Haltom City, TX 
North Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #4 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 420ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course

5+    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: danielminnich64
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course has improved greatly since the oil company left. Maps on both ends, easy to follow, Challenging, nice baskets. Love all the trees!
Cons: Frustrating because all my discs become tree magnets when I play here, but that is only because of my inabilities.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not very exciting

1    4/12/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf exclusive area with limited interference from other park uses. A handful of holes have some elevation in play, with a hill on one side of the course. One hole offers an opportunity to throw a nice long downhill drive, and a couple others have some tricky elevation changes to consider.

There are some reasonably technical lines to hit here, with trees in play on most holes. There is an ok mix of potential shots here, though many holes have multiple routes that allow players to stick to a hyzer for much of the course. The dual tees offer a nice mix of hole lengths and some slightly different lines. The alternate pin positions also make for some good variety and replayability. The brand new baskets and concrete tees are in great shape, and the park was clean and free of trash or vandalism.
Cons: With no signage and baskets without numbers, it can be a real pain to follow the layout here. I had trouble even with the course map, without a map or guide it would be basically impossible to play all the holes in the correct order. There are several spots where multiple baskets are in view, and again the lack of signage makes things a bit confusing.

The course gets a bit repetitive, many of the short tees are similar lengths, and with scattered trees and no rough things start to feel pretty similar. The course isn't all that challenging, all the technical shots are reachable, and the longer holes are open enough to not really provide much of a test.

When I played, half of the course was knee high grass. From the pictures it seems like that was a temporary thing so I didn't ding the rating for it, but it took away from the fun factor on that particular day.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have a great time here, especially from the shorter tees. The distances are reasonable, and there are trees to avoid but no punitive rough or really tight lines. More experienced players will find this course a bit repetitive, and even the longer set of tees isn't going to test a full range of disc golf skills.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 In the trees!

1    6/13/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: Highball
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course had 2 great maps at each end! One greeted you as you dove in so there was no guess work. I printed off the map on line so I was one step ahead. The course was easy to follow and did not need much guess work. Great baskets and new tee pads. There was a nice little creek but for the most part it was dried up. The trees make you work here! I got a kick out of the basket that was mounted in a mini tree stand.
Cons: Not much to fuss about here. I noticed that some of the baskets were missing. I think that is because they cost a bit and they move them from the "A" to the "B" spot to make the course interesting.
Other Thoughts: I wish I was not 1/2 way across the country from this course. I'd love to play this one a lot more!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

North Park

2-4    3/31/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: ColtonV
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2013
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of my favorite courses to throw. There are 2 tee boxes for every whole, many trees and tricky shots, a cool elevated basket, and much more. There is shade from the trees in many spots and it's not ever TOO crowded (at least when I've been there).

Around whole 15, there is a shot from the top of a hill in which you shoot across a valley into some trees. This hole has a circle tee box. Awesome!
Cons: Only a few things.
Sometimes the grass is too high so you might be looking for your discs for a long while.
It's right next to some baseball fields so on holes 1,2, and 18 be careful not to hit a car!
Other Thoughts: All around fun. I had a blast.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long time coming!

5+    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: cosmic womb
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots, and now two sets of boxes on most holes (where there was room). Shade in dead of summer.
Other Thoughts: This park has been put to the test by floods tornadoes and two gas companies laying pipe. The improvements have been a long time coming and worth the wait. Course map will soon be up at hole #1 and #9 to help with navigation as well as other directional assistance.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Construction DONE!!!

5+    2/23/2012   10/2/2011
Review By: aggiegreg
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -multiple turain
--Up and downhill shots
--Wooded and open field shots
-brand new tee pads
--most holes have two tee pads
-signs marking what holes you are at
-nice bridges
Cons: -extremely easy to get lost in pile of baskets
-when it rains it is extremely muddy
-bridges are not really located in the best spots
-grass was really long
Other Thoughts: The grass is really grown up right now and so your disc could get a lost (especially for my yellow sidewinder). Bridges not really located in the best spots but it does look like they are going to be putting in more. Also a funny note, there are some fun dogs up on the hill that freak out when you bring a dog to the park. This park is great for dogs as well.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Drilling Is Gone

1    9/16/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: Paulie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 baskets.
Easy to walk terrain.
Challenging tree obstacles.
No disc drowning water. The ditch is retrieval friendly- not deep and the water is clear.
Many baskets have 2 tee pads now and some of the longs are l-o-n-g.
Ample parking throughout the park.
Cons: Construction on I-820 is ongoing but not intrusive.
There is a pipeline station that isn't really an obstacle but sometimes crew trucks are parked near it.
The grass is coming back but it's still quite muddy at times where it hasn't.
Other Thoughts: I had fun. There are some long drives and some places where you have to play through the trees. Nice change ups from one tee to another.

Update 1-5-12
Had to give this another disc! With the new tee pads in place, many baskets now having two tees, bridges and a general clean up- this course is well worth being my home course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Under Rated Gem

5+    8/1/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: prestonkuke21
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great combination of hole lengths, tight and open holes as well as righty and lefty holes. This course requires so many different types of shots. You have to thread the needle on on hole and then next you get to air it out with a wide open 500' drive that still demands accuracy to even par. Now that the oil company is out the course is starting to look a lot better.
Cons: Next to no signage.
The dirt tees get rutty and rocky. Caution is required.
Hard to navigate for newcommers.
Other Thoughts: This course seems to be very underated as far as it's difficulty. It seems that the city is starting to rebuild the course. Hopefully there will be some new tee pads put in as well as some signs.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wait until after the construction is completed.

1    3/5/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: TaylorW10
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good location near my house. Lots of different shots through the trees. Not crowded.
Cons: Had a map and still couldn't find where to tee off from. On several holes just found the basket and then walked around until I found a decent place to throw from. Hole 1 has a nice tee box with a granite marker in the concrete. They need to do that for every hole. I'm sure it will be a better experience when the construction workers leave.
Other Thoughts: I'll try back again after the rehab of the park. Hopefully they will have some better tee pads and better signs to point you towards the next tee pad.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pin 11 sound wall

5+    3/1/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: 1hardHucker
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The oil company moved from #13; I believe, which only leaves the sound wall on #11, as j0atz stated. The creek by #17 has gotten a lot more clear, since they left. This makes it easy to spot a lost disc on those go for shots that fly too long. Good course for beginners with premium plastic, because the trees will tear up the cheaper plastic. The terrain and vegetation allows for easy spotting of wildly thrown discs.
Cons: Still another drilling company working diligently and blocking # 11. The other company has left; however, they make-shift road remains in a few holes. They removed several trees along the hi-way, so now it feels less secluded.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.