Haltom City, TX
North Park Share
Uploaded By: strain Hole #9 (Taken 2/2010)
3 / 265ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 North Park

1    7/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: churchofbob
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Course seems relatively technical. Tee Height Variations are added bonuses on some longer holes. The short holes are relatively easy to drive.
Cons: Hard to Locate holes. Isnt Really Grommed Correctly, Looks as though it was pretty much a Guess as to where to place pins in relation to Tee Boxes. Some holes Werent Really THought out.
Other Thoughts: THis is a good course to Practice Techniques for avoiding Trees, More specifically a good course for practicing the determination and execution of pre-idealized flight paths. I personally found the amount of trees a beating

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Better Courses in the area

1    7/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Control
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Decent amount of technical shots
Cons: Tees are hard to find, you better hope you find a local to guide you.
Other Thoughts: I recommend visiting this course now and again, but I recommend choosing a different course for regular visits

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

5+    1/5/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some fun holes to be thrown for sure.Unique pin position on 11 but Pease park in Austin number 5 hole pulls it off better.

Highlights of the round include 1,2,5,11,15 and 18.

1.Long hole through a labyrinth of trees.Beware of the parking lot!Great time to pull of that monster roller between the trees :)

2.Sidearm Ace run for righties and hyzer for the lefties.This hole is just fun and a good break from the monster first hole.

5.Sharp hyzer time! Blind Ace run here.Fun as hell to see how much hyzer you can put on your drive.

11.Watch for barking dogs,LOL.starts up on a hill with no break from the trees.A low anhyzer shot works best here.Basket built into the trunk of a tree elavated about 6 feet.

15.Grip it and rip it time! You can either start out way right and hyzer it in.or you can throw it left (backdoor).You don't want to be short middle as the pin is behind a huge clump of trees.

18.Ace run with creek running down the left side.I remember this was #1 when the course opened.No nifty lines needed just throw it right at it!
Cons: Crappy tees.With concrete tees this course would be a lot better.

poor signage and hard to find holes for first-timers.Spray paint on the baskets help but are visually unappealing.

Grass is not mowed often enough half the time I played the grass was way to tall in the fairways.

Some of the holes just feel thrown together and some of the tees you just go "whah?" .You'll know what I mean (think #7)

Other Thoughts: Good course but I'd rather play Arcadia if I was in the area.Will give you a decent challenge and is by no means a waste of time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, some decent holes, especially when mowed

1    5/13/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 209  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 16.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots, nice use of limited elevation available. Well-placed teepads. Ample parking. Very shady, which is perfect for TX summer.
Cons: Dirt teeboxes aren't great. Signage could use some more detail. You need a map -- or better yet, locals -- to navigate the course for the first time.

Grass can get really long between mowing -- up to your knees -- which kills all skips and low shots and encourages bugs.
Other Thoughts: A couple of locals showed me the course on a recent visit, and I enjoyed it. Not a stand-out course, but not bad. Most of the grass was long which really reduced the fun factor. I'd give this course a 3.5 if freshly mowed, and a 3.0 otherwise. High "fun" factor, and the shade really is awesome for a Texas day. Creek is slow-flowing and does encourage a lot of bugs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/11/2009   1/11/2009
Review By: riqr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: lots of shade, play moved quickly, good mix of shots between long and short and requiring movement around a lot of trees.
Cons: not very spread out. every time i was driving i felt like someone was throwing right at me. fairways are very close to one another and it's not surprising to see a shot coming at you from the other direction. too cramped.
Other Thoughts: i've played several courses in the DFW area. i'm sure the locals are happy with this course, but i prefer a course that is more spread out. i would recommend Z-Boaz, Veterans, Bear Creek or Cedar Hill (both) over this one. didn't like it much at all.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course

5+    1/4/2014   11/28/2008
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has really come along way since it first opened. This course is a somewhat a fun and challenging course from beginning to end. There is a really good variety of short, long, left and right shots for both, left and right handed players. There are plenty of mando's spread throughout course, to keep the game challenging and not to mention, plenty of shot variety needed to score well on most holes. There are plenty of trees to make this course challenging and also provides shade in the hot summers. There are to sets of concrete tee pads on almost all holes, except for a couple of holes.There is also multiple pin locations on each hole to add challenge. There is signs on most holes providing distance to each pin. There is also a course map at hole 1 and after hole 9, to keep you heading in the right direction. There are plenty of trash cans and some benches on selected holes for use. There is plenty of parking throughout park for your convenience. And last but not least, there is a practice basket provided at hole 1, so you can get warmed up for your round.
Cons: On really nice days, you might want to get there early because it can get really crowded!
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is very fun and is a must play if you are in the area. It can get very crowded on really nice days, which is a good sign, saying this is a very fun course to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Choppin' wood!!!

1    8/14/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great technical course lots of mature trees and thread the needle shots. I must say after my improvement on Arcadia Park this course with its trees seemingly everywhere really humbled me!!! But at the same time the course was really fun to play and very challenging to this newbie!!!
Cons: Course was not well marked, glad I had some vets with me to point me in the right direction. Also some more strategically located garbage cans wouldn't hurt. The dirt tee boxes were'nt great either and I can imagine this course being a nightmare with any kind of precipitation...
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable course, my second round was much improved over my first. so any new players playing this course don't get discouraged, play it again!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great shadey course

8/9/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: YoDesigner
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a very good course to play during those hot sunny days in Texas. It is a very well shaded course. Only a few holes require you to play in the open sun. The majority of the course is played under a nice canopy of trees. Most holes require you to thread the needle to get good shots. The entire course is well maintained, mowed and no major thick brush to walk through or hide discs. I did not see any poison ivy.
A practice basket is provided by the #1 tee box near a picnic table.
An elevated/platform basket is on hole #11.
Cons: Really not too much to complain about here. I have only played this course twice and that is my major complaint thus far. If I lived closer I would definity play this more often. If you like to really unleash strong power throws, you wont get a lot of open shots like that. More trash cans should probably be provide towards the end of the course. A large collection of trash by the #16 tee box sign was unsightly.
Other Thoughts: While playing this last time, I was informed of a couple of mandatory's. These areas are spray painted on trees with orange paint. I will upload a picture.
This course is good for beginners and advanced players.

Thanks for reading and please rate my comment.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

5+    12/28/2011   7/19/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 103  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2014
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of holes that require different kinds of throws. The low hanging trees require low, accurate, hard throws. There are few long holes in the open that you can rip. Another nice feature are the subtle elevation changes on some of the holes. This course is nice and shady for hot summer days and there are lots of trees to block the wind on windy days. There aren't usually too many throwers at once on the course, so traffic is not bad. No water hazards...at least not that you can't get your disc back from pretty easily. Hole 17 has the only water hazard during the dry summer behind the basket. This is a course that you do not have to worry about losing discs on. This is more of a technical course with a few holes that require tight throws through the trees and low shots. There are a lot of intricacies to this course to discover. It seems like I discover something new about a hole each time I go out. A few of the more challenging holes are holes 1, 3, 9 in the B position, 10 long, 12 and 17. Hole 15, originally titled "The Fortress", is my favorite at this course. It is a down hill, long drive, to a basket that is guarded by a wall of trees...and the new circular tee box is a nice addition.
A few OBs and mandos make the course extra challenging. There are benches and trash cans by some of the holes. All 18 holes now have concrete tee boxes. Several of the holes have multiple tee boxes and 2 pin positions. There are restrooms by the ballfields by hole one's tee box. There is a practice basket by the teebox for hole 1 and also by the long tee for hole 10. Pretty well secluded park where you will not be bothered by non-disc golfers much.
Cons: This course is difficult to navigate your first time out! Print a map drom DGCR before you go or find someone out there that can tell you how the course plays out. A course map is posted by hole 1 and hole 9 so you can always take a picture on your phone and have that with you when you play. Most players that you find out there will be eager to help out if you have trouble finding your way around. Some of the fairways run a little close to each other for comfort, but as stated before, the course is rarely very crowded, making it a non-issue. Also, the mandatories help with this issue as well. When the grass is high, the course is not nearly as enjoyable as when it is cut. The course is in need of a few more trash cans by the tee boxes. The course sits in a low-lying area and when it is windy, it tends to swirl a lot rather than just blowing in one direction.
The worst part of this course is the baskets! They are the kind that have only 6 chains on the inner ring and can produce bad spits pretty easily...especially when wet or cold. The baskets are the one thing that bother me the most about this course...they are pretty bad.
There are posts by the tee boxes to indicate the hole number as well as number plates on the baskets but the course is in need of better signage, both by the tee boxes for par, distance, etc, but also to show the OBs and the mandos. Signs are also much needed to help with navigation.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, where I play the vast majority of my rounds. This is a pretty unique course...different than all the other courses around Ft. Worth at least. It will teach you to execute accurate low flying shots. Hole 1 is the toughest hole out there. You're doing really well to grab a 3 on hole 1. Be careful not to overshoot hole 17. This is the one main hazard hole on the course where you don't want to end up in the nasty water in the drainage ditch. There are some OBs and Mandatorys on this course to be aware of that aren't really posted on any signs at the course. Beyond the creek bed and in water in the creek is OB on holes 8, 11, 17, and 18. There is a mando tree on hole 3 way out on the left side of the fairway that you have to stay to the right of. There is a double mando between the telephone poles on hole 4. There is a double mando to play on hole 8. There is a mando tree on hole 9 on the right side of the fairway shortly in front of the tee box that you have to stay to the left of. On hole 17, there is an OB line around the basket for the B pin position just past the bridge to indicate the area that is in bounds on the left side of the creek. All of these mandos (except for the double mando on hole 8) are intended for safety to keep drives off of fairways that run close to one another.
The course used to be a 9 hole and had great signage on each hole, but vandals have taken their toll and the layout changed with the change to 18 holes. Better signs showing par, distance, and obs and mandos would probably make this course a 4.0 for me. Navigation is still an issue here.
Draw doubles on Friday nights at 6:30pm draws a lot of people enjoying a laid back time of playing disc golf and hanging out. Bring lights because it finishes in the dark even in the summer time. Saturday morning singles at 9:30am alternates between North Park and Arcadia. Wednesday night singles during the summer starts at 6:30 and costs $8.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

6/10/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: slacker
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short holes, good technical course w/ lots of shade.
Cons: Alot of trees close to tee boxes and dirt tees. Can be hard to follow for first time play.
Other Thoughts: Needs much better signs for holes, baskets have one bar painted showing direction of next tee.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.