elevated score.
-Fairly difficult to navigate your first time. Bring someone that knows it or get a map.
-Some boxes were not marked.
Other Thoughts: Love the layout of this course. It will force you to turn the disc both ways to be successful here. If you have a sidearm, it is indeed helpful. I really like the uniqueness of North Park. The basket on hole 11 is elevated about 4 feet and is in a tree. It is a risky putt cause if you miss, you are well beyond what you would usually miss by. That and the tree guards the basket from 2 sides. But it is AWESOME!

Currently, there seems to be some construction going on that really interferes with play on a few holes, #4 and #12 in particular. #4 was missing its basket due to this and #12 did not have its teepad any longer.

All in all, I would say if you come to DFW, put it on the list, but not at the top. But when this pipeline is done and the course is fixed, I would definitely move it into the top 5 in DFW.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 May want to follow the people in front of you

2-4    3/19/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ***UPDATE 11/8/10***
I love playing this course. Once you know how it is navigated its a lot of fun to play. The company who put in the gas lines paid for all brand new baskets to be put in, painted to point you to the next whole direction as well.

I find most people who don't like this course, can't play the course as well as it looks like you should be. Super technical, and tests your upshot skills.

Yes not all cement tees, but some things you just got to deal with.



Fast and short course. Not a crazy amount of walking. Challenging forest.
Cons: If you play during business hours there are most likely construction workers around. They're gone during the weekend.

Difficult to navigate. Not any real direction on where the next tee is. Had to use photos from this website to find the next tee's the first time I played it. When there are markers, they're pretty run down.

Other Thoughts: Decent, but overall I think the course needs a make over.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better as a 9

5+    11/30/1899   3/13/2010
Review By: Chain_Bang
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a decent course. I personally preferred it as the 9 hole course it originally opened as. The newer 9 is confusing and seems rushed together. Lots of good shots, and never too busy as other nearby courses can be. There are both long shots and short, precise shots.
Cons: Confusing layout on some parts of the course and rudimentary navigation help, such as arrows spray painted on trees. A couple shots across wide open fields will wreak havoc on windy days. Tiny creek which is just a small
Other Thoughts: original 9 had a good layout and plenty of fun shots. The added on portion is ok but parked cars sometimes prevent play on a couple holes. One basket is even elevated in a tree which adds a degree of difficulty and is a nice touch. Not very highly trafficed and well maintained.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, some decent holes, especially when mowed

1    5/13/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 209  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 16.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots, nice use of limited elevation available. Well-placed teepads. Ample parking. Very shady, which is perfect for TX summer.
Cons: Dirt teeboxes aren't great. Signage could use some more detail. You need a map -- or better yet, locals -- to navigate the course for the first time.

Grass can get really long between mowing -- up to your knees -- which kills all skips and low shots and encourages bugs.
Other Thoughts: A couple of locals showed me the course on a recent visit, and I enjoyed it. Not a stand-out course, but not bad. Most of the grass was long which really reduced the fun factor. I'd give this course a 3.5 if freshly mowed, and a 3.0 otherwise. High "fun" factor, and the shade really is awesome for a Texas day. Creek is slow-flowing and does encourage a lot of bugs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.