Haltom City, TX 
North Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #12 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 390ft.   4 / 515ft.   3 / 515ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Pleasently suprised

1    5/3/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: Len Averyt
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: Very nice course. shielded from the wind and sunlight for most of the course. The shade will make it nice in the hot summer.
Cons: It is easy to shoot at the wrong basket in several spots as has been discussed before, but I played with someone that was familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: Hole 10 needed to be mowed, tall grass steals any chance for skips. I usually steer away from intercity courses but I was very happy with this one.

Worth the trip!

2-4    4/16/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It would be hard to lose a disc here, unless you throw into someone's back yard.

-Generally well shielded from wind.

-Nice concrete tee pads and multiple tees.

-The elevated basket makes for a nice signature hole.

-Nice balance of open vs. wooded shots.

-Good elevation for a DFW course!
Cons: -Right off of 820, it's very noisy.

- The layout is weird and convoluted (but I'm glad they made a DG course with this abandoned gas well land.) It is easy to shoot at the wrong basket in several spots. Take a cellphone pic of the course map at the start!
Other Thoughts: When you come out here, make time to also check out Arcadia #2, which is 5-8 mins away. This makes for a great Saturday afternoon!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun all around course

5+    1/20/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: PSD Ryan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the course with the exception of 13-15 is well shaded, which is great in the summer
Plenty of trees in the fairway. It's not the most difficult course, but you can use the trees to play with different lines.
The creek is clear and shallow, so you're not likely to lose a disc. Part or all of it is often dry in the summer.
Great use of limited space and elevation.
Concrete tees, and two on most holes.
Good place to bring friends who are new and still have a good time.
Cons: Some tee boxes are a little short for a good run up.
Not very intuitive layout. Hard to know where all the tees and pins are the first few times. Bring a map.
Need better numbers on the baskets. The first few times I played I threw at 18s pin on hole 2.
Blue baskets are hard to see even when you know where they are. I'm considering going in at night and painting them neon orange.
Other Thoughts: I was going to list litter as a con, but there are trash cans every few holes. It's not the courses fault, it's lazy players. Most of us carry bags...throw your empties in your bag until you get to a can!

For the area, it's one of the more wooded courses. Great for working your technical game and still has a few holes for long open drives.

Overall, it's a nice quiet secluded dg only area good for beginners and still fun though a bit short for advanced players. I live a mile away and am happy to call it my home course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

North Park

1    9/2/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good Baskets
-Good Teepads
-Well thought out pin placements
-Great course design
-Multiple tee & pin positions
-Well Marked
-Easy to navigate
-Well manicured park
-Uses variety of shots
Cons:
-Some of the teepads were short
-Busy
-Lack of parking (especially parking safe from discs)
-Lacked the pizazz required for a 4+ rating
Other Thoughts: This is a really great course. A course has to be really outstanding to me to receive over a 4, North Park is a great design - but lacks the individuality required for a 4+ rating.

That being said, the elevated basket on 11 in the tree was definitely a signature hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Middle of the Road Course

2-4    7/1/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: cbrd
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - This course is not as difficult as some of the DFW courses, but is still a fun course with many mandos to keep it interesting.
- There are multiple tee boxes and pin locations on this course, which also helps to keep it fresh.
Cons: - The hole layouts themselves can become quite monotonous. It feels a bit like playing the same hole over and over again sometimes.
Other Thoughts: A good beginner or tune-up course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/9/2013   7/9/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park and course that is well taken care of. A lot of the holes have long and short teepads as well as as long and short pin placement. Baskets are really nice and course requires a lot of different shots. Some holes require a big arm and some require your finesse game to get around or thru trees.
Cons: The flow of the course was a little bit of a drag and included some added walking to try and find the next hole. Also it was a bummer to see trash out on the course. The trash wasn't too bad but they could use more trash cans to prevent it.
Other Thoughts: If your close its a must play, about a 20 min drive for me and I'm glad I made it, it was worth the drive. Would play again for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

fun course but bring a map

5+    10/2/2012   4/24/2013
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of trees, a creek, and elevation in play
-design makes good use of a limited amount of space
-nice dual concrete teepads, bridges over the creek
-creek is shallow and there is little rough, not likely to lose discs
Cons: -very difficult to navigate. no signs, no numbers on the baskets or tees
-course is pretty simple even though there are a lot of trees, not very challenging for the advanced player
-blue baskets are not the easiest to see, neon yellow, orange, or pink would be awesome
-no stand out holes or signature shots
Other Thoughts: After years of construction woes, this park is finally finished and looking great. The flow is unintuitive but the layout manages to maximize the use of a small amount of land. That said, the course doesn't feel crowded and there not any big issues of safety since most of the holes that are close together have lots of trees separating them. The trees are not real dense and have little to no undergrowth but there are enough of them to force lines and block errant shots.

The course is pretty short from the short pads but it is great for beginners. There is a better variety of distances, lines, and challenges from the long pads. The creek offers an extra challenge but will not eat plastic since it's only inches deep and a couple feet across at it's widest. A handful of holes make use of the elevation on the north end of the park.

Overall, this course offers a fun round, especially for the beginner or intermediate player, but only if you know where you are going. Make sure to bring a map or you might be frustrated. The obstacles make for a good score spread if you're playing competitively. Worth driving to play if you live in the metroplex and I wouldn't be disappointed if it were my home course. I think the rating has unfairly suffered for the navigation issues and previous issues with construction in the park.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Little Gem

2-4    3/9/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The design of the course was phenominal, given the amount of actual space that the park has and the length of the holes. There seems to be no wasred space in the park. The 'creek' comes in to play on many holes adding risk/reward aspects to a good number of holes. But since it is only 2-3 feet wide and very shallow there is very little risk to losing a disc. Good use of the minimal elevation change. The fence was beginning to go in on a few holes to mark fairways which gave a very nice aesthetic and makes you aware of the OB from the tee. The holes were dug for more trees to be planted which is much needed in a few locations.
Cons: A few pin and tee placements on a couple holes make for a potential hazard ( 16 pin / 17 tee & 4 pin / 5 tee). However trees were in the process of being planted to help protect the tee area. The only other con that stood out was a few of the tee boxes could have been larger ( hole 2 seemed very small).
Other Thoughts: Overall this course, for me, is worth the trip to the other side of the metroplex. The course seems to be neatly kept and having two tees for most holes adds to the whole experience and creates a much larger course than what you'd expect.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't Let the Trees Beat You!

2-4    2/3/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course! Short walking distance between tees. Multiple trees make strategy more challenging. Concrete tee boxes instead of dirt which is a plus. Overall I think the city or organization is doing their best to maintain this park in decent shape.
Cons: Baskets are painted blue and very hard to see. If it was hot pink or orange, it would be a lot better. Also there are no "Next Tee" navigation.
Other Thoughts: Instead of putting the Disc Golf map near Hole 10, the city needs to put it near Hole 1 so people can review before playing. What were they thinking putting the map information on Hole 10?

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: bmast
Played: 54  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun variety of shots, semi challengin, good use of what elevation is available. Improvements that have been made are very nice (stonewalls and fencing)
Cons: Baskets look nice but unless you putt with lots of loft and very soft expect spit outs like crazy. Better signage would be nice as well with the course being as compact as it is.
Other Thoughts: Baskets suck

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.