Haltom City, TX 
North Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #18 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

1    10/5/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 31  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of shot selection/types
- Course is in good condition, easy to navigate through
- Lots of variety, long/short, elevation, tight/open
- Raised baskets are a great touch
- OBs add to the challenge
- Plenty of parking and trash cans
Cons: - Somewhat difficult to navigate the first time
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth stopping at if you're in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pleasently suprised

1    5/3/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: Len Averyt
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course. shielded from the wind and sunlight for most of the course. The shade will make it nice in the hot summer.
Cons: It is easy to shoot at the wrong basket in several spots as has been discussed before, but I played with someone that was familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: Hole 10 needed to be mowed, tall grass steals any chance for skips. I usually steer away from intercity courses but I was very happy with this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun all around course

5+    1/20/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: PSD Ryan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the course with the exception of 13-15 is well shaded, which is great in the summer
Plenty of trees in the fairway. It's not the most difficult course, but you can use the trees to play with different lines.
The creek is clear and shallow, so you're not likely to lose a disc. Part or all of it is often dry in the summer.
Great use of limited space and elevation.
Concrete tees, and two on most holes.
Good place to bring friends who are new and still have a good time.
Cons: Some tee boxes are a little short for a good run up.
Not very intuitive layout. Hard to know where all the tees and pins are the first few times. Bring a map.
Need better numbers on the baskets. The first few times I played I threw at 18s pin on hole 2.
Blue baskets are hard to see even when you know where they are. I'm considering going in at night and painting them neon orange.
Other Thoughts: I was going to list litter as a con, but there are trash cans every few holes. It's not the courses fault, it's lazy players. Most of us carry bags...throw your empties in your bag until you get to a can!

For the area, it's one of the more wooded courses. Great for working your technical game and still has a few holes for long open drives.

Overall, it's a nice quiet secluded dg only area good for beginners and still fun though a bit short for advanced players. I live a mile away and am happy to call it my home course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

North Park

1    9/2/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good Baskets
-Good Teepads
-Well thought out pin placements
-Great course design
-Multiple tee & pin positions
-Well Marked
-Easy to navigate
-Well manicured park
-Uses variety of shots
Cons:
-Some of the teepads were short
-Busy
-Lack of parking (especially parking safe from discs)
-Lacked the pizazz required for a 4+ rating
Other Thoughts: This is a really great course. A course has to be really outstanding to me to receive over a 4, North Park is a great design - but lacks the individuality required for a 4+ rating.

That being said, the elevated basket on 11 in the tree was definitely a signature hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/9/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park and course that is well taken care of. A lot of the holes have long and short teepads as well as as long and short pin placement. Baskets are really nice and course requires a lot of different shots. Some holes require a big arm and some require your finesse game to get around or thru trees.
Cons: The flow of the course was a little bit of a drag and included some added walking to try and find the next hole. Also it was a bummer to see trash out on the course. The trash wasn't too bad but they could use more trash cans to prevent it.
Other Thoughts: If your close its a must play, about a 20 min drive for me and I'm glad I made it, it was worth the drive. Would play again for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Little Gem

2-4    3/9/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The design of the course was phenominal, given the amount of actual space that the park has and the length of the holes. There seems to be no wasred space in the park. The 'creek' comes in to play on many holes adding risk/reward aspects to a good number of holes. But since it is only 2-3 feet wide and very shallow there is very little risk to losing a disc. Good use of the minimal elevation change. The fence was beginning to go in on a few holes to mark fairways which gave a very nice aesthetic and makes you aware of the OB from the tee. The holes were dug for more trees to be planted which is much needed in a few locations.
Cons: A few pin and tee placements on a couple holes make for a potential hazard ( 16 pin / 17 tee & 4 pin / 5 tee). However trees were in the process of being planted to help protect the tee area. The only other con that stood out was a few of the tee boxes could have been larger ( hole 2 seemed very small).
Other Thoughts: Overall this course, for me, is worth the trip to the other side of the metroplex. The course seems to be neatly kept and having two tees for most holes adds to the whole experience and creates a much larger course than what you'd expect.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: danielminnich64
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course has improved greatly since the oil company left. Maps on both ends, easy to follow, Challenging, nice baskets. Love all the trees!
Cons: Frustrating because all my discs become tree magnets when I play here, but that is only because of my inabilities.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 In the trees!

1    6/13/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: Highball
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course had 2 great maps at each end! One greeted you as you dove in so there was no guess work. I printed off the map on line so I was one step ahead. The course was easy to follow and did not need much guess work. Great baskets and new tee pads. There was a nice little creek but for the most part it was dried up. The trees make you work here! I got a kick out of the basket that was mounted in a mini tree stand.
Cons: Not much to fuss about here. I noticed that some of the baskets were missing. I think that is because they cost a bit and they move them from the "A" to the "B" spot to make the course interesting.
Other Thoughts: I wish I was not 1/2 way across the country from this course. I'd love to play this one a lot more!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long time coming!

5+    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: cosmic womb
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots, and now two sets of boxes on most holes (where there was room). Shade in dead of summer.
Other Thoughts: This park has been put to the test by floods tornadoes and two gas companies laying pipe. The improvements have been a long time coming and worth the wait. Course map will soon be up at hole #1 and #9 to help with navigation as well as other directional assistance.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fortress

5+    8/19/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: stedily420
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This coure has a little something for everyone. Short accurate shots and long drive shots. Its mostly shaded, which is great for these hot Texas summers. The course is very well maintained, mostly mowed and clean. Not alot of action here or at least not like some of the other courses in the area, but has some of the most challenging and interesting holes.
Cons: Mixed tee's, some are concrete some are dirt,
no multiple pin positions, no signage for navigation.
I only put these things here because they are what other people would consider cons. These things do not make the experience for me. I can very easily look past these small things for such a fun course.
Other Thoughts: This is an up and coming course that i WILL rate a five when all the upgrades are done. I would recomend this course over almost all others, it is a must play!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.