Haltom City, TX 
North Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #6 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very UNDERrated!

1    9/25/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am a big fan of this course even though I was about to wak off after the second hole because of navigation issues. With that being said, this course is very cool and has just about every shot that you can use. There are some short tight holes mixed in with some open boomers as well. You will need your short technical game and then you can also use your "field" time also. The elevation is used pretty well here and makes for some fun shots!. Nothing really long so the course is pretty beginner friendly and there isnt much of a place to lose plastic. The mix of shots is fun because I think it evens out the playing field between the newer and more advanced player. There are little mable inserts in some of the tees that are pretty cool when you get them. Lots of shade which is always a bonus in Texas. The elevated basket on 11 is cool change from most courses.
Cons: The navigation is HORRIBLE for first timers. There are no numbers on the baskets and at one time I threw to the wrong basket not knowing any better. There are no tee signs so you have to look for patches of dirt or little postage stamp concrete pads where there is concrete. The places where there is concrete the pads are small and are exposed out of the ground leading to a step up. The grass is tall so it pretty much takes aways any rollers. The course also cris crosses a couple times which doent help either.
Other Thoughts: With all of those negatives this course is still better then the other one in the area because there are more "memorable" holes along with other bonuses. I feel that this course could be rated alot higher if there was a little work done on it and feel that the rating is low for the quality that is here. This course is way better then just a "good" rating and deserves more then that.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best but...

5+    8/1/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: meatbones132
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of trees make this challenging.

I'd say that every hole here is put together very well considering the amount of room that was available. I still have yet to see a raised platform that the basket lays on like hole #11.

Good course for the mid summer heat b/c 75% of the course is shaded and you're less than a mile from a Race Trac to get more water if needed. Restrooms on hand at the baseball fields right next to the course and if you're lucky it'll be game night and you can hit the concession stands.
Cons: If you haven't played here before and you have nobody with you that has... you're screwed. It is NOT easy to navigate your first couple of times, and that is a direct result of not having a lot of room to work with.
Other Thoughts: It isn't a course that everyone will love but it is ten minutes from my house. Shaded, clean, lots of elevation changes, and I just enjoy it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 North Park

1    7/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: churchofbob
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Course seems relatively technical. Tee Height Variations are added bonuses on some longer holes. The short holes are relatively easy to drive.
Cons: Hard to Locate holes. Isnt Really Grommed Correctly, Looks as though it was pretty much a Guess as to where to place pins in relation to Tee Boxes. Some holes Werent Really THought out.
Other Thoughts: THis is a good course to Practice Techniques for avoiding Trees, More specifically a good course for practicing the determination and execution of pre-idealized flight paths. I personally found the amount of trees a beating

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Better Courses in the area

1    7/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Control
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Decent amount of technical shots
Cons: Tees are hard to find, you better hope you find a local to guide you.
Other Thoughts: I recommend visiting this course now and again, but I recommend choosing a different course for regular visits

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

5+    1/5/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some fun holes to be thrown for sure.Unique pin position on 11 but Pease park in Austin number 5 hole pulls it off better.

Highlights of the round include 1,2,5,11,15 and 18.

1.Long hole through a labyrinth of trees.Beware of the parking lot!Great time to pull of that monster roller between the trees :)

2.Sidearm Ace run for righties and hyzer for the lefties.This hole is just fun and a good break from the monster first hole.

5.Sharp hyzer time! Blind Ace run here.Fun as hell to see how much hyzer you can put on your drive.

11.Watch for barking dogs,LOL.starts up on a hill with no break from the trees.A low anhyzer shot works best here.Basket built into the trunk of a tree elavated about 6 feet.

15.Grip it and rip it time! You can either start out way right and hyzer it in.or you can throw it left (backdoor).You don't want to be short middle as the pin is behind a huge clump of trees.

18.Ace run with creek running down the left side.I remember this was #1 when the course opened.No nifty lines needed just throw it right at it!
Cons: Crappy tees.With concrete tees this course would be a lot better.

poor signage and hard to find holes for first-timers.Spray paint on the baskets help but are visually unappealing.

Grass is not mowed often enough half the time I played the grass was way to tall in the fairways.

Some of the holes just feel thrown together and some of the tees you just go "whah?" .You'll know what I mean (think #7)

Other Thoughts: Good course but I'd rather play Arcadia if I was in the area.Will give you a decent challenge and is by no means a waste of time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, some decent holes, especially when mowed

1    5/13/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots, nice use of limited elevation available. Well-placed teepads. Ample parking. Very shady, which is perfect for TX summer.
Cons: Dirt teeboxes aren't great. Signage could use some more detail. You need a map -- or better yet, locals -- to navigate the course for the first time.

Grass can get really long between mowing -- up to your knees -- which kills all skips and low shots and encourages bugs.
Other Thoughts: A couple of locals showed me the course on a recent visit, and I enjoyed it. Not a stand-out course, but not bad. Most of the grass was long which really reduced the fun factor. I'd give this course a 3.5 if freshly mowed, and a 3.0 otherwise. High "fun" factor, and the shade really is awesome for a Texas day. Creek is slow-flowing and does encourage a lot of bugs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/11/2009   1/11/2009
Review By: riqr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: lots of shade, play moved quickly, good mix of shots between long and short and requiring movement around a lot of trees.
Cons: not very spread out. every time i was driving i felt like someone was throwing right at me. fairways are very close to one another and it's not surprising to see a shot coming at you from the other direction. too cramped.
Other Thoughts: i've played several courses in the DFW area. i'm sure the locals are happy with this course, but i prefer a course that is more spread out. i would recommend Z-Boaz, Veterans, Bear Creek or Cedar Hill (both) over this one. didn't like it much at all.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course

5+    1/4/2014   11/28/2008
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has really come along way since it first opened. This course is a somewhat a fun and challenging course from beginning to end. There is a really good variety of short, long, left and right shots for both, left and right handed players. There are plenty of mando's spread throughout course, to keep the game challenging and not to mention, plenty of shot variety needed to score well on most holes. There are plenty of trees to make this course challenging and also provides shade in the hot summers. There are to sets of concrete tee pads on almost all holes, except for a couple of holes.There is also multiple pin locations on each hole to add challenge. There is signs on most holes providing distance to each pin. There is also a course map at hole 1 and after hole 9, to keep you heading in the right direction. There are plenty of trash cans and some benches on selected holes for use. There is plenty of parking throughout park for your convenience. And last but not least, there is a practice basket provided at hole 1, so you can get warmed up for your round.
Cons: On really nice days, you might want to get there early because it can get really crowded!
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is very fun and is a must play if you are in the area. It can get very crowded on really nice days, which is a good sign, saying this is a very fun course to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Choppin' wood!!!

1    8/14/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great technical course lots of mature trees and thread the needle shots. I must say after my improvement on Arcadia Park this course with its trees seemingly everywhere really humbled me!!! But at the same time the course was really fun to play and very challenging to this newbie!!!
Cons: Course was not well marked, glad I had some vets with me to point me in the right direction. Also some more strategically located garbage cans wouldn't hurt. The dirt tee boxes were'nt great either and I can imagine this course being a nightmare with any kind of precipitation...
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable course, my second round was much improved over my first. so any new players playing this course don't get discouraged, play it again!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great shadey course

8/9/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: YoDesigner
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a very good course to play during those hot sunny days in Texas. It is a very well shaded course. Only a few holes require you to play in the open sun. The majority of the course is played under a nice canopy of trees. Most holes require you to thread the needle to get good shots. The entire course is well maintained, mowed and no major thick brush to walk through or hide discs. I did not see any poison ivy.
A practice basket is provided by the #1 tee box near a picnic table.
An elevated/platform basket is on hole #11.
Cons: Really not too much to complain about here. I have only played this course twice and that is my major complaint thus far. If I lived closer I would definity play this more often. If you like to really unleash strong power throws, you wont get a lot of open shots like that. More trash cans should probably be provide towards the end of the course. A large collection of trash by the #16 tee box sign was unsightly.
Other Thoughts: While playing this last time, I was informed of a couple of mandatory's. These areas are spray painted on trees with orange paint. I will upload a picture.
This course is good for beginners and advanced players.

Thanks for reading and please rate my comment.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.