Haltom City, TX 
North Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #14 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Don't Let the Trees Beat You!

2-4    2/3/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course! Short walking distance between tees. Multiple trees make strategy more challenging. Concrete tee boxes instead of dirt which is a plus. Overall I think the city or organization is doing their best to maintain this park in decent shape.
Cons: Baskets are painted blue and very hard to see. If it was hot pink or orange, it would be a lot better. Also there are no "Next Tee" navigation.
Other Thoughts: Instead of putting the Disc Golf map near Hole 10, the city needs to put it near Hole 1 so people can review before playing. What were they thinking putting the map information on Hole 10?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice, Short Technical Course

5+    1/19/2011   1/20/2011
Review By: j0atz
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging ourse with a lot of varying shots for Right AND Left handers.

- Parking is usually easy, close to hole 1 and 18 ends next to the parking.
- General layout is good but hard to navigate without a map or a local. Once you have played it a few times, its easy to get it down.
- There are many routes you can take on most of the holes, there are a lot of trees which make for interested routes.
- Mostly technical. There are a couple short hyzer shots, but most of the holes you are trying to navigate through trees.
- Mandos that are in place are obvious and appropriate.
- Teepads are in good condition and placed well.
- Baskets vary in age and brand...but really not that big of a deal. Mostly DGA.

Overall, this a great, fast to play technical course that will tremendously help your game. Low ceilings and a great variety of routes.
Cons: The park is currently being invaded by a pipeline company which affects play on a couple holes. HOWEVER, they city claims that they are getting a lot of money from this and will contribute to fixing up the course afterwards!
*Update-Pipeline stuff has been finished for a long time and the course is completed..quite a few holes with 2 pad positions even.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I finally came back

2-4    4/2/2013   11/8/2010
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Close to highway (North Loop 820), lots of well placed trees, bushes, creeks and pin positions. Great new baskets and tee-pads. (at least they seem new) This course uses the available obstacles and terrain really well. if you can navigate the tree channels then you'll have some great chances for ace-runs.
Cons: Not a lot of long drives at this course, though the few that there are seem unique and well thought out. Pretty cramped as far as the layout and it was a bit hard to navigate around as the course crosses over itself a few times. Bring the course map in the Links/Files section. It helped to keep my bearings.
Other Thoughts: When I first played this course it was under a lot of construction from the oil drilling operation and I gave it a terrible review, hated it. With all of the updates and improvements, this course has quickly become one of my favorites in DFW. You got to go try it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant supprise

1    1/12/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 of the holes have tee pads.
good use of the land
Several good shots
Good use of the trees forcing a few lefty shots.
Most of the holes have fairways. (no throw and pray holes)
Cons: Needs tee signs, although I was able to find my way round pretty good. (I had a map)
9 dirt tee pads. (I understand cement pads are being worked on)
A few of the holes are a little too close to each other forcing mando's
Mix of baskets in mixed condition.
I do not like the elevated basket on #11

Other Thoughts: I was not expecting a course as good as this when I drove out there. I actually can't wait to get back and play this course.

I nearly aced #11 bouncing off the basket then tree and landing on the wood base. Good thing I didn't have to putt at that crap.

I was playing fast, but played the course pretty good, I shot a 46 with a few missed putts.

What I liked about this course is the amount of trees it has on the course. We don't get much of that in Texas. I also like the fact there is no rough.

There were a lot of people out there and they all offered to let me play though. That was very nice.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 North Park Rundown!!!

5+    11/26/2009   1/10/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete t-pads for most holes. They're working on getting the others
-Different pin positions for most holes now with new positions.
-Terrain Varety (trees, small creek, open holes, elevation changes
-Not a very populated course, never really see many people out there
-Windy day course, being that the trees shelter you pretty good from it on most holes
-Numerous trash cans making the course pretty clean
-Nice park and surrounding neighborhood
-Easy to find
-Close to Arcadia #2, making for a good double course day ( Pizza Garden in between courses on Denton Highway...look it up and check it out!!! All you can eat pizza and salad for only about 4 bucks)
Cons: -Not all the t-pads are there
-Can be one of the worst to play on a wet day, get very muddy.
-Cops do patrol this one, so keep a heads up d.golfers
-Traffic on the highway can be a biatch
-Very difficult to navigate if you don't have a map...you will get lost, so be map-in-hand
Other Thoughts: Nothing really bad to say about this course outside the normal irritations of the game.

Fun course to play makin good used of a creek (winds through most of the frnt nine and some of the back) and trees (low ceilings, tunnel shots both left and right doglegging) Good finesse course and driving accuracy practice.

Challenging, but not to hard. Two thumbs up from me. Worth a drive if you have the time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Awesome

5+    11/20/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Something Different
Easy Birdies, But Not Gimmies

Cons: Lack of Tee Boxes
Baskets Mix Between Disccatchers and Mach
Police Patrol
Other Thoughts: I really like the basket that is literally in the trees, mounted on top of a wooden box. Truly unique.

A tip on finding you way to the next hole:
A single bar on the bottom basket is painted red, that will point you to in the direction of the next tee pad.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very UNDERrated!

1    9/25/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am a big fan of this course even though I was about to wak off after the second hole because of navigation issues. With that being said, this course is very cool and has just about every shot that you can use. There are some short tight holes mixed in with some open boomers as well. You will need your short technical game and then you can also use your "field" time also. The elevation is used pretty well here and makes for some fun shots!. Nothing really long so the course is pretty beginner friendly and there isnt much of a place to lose plastic. The mix of shots is fun because I think it evens out the playing field between the newer and more advanced player. There are little mable inserts in some of the tees that are pretty cool when you get them. Lots of shade which is always a bonus in Texas. The elevated basket on 11 is cool change from most courses.
Cons: The navigation is HORRIBLE for first timers. There are no numbers on the baskets and at one time I threw to the wrong basket not knowing any better. There are no tee signs so you have to look for patches of dirt or little postage stamp concrete pads where there is concrete. The places where there is concrete the pads are small and are exposed out of the ground leading to a step up. The grass is tall so it pretty much takes aways any rollers. The course also cris crosses a couple times which doent help either.
Other Thoughts: With all of those negatives this course is still better then the other one in the area because there are more "memorable" holes along with other bonuses. I feel that this course could be rated alot higher if there was a little work done on it and feel that the rating is low for the quality that is here. This course is way better then just a "good" rating and deserves more then that.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best but...

5+    8/1/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: meatbones132
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of trees make this challenging.

I'd say that every hole here is put together very well considering the amount of room that was available. I still have yet to see a raised platform that the basket lays on like hole #11.

Good course for the mid summer heat b/c 75% of the course is shaded and you're less than a mile from a Race Trac to get more water if needed. Restrooms on hand at the baseball fields right next to the course and if you're lucky it'll be game night and you can hit the concession stands.
Cons: If you haven't played here before and you have nobody with you that has... you're screwed. It is NOT easy to navigate your first couple of times, and that is a direct result of not having a lot of room to work with.
Other Thoughts: It isn't a course that everyone will love but it is ten minutes from my house. Shaded, clean, lots of elevation changes, and I just enjoy it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

5+    1/5/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some fun holes to be thrown for sure.Unique pin position on 11 but Pease park in Austin number 5 hole pulls it off better.

Highlights of the round include 1,2,5,11,15 and 18.

1.Long hole through a labyrinth of trees.Beware of the parking lot!Great time to pull of that monster roller between the trees :)

2.Sidearm Ace run for righties and hyzer for the lefties.This hole is just fun and a good break from the monster first hole.

5.Sharp hyzer time! Blind Ace run here.Fun as hell to see how much hyzer you can put on your drive.

11.Watch for barking dogs,LOL.starts up on a hill with no break from the trees.A low anhyzer shot works best here.Basket built into the trunk of a tree elavated about 6 feet.

15.Grip it and rip it time! You can either start out way right and hyzer it in.or you can throw it left (backdoor).You don't want to be short middle as the pin is behind a huge clump of trees.

18.Ace run with creek running down the left side.I remember this was #1 when the course opened.No nifty lines needed just throw it right at it!
Cons: Crappy tees.With concrete tees this course would be a lot better.

poor signage and hard to find holes for first-timers.Spray paint on the baskets help but are visually unappealing.

Grass is not mowed often enough half the time I played the grass was way to tall in the fairways.

Some of the holes just feel thrown together and some of the tees you just go "whah?" .You'll know what I mean (think #7)

Other Thoughts: Good course but I'd rather play Arcadia if I was in the area.Will give you a decent challenge and is by no means a waste of time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Choppin' wood!!!

1    8/14/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great technical course lots of mature trees and thread the needle shots. I must say after my improvement on Arcadia Park this course with its trees seemingly everywhere really humbled me!!! But at the same time the course was really fun to play and very challenging to this newbie!!!
Cons: Course was not well marked, glad I had some vets with me to point me in the right direction. Also some more strategically located garbage cans wouldn't hurt. The dirt tee boxes were'nt great either and I can imagine this course being a nightmare with any kind of precipitation...
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable course, my second round was much improved over my first. so any new players playing this course don't get discouraged, play it again!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.