Haltom City, TX 
North Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #12 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 390ft.   4 / 515ft.   3 / 515ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Little Gem

2-4    3/9/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 44  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The design of the course was phenominal, given the amount of actual space that the park has and the length of the holes. There seems to be no wasred space in the park. The 'creek' comes in to play on many holes adding risk/reward aspects to a good number of holes. But since it is only 2-3 feet wide and very shallow there is very little risk to losing a disc. Good use of the minimal elevation change. The fence was beginning to go in on a few holes to mark fairways which gave a very nice aesthetic and makes you aware of the OB from the tee. The holes were dug for more trees to be planted which is much needed in a few locations.
Cons: A few pin and tee placements on a couple holes make for a potential hazard ( 16 pin / 17 tee & 4 pin / 5 tee). However trees were in the process of being planted to help protect the tee area. The only other con that stood out was a few of the tee boxes could have been larger ( hole 2 seemed very small).
Other Thoughts: Overall this course, for me, is worth the trip to the other side of the metroplex. The course seems to be neatly kept and having two tees for most holes adds to the whole experience and creates a much larger course than what you'd expect.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Let the Trees Beat You!

2-4    2/3/2013   2/7/2013
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course! Short walking distance between tees. Multiple trees make strategy more challenging. Concrete tee boxes instead of dirt which is a plus. Overall I think the city or organization is doing their best to maintain this park in decent shape.
Cons: Baskets are painted blue and very hard to see. If it was hot pink or orange, it would be a lot better. Also there are no "Next Tee" navigation.
Other Thoughts: Instead of putting the Disc Golf map near Hole 10, the city needs to put it near Hole 1 so people can review before playing. What were they thinking putting the map information on Hole 10?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: bmast
Played: 54  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun variety of shots, semi challengin, good use of what elevation is available. Improvements that have been made are very nice (stonewalls and fencing)
Cons: Baskets look nice but unless you putt with lots of loft and very soft expect spit outs like crazy. Better signage would be nice as well with the course being as compact as it is.
Other Thoughts: Baskets suck

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: danielminnich64
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course has improved greatly since the oil company left. Maps on both ends, easy to follow, Challenging, nice baskets. Love all the trees!
Cons: Frustrating because all my discs become tree magnets when I play here, but that is only because of my inabilities.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not very exciting

1    4/12/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf exclusive area with limited interference from other park uses. A handful of holes have some elevation in play, with a hill on one side of the course. One hole offers an opportunity to throw a nice long downhill drive, and a couple others have some tricky elevation changes to consider.

There are some reasonably technical lines to hit here, with trees in play on most holes. There is an ok mix of potential shots here, though many holes have multiple routes that allow players to stick to a hyzer for much of the course. The dual tees offer a nice mix of hole lengths and some slightly different lines. The alternate pin positions also make for some good variety and replayability. The brand new baskets and concrete tees are in great shape, and the park was clean and free of trash or vandalism.
Cons: With no signage and baskets without numbers, it can be a real pain to follow the layout here. I had trouble even with the course map, without a map or guide it would be basically impossible to play all the holes in the correct order. There are several spots where multiple baskets are in view, and again the lack of signage makes things a bit confusing.

The course gets a bit repetitive, many of the short tees are similar lengths, and with scattered trees and no rough things start to feel pretty similar. The course isn't all that challenging, all the technical shots are reachable, and the longer holes are open enough to not really provide much of a test.

When I played, half of the course was knee high grass. From the pictures it seems like that was a temporary thing so I didn't ding the rating for it, but it took away from the fun factor on that particular day.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have a great time here, especially from the shorter tees. The distances are reasonable, and there are trees to avoid but no punitive rough or really tight lines. More experienced players will find this course a bit repetitive, and even the longer set of tees isn't going to test a full range of disc golf skills.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 In the trees!

1    6/13/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: Highball
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course had 2 great maps at each end! One greeted you as you dove in so there was no guess work. I printed off the map on line so I was one step ahead. The course was easy to follow and did not need much guess work. Great baskets and new tee pads. There was a nice little creek but for the most part it was dried up. The trees make you work here! I got a kick out of the basket that was mounted in a mini tree stand.
Cons: Not much to fuss about here. I noticed that some of the baskets were missing. I think that is because they cost a bit and they move them from the "A" to the "B" spot to make the course interesting.
Other Thoughts: I wish I was not 1/2 way across the country from this course. I'd love to play this one a lot more!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 North Park

2-4    3/31/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: ColtonV
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2013
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses to throw. There are 2 tee boxes for every whole, many trees and tricky shots, a cool elevated basket, and much more. There is shade from the trees in many spots and it's not ever TOO crowded (at least when I've been there).

Around whole 15, there is a shot from the top of a hill in which you shoot across a valley into some trees. This hole has a circle tee box. Awesome!
Cons: Only a few things.
Sometimes the grass is too high so you might be looking for your discs for a long while.
It's right next to some baseball fields so on holes 1,2, and 18 be careful not to hit a car!
Other Thoughts: All around fun. I had a blast.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long time coming!

5+    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: cosmic womb
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots, and now two sets of boxes on most holes (where there was room). Shade in dead of summer.
Other Thoughts: This park has been put to the test by floods tornadoes and two gas companies laying pipe. The improvements have been a long time coming and worth the wait. Course map will soon be up at hole #1 and #9 to help with navigation as well as other directional assistance.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Construction DONE!!!

5+    2/23/2012   10/2/2011
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -multiple turain
--Up and downhill shots
--Wooded and open field shots
-brand new tee pads
--most holes have two tee pads
-signs marking what holes you are at
-nice bridges
Cons: -extremely easy to get lost in pile of baskets
-when it rains it is extremely muddy
-bridges are not really located in the best spots
-grass was really long
Other Thoughts: The grass is really grown up right now and so your disc could get a lost (especially for my yellow sidewinder). Bridges not really located in the best spots but it does look like they are going to be putting in more. Also a funny note, there are some fun dogs up on the hill that freak out when you bring a dog to the park. This park is great for dogs as well.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Drilling Is Gone

1    9/16/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: Paulie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 baskets.
Easy to walk terrain.
Challenging tree obstacles.
No disc drowning water. The ditch is retrieval friendly- not deep and the water is clear.
Many baskets have 2 tee pads now and some of the longs are l-o-n-g.
Ample parking throughout the park.
Cons: Construction on I-820 is ongoing but not intrusive.
There is a pipeline station that isn't really an obstacle but sometimes crew trucks are parked near it.
The grass is coming back but it's still quite muddy at times where it hasn't.
Other Thoughts: I had fun. There are some long drives and some places where you have to play through the trees. Nice change ups from one tee to another.

Update 1-5-12
Had to give this another disc! With the new tee pads in place, many baskets now having two tees, bridges and a general clean up- this course is well worth being my home course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.