Disc Golf Store
Haltom City, TX 
North Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #4 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 420ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pin 11 sound wall

5+    3/1/2011   3/3/2011
Review By: 1hardHucker
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The oil company moved from #13; I believe, which only leaves the sound wall on #11, as j0atz stated. The creek by #17 has gotten a lot more clear, since they left. This makes it easy to spot a lost disc on those go for shots that fly too long. Good course for beginners with premium plastic, because the trees will tear up the cheaper plastic. The terrain and vegetation allows for easy spotting of wildly thrown discs.
Cons: Still another drilling company working diligently and blocking # 11. The other company has left; however, they make-shift road remains in a few holes. They removed several trees along the hi-way, so now it feels less secluded.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice, Short Technical Course

5+    1/19/2011   1/20/2011
Review By: j0atz
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging ourse with a lot of varying shots for Right AND Left handers.

- Parking is usually easy, close to hole 1 and 18 ends next to the parking.
- General layout is good but hard to navigate without a map or a local. Once you have played it a few times, its easy to get it down.
- There are many routes you can take on most of the holes, there are a lot of trees which make for interested routes.
- Mostly technical. There are a couple short hyzer shots, but most of the holes you are trying to navigate through trees.
- Mandos that are in place are obvious and appropriate.
- Teepads are in good condition and placed well.
- Baskets vary in age and brand...but really not that big of a deal. Mostly DGA.

Overall, this a great, fast to play technical course that will tremendously help your game. Low ceilings and a great variety of routes.
Cons: The park is currently being invaded by a pipeline company which affects play on a couple holes. HOWEVER, they city claims that they are getting a lot of money from this and will contribute to fixing up the course afterwards!
*Update-Pipeline stuff has been finished for a long time and the course is completed..quite a few holes with 2 pad positions even.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I finally came back

2-4    4/2/2013   11/8/2010
Review By: sheamous
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Close to highway (North Loop 820), lots of well placed trees, bushes, creeks and pin positions. Great new baskets and tee-pads. (at least they seem new) This course uses the available obstacles and terrain really well. if you can navigate the tree channels then you'll have some great chances for ace-runs.
Cons: Not a lot of long drives at this course, though the few that there are seem unique and well thought out. Pretty cramped as far as the layout and it was a bit hard to navigate around as the course crosses over itself a few times. Bring the course map in the Links/Files section. It helped to keep my bearings.
Other Thoughts: When I first played this course it was under a lot of construction from the oil drilling operation and I gave it a terrible review, hated it. With all of the updates and improvements, this course has quickly become one of my favorites in DFW. You got to go try it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fortress

5+    8/19/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: stedily420
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This coure has a little something for everyone. Short accurate shots and long drive shots. Its mostly shaded, which is great for these hot Texas summers. The course is very well maintained, mostly mowed and clean. Not alot of action here or at least not like some of the other courses in the area, but has some of the most challenging and interesting holes.
Cons: Mixed tee's, some are concrete some are dirt,
no multiple pin positions, no signage for navigation.
I only put these things here because they are what other people would consider cons. These things do not make the experience for me. I can very easily look past these small things for such a fun course.
Other Thoughts: This is an up and coming course that i WILL rate a five when all the upgrades are done. I would recomend this course over almost all others, it is a must play!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very unique holes, i.e. 11 with the basket on the platform. Loved it!
-Very rewarding if you are an accurate thrower.
-You don't have to be a bomber to get a decent score. Focuses more on accuracy than distance. But there are a few air out holes (13 and 15)
-Bathrooms on site
-Trashcans
-A few ace opportunities. But there are no easy aces here. You will have to be accurate to get one.
-Uses the available elevation changes very well.
Cons: -Not all boxes are cement. Some are dirt. Not really a con, but I can see them getting pretty nasty in wet weather
-Construction. Looks like a company is laying a pipeline right down the middle of the course. Hole 4 was missing its basket. Ended up playing object golf to a tree where the basket used to be.
-Parking lot is pretty rough for lowered vehicles.
-Mismatched baskets. I guess this isn't horrible, I just like dealing with 1 type of basket per course. At least it has baskets!
-Traffic on 820. It can get pretty dead stop there in the mornings and afternoons.
-If you have tree-itis, you will have a pretty elevated score.
-Fairly difficult to navigate your first time. Bring someone that knows it or get a map.
-Some boxes were not marked.
Other Thoughts: Love the layout of this course. It will force you to turn the disc both ways to be successful here. If you have a sidearm, it is indeed helpful. I really like the uniqueness of North Park. The basket on hole 11 is elevated about 4 feet and is in a tree. It is a risky putt cause if you miss, you are well beyond what you would usually miss by. That and the tree guards the basket from 2 sides. But it is AWESOME!

Currently, there seems to be some construction going on that really interferes with play on a few holes, #4 and #12 in particular. #4 was missing its basket due to this and #12 did not have its teepad any longer.

All in all, I would say if you come to DFW, put it on the list, but not at the top. But when this pipeline is done and the course is fixed, I would definitely move it into the top 5 in DFW.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 May want to follow the people in front of you

2-4    3/19/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ***UPDATE 11/8/10***
I love playing this course. Once you know how it is navigated its a lot of fun to play. The company who put in the gas lines paid for all brand new baskets to be put in, painted to point you to the next whole direction as well.

I find most people who don't like this course, can't play the course as well as it looks like you should be. Super technical, and tests your upshot skills.

Yes not all cement tees, but some things you just got to deal with.



Fast and short course. Not a crazy amount of walking. Challenging forest.
Cons: If you play during business hours there are most likely construction workers around. They're gone during the weekend.

Difficult to navigate. Not any real direction on where the next tee is. Had to use photos from this website to find the next tee's the first time I played it. When there are markers, they're pretty run down.

Other Thoughts: Decent, but overall I think the course needs a make over.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better as a 9

5+    11/30/1899   3/13/2010
Review By: Chain_Bang
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a decent course. I personally preferred it as the 9 hole course it originally opened as. The newer 9 is confusing and seems rushed together. Lots of good shots, and never too busy as other nearby courses can be. There are both long shots and short, precise shots.
Cons: Confusing layout on some parts of the course and rudimentary navigation help, such as arrows spray painted on trees. A couple shots across wide open fields will wreak havoc on windy days. Tiny creek which is just a small
Other Thoughts: original 9 had a good layout and plenty of fun shots. The added on portion is ok but parked cars sometimes prevent play on a couple holes. One basket is even elevated in a tree which adds a degree of difficulty and is a nice touch. Not very highly trafficed and well maintained.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Why is it getting worse?

5+    3/11/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: More box's all the time yay...
Easy to follow after the first time.
Lot's of fun in any season. I enjoy summer. despite the heat, the foliage makes the course good and tough.
Cons: Another InHg course, and you can tell. It has the trademark look of a course with a whole lot of thought and design, just not enough. Who the hell drove all over the course in the mus?? that sucks. bad. would have rather had the downed sticks than the ruts. I don't know how, or who will do it, but i will probably not be playing till it is fixed
Other Thoughts: I used to rate this a 3.5 but not anymore... also aren't the baskets supposed to be on the ground? silly rules.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant supprise

1    1/12/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 of the holes have tee pads.
good use of the land
Several good shots
Good use of the trees forcing a few lefty shots.
Most of the holes have fairways. (no throw and pray holes)
Cons: Needs tee signs, although I was able to find my way round pretty good. (I had a map)
9 dirt tee pads. (I understand cement pads are being worked on)
A few of the holes are a little too close to each other forcing mando's
Mix of baskets in mixed condition.
I do not like the elevated basket on #11

Other Thoughts: I was not expecting a course as good as this when I drove out there. I actually can't wait to get back and play this course.

I nearly aced #11 bouncing off the basket then tree and landing on the wood base. Good thing I didn't have to putt at that crap.

I was playing fast, but played the course pretty good, I shot a 46 with a few missed putts.

What I liked about this course is the amount of trees it has on the course. We don't get much of that in Texas. I also like the fact there is no rough.

There were a lot of people out there and they all offered to let me play though. That was very nice.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 North Park Rundown!!!

5+    11/26/2009   1/10/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete t-pads for most holes. They're working on getting the others
-Different pin positions for most holes now with new positions.
-Terrain Varety (trees, small creek, open holes, elevation changes
-Not a very populated course, never really see many people out there
-Windy day course, being that the trees shelter you pretty good from it on most holes
-Numerous trash cans making the course pretty clean
-Nice park and surrounding neighborhood
-Easy to find
-Close to Arcadia #2, making for a good double course day ( Pizza Garden in between courses on Denton Highway...look it up and check it out!!! All you can eat pizza and salad for only about 4 bucks)
Cons: -Not all the t-pads are there
-Can be one of the worst to play on a wet day, get very muddy.
-Cops do patrol this one, so keep a heads up d.golfers
-Traffic on the highway can be a biatch
-Very difficult to navigate if you don't have a map...you will get lost, so be map-in-hand
Other Thoughts: Nothing really bad to say about this course outside the normal irritations of the game.

Fun course to play makin good used of a creek (winds through most of the frnt nine and some of the back) and trees (low ceilings, tunnel shots both left and right doglegging) Good finesse course and driving accuracy practice.

Challenging, but not to hard. Two thumbs up from me. Worth a drive if you have the time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.